REVIEW: 2022 Perodua Alza AV – the best family car below 100k in Malaysia, not just among 7-seater MPVs

Perodua Alza 2022 – Quick Facts

The Alza 2022 was launched on July 20, 2022. It comes in 3 specs – X, H and AV.

If you are interested in buying a Perodua Alza for your next car, this page will tell you all you need to know about making your buying decision.

Table of Contents

Alza 2022 Prices

The following is the pricing for all 3 specs of the Perodua Alza 2022:

Compare on CarBase.my: Perodua Alza X vs H vs AV specs

Alza 2022 Safety

In terms of crash safety, the Perodua Alza 2022 has scored a 5-star ASEAN NCAP crash test result. It features ABS, stability control and 6 airbags.

All spec levels feature Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) – Pre-collision Warning (PCW, vehicle 4-120 km/h, pedestrian 4-60 km/h), Pre-collision Braking (PCB or AEB, vehicle 4-120 km/h, pedestrian 4-60 km/h), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC).

In terms of child passenger safety, the Alza comes with 2 sets of ISOFIX points to mount child seats on the middle row outer two seats. All 7 seats feature three-point seat belts.

Alza 2022 Maintenance Cost

We have done some analysis on how much it costs to maintain the Perodua Alza 2022 compared to other cars. You can read more about it via the links below.

Alza 2022 Competitors

Other than the Perodua Alza 2022, the following compete in the same segment:

Compare on CarBase.my: Perodua Alza vs Honda BR-V vs Mitsubishi Xpander vs Toyota Veloz

Alza compared to Veloz

The Perodua Alza and Toyota Veloz are similiar cars both based on the DNGA platform, but the top spec Alza is RM20k cheaper than the Veloz. Basically you can think of the Veloz as the highest spec Alza that is not found in the Alza line-up/ What does the RM20k price difference get you? You can learn in the link below.

Learn more about the Alza 2022

You can read our comprehensive coverage on the Perodua Alza 2022 to help you discover if the Alza is a suitable choice for your next car purchase.

Watch our Perodua Alza 2022 video review

We have produced a video review of the Alza 2022 if you prefer watching a video to reading text – it’s over 49 minutes long but it’s very detailed.

Perodua Alza 2022 – Full Review

The new Perodua Alza is the best family car priced below RM100k. And beyond, but we’ll stick to the round number. Not just the best affordable MPV in Malaysia, but the best family car, period. Hear us out.

Perodua has been dishing out hit after hit of late, upping the ante when it comes to what we can expect for X amount of money. The volley of blows started with the Ativa in early 2021 – the small SUV saw the local debut of the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, Turbo-CVT powertrain, Level 2 autonomous driving and Matrix LED headlamps, among other features.

The market leader then updated the Myvi late last year, fortifying Malaysia’s best-selling car with some of the features that debut in the Ativa. Already miles ahead of rival Protons in the safety department, the Myvi is now offered with Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) in all variants, and the AV gets the Ativa’s Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) and Lane Keep Control (LKC) as well. The D-CVT brought refinement, performance and economy benefits to the G3.

That 1.5L NR engine and D-CVT combo powers the new Alza, which turbo engine aside, gets all the equipment found in the Ativa, and then some. The second-generation Alza is the best equipped Perodua to date, and it’s astonishing what we’re getting for the money, which is from RM62,500 for the base X up to RM75,500 for the top of the range AV model you see here.

No holding back the kit

Toyota Malaysia has its own version of the Alza called the Veloz. For this generation, the Alza was merged with the Avanza and Daihatsu Xenia, making it four versions of the same MPV. All sit on the DNGA platform, which also underpins the Ativa-RockyRaize SUV triplets.

The Veloz is priced at RM95k, which means that the gap between it and the top Alza – both made in the same Perodua factory – is RM20k, a rather big premium for cars below RM100k. While the differences between Alza and Veloz MPVs are deeper compared to the AruzRush, including a 30 mm higher ground clearance for the Veloz, we still expected more. In other words, we didn’t expect the Alza to be so well-kitted next to the “big brother”.

As mentioned, the Alza combines the powertrain of the Myvi with all the kit of the Ativa, with the bonus of some new-to-Perodua features. Six airbags and ASA are standard from the base model (no compromise when it comes to safety), and there’s also the digital meter panel, ACC + LKC (this pack always comes with BSM and RCTA) and the Lexus-level Adaptive Driving Beam LED headlamps.

The Alza goes further with some new-to-brand features, such as the electronic parking brake (EPB) with auto brake hold (necessitates rear disc brakes), a 360-degree panoramic view monitor and a new infotainment system that looks better and has Android Auto and the just-approved Apple CarPlay. Brake hold makes daily urban driving so much easier and the PVM has a nifty steering button to manually turn it on. The ACC now has low speed follow or traffic jam assist.

This level of kit is way beyond what non-national B-segment sedans and hatchbacks offer for the money. Proton? The base X50 goes for RM86,300 and has just four airbags. Want AEB? P1’s cheapest car with ADAS is the X50 Flagship, yours for RM113,300.

If you want to go deeper, the next-generation Vios, which has just been revealed in Thailand, finally gets on DNGA and receives ASA (branded as Toyota Safety Sense, but without ACC). The new Toyota’s steering wheel and meter panel are the exact items used in the Ativa/Alza; ditto the minor cabin switches. So, we’re essentially getting the group’s next-gen B-segment stuff in advance via Perodua.

The same can be said of the Veloz, of course, but at RM95k, it’s less of a value proposition. Face and ride height aside, key differences include LED DRLs (you’ll have to GearUp in the Alza for DRLs, an overwhelming majority are going for it), 17-inch wheels (an inch up), black roof/roof rails, Toyota’s head unit (wireless AA and CP), auto air-con (but without P2-style memory) ambient lighting and a Qi wireless charger. We’ve detailed the differences in a separate post here.

Whichever way you look at it, the Alza is plenty of modern car for the money.

Family first

You’re here because you have a family, right? The Alza’s rear quarters is where it sets itself apart from passenger cars or small SUVs in the price bracket. It’s really plush here compared to the Honda City, Toyota Vios, Proton X50 and Perodua’s own Ativa.

The new Alza is 4,425 mm long and 1,730 mm wide, which means that its footprint is 205 mm longer and 35 mm wider than the original JDM-based model, even if the 2,750 mm wheelbase is unchanged. The larger body yields more interior room for both humans and cargo – interior length with the second row seats pushed furthest back is 2,765 mm, which is a significant 115 mm more than before. The 35 mm extra width of the body fully translates to interior width, too.

The old Alza was barely there as a three-row MPV and had only 83 litres of boot space with all seats raised. Now, it’s a usable 137 litres (+54L, good for a couple of duffel bags). With the third row bench folded (50:50), cargo space is now 498 litres, a massive 150L improvement.

Used purely as a two-row car (Perodua says 40% of old Alza owners did so), legroom is very generous when the middle row is pushed furthest back (you can even cross your legs), and feet can tuck under the front seats easily, even when the front chairs are at their lowest position.

Couple this with a wide range of backrest recline, a fold down centre armrest and a three-speed blower, this is as good as it gets for rear accommodation below RM100k. There are two USB chargers behind the front centre console, plus a single cupholder there. Speaking of drinks, there are handy cupholders on the rear doors (arm level, appropriate for hot beverages) and a row of them in the bin below.

The GearUp faux leather seat covers you see here have additional seatback pockets in various sizes. They appear to be designed for a phone, an iPad and a laptop/magazine.

This is before we even factor in the bonus over choosing an MPV over a B-sedan/hatch – the third row. It’s relatively pleasant back here – there’s enough knee and headroom for this 175 cm writer and my feet can slot in under the middle row, which is important. Usually, kids will be relegated to the third row when there are extra adults to carry, and they’ll be fine here – it’s not claustrophobic and there’s even a USB charging port and more cupholders.

Capacity is one thing, access is another. It was a deliberate decision by Perodua to keep the Alza’s ground clearance to a car-like 160 mm (Malaysian-spec Veloz 190 mm, Indonesian-spec Veloz and Mitsubishi Xpander 205 mm, Aruz/Rush 220 mm) and it pays off in the ease of access. There’s no need to climb into the Alza, and if you have elderly parents or passengers who are less mobile, this is a strong point. Access to the third row is also very easy thanks to the one-movement tumble fold function.

I see plenty of sense in the Alza being a family car if you have two kids (I don’t, but my parents loved the space), versus a B-segment passenger car (picture a child seat, a stroller and a week’s worth of groceries). It’s like a Myvi with extra legroom and a big boot, with a bonus row of seats for the parents/in-laws. Extended family outing aside, this is a spacious five-seater that’s as easy to drive as a B-hatchback due to its stance.

Happy driver, happy family

So, we’ve established that the Alza is a great family car, but you – the driver – are not forgotten. After all, happy driver, happy family, right?

The Alza’s cockpit is a pleasant place to be working in. The above-mentioned low ground clearance is very apparent if you’re coming from the Ativa, as I did. You can really feel those few centimetres when getting out of the car, when your leg touches the ground. The “regular car feel” continues with the conventional dashboard layout, as opposed to the MPV-style central meter position of the old Alza.

The driver’s seat is comfortable for long distances, being not too hard and well-bolstered. The leather-fabric combo is nice too – the quilt pattern isn’t too loud, and the accents match the deep red/brownish trim on the dashboard. I prefer the regular AV seats over the GearUp PVC covers – the latter feels a bit “puffy” and its brighter red doesn’t match the dash.

Much is made of Peroduas not having telescopic steering. Reach adjustment is always good to have, but in the Ativa and now the Alza, I have no problems in finding a good driving position, unlike in the Axia/Bezza. Perhaps I am of median height, but one should always try a car out for size. I also like that the Alza’s seat goes low enough, and you don’t feel like you’re “sitting on the car” as you do in a Myvi G3.

Many elements are from the Ativa. The sharp and customisable digital meter panel, the steering wheel (boss and bottom spoke design changed), the AC control panel with two memory positions, and the minor switches will be familiar to owners of the SUV, but the Alza AV’s head unit is an improved one.

The 9.0-inch touchscreen (size unchanged) has a slimmer bezel, a full row of fixed buttons, prettier tiled home screen and wired Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, a first for Perodua. With the latter, you can view and access navigation, music and messaging apps on the car’s screen – goodbye suction phone holders. Note that this new head unit is exclusive to the AV – the H uses the same one from the Ativa while the X has no touchscreen.

Another little luxury is the EPB with auto brake hold. Brake hold, which can only be offered along with EPB, makes driving in jams physically so much easier. If genie gives me one Alza feature for the Ativa, it’ll be this.

Sometimes, it’s amazing how a bit of colour can totally transform an interior. The X50 Flagship’s red dash top is an example, and check out this previous-gen HR-V’s wine red cabin. Of all the AV-exclusive items, the dual-tone cockpit might be easiest and cheapest to implement, but it makes a huge difference – compared to the H, the AV’s dashboard feels more special, more premium even.

Of course, it’s just an illusion of premium. This is a RM75k MPV and hard plastics are only to be expected, but even so, Perodua went further than it needed to. Look closely and you’ll find that the texture of the dash top has a unique grain to it, a cross hatch pattern similar to Saffiano leather – zoom into the image below (the one with my wallet) to see what I mean.

The AV’s brownish red trim lifts the overall ambience; dash top has a nice cross hatch grain

It’s nice that the red/brown dash section “flows” into the door panels, and there’s even a diamond motif at the end of it. The AV’s standard part-leather seats sport the same brownish tone and its quilted centre section matches the diamond theme as well. Together, all these little touches uplift an otherwise conventional dash design. At night, the array of lights on the meter panel and a full complement of steering buttons (zero blanks!) gives off a fully-loaded, high-tech feel. This one isn’t an illusion.

Nice as the cockpit is, there are a few question marks. I find that there’s no natural place to place my phone in the AV. The large void at the base of the centre stack in the X/H is sealed up in the range-topper, with slots either side of the transmission tunnel as replacements. But this is quite a stretch.

To me at least, there’s ample space for a phone slot on the centre console, where the Veloz has its wireless charger, but P2 elected to place a card slot here. The AV’s centre bin is also quite small, but at least its armrest lid feels nicer than the Ativa’s “soft” material, which is sticky and not at all cushy. By the way, the X and H get a different centre console layout, one with a “valley” to house the manual handbrake.

The Alza X/H gets a handbrake and a big cubby hole at the base of the centre stack

Speaking of empty spaces, there’s more of it on the centre stack. It’s certainly tall enough for three storeys of controls, but only one level is fully occupied. The vast space under the AC panel houses just the push start button and seatbelt reminder, drowned in piano black trim. A lidded cubby would have neatly filled up the space and added functionality.

The Alza’s rear view mirror has a somewhat compressed view that isn’t very natural, and the manual anti-glare tab didn’t work properly on our tester (wrong angle).

A balanced drive

The new Alza is a thoroughly pleasant drive, and it achieves this niceness not by wowing in any particular department, but by being well-balanced. I can’t think of anything to complain about, really.

We’ll start by addressing the most popular question – is it underpowered? Honestly, I don’t know why people are even asking this question, as Malaysians have been living with 1.5L naturally aspirated engines for such a long time. An NA engine of this size is the default for this class of MPV, as well as B-segment sedans and hatchbacks.

But it’s big and heavy, right? At 1,170 kg, the 105 hp/138 Nm Alza is only 20 kg heavier than the top spec Vios, which uses the same Perodua-made Dual VVT-i NR engine. For extra context, the sporty Mazda 3 Hatchback, which also comes with a 1.5L NA engine, tips the scales at 1,368 kg, nearly 200 kg more.

In practice, the Alza accelerates fine with four adults and their luggage onboard. Perhaps not as deceptively swift as the Ativa, but perfectly adequate for a family MPV. Honestly, I’m not sure how it’ll fare climbing Genting seven up, but how many actual customers do that? And if you do, I bet your expectations will be adjusted accordingly, and you won’t be doing it with a stopwatch.

The CVT transmits power efficiently and the Alza gets up to desired cruising speed with minimum fuss. Like in the Ativa, there’s manual mode with seven virtual ratios (omitted in the Myvi) but never did I feel the need to DIY, which points to an intuitive gearbox. D-CVT is the world’s first split gear CVT system and you can read more about it here.

Also unnecessary for me personally are the drive modes, because Normal is perfectly balanced, as it should be. You’ll definitely feel the difference between modes – Eco makes the car feel sluggish, like it’s towing something, while Power holds the revs higher and for longer – you do get better response, but the engine becomes noisy and tetchy.

Which is what it’s not most of the time. The calm powertrain contributes greatly to the Alza good cruising performance. At the highway speed limit of 110 km/h, the engine is ticking at just below 2,000 rpm, and 90 km/h is done at just above 1,500 rpm. That’s a very low range – the Ativa does 110 km/h at around 2,500 rpm, never mind the old 4AT cars – and it benefits NVH and fuel economy.

Powertrain aside, the Alza has good cruising manners. There are no abnormal wind issues even at speeds way beyond the national limit and rolling refinement is better than the G3 Myvi. We did encounter some rain and can confirm that the Myvi’s wheel-well water splashing noise is absent here. If we were to nitpick, there’s a very faint whine from the powertrain (possibly transmission) that is occasionally audible.

For me, the biggest surprise in this pack of surprises is the Alza’s ride comfort. This could well be the best riding Perodua to date, with a stable primary ride at high speeds (sections of the LPT to Peninsular Malaysia’s northeast can be quite wavy, and the Alza coped with the dips well, with no ‘aftershocks’) and good bump absorption in the Klang Valley.

Alza has a car-like 160 mm ground clearance; Mitsubishi Xpander rides 45 mm higher

On our construction-scarred urban roads, the Alza rides better than the Ativa, which goes around with more jiggle and hop. As the Alza rides on P2’s own suspension tuning and ride height, it’s a job well done by our local guys and girls.

The rest of the dynamic package is in tandem. The steering is light and easy (there’s no pretence of ‘sport’, which is good) while brake feel is miles better than in the old Alza, which unresponsive pedal (for much of the travel, before it suddenly bites) can be classified as dangerous. Elsewhere, the Alza has good grip and well-tamed body roll – you really do feel the benefit of that low GC in the bends. Toyo Proxes CR1 is a surprisingly sporty tyre choice for an MPV, too.

All of the above are fused into an overall driving performance that’s well-balanced. The new Alza is a pleasing drive, not just for budget MPV standards, but also when compared with B-segment passenger cars in the price bracket.

Matrix LED-style Adaptive Driving Beam is simply amazing; even all the rear lamps are LEDs

Last but definitely not least for an affordable family car is fuel consumption. The recent media drive to Kota Bharu wasn’t very reflective of typical usage (we were a bit too fast), so I took the Alza AV out for a weekend of regular motoring.

After 407 km of mixed town/highway driving, including significant idling time during our photoshoot, I returned the car with the trip reading 15 km/l. I reached a high of 15.3 km/l before the shoot, and reckon that 14-15 km/l should be where it’s at for my relatively light right foot. Coincidentally, 14-15 km/l is what I’m getting from my Ativa these days.

That’s some way off the 22 km/l in what P2 calls the Malaysian Driving Cycle, which supposedly reflects local conditions (18.9 km/l in the more familiar NEDC), but claims are usually just that – claims. In any case, 15 km/l is a very decent return for mixed driving, and an outstation trip is sure to yield bigger numbers.

The best family car below RM100k?

After experiencing the new Alza on a long trip as both driver and passenger, and using it in my weekend routine, I think it is.

Compared to the other sub-RM100k three-row MPVs on sale in Malaysia, the Alza both a better product and a better drive, before even considering the Perodua’s price advantage. If you’ve noticed, there aren’t many comparisons with the original Alza in this review, and that’s because name aside, the D27A is worlds apart from its 13-year old predecessor in every aspect.

For those shopping in the RM70k to RM100k range, the default options are B-segment sedans and hatchbacks from Toyota and Honda. The Vios, Yaris, City and City Hatchback were recently joined by national SUVs in the form of the Ativa and X50. All have their merits and are great options if you’re using them as personal cars. Even as a two-child household’s sole family car, they’ll do the job.

However, none does that job as well as the Alza, which has space and versatility on its side. Its rear living quarters is the best here by some margin, and there’s the bonus of a third row for the extended family. Used purely as a spacious five-seater with a big boot, you’re not sacrificing anything in drivability and fuel efficiency versus the B-sedans/hatchbacks, as the Alza is low-slung and drives well.

For me, the Alza’s only drawback is the “less cool” image of an MPV. It may be low and sporty for for its kind (of the four faces, I like Perodua’s design the best; even the GearUp kit looks good this time) but it’s still a people carrier at the end of the day, and that might be a deal breaker for some. If this is a non-issue for you, and you have two kids or more, you owe it to yourself to consider the Alza, even if an MPV wasn’t in your original family car shortlist.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV with GearUp bodykit, accessories

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Takpayah pening, takpayah pikir …beli je P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • Lolwhut? on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:02 pm

Many perodua bots defending this majorly disappointment car lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
      • Maverick on Aug 21, 2022 at 12:33 pm

Sir,dont be disappointed.
        P2 is doing all these shit again…repeated botox.
        They r running out of ideas.
        Just go P1..or 2nd hand market…got alternatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Amran on Aug 20, 2022 at 1:05 am

Membeli kereta tanpa berfikir kerana tak mahu pening, budaya konsumer baru? Ini mesti sebab dulu dah gagal peperiksaan sekolah ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
    • Contradiction on Aug 21, 2022 at 12:29 pm

Ali
      Tanjong Ramputan ,Doc on call…pls register,admit yourself.
      You have delusional psychiatric condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Brian on Aug 19, 2022 at 12:26 am

Outdate by the time it was launched. Pointless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 43
    • Looks brand new. Not so outdated at all

• Norlia on Aug 19, 2022 at 10:38 pm

Nice…blast from the past…welcome to the jurassic world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
        • Giraffe on Aug 20, 2022 at 3:11 pm

Hello? Hello? Anybody home? Think Norlia Think

This car isn’t not jurassic world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Amran on Aug 21, 2022 at 2:50 pm

Sir,he… not tokok. It is a fact :Alza is a sunset prehistoric Jurassic mpv.It is the only model in P2 lineup that has plenty of ready stocks.No need wait 10 months like Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • P.Alyanna on Aug 22, 2022 at 8:57 am

Cars from perodua hardly lasts more than 5 years before self destruction. They deliberately building cars to fail to screw with the customers.
            My Bezza engine is f$#&ed right after warranty ended and I can’t even bring myself to spend to repair it. I’m just throwing money away on this trash at last I bought a Saga during SST free. Headache free daily use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • WMouse on Aug 22, 2022 at 1:22 pm

Haters said perodua is jurassic car, Perodua can’t hardly last more than 5 years or this or that. If you don’t like perodua then don’t buy. There are many perodua owners that can drive more than 5 years without any issues. That’s why many people buy perodua than proton, yes both Perodua and proton have problems but durablility for perodua is better than proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Truckers on Aug 24, 2022 at 12:24 pm

Pipul buy P2 because they are the cheapest and so it becomes their first car however if pipul knew how bad their quality they would have saved a bit more and get proton. In terms of reliability and durability proton is far better as they are build better. I towed more P2s than I can shake a stick at proton.

• Veyron Owner on Aug 20, 2022 at 1:58 pm

Wired Carplay? Ewww!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Actually there’s not many car model offered Wireless CarPlay, even most of Toyota & Honda models use Wired CarPlay except only a few model use Wireless.

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 21, 2022 at 2:51 pm

Dah tak ingat berapa kali facelift & facechange dah.. Tak tahu nak beza dah pun.

• WMouse on Aug 22, 2022 at 1:23 pm

Perodua usually do only one or two facelift only

• Welephant on Aug 23, 2022 at 8:32 am

Lol, the last Alza got 3 facelift.. The 1st and 2nd gen Myvi doesn’t look much difference so how many facelifts between them? Wait, you’re talking about Kenari and Kancil is it?

• Katheryne Wong on Aug 19, 2022 at 12:34 am

Good writeup details. Nice.

• yawnz on Aug 19, 2022 at 10:57 pm

Suitable as commercial vehicle like Ranger Hilux NV200 vannette GrandMax

Not suitable as a 2022 family car, nor B segment vehicle, if it doesn’t have –
      No Isofix for Child/Baby Car seats & back seat reminders,
      No 7 Airbags,
      No full AEB with radar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Exora?

• Sick & Tired on Aug 22, 2022 at 12:57 pm

Exora is still decent people mover. This alza you have to chop both legs to fit at the rear backseats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Maverick on Aug 20, 2022 at 2:47 pm

You r damn right.
        Suitable as commercial vehicle..for rough use.,like delivering ice to P2,the Zainal dude..to cool his problematic head.
        Hello,after donkey years..still no turbo engine and reflector lampu.,and logo tukar je.
        Every other aspect of the mpv is Jurassic.
        I think next T rex movie..P2 should donate a few of these “new” Alza for actors to “run helter skelter” from marauding T Rex.
        Toyota…pls dont continue with all these shit.Give us Rm55k Toyota badged Avanza mpv right now.The fanboys are tired of boob jobs or botox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Maverick on Aug 21, 2022 at 12:38 pm

Zainal is taking ponstan daily,due to endless memalukan diri rebadging but call themselves national car.
          Not surprising ,without protection Daihatsu pull out and go back to Indonesia to say Hi to Jokowi.

• Giraffe on Aug 20, 2022 at 3:03 pm

Are you hater or what? Hello anybody home?

Alza come with Isofix, got 6 airbags already good, rear seat reminders, full AEB system with radar

https://www.perodua.com.my/our-models/new-alza.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Contradiction on Aug 21, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Kesian lol…I’ll buy it if given 10-years warranty unlimited mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • Giraffe on Aug 21, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Hello, hello, anybody home? Think contradiction think.

Are we talking about 10 years warranty unlimited mileage or specs? Wait, every brands come with 5 years warranty. 10 years warranty is only for hybrid.

• Ohh waiiiii on Aug 22, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Poodooa finally made a new car that isn’t completely garbage. Oh wait credit goes to Toyota, Poodooa only rebadges it.

• Celup King on Aug 21, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Awesome reply here, yawnz! This car is a snorefest!

• Handicap Match on Aug 19, 2022 at 6:21 am

Simple. No choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • This as no longer called as no choice but now called as “good choice”

• P2 trolls are coming to defend this ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • aumeow on Aug 20, 2022 at 9:55 am

Again, then how come honda trolls always like to troll other brands including perodua

• Unknown on Aug 20, 2022 at 2:05 pm

No. This car is overpriced.It should be selling @Rm55k as before.We got scammed by P2 simply coz of plotektion.Without P2 we coula got better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
        • Giraffe on Aug 22, 2022 at 10:35 am

P2 is better car. Take a look inside if you think this car not good

• jibary kim on Aug 19, 2022 at 7:41 am

i approve of your arguments here, well laid out. no adjournment necessary. K bye.

• Value for Money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • donno on Aug 19, 2022 at 8:48 am

Why no mention of the Aruz?

• Celup King on Aug 22, 2022 at 1:05 pm

Apakan daya. Jual Rush celup pun tak laku. Jual Rocky celup pun tak laku. Gak celup Avanza ni akan laku ke tak? Ikut sejarah rasa gak ni tak.

• Harpreet on Aug 19, 2022 at 8:55 am

would’t say the Alza has a less-cool image. the shape and lower ride height reminds one of a stationwagon and as a SW lover I really like how this Alza looks. only the back abit weak but can’t help it with the profile. Wish this came out 6mths earlier.

• A good 2 seater with bed lounge.
    No need larger and makan minyak caravan for simple getaway,
    Safer and more relaxing ACC self driving Cruiser too.

• Skeptical on Aug 19, 2022 at 9:17 am

Too lengthy Danny bro. Boleh tolong lukis hehe

• Dong Gor on Aug 19, 2022 at 9:37 am

well, “we have been living with 1.5 NA for a long time” doesn’t mean it’s not under power. Technology improves over time, and we should move on with it. same can be said with other appliances like fridge and aircond and etc to make life better. so, Nay to this argument. You are over doing it in this department.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 19, 2022 at 8:39 pm

A modern downsized turbo engine would be nice here, obviously. So equipped, it would be a more expensive car, and the Alza – like the BR-V, Xpander and Veloz – is meant to be an affordable MPV. Everything is built to a price, and 1.5L NA is the class standard.

As things stand, it already is the best equipped car (not just MPV) below RM80k in the market. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Unknown on Aug 20, 2022 at 2:05 pm

I get your sarcasm Danny but it seems most of PT readers don’t.

• well done p2.

• Car reviewers tends to review a 7-seater vehicle as 5-seater vehicle and says it is good. Please stick to 7-seater category, and say it is bad or good for big family. Period. Then people with 6 kids like me know the real result.
    Just like reviewing convertible supercars… Since the roof malfunction, reviewer says it is a very good supercar but just don’t open the roof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 19, 2022 at 8:29 pm

It’s good for a big family. In the review, we have pictures of adults in each row, plus all the amenities available for 2nd/3rd row occupants. I mentioned my height, and my experience in each of the rows.

And I’m sorry for not having six children! Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • normal_user on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:55 am

Kudos Danny for the comprehensive review. But I find it a bit too optimistic. Really, the Alza drives & rides better, and plusher compared to the Vios, Yaris, City, X50? It’s indeed practical, but a comparison is needed against these rivals before you can claim it as the best sub-RM100K family car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Raja Celup on Aug 19, 2022 at 1:17 pm

Reasons why new Alza will always be the best MPV ever:

1. No repeating OCH hose bocor this, bocor that
      2. Proven quality materials follow strict Japanese standards and work ethics
      3. Proven efficient fuel economy engine 22km/Liter
      4. Proven reliable DCVT gearbox with no crazy jerking and scooter whining noise
      5. Proven durable Toyo tyres (not some generic brand that sounds like a map or King Kong)
      6. Top notch standard safety features 6 airbags, AES AEB, Lane departure warning etc
      7. Always ready-stock spare parts for peace of mind, car no need sleep 1 year at service centre
      8. Which means no headache, mental stress and can sleep soundly worry-free every night sweet dreams
      9. Very high resale value, very low regret value (both also RV)
      10. Turn signal stick on right hand side, simple logic common sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • Lolwhut? on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:05 pm

Must be P2 SA. P2 now acah2 premium konon, meanwhile in Indonesia avanza sell 2/3 of our price, got toyota branding somemore here got chibai branding. Wanna go global also such a fail outside. Only jaguh kampung bersorak mcm Lebai Malang.

They will said of course Indonesia can sell cheap2, this car origin from there maa and bla3. Here Malaysia just rebadge it cannot la and bla3.

If cannot, just F close shop lah.

No point fighting in HANDICAP match like pondan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
      • Low Chee Bai on Sep 28, 2022 at 8:28 am

Fuel economy 22km/l ????

Using myvi g3 for 5 years now and the best ever per tank i got was 16km/l, full highway drive KL to JB. Most of the time mixed daily usage 10.5 – 11.8km/l.
        Not gonna trust P2 mileage claims anymore…

• Hisyam Teh P T (discharged) on Aug 19, 2022 at 1:34 pm

Compared to Jurassic park mpv “EXORA”..the Alza or Veloz is definitely in a different league.
      It is like premier league Vs Div 1 in English football.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Lolwhut? on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:07 pm

So you puas of them milking it from you? Oh wait you are the P2 salesman here scamming poor rakyat with substandard cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • What he says is right about Exora.

Other Proton cars are excellent & still new like X70, X50, Persona etc.

This is not about other Proton models, only Exora. Exora is 13 years old, and definitely needs replacement or it will lose more sales.

The Exora as a family car only has 2 airbags, No active safety like AEB, LKA, BSM, RCTM etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Aura89 on Aug 22, 2022 at 9:11 am

RM 75k is a joke. AT this stage I wouldn’t buy one for more than old RM 55k price and I am serious. Perodua can talk AEB, LKA, BSM, RCTM etc but that should come as part of the price and not force customers to pay extra RM 20k for them. If you want Exora to come with all these features, go ahead and tell Proton you will gladly pay RM 20k on top for them and they will give you. It is logical Exora omitted these to remain a price friendly family mover otoh Perodua has lost the plot with their recent models.

• Are you new to Malaysia car market?

Everyone of us able to list and name car and its spec below RM 100k. Seen and know thier driving, comfort, space, tech and safety that comes with it.

• Lets See on Aug 19, 2022 at 4:24 pm

No comment, only can laugh especially after Proton KO’ed this with latest launch of refreshed Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 19, 2022 at 8:23 pm

I didn’t say that the Alza drives better than those cars, all of which are great options. What I’m saying is that the Alza is a better choice as a sole family car IF you have a family of two kids or more, and occasionally take your parents out. As mentioned, you get all that space/versatility without sacrificing drivability, and the price-equipment ratio is unbeatable. Safety kit, too.

An MPV won’t be for everyone. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Aura89 on Aug 22, 2022 at 9:23 am

OH NO! Anyways…. coming of the back from a market stuck with 500,000 backlog orders, this car came just too late and won’t sell at least in the current near future.

• Hello, you really very dare. The best! But I believe you definitely represent only your own view!

• Definitely tailored to large Msian family type. Rear seats definitely for minors to be able to seat comfortably. Engine bay looks like a mess. Surely an engine cover won’t cost so much if it’s added on. And there’s no bottom cover for the engine. What gives? For better air ventilation?

• Sohai on Aug 20, 2022 at 8:07 pm

If all you can complain is lack of an engine cover and cosmetic that can’t even be seen, Alza has succeeded in offering its value.

• I pay 20k more for telescopic steering adjustment.

• Mr Mar on Aug 19, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Reading Danny article then move on to today’s Proton Exora 2023 launching article feels like “langit dan bumi”.

P1 should just discontinue the 2023 Exora and focus on Jiaji development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • hazri on Aug 19, 2022 at 4:32 pm

nahh, i just wait for new brv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • BRV like old grandfather car. Alza looks fine at least not as ugly as BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Casual reader on Aug 19, 2022 at 4:38 pm

Nothing outstanding. It just goes to show how much p2 neglected the old Alza. I’m disappointed honestly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • yawnz on Aug 19, 2022 at 10:58 pm

Disappointment should not be reminded! Its like putting salt on your wound!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • I miss Metramac on Aug 19, 2022 at 8:11 pm

D-CVT with better fuel efficient

• See tinh on Aug 19, 2022 at 10:57 pm

perodua car has long been great durability car and affordable for me i been waiting for this masterpiece, i am single but for me space is important you never know when the times you need space in car for transport and someday a family trip, i had made research from back then and when this car came out with the spec mention i know this car is a steal especially with auto cruise control you wont find it anything below 80k and spacious as the new alza, this is definitely a bargain.

• Amran on Aug 21, 2022 at 2:42 pm

And you believe bulat2 on them saying like that?

Hidup2 lu kne kencing mat. Cek kepala tu basah da tuh.

• Its fine for countries in this region…

• Ibnu Bakrin on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:46 pm

Thanks Danny for the review. Very detailed and lengthy.
    It will inspired many buyers especially those B40 with many children to have a peaceful mind travelling to hometown or kenduri kahwin.
    Cheap and more safety compared to previous models.

• iskhalifah on Aug 20, 2022 at 8:59 am

Danny how’s the ACC operations feels like? Both highway & low speed follow?
    Is it buttery smooth like Honda Sensing, or intrusive like Proton? Or barely acceptable like Toyota?

• aumeow on Aug 20, 2022 at 9:56 am

LOL Fully expecting honda trolls to crap here in 3.. 2.. 1

• Ground europe passenger on Sep 23, 2022 at 9:05 am

Almost perfect with price. The only kekurangan is cannot remove the eco idle.