VIDEO: 2019 Honda Insight – a good-looking hybrid?

We’re used to seeing hybrids as slow, rather boring vehicles that focus on fuel economy rather than outright performance. The new Honda Insight is still closer to that mould than being an out-and-out sports car, but Honda thinks it still stands out from the rest of its peers, so much so that it has created a new commercial that puts this so-called USP under the spotlight.

The video shows beige hybrids with the expressions “meh”, “blah” and “ugh” written across the sides, nearly getting caught up in a pileup with a broken-down car. The Insight avoids the potential collision entirely with its Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS) – the Honda Sensing safety suite comes as standard – and Honda also touts the car’s Sport mode and its EPA-rated fuel consumption of 4.3 litres per 100 km in the city.

Honda claims that with the Insight, the world finally has a good-looking hybrid – a statement that might ruffle a few feathers. Not only does this pooh-pooh other carmakers’ offerings, it also dismisses the company’s own past products, including the first- and second-generation Insight and even the rather sporty CR-Z. We can imagine a certain fellow writer on this site having a bone to pick with that one.

Slotting in between the Civic and Accord, the Insight uses a Sport Hybrid Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) two-motor hybrid system, consisting of a 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle i-VTEC engine, an electric motor and a 60-cell lithium-ion battery pack. Total system output is rated at 151 hp and 267 Nm of torque, and unlike the City and Jazz Hybrid, there’s no dual-clutch transmission.

The Insight is built in the United States in Greensburg, Indiana, alongside the Civic and CR-V. Although it is not yet known if the hybrid would be offered in other countries like Malaysia, let us know what you think – would you like to see a larger Honda hybrid on our shores?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Maslan on Sep 13, 2018 at 6:50 pm

Bring it to Malaysia, but expect not too much about good market here. People here don’t appreciate hybrid or electric car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Ethan on Sep 13, 2018 at 7:39 pm

Probably because hot weather may cause hybrid batteries to have shorter lifespan. Then resale value no good because once people hear how much a replacement battery pack costs, scared d.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 9
      • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:56 am

DO you know the Audi A6 Hybrid is RM60k and the BMW 530e battery is RM100k?

This is why even Mercedes dropped their E350 Hybrid.

People are just too scared about the battery cost after warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • Xdrive on Sep 14, 2018 at 2:49 pm

I wonder where u got yr info on the 100k. My x5 has 5 battery slots and each battery costs RM3k to change.

Unless you are talking about total lost, i.e. accident..

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 14, 2018 at 4:25 pm

BMW Malaysia informed me of this. Audi Malaysia informed me of this.

I don’t think BMW Malaysia is wrong. Replacing a whole battery is different from repairing faulty slots

• john is otak batu on Sep 18, 2018 at 10:46 pm

Keep your & pay battery toy car for life lah! We are looking for other cars that won’t burn hole in our pocket for just 1 dumb battery !

• Max291 on Sep 15, 2018 at 7:38 pm

I disagree with that statement. My 2009 prius (imported) still have its original battery & FC still at 20.8km/L, beats my 2015 Inspira 9.8km/L. If I were to replace the NiMH assembly, will cost me 7k, even lower than my fuel savings after 250,000km & counting.

• stastasta on Sep 18, 2018 at 3:40 pm

nimh is old tech from 2009. new cars all come with lithium batteries.

• Pakulupapito on Sep 13, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Really honda? Ioniq looks way better, even if it looks like preve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 38
  • Anuar on Sep 13, 2018 at 8:07 pm

ahhh honda engine bay, messy as usual. When will they ever tidy up their engine bay…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 9
  • nothanks on Sep 13, 2018 at 8:10 pm

No RV, expensive battery and repair cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • halloha560-john SDN BHD on Sep 13, 2018 at 8:33 pm

Dull, uninspiring and Honda Insight design looks like donkey design

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 23
  • Mario and Bros on Sep 13, 2018 at 8:37 pm

Only fool people will buy lousy Honda quality with Honda models designs look like donkey design and Honda models designs looks like outdated and ugly as well as Honda service quality is very terrible and even Honda assembly quality is very terrible too for all Honda models. Only smart and clever people will buy Proton, Mazda, BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Kia and Volvo with Proton design, Mazda design, BMW design, Mercedes design, Toyota design, Kia design and Volvo design looks beautiful, well-designed, more attractive, more fashionable, more stylish and more elegant as well as Service quality and assembly quality for Proton, Mazda, BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Kia and Volvo is improving, well progressed and well maintained

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 40
    • The rest i agree but not PROTON, KIA, TOYOTA like what you said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • aleisya on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:52 am

many time ohredi i see this copy paste statement in other topic as well… wonder y u so anti honda…. got paid huhhh?!!.. or ur hand parkinson ohredi?!

• Nocturnal Animals on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:18 am

Now Everyone are joining to Anti-Honda Fanboys. HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
    • john is otak batu on Sep 18, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Oh pleease! stop mention & praise that Proton & Toyota dinosaur name ….. pathetic to know!

• thepolygon on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:11 am

Bring in the STEP WGN instead… look how many sales you lost to Nissan’s Serena, no?

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Sep 14, 2018 at 9:25 am

Come on, Honda Malaysia. Just bring the new Insight to Malaysia, then CKD so our engineers, technologists and technicians in Pegoh can learn more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Henry on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:15 am

So much better in design compared to the preceding model. This Insight will sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
  • ryanlee on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:37 am

why not this be new generation accord and current new accord in US is so suck to look at

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Bernard on Sep 16, 2018 at 8:28 am

Bolehlanders can’t afford all this. We need bread and butter models.

Many are trying to sell off their hybrids when time to change battery. No buyers.

• Rafy Azman on Jan 19, 2019 at 5:36 pm

I am a happy owner of an 8 year old 2nd gen insight.. since driving one i would only buy a hybrid.. cant wait to see New Insight to come to Msia shore

• Please bring to msia, existing city & jazz is boring…