Proton says joint development of Indonesian national car still on, looking towards an ASEAN car in future

Proton says plans that were first mooted in 2015 to develop and manufacture an Indonesian national car in collaboration with PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari are still on, The Edge reports. Proton chairman Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar said that talks concerning the project are ongoing.

“Certainly. We will proceed with the discussion in that respect,” he told reporters, adding that no cost is currently involved.

In February 2015, the national automaker inked a memorandum of understanding with PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari to explore opportunities to develop and manufacture an Indonesian national car. Present at the signing ceremony (pix below) was current prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who was the Proton chairman at that point, and Indonesian president Joko Widodo.

At that point, the collaboration potential was to have both companies conducting a feasibility study to explore specific areas of cooperation, including commercial and technical aspects. Also in the plan were localisation, purchasing, engineering and design activities, logistic services, market studies and other relevant processes.

Beyond that, the long-term plan was to look at the development of an ASEAN car by both Malaysia and Indonesia, something that Tun Mahathir recently said may be back on the cards.

“Back in 2015, we’d discussed to jointly produce a car made by Indonesia and Malaysia for Southeast Asian nations, but it had not been followed up. Now we are looking at reviving the project,” he said last month.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Geely earmarked Proton and Malaysia as right-hand drive hub for the three biggest auto markets in ASEAN Indonesia, Siam and Malaysia are all RHD countries. plus other RHD markets such as Australia, Singapura & Brunai

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 10, 2018 at 5:01 pm

I cannot stop laughing. Last time, Proton buang Tun M. They sacked him from being the Chairman.

Then in the launches of Saga, Perdana, Ertiga and Persona, Proton purposely never invited him. This is a sign of disrespect and slap on Tun’s face.

After all, Tun’s baby is Proton. And the management knew by not inviting Tun, they will hurt him badly.

Tun also in his blog said he was so hurt that Proton, his baby has abandoned him and never invited him for any launches out of respect being the founder of Proton

But TODAY…. we see Proton so chummy with Tum M. All carrying his telur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 32
      • “I was not expelled by Proton management or owners. I decided on my own, for the sake of Proton I should leave. I therefore have no grudge against Proton nor do I want it to fail after I leave.”
        https://paultan.org/2016/04/06/tun-mahathir-explains-his-resignation-from-proton/

Pipu knows how to use Search function, u know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 35
        • Khalid Norman on Jul 10, 2018 at 6:55 pm

I used to work with the former Government and trust me, Dr M was asked to leave Proton and Petronas.

Tun M had to jaga face and also protek Proton and Petronas and not make both of them look like bad guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
          • Trust u? Like we shud trust that u said P1 majority sales were from gov fleet but PT burst that bubble when they repoted 97.5% sales came from end retail customers? Trust u? Really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
          • Ali Hamsa on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:15 am

we don’t want fake news from you john. Never seen any comment by Khaled Norman before. So what are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Oh Yes. We seen “Khalid” before this. And we KNOW this is not a real name because its not logical to have a name like Khalid Norman. Just another fake nick like so many others. Are you also one of them, Ali?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Wahab on Jul 10, 2018 at 7:01 pm

Aren’t you the guy who was always blaming Tun for Proton’s financial problems?

Every posting in PT, you blame Tun for Proton’s problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
          • Ghani on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:42 am

Aren’t you the guy who was always blaming Tun for Proton’s birth?

Every posting in PT, you blame P1 for Tun’s mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:16 am

yes, this is the guy. Now he putar belit the story. John, keep away from our blog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Wahab on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:51 am

First you said i blame Tun, then you said i blame P1, so who did i blame? Pls make up your mind.

Aren’t you the guy who always suckup to john for every posting he made in PT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Rajoo Selvam, or as we know as Kunta troll. You DON’T OWN this blog! Paul Tan does! If you don’t like it that your fake news is constantly being exposed, then stay away. Your presence here is not needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • New Indon-MY JV shud be called Bapakton or Kronitron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 16
  • Proton and Indon? develop what car? Tut tut?

• kenot on Jul 10, 2018 at 6:00 pm

better find other joint venture la…the tech inside the car is much more important than building another car brand.

why not joint venture to develop battery technology, electric motor, autonomous driving system for Asean region, or at least plan better automotive policies for Asean. So, no more cheap tin milo car with 2 airbags for our market.

• Anonymous on Jul 10, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Better to build energy efficient n eco friendly buses. If really want to make it a joint ASEAN effort… let Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam build it… develop system and tech in M’sia & S’pore. This would mean quite a lot to the ASEAN market. Forget cars!

• Ahmadjr on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Kalau buat betul2, letak siti nurhaliza dan upin ipin jadi duta, confirm laku keras. Tipu je la kata kereta nasional indonesia macam daihatsu buat kat rakyat malaysia

• WALLamehh on Jul 10, 2018 at 11:48 pm

SUDDENLY still ONNNNNNZZ…you try to get back tun heart mehhh???by hoping 3rd national car will not exist..how to in line with Geely plan? Pro-Gelindon

• Later on, Proton receive grant from government…. in the name of national interest….

• krs189 on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:56 pm

Haters no need to worry.

This project would not see the light of the day, Singapork will ot allow it. With Jepunis carmarker funding they will pay some poor Indon to do street and internet protest.

They will use racial issue, Malaysian stealing their dance, song, food etc. the wil shout MALING! MALING! MALING!