Perodua to review 240k 2022 sales target this month

In its (mildly) disappointing 2021 sales performance press release – in which the company said it missed its twicerevised 200,000-unit sales target by nearly 10,000 vehicles – Perodua announced it will already be reviewing its 2022 sales target of 240,000 units due to the company’s current situation.

“In December, we forecasted a 240,000 sales target for 2022; however, we will likely review that figure later this month [January] as we are taking into account the latest developments and events,” said president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

According to Perodua, its sales in 2021 fell by 13.6% to 190,291 – its lowest performance since 2012 – due to the continued impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and the global semiconductor shortage, as well as the recent heavy floods. Like all carmakers, the company was affected by the government’s movement control orders, resulting in months-long closures.

While Perodua won’t have to deal with that anymore (hopefully), the national carmaker is still grappling with the chip shortage – which could reportedly extend into 2023 – and the effects of disruptions caused by the floods. The good news is that the company continues to have a large order bank that should translate into strong sales once the bottlenecks have eased.

“There is a silver lining as the order bank for Perodua vehicles remains healthy as consumers are still responding positively to the sales tax exemption introduced by the government,” Zainal said. The ongoing sales and service tax (SST) rebate has thrice been extended until June 30 this year to shore up car sales.

Of course, Perodua’s sales performance for the year will also be buoyed by continued demand for the recently-facelifted Myvi and the upcoming launch of the new D27A Alza. There are also likely one or two facelifts coming later in 2022, given the company’s capacity to introduce a maximum of two minor change (MC) models per year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Raja Kamarul on Jan 05, 2022 at 11:19 am

They won’t say it, of course, but Proton and to some extent other carmakers have impacted their sales too. Their re-entry into the SUV market means that they play now also against the bigger boys.

Everyone is impacted by COVID and supply issues, of course. Kudos to them for being able to still sell the numbers they did. Speaks volumes of their quality and value for money positioning.

Also to Proton for being able to grow in a shrinking market. A bit like when Proton became the only brand to register sales growth in the UK once in the 80s, when the market was shrinking.

• New year begins. Go P2!

• Celup King on Jan 05, 2022 at 12:39 pm

So fast not even 1 week in the new year oredy revising down yearly target. What happen to the arrogant confidence by their army of online troopers from last few years? Sudah makan sendiri?

This is what you call bodoh sombong. Rather than giving new specs at old prices they give old specs at high price, only 20% of buyers chose the higher value Ativa & Aruz while in Proton is DOUBLE(40%!) of buyers choosing their higher value SUV.

P2 have not grown and continue pander to them lowest segments, as society affluence rises they are losing market share pie. Serves them right.

Without NAP P2 habeslah. Export pun telor. How to survive? Continue locally selling pondan cars with cutdown specs just to put back in and call it facelift?! Pirraaahhh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Spin Too Much on Jan 05, 2022 at 6:46 pm

Too bad the shareholders only care about year end financial reports of profits, and that is what businesses including automobile manufacturing & retailing want to aim for.

• Celup King on Jan 06, 2022 at 8:32 am

P2,do some national service. The rakyat have been bleeding to support you.
        Whatever new or old models, you should give rakyat 50% rebates and 5 years free service package. Just imagine the pain and sufferings when rakyat buy your cars. Bagi skit balik la woi!
        Why should our hardearned money be given to your shareholder just to send it all back to Jepun. There so rich they dun need our money yet for 28 years this have been ongoing. Rakyat make Jepun richer while we remain poor. Now with flooded cars even worse, P2 should have a heart and soul to give some back to rakyat supporting you all this time.

• If don’t want to make Jepun richer, can buy P1. Then make mainland China richer.

• Santee on Jan 05, 2022 at 12:40 pm

Alza coming soon

• Dong Gor on Jan 05, 2022 at 1:37 pm

Next we need to cover Honda sales number, then Toyota and…

• Revise to 180k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Izhar on Jan 06, 2022 at 3:36 pm

That’s how PNB can declare a 5% dividend for ASB.

1. PNB own of 42.46% UMW (UMW own 51% of Toyota Malaysia and 38% of Perodua)
    – More and more people buy T and P2, good for savvy investor in PNB unit trust

2. PNB Own 40.65% of Maybank
    – More and more people buy T and P2 also make loan at Maybank, another good story for savvy investor in PNB unit trust

As we already know, Toyota and P2 command a lion’s share of the local passenger car market. We don’t care who the number 1 or number 2, as long can make profit for PNB and to us the investor do as you want to.

Thank you T and P2 buyers. Thank you T and P@ salesmen.

• Nirvana on Jan 06, 2022 at 4:29 pm

We also thank you T & P2 buyers for filling up our plots. Without your kind cooperation to buy unsafe cars and ending sooner than expected, we couldn’t have done so well up til now. From cradle of T & P2 car to gra… well you know our business…

• Dai Suk on Jan 06, 2022 at 5:15 pm

P2 should offer last special pricing for its outgoing model Alza, afterall all the capital expenses had been amortised already to keep prices really affordable to public. Proton did the same for its Saga model.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 06, 2022 at 6:44 pm

But Proton is a national carmaker… they have a bit more heart.

Perodua, no matter how you slice it, is not an OEM. Platforms? Japanese. Engines? Japanese. Not even one of their cars are locally-designed from top to bottom.

Yes, Proton has donor cars too. But the Saga, Iriz, Persona and Exora all are locally-developed cars. Local engines, chassis.

No I am not a Perodua basher. I think they all have a place in the market. But Perodua needs to step up.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 07, 2022 at 1:55 am

The days of ‘nationalistic’ automotive manufacturing & branding are gradually coming to an end. An example of this is the birth of the multinational Stellantis group which represent automotive brands from France, Germany, Italy, the UK & the US. The purpose of such a merger is to share resources so that these brands can survive this already globally competitive business.