GALLERY: Proton Suprima S and Preve compared

Proton_Suprima_S_vs_Preve_ 001

So far we’ve given you a live streaming of the launch event, full launch report, brief video walk around, speculative renderings or two, and yesterday, full test drive review of the new Proton Suprima S. Wrapping things up to a close, we now bring you a comparison gallery of Proton’s latest hatchback with the sedan that spawned it, the Preve.

You’ve come very familiar with the Suprima S in this past week or so, so let’s just move on to the key design changes. The two models share the same front end, with just the grille and bumper inserts making up the difference. The hatch’s main grille uses a honeycomb pattern and is finished in gloss black to give the Suprima S a more sporty appearance.

The lower air intake and foglamp housings are model specific, with those on the Suprima S incorporating more horizontal slats so it looks wider and lower to the ground. It’s not all for aesthetics either, as Proton managed to increase the radiator efficiency by 14% through the design changes.

Proton_Suprima_S_vs_Preve_ 009

Also new are the daytime driving lights (DRL) on the Suprima S. They look identical to the Preve’s LED light strips, but shine significantly brighter and are always on with the engine running. In the Preve, the LEDs act as the car’s “small lights,” i.e. position lamps, and only light up if you turn the light switch.

The hatchback gets larger wheels: diamond-cut 17-inchers against the Preve’s 16-inch twin-spokers. More detailed and sophisticated, they improve the Suprima S’ visual relationship with the road, resulting in a more ground-hugging stance. Stiffer and sportier tyres improve the car’s kinematics too.

Moving on, the bodywork changes aft of the rear doors, which are identical between the two. That’s a good cost-cutting measure there, done without compromising the looks of either model. From then on, the Suprima S appears bespoke and seemingly unrelated to the older Preve.

Much has been said of the Suprima S’ rear end; it getting largely mixed reactions from launch day. Let’s just say that pictures don’t quite do it justice, and that it looks a lot better in the flesh. Complex surfaces blend in and out of various horizontal lines for an interesting three-dimensional outlook.

The light clusters are all new, the hatch’s using LED light guides over the sedan’s individually crusted diodes. Badgings have changed too, with ‘Turbo’ now replacing ‘CFE’, while the “Handling by Lotus” laminated sticker makes a welcome comeback. Body-coloured Proton letterings also appear on the rear garnish, but are actually plastic stickers upon closer inspection.

Other changes include the repositioning of the Preve’s two rear foglamps into just one unit, centrally mounted within the hatchback’s large grey diffuser. The latter is a non aero-sensitive element, and is purely a design feature. Surprisingly, the exhaust pipe is hidden away out of sight on both models.

Inside, the changes are limited to detail trim updates. Silver cubic-print dash trim takes over the Preve CFE’s classier faux-wood panels, while the silver highlights on the steering wheel, shift paddles and gear knob are now finished in piano black in the Suprima S. The seats are now wrapped in leather, as is the handbrake lever.

More significant is the use of a new seven-inch Android-based touchscreen multimedia unit in place of the Preve’s smaller and awkward-to-use head unit. It fills up the double-DIN cutaway much better now, and there are fewer buttons cluttering the dashboard.

That’s about all the design changes there is. For a more subjective take on Proton’s latest model, read our full review of the car here, or if you prefer things from an objective perspective, check out our in-depth launch report here. Back on the design front, what do you think of the new Proton Suprima S compared to the Preve? Voice your comments below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• preve’s interior much better than suprima. But suprima’s exterior better than preve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 15
    • Preve name better than Suprima.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 9
      • go proton..
        i used to be skeptics about proton but after i drove proton cars (post gen2 era), i believe in their capabilities to provide quality cars.

Make Malaysia proud..if the Europeans can provide top notch cars, why not Malaysians? improve ur quality, then our economy and job opportunities will come with it automatically

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 234 Thumb down 28
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 257
          • not related to any cronies.. not even related to proton..
            sorry for actually wanting a local brands to succeeds internationally

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 9
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 164
          • wheeler on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:35 pm

proton car is not tin milo anymore. 5 star ancap safey rating is something to say nowadays!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 185 Thumb down 17
          • but most jap favourite cars here are exempted from that tax because it’s assembled in Malaysia or other ASEAN countries. so proton is wayyyyy cheaper lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Rakyat on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 256
          • GiZimo on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Korea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
          • Ononimos on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Walaweh.. You sure enjoy work as kuli pasang kereta or QC for product of other country. Japanesse, Korean and even the Thai people sure proud to have Malaysian like you. Kuli until the end. Good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 27
          • pondal on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:18 am

define quality?

• Whyme on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:59 am

Proton now owned by DRB Hicom. Not own by G. Pls update your knowledge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 67
          • Chris on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:07 am

Bro, you think it’s that simple? Thailand, Indonesia, Philippines, Vietnam all have lower wages and the quality of their work is as good as, if not better than what we can manage.

Even then it’s better to set up plants in countries that already have a matured supply network.

Too late for that now, our only hope is for Proton to succeed whether you like it or not. I wish proton start making car people drool over instead of buy them because they can’t afford anything else.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
          • Rakyat on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:00 pm

@Ononimos
            So you rather work for proton as kuli or you don’t work and expect you beloved G to feed you like bumi? Or may be you’re happy to pay 9 years loan for proton? Malaysia sure proud of people like you. Patriotic by paying loan. Good for you.

@Whyme
            Yes, proton not owned by G but the tax structure still the same. Other car companies cannot sell cheaper than proton, why? Just to let this company survive? If really fair, then impose the same excise duty to proton cars.

@Chris
            We waited 20 years for proton to succeed and see what are they doing now? Do we have to wait for another 20 years? Better late than never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 70
          • @rakyat
            excise duty is same, proton also pays, only import duty is different. it’s for non-local car, 10%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
          • well, if people in malaysia every one buy imported cars, our money out flow will be increase tremendously, causes our money value to drop, well if that happens, that will causes high inflation, thats what happend between 1997-1998 economic crisis hapends in m’sia, u wish to hapend it again?
            there is always a reson between infant industry agreement
            but any i did hope gov will stop protecting proton, for almost 28 years it still under infant industry agreement, how long proton can mature if nvr let them face any competition??

• I prefer ‘Preve S’ or ‘Preve Hatchback’. Like the Volkswagen did.
        Because total change of name but car actually goes from sedan to hatchback, it forms confusion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • John L on Sep 05, 2013 at 1:56 am

Yeah, Suprima sounds like Subprime.

• Vader on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:19 pm

RM200 million for the R&D cost to develop suprima from preve is totally ridiculous since 80% for both cars look alike and can be share each other.
      Besides, wonder why potong dare to keep emphasis that suprima s is a totally new model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 84
      • Bro Vader, this is d way potong mgmt keep earning. or else if depend on the sales alone, potong die long time ago since they hav to pay their colonies for supplying d overpriced parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 30
        • Storm Trooper on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Not colony, crony. If we have a DeathStar, our first target will be Proton factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 26
          • Darth Maul on Sep 01, 2013 at 11:39 pm

alright then, lets charge the ion cannon on the DeathStar rite now n prepare to blow up the Proton factory…hahahaha

• broo..to develop a new car from scratch is going to be wayyy more expensive than 200mil la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 8
      • Test drive ke genting, sampai di atas naik roller coster, sewa hotel, etc etc…thats why in 1 year r&d cost rm200 mill

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 56
      • Just me on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:44 pm

No wonder protong can’t sell cheaper than what it is now. For about the same price we pay for protong here, we can get better japanese car in thailand. Anyway not supprise in this land of endless possibilities, you need to factor in duit masuk poket for director, and most importantly for the honorable advisor. Land of endless possibilities never stop to surprise you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 48
        • decifa on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:38 pm

with price of preve you can get city in thai, or other car with lesser safety features

i’d rather want people to remember the car because it saves my life, not because i die in it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
      • AND the RM200mil R&D is actually sponsor by our Government, even after 100% sold to the crony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 55
      • qwerty on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:44 am

RM200 million is not that much actually.

There are just so many things to testify and keep changing in order to make it work in terms of design and functionality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • joefbi on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:08 am

haha! Do you know how much Perodua spent for RnD to develop new Myvi from the old one? Got big changes on Myvi? Yes? No? It’s more than what Proton’s spent on Suprima…u are jokes man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Sirim on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:11 pm

What kind of tyres do they have installed on the Suprima S? I do see 400 treadware, AA for traction and A for temperature. But I don’t see the tyre brand… Are they GT Radials?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Black Dog on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Proton always get cuntfused with names. Persona supposed to be Gen 3, and now Suprima supposed to be Preve hatchback. Mana otak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 58
        • kadajawi on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 141
          • have to change the names, keep it for later variants

• Proton Haters has No OTAK on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:28 pm

if no otak….how the buyers can alive????stupid other contury cars supporters!!!!GO&LEAVE MALAYSIA KNOW!!!!!

• SonySamsung on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Suprima using Achilles 2233 while preve using GT Radial Champiro Bax 2

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • its Achilles tyre

• Do not get annoy with the tires. its actually lousy tires. if u buy the car then go to the tyre shop to change a better tyre.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
        • kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Why give us lousy tires? Life not worth it?

• youly on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:10 pm

tyres can be changed but can you add airbags if you want it?

• kadajawi on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:57 pm

So Proton give us lousy tires to test our life on their airbags? No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Proton Supporter on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Better than even A45 AMG.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 6
      • Just me on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Joker. Protong engine sound like truck when press hard. Some peoples said bunyi cepat dari kereta. Sound come first, car still no where to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 43
        • sounds better than Japs car. oh ok, Jap doesn’t have turbo in it, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
        • Proton Supporter on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Proton got Lotus handling, Merc got what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
          • Mercedes got 6.495 billion euros in 2012.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • farghmee on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:23 am

those 6.495bil yours or not? ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • Just me on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:46 am

Errr…Merc got car that sell able, got good profit very year.

• Actually is not that ugly but it’s just too ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
    • Expatriate VN on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:04 pm

What to compare for these 2 car produce by Jaguh Kampung No. 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 29, 2013 at 1:43 pm

The only thing more scary than driving any of these cars is the mosquito that flew out of Magic Johnson’s bedroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 37
    • kadajawa on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Just like watching movie ‘Dumb & Dumber’…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Dru-Zod on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:18 am

Dude, that’s just not right man. Many people worldwide are suffering from that disease.

• OMG…i dont like both, but want me to choose, still think that Preve is better and nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • a bit of improvement on the SS compared to Preve,which is ok and look promising from proton.so far it is a good job but not well done, more to be done for the future model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • why compared…. as proton honestly told us there are hundreds of refinement (or to be blatant, CORRECTIONS) being done to make suprima a better car than preve….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 18
    • Joe Radzif on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:34 pm

because others want to know
      u dont want to know, just ignore…
      kikikiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:19 pm

in other words – hundreds of weaknesses engineers did not realised when developing preve. is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • Exactly.. Thats why Suprima better than Preve..

If you like Honda, also you should buy it after several months of release.. Even good engineers could not do everything right at first time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
        • alldisc on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:15 am

hello… 30 years in existence, and 15 years since making their own car. nothing learnt at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
          • kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Got, they learn to songlap money from the rakyat while proton supporters syiok sendiri by saying their car is the best in Malaysia and some say Universe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
          • dsgner on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:14 pm

tell that to honda, jaguar and others which didn’t get 5 star ancap safety rating, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • It’s good article. Welcome Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • wiralution on Aug 29, 2013 at 2:22 pm

better wait till CNY next year to buy. I anticipate there’ll be a lot of rebate kaw-kaw. Still worth to wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
  • arc982 on Aug 29, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Greetings! Since proton is so bold to compare the SS with golf and focus, why don’t Paul Tan do a proper comparison test between those cars. Would be interesting to see how proton SS gets burned =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • ioput on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:46 pm

why not compared with vios, almera, city, civic, sentra? they will get burned? and proton now is better than Japs? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Try compare with Mazda 3 and see who get smoked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
        • Waja mivec on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:16 am

Ahaa, Mazda 3 already get smoked by Tengku Djan’s Preve on 1000km endurance race at Sepang circuit… and now Suprima S? =D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
        • auto tranny mazda3 0-100 sucks. sure eats smoke, only with i-eloop is better

• basikal7 on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:46 am

of coz..Suprima will get burned… Suprima S is ‘mampu milik’ C-segment hatchback…which cheaper than other conti C-segment car…tell us here which,except Suprima, C-segment hatchback priced below 100k?

• junaidi on Sep 02, 2013 at 3:57 pm

LOL so you want Paul Tan and team to go through all that trouble, when you already know the result, that the Suprima will get burned?
      Tahapa taik la orang Malaysia ni.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:05 pm

I hope no one ask about the fuel consumption here..
    hihihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • @wilsonrock95 on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:09 pm

I need something big in me.

• innosera on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:14 pm

This 2 car should won Car of the Year 2012 and 2013

Let’s do a petition for it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • Kuinosan on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Why is Proton still designing cars that looks like the 80’s era? Please just close shop and let the Rakyat have the opportunity to buy cheaper cars. Just pack it in for goodness sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 80
    • alldisc on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:25 pm

i give you thumbs up but i dont agree it looks like cars of the 80’s. but neither it looks like the new millenium – more to like late 90s cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • your mentality is the one from the 80’s ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • tommy on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Proton should go back to the drawing board studying why consumers are shunning their products even with the price protection the sales figure are dropping. Purchasing a vehicle is a very major financial burden for most average malaysians just imagine being saddled with a loan of 9 years that is why consumers today would like a product that will last that long if not the resale is still good after 5 years or less. Proton should ask themselves why people associate sub standard quality to htis brand. Simple things such as door mouldings on the suprima looks cheap and not solid so if the company can’t get simple things right how to create a major product to attact the masses. Don’t try to be big headed by benchmarking your products to the european brands, just start by comparing to your nearest competitor that is the koreans. Today they are stealing away the sales volume of your company. The management should really start cracking their heads tather than sitting down in their posh office discussing what to eat and play golf. Go down to the ground and speak to the general public get an honest opinion rather than listen to your staffs. They are not telling you the truth. I will be glad to share my two cents if you want an honest and frank opinion.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 13
    • Proton Staff on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:21 am

P3-21A put forte as one of the benchmark. P3-21A exceed Kia Forte in terms of safety and chassis strength.

How can door looks cheap associate to solidness? If door is not solid, there is no way the Preve can achieve full star rating while the forte only manage 4 star despite having 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • ada aku kesah on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:33 am

Syok sendiri. Sales matter the most as proof of buyers confidence. Forte and Preve global sales, macam langit dan bumi lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • yes tipu like vios, cheap safety and life for buyers. proof of many buyers kena tipu, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • uzair on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:36 am

Not a solid door in SS? Seriously? You should spend sometime visiting proton showroom before writing your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • makan gaji on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:30 pm

I bought a brand new kancil back when my salary was 3k…its been 6 years and I still drove it to work everyday and already potong nama bank….

• akula on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:54 pm

exterior I prefer Suprima…
    interior I prefer Preve, but not that small screen..
    overall I prefer Suprima (better specs).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • noob car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
  • Fahmi on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Power sungguh, supa rimau… (Kelantanese accent)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
  • Datuk on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:22 pm

In my opinion the suprima s steering should be pair with preve dashboard i think. The price for both car is suitable with the spec but i’m more concern about quality. People buy a car as short term investment so i hope protons car quality should be fair for what people pay for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Mozilla Chrome on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:22 pm

I prefer to go for Preve..I can save almost 10k and with that money I can upgrade my car..preve with body kit is a looker too ya know..plus, I will get more room for the boot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:22 pm

still waiting for an updated version of the preve…
    maybe the facelift will address most of the issues on both preve n SS , like rear end design and choice of colours in the interior
    A preve elegance with two-tone interior wud be nice ..
    or like the sapphire concept…

• Bawakereta on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:50 pm

My salary only RM3000++, 10% downpayment would cost me around RM800++ monthly, PTPTPN loan RM150++, phone & internet bills for both me and my wife RM300, house rental RM550 , household RM500, baby diapers and formula milk RM200, AEON credit RM160++, current car (borrow sekejap dari father inlaw) RM250. If I sum all the expences it cost me around RM3000++. Ayooo… Mane mampu nak beli Suprima.nak beli myvi macam tak berbaloi pasal boot kecik. Tak muat nak letak baby stroller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • meng meng on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Better dont think to get this proton new car.
      Better get a 2nd hand used car like vios or city (09 yrs around 60-69k)
      Sure old, but still got in good condition.
      You can save alot loan and fuel money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 52
      • its true on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Toyota used car salesman spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
        • meng meng on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Im not toyota or honda sales man. Also not 2nd car sales man also.
          But try giving a cadangan only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
      • bvc100 on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Some people just want a brand new car. The feeling isn’t the same.
        That said, looking at the average Malaysian’s way of maintaining their cars now compared to before, most will pass the idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Annoynimouse on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:31 pm

I tend to disagree. Why buy 2nd hand Vios or City? They are not without their own problems. You don’t get a brand new car. You don’t get the level of equipment you find in the Proton here (check it out for yourself). You don’t get the benefit of warranty. The interest charged on a used car is higher. The Vios nor the city don’t drive anywhere as good as the Proton (unless driving feel is not your priority). To get to the same level of performance, the Vios and city will need some modifications because they aren’t originally intended for driving pleasure. If you’re solely judging on fuel economy, get a hybrid or a diesel.

The Vios’ interior build quality is only slightly better but they are in my opinion not as good looking. I like the City’s futuristic interior though. The earlier review mentioned about Protons interior build quality being not the best but I believe it’s not too far off either compared to the Vios & City. None of them are comparable to European marques in terms of refinement though.
        I suggest that if you’re looking for a new car, set your priorities. I’d only go for used cars if they are: affordable but way better to drive (golf level), mint condition and ,20k mileage.
        If you’re buying a new Proton, be very2 fussy and never sign the check unless the car is in perfect condition in and out. Whatever scratch marks you have on the car, have it changed. Doors don’t shut properly, change. You get the idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
        • meng meng on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:23 pm

1- i agree with ur higher intrest, but 1 thing.
          National new car intrest no different much compair 2nd hand car intrest.
          And he no need loan more and pay more maybe 9 years.
          2- the proton preve or suprima fuel consumtion is very high. He can save money from here to service the car.
          3- yes. Can enjoy the warranty benefit. But you NEED pay high service fee to keep your warranty.
          Try do the service chang the same thing.
          Proton service center around 200-300, but out side work shop below around rm 100.
          U can save alot money to change the spare part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • bvc100 on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:33 am

High interest rate due to lower loan amount. I believe this is the basic concept to all loans. If not, how do you think they make money?

One more thing, you do outside most probably they are cheap for “reasons” some would understand as they’ve been a victim of it. I have so i won’t do it anymore.

• farghmee on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:46 pm

boot suprima +- 2x saiz boot myvi.
      boleh muat stroller kt myvi, tp bli yg stroller buggy type la.

• Fahmi on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Better buy Saga FLX/Persona B-Line….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • bro..jangan tengok orang..
      tengok poket sendiri..at least save 25% la daripada salary..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Savvy88 on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Bro.. Saga SV kan ada.. ukur baju di badan sendiri yaww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Proton patut ukur Suprima(seluar dalam) di badan sendiri. Not claim this, claim that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • slacv on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:29 pm

if you don’t know malay proverb no need to use it. it just shows your ignorance.

• kadajawi on Aug 31, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Never heard of improvise? No wonder the mentality of Proton and it’s supporters are the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • my recommendation.. saga flx..
      nothing’s wrong with it..why burden yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Katak on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:24 pm

When my salary was 3K long time ago, I can only afford Wira which serves me right for solid 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Waja mivec on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:32 am

kereta murah dan maintainance rendah & senang jaga = saga, iswara, wira, datsun, ke70 2nd, 2k~8k cash boleh dapat.. lagi besar dari myvi..

• terubuk on Aug 31, 2013 at 12:22 am

you always have an option to buy Saga SV. large space for family & good safety as well. manage your financial properly and u still can buy a new car. :)

• Buy a Saga FLX instead, with big booth, ABS, EDB, 2 air bags and CVT 6 gear box.

• teelim on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:58 pm

“Completely new model”

Hahahhahahahahahahahhaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • l like preve back, look like audi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • leena on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:03 pm

maybe lot of ppl disagree. But frankly said it looks slightly like Audi rear lamp honestly.

• blisse on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:54 am

I agree, look like audi, and I like it’s slanted shoulder line like on merc and beemer

• Fahmi on Aug 29, 2013 at 6:36 pm

No budget, just buy Saga FLX / Persona B-Line….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Suprima is a nicer car..

You may not like it 100% but there sure many corrections and improvements after what they hear from Preve’s users..

The rear and everything looks nice in actual ..

• motorhead on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Can I know the FC from the comparison? Which is better? FC claim by proton very high already.

• Sharon on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Instead of Blaupunkt, why not Clarion? By the way, Proton should put as option whether the DRL auto switch on once the engine started or let the driver to turn it off when DRL really doesn’t needed especially during sunny day.

• Josh Ling on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:05 pm

i think overall look i prefer preve, and i have to disagree with the writer of another article; the preve actually looks more proportionate than suprima s. interior i prefer suprima s, one really has to sit in suprima s’ cabin to appreciate the overall quality; it’s a vast improvement even compare with preve.

and i do wish proton has given suprima s a different front look, coz the current design is simply too matured for a hatchback body.

• Ridzuan Rahman on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Bro bawakereta, if u want better space for ur luggage or etc I recommend u to buy Alza S. Practical + Low fuel consumption. It cost u around 600 monthly with 10%downpayment. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • Bobomarley on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Wow the 2 car was soo different that u need to put side by side. Why so stupid spending soo much money to modify the rear and keep the front almost the same..I thought that with moderate sales of preve and high sales of handsome kia give proton idea where to improve but nopp.. by using knowhow of the 90s they think huge money spend at the back make all the different…..proton change the front and your stupid 90s dash board..next time when hire italian designer ..ask for fresh sketch not the one inside their design album…dated 1993 by idonno luccissi kerreta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • emken on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:59 pm

nothing wrong with the dashboard, i dun like the big knobs or to many buttons. driver needs concentration and ease of control in car rather than spacehip-alike dashboard.

• Krasher on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Nothing is wrong?! It’s so wrong!! Any 7 yrs old can sketch a better dashboard design than this! I puke everytime by just looking at those fog/hazard light buttons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
        • hbrush on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:32 am

For me, it’s much better than vios and city. Fog/hazard light buttons is normal one

• Ah Beng on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Design by indo designer in lala land is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • leena on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:09 pm

i dont want to be bias. Frankly Preve interior a bit similar to VW Jetta. For the finishing n trimming a bit ol skool. No butthurt for VW fans ok

• In term of quality, Yes…but…for how long it will stand?…thats the real problem with proton. Compared with other import brand for the 1st and 2nd year for sure the “brand new” feel still there but what about for the next couple of year coming?. For the malaysian car market we all know needs a long period of loan to be made about 7-9yrs to finish, so we need a car that can lasting at least 5-7 yrs to provide a “brand new” feel while we still using it. Proton came from msia tax payer money for a long time and now proton must pay back,not in term of money but quality and reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • jalpro on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:51 pm

I don’t care about the design of suprima and preve. Both car have a good performance in term of engine capability. The engine total displacement was 1.6 cc turbo engine with max.torque at 205Nm. Even Honda city, kia forte and toyota vios, their torque is less than this engine.
    Don’t forget to has fill of ride handling from lotus for these proton model.
    I already test drive suprima and preve. It was different compared to the previous model of proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Tak Habis Hentam Saja on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:09 pm

a lot of basher here never use proton car, the only matter i agree is about the price,it’s too pricey,
    buying this far more better than buying “J” dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • imran on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:43 am

Actuall the price is better than preve.

if you want to buy preve, Add another 8K and u get all those features mentioned above. android wifi n better ICE, upgraded transmission, 17″ rims, better NVH, better R&H, & many more.

Thats actually a good buy.

go find at mudah.my and you’ll see they sold suprima s @ lower price after discount

1.6 EXECUTIVE – RM72,561.50
      1.6 PREMIUM – RM 75,483.50

Thats y suprima s actually sells even though there are so many negative comments here.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/08/27/Proton-sure-on-exceeding-sales-of-Suprima.aspx

• shawal on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:12 pm

The preve’s boot comes with plastic floor cover
    the SS does not
    In every other Honda, its a RM200+ accessory…

• Vincent on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Suprima = sounds like Sperm! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • sompua on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:30 pm

this car is no doubt good, so does preve, especially the handling. I drove brand new Y2012 Citroen C4 turbodiesel in France for a year, I can tell you the handling of C4 is no where near compared to preve, not even Persona.

But the price of both is in the range of the Japs car. So the question is, can these Suprima and Preve compete with Japs brand?

The answer is obviously big NO. It’s different market segment, not very favourable to Proton due to the obvious reasons.

It is proven that the sales of Preve is sluggish, now they introduce even more expensive car. Where are the brain of these people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • goose on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:42 am

price already similar to B segment Jap car. preve/SS is C, should be higher price.

• alldisc on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:58 am

stop benchmarking local market.

if really proton wants this to be its global car, should look at europe – where ppl looking for decent cars that is close to size and power to what we drive everyday.

unlike japan where proton could never compete in sales at all, or south korea. or india (largest RHD market country in the world in terms of population) or america (it is either A-B segment or D and larger segment – which preve is neither here nor there).

• OB PIOW on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:25 pm

A chocolate with shit taste compare with A shit look like chocolate,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Ya right on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Malaysian generally are brand conscious.

It is true that proton used to be bad car manufacturers. I agree but for Proton Persona, Proton Preve and Proton Suprima, they have improved a lot. Quality wise, they have improved but need to improve more especially the QC and after sales…

To all the proton basher out there, Proton Preve and Suprima isn’t that bad….go test drive it. Styling is very subjective and some might like it and some might not.

Pricing wise…..if Proton Preve/ Suprima is cheaper, you will say it has no quality that is why it is cheap.

Selling more expensive, you will say the car is not worth it and over priced.

Some of you want this and that features which currently the Preve/Suprima offers a whole lot features which even Japanese cars don’t provide. Yet you still complain Proton Preve/ Suprima is lousy.

Everyone has their own opinion i agree. However the conclusion is, you will keep complaining no matter what Proton gives you.

Summary is:

If you got money and you want a fast car: Buy Ferrari or Lamborgini or Mercedes or Audi etc.

If you don’t have so much money but you want a fast car: Buy VW, Ford Focus or Megane.

If you don’t have money but still want a branded car: Buy Toyota Vios or Honda City

If you really no money: Better buy cheap Viva or public transport.

Or if you think Preve or Suprima feature to value is there. Just buy it….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
    • ada aku kesah on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:28 am

In Langkawi what car would you buy? Still Toyota rite? Itu kereta Proton you tak main lagi lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • alldisc on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:06 am

if proton has improved a lot (err, since when? 2-3 yrs back?) they could have making 300,000 cars a year which means with bigger economies of scale, they can produce cars with cheaper rate.

and pass the savings to consumers alike.

and then sell more.

problem is… we dont see this is happening. proton still fails to capture international market and hardly 100k production per year.

cost remains high, protections remains the same, and the rakyat continue to suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • stupid on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:28 am

why don’t toyota name vios as dugong instead?

• ada aku kesah on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:37 am

How about pyjama? If Proton use clothing name, Toyota also can.

Satu seluar dalam, satu lagi pyjama.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Forrest Gump on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:38 am

you living up to your name

• Don’t know about you guys, but this year’s Merdeka is the gloomiest yet…. with the crime, 505 and all. Maybe there were worse Merdekas, but I was only born in ’94, so please forgive my inexperience.

Fortunately, there exists a ray of ‘light’ which offers us all hope in these dark times; the new Suprima. It’s something Malaysians can and should be proud of. It’s just too bad that the ‘light’ hasn’t reached everyone just yet, and that not everyone has been ‘enlightened’ with the truth, but perhaps, hopefully, time will help shed more ‘light’ on the subject.

Sorry for the cheesy-ness. xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • ricer on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:47 am

Some people just don’t want to get enlightened but they “enlight” other people with their darkness.

• Hahahahaha true story man ! …. Sigh, what to do, I guess once bitten, twice shy eh ?

• ada aku kesah on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:26 am

As long as there is Proton and NAP protection crap, boleh mimpi lah to shed light on dark times. Stop your wet dream and just buy a Toyota OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
      • imran on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:24 am

If u are angry with the high & unfair car price at malaysia, the one you should get angry to is to the G. not proton. even if proton close shop. the G still use the NAP protection crap to protect produa & naza. because thats actually one of many ways how our G makes money.

Dont use that for an excuse so u can support other carmaker that actually realy likes malaysian market to make money selling lower spec car with very high price because they know malaysian market will not support their national carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • I don’t know if you’ve read my previous comments, but I’ve said many times that I DON’T approve of the car taxes in Msia. Especially the excise tax and even the dubious APs, all must go.

I already have a 2011 Toyota Corolla in the family, but I wish it were a Mazda 3, Ford Focus or Kia Cerato instead. Why ? Because UMW Toyota is too damn stingy. TCM Nissan is just as bad. At least DRB-HICOM and Sime Darby value their customers by giving more standard safety equipment.

• John Tey on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:31 am

The guy talking in the Suprima advertisement turn me OFF with the typical chinese slang. Can’t you have a better english speaking person?

• Why Proton do this on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:35 am

That fella also indirectly taruh all the people who criticise Proton. I feel the advert is belittling me as a consumer. Just more reasons not to buy Proton

• I can see improvements made by P1..infact although ppl still complained it’s more about their personal view…

Engine; Campro, there’s improvements to the engine compared to last time (the only locally mass produced local engine)..but hopefully later on P1 will consider in leveraging SP1 engine they bought from Petronas…

Body; No matter how they achieve 10Star Rate also ppl will keep on complaining compared to T/H/K that may provide lower qualities or specs…still will talk about ‘Tin’..if do not want so called ‘Tin’ go and but T-90, T-84 or Abrams…sure it is tough..

Performance; 205 Torque still not enough? then they may just shop prime mover / dumper trucks…coz they need extra power to move…err speed wise 190 km/h- 220 km/h not enough? then buy ATR-72…you will automatically cruising at 400nm/h….

just could not understand what these ppl want..last time during our grandparents time..they walk everywhere, using leg..no complain…took buses / trains & cramped standing without seats..no complain..but now buying cars…almost everybody complain..what a fuss? Car is for movement not decoration…anyway Selamat Hari Merdeka Ke-56..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • totti on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:07 am

If you have 70K. There are many choice in the market, why buy Suprima S?

Get the Honda Jazz/Toyota Vios/Nissan Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • imran on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:52 am

Get into RM70K Empty Honda Jazz/Toyota Vios/Nissan Almera & also Suprima S, test drive them all & you’ll know which to buy :) I think the result is obvious.

I havent found yet anyone that comment here said he already test drive suprima S & not satisfied with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Civic 2013 1.8… bunyi kluk2 kat suspension.brand new baru kluar kedai.. tukar suspension… warranty… honda pon ada defect… civic fd lg bnyak defect… power window, reverse sensor, leaking dkat power steering, faded kat plastik part.. kesimpulannya – mana ada yg perfect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • imran on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:57 am

completely agree.. its just their owner who is shame to tell people their cars defect.. buy expensive imported cars, mana boleh complain.. malu la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • smart on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:16 am

Yes totally agree with you. Im also driving brand new civic 1.8 (A). On my 2nd years after purchased it, I found out that there was a leaked on my car’s boot. honda changed it for free, because it still under warranty & they admitted their mistake as faulty manufacturing. On the 3rd years…the bearing problem. Honda change for free again because still under warranty. The car is not that great…the only reason why i still like Honda is because of their service & responsibility towards customer. And i will still change to another honda perhaps CRV one day. But salute to Supreme S…better then vios dugong or mazda or VW jlta.

• SubHaSubHa.. on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:42 pm

The interior of both cars looks cheapo and outdated, pls update your design team Proton. As for the price I disagreed with Dr. M, the car is not cheap it can be cheaper sub RM70k.

• totti on Aug 30, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Get into RM70K Empty Honda Jazz/Toyota Vios/Nissan Almera & also Suprima S, test drive them all & you’ll know which to buy :) I think the result is obvious.

I havent found yet anyone that comment here said he already test drive suprima S & not satisfied with it.
    —————————
    Imran,

Yes, u R right if based on test drive where lotus handling will beat the Jazz/vios.

i have the experienced on what you have said before when i test drove the Citroen 2.0 ZX (RM 88K) against the honda Civic 1.6 (RM 89K)during year 1995 and end up buying Citroen.

The reliability of part, maintenance cost, fuel consumption and resale value of Proton or continental car will make you regret later.

Dont follow your feel based on test drive. you need to think wisely on long term reliability, maintenance and resale value cause car price in malaysia in extreme high as compared to other country.

Please go ahead to buy the junk and you will regret with the junk resale value and long term maintenance/expenditurte on fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • MercBabe on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:52 pm

I gotta say I disagree with UR thoughts. Think of it another way round. The car u purchased gave AND provided u the performance, reliability AND safety which are important aspects into buying a car. I promise u this, NO MAKE/MODEL can provide u 2nd hand price. Even a property nowadays cannot determine a profit after 10-20yrs of holding onto it. Buy a car within UR means, think of what is priority to u. There should never be any regret aft buying anything coz u got what u really wanted in the 1st place. No car has a resale value. But we need to accept the fact that That was our budget & we have greatly utilized the car well during our care. If this u still can’t adapt, maybe u should just look into …. Walking or taking public transportation. No offense, but it’s the truth. Seriously, no offense meant

• imran on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:35 pm

its easy to see the value when u use mudah.my .. go n check yourself to see other makes 2nd hand values & proton. Proton later models value does not drop much especially exora bold cfe. u wont find many of it.

I dont trust resale value because I have friends & family who have hard time to sell their imported cars.

Its pity u choose citroen. i admit citroen makes good & very very comfort car. but citroen is realy seems like does not exist at all at malaysia. Different with proton where u can easily find parts & accessories & they are cheaper. many workshop know how to service them.

Just dont go to proton service center because many of them dont know how to repair their own car.

• imran on Aug 30, 2013 at 3:49 pm

plus.. the G is on the move to reduce import duty but still remain excise duty. means imported cars price will slowly reduce.

on the other hand, proton will not effected by import duty reduction. therefore proton will need to get ready for imported car price to be very competitive. proton need to make better quality, high value but cheaper car today.

for imported car… you can wait for the price to drop tomorrow if the car price reduce without notice. just like honda jazz. people buy it for rm90K.. a year later the new unit price is 75K. resale value of your car will drop significantly in no time.

• wow nowadays proton is compared with conti, not japs anymore. the difference is proton price and maintenance are much cheaper and RV is better

• Just to cut through all your comments. You know Japanese & Korean will buy their own made car even though if it is inferior to other car brands. But we Malaysian prefer cars from other country than own brand. Look at how Japanese& Korean cars have improved. Honda & Toyota already in F1. If you all have a dream Proton will be there eventually if you believe. Try Suprima Vs Vios….in all espect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on Aug 31, 2013 at 3:37 pm

You know why? It’s because Proton export their better quality models to other country while Japan saves their better car for their own people. Proton think their own rakyat’s life is not worth it but we, the people is not stupid. If you want to compare, please don’t compare with Vios, compare lah with VW Golf, Ford Focus or Mazda 3 as Proton says is better than them but we all know the truth right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:11 am

If you want to compare with Vios, at least compare with same segment car like Proton Saga. If you say Vios has less safety features, how many stars did Saga get in crash test eh?

• songi on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:32 pm

vios is not aussie ncap tested yet. the standard here is more lenient. at least saga has 3 star ancap published in 2011. so saga sv might score more. the yaris is the whole different car from vios here coz it has dual front airbags, side airbags, head-protecting side curtains and a driver knee airbag plus ESC.

• Rakyat on Sep 01, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Come on lah, Saga got only 1 star. It is only after they publish the test results that Proton decide to add more airbags, think the rakyat is stupid ah?

• voilve on Sep 02, 2013 at 8:36 pm

so what? the result is still valid. it’s much better than ditching 8 airbags to only 2 in uncle’s T fav car.

• Joe Boer on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I booked suprima s premium today without test driving it, just tried sitting and took a glance at engine bay were adequate to justify my booking.

• Fraz006 on Sep 01, 2013 at 3:23 am

If u r ok with low rpm weak torque, u ll be fine

• 205nm from 2000 rpm is more than enough for everyday use. test drive it before talking bs

• saiful msm on Sep 02, 2013 at 8:18 am

Proton sekarang ini semakin garang di atas jalan raya..
    terbaikkk..

• “People talk a lot about cars, but how much do they actually know about cars?..Sabas ploton”

• My mum drives a one year old trouble free Preve. Last Raya we went back to Kluang from Seremban, and it cost only RM25 on fuel. That is good. My dad wanted a Preve too to replace his workhorse Waja, but mum insist on the Suprima.

• RON95 on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:16 pm

I found it funny when people wants potong close the shop (i’m not a potong fan either). just think for a second, if potong close the shop, do you think our current G will reduce all the taxes? i don’t think so! our G will see this is an opportunity (if potong close the shop) to ‘cekik darah’ rakyat even more.

• norman on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:47 pm

You sure that asean assembled jap car is way quality than Proton? Besides the transmission and engine which japan supply the fitment and body endurance is just as suck as Proton and Perodua

• EA111 on Sep 08, 2013 at 1:44 pm

asyik2 Kadajawi ni yg bash. apa bangsat la. haha busuk punya orang puihh. perhaps you’re not automotive enthusiast. You should make a Malaysian automotive website and become a journalist using the name “Automotive Basher greater than Jeremy Clarkson”

• ICUI4CU on Sep 11, 2013 at 9:07 am

Kadajawi is indonesian that doing a research about proton…

• Im gonna call it Preve Hatchback no matter. i’ve tested the car, was not bad. I actually said to the sales man “Saya nak test drive Preve Hatchback”. and he knows which car was it.

• Gua also tested the car, not bad!!!

• Bobomarley on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:54 pm

I recently understood that the suprima size s is design for european market so they keep high specs for local so that it become cheap enough due to high volume locally . Meaning that by seliing 50000 units high price here they could sell 5000 unit in uk at lower price. Wow solid math proton even the japs couldnt figure it out ..no wonder toyota stupid enough to sell lower specs car with lower price and get more sales.. locally.hah poor vios… never got the chance to go to uk..

• this kadawaji is a stupid arrogant political minded who think he knows everything.if u don’t like G and local brand.go leave this country alone la man.a guy like u is such a stupid i don’t know how to explain.if u don’t like the car,say u don’t like it and that’s it.no need to mention about G, duit rakyat etc.this is all about car not some political debate u dumbass.

• I’ve fought for Proton and despite strong opposition from my friends and family, bought the Preve to prove them wrong, that Proton can make good cars. Who knew, I was one to be proven wrong. Since owning it in late Feb 2013, my car has returned to the service center more than 10 times. Problems as below:
    i. Burnt headlamp
    ii. False SRS Warning light. Stayed in COSE almost a month
    iii. Low Battery Warning & difficulty to start engine.
    iv. Power window noise
    v. Boot opens up when hitting bump
    vi. Finally, and the worst, super loud engine noise when I was driving down MEX.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6JP8oPKWY0?w=200

Maybe it’s an isolated case, but surely it disappointed me.

• Preve Supporter on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:24 am

WK.. your Preve got wiring problem.. grounding or electrical leakage issue..
      Good wiring car shouldn’t burnt your headlamp..

• Probably. It’s just really unfortunate to get this specific car, I guess. I know it’s isolated case because no one else seems to have this problem. But it’s frustrating..

• Bob Cr-X on Nov 06, 2013 at 6:47 pm

its looks like everybody know that every single cent from proton car buyers will go to Crony Pocket.. maybe their guys working in Proton Account Department Or Management somethings… come on!!!

its it any ASEAN COUNTRY can make CAR Like US,Give me The Country NAME!!!

Proud To Be Malaysian… Bcoz Proton Suprima S Only Rm79,998.00 and much better from Stupid NEW Toyota Vios 2013 RM90k+++.Buy Vios,you only got the Brand,not comfort,good handling,Turbo engine like Proton Suprima S… Think about it!

• curikereta on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:28 am

You like it then go ahead and buy, if not just shut up, stop bashing, or better still look at oneself reflection in the toilet bowl

• Be Urself on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:05 am

Pity with malaysian cars enthusias, always debating about cars….eventhough proton already exists since 1985 but the topic still the same.Please be rational, if u can afford and love the car just buy it, if u hate the car just buy other brand that suits u…no need to create such story just to condemn the brand that u dislike. If u can afford to own a Merc, BMW , Honda etc just go ahead, buy it and dont make bad statement about other brand.

• We’ll said. Haters gonna hate. Proton haters shouldn’t be in this page. Looser!!

• razali on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Previously owned wira, waja, saga and exora. Yes problem with accessories especially with exora, but nothing much with all other. Engine problem; none at all for all cars. Waiting for a better offer or rebate suprima or inspira. Suprise myself after test drive vw polo sedan, fiesta, suprima, inspira but still prefer proton and all its (recognised) problem?? As long no engine problem, I enjoy the car and the drive.

• hi.. can i know your driving feeling on suprima s and inspira?? compare each other?

• razali on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:06 am

Very fortunate SA allowed to drive suprima on extended distance while test drive relative inspira. Gooad handling in both, suprima is very nippy, very confident in overtaking in tight situation with enough acceleration and braking/handling. Please test yourself to appreciate mr CS.

• tidin on Sep 02, 2014 at 8:29 am

banyak komen ini keyboard warrior. apa pon tarak. tak suka, tak usah beli. Suka then beli. apa kecoh-kecoh?

• Localboy on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:34 am

My first car nissan sunny then ford telstar 1.8 move on to K-pop hyundai spectra, cannot tahan fuel guzzler bought a Proton savvy manual in 2005 as a second car, went to see bomoh as fuel in savvy didn’t want to finish, bomoh couldn’t trace any genney today after ten years and running fine, I keep the savvy as it don’t bleed my pocket and find a local bride name preve premium. My brother’s cik city not all perfect dispite high maintanance, my sister vios too plus so lame my father nissan livina had make his blood shoot high, I’m happy with my local brides low maintanance not much yak yak compare to ego boost foreign of my siblings

• Tanchong on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:43 am

Before proton, secondhand car dealers sell junks used japs cars to Malaysian at a price of a new saga sv. That the reason those “_ _ _ _” hate proton

• Hideous proton on Nov 28, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Yuk yuk and yuk. The interior looks third world. Looks like cheap plastics uhu glued together by a three year old. And pls don’t get me started with the exterior and its engine.Just let this hideous proton die and leave car making for the japs and Germans. Proton is getting from bad to worse and from worse soon to worst.

• Mr. Iron Wizard on Nov 22, 2018 at 6:45 pm

When looking all these comments, i should give some opinion especially to the Malaysian as well known as the “complaint machine”. The gov should have built up a big scale’s supermarket for auto-productions specialist to the Malaysian. Forcing to show their concerned of the citizen’s feeling and emotions, like or unlike things whatsoever. Make a changes of world automotive into custom-made car production based on customer’s taste & wanted. Fair enough to everybody (your choice, your right). This uniquely supermarket are similar to our typical groceries supermarket (Tesco, Giant, Aeon Big) got many sections, such as Engine, with variety of brand/performances until to an Interior and Exterior features. Car’s colour also will be provided (you want pink?, i gave you a rainbow) So you can go pick it up what you are wanted/taste and put in the trolley. Done selection of the auto features then proceed to the cashier counter(Banker) for the loan application. No need to worries, your bank loan results will be notified with immediate effect (Approved/Rejected). Let’s say the loan has been approved by the bank, your car will be delivered to front door house in/by 7 working days from the date of purchases. Hahaha!! It’s due to the fact of uncontrollable habit among the Malaysian were good in terms of complaining on the car’s condition, price, dashboards like old 70’s, doesn’t have so many buttons like an airplane cockpit, doesn’t hv futuristic design and so many others thing that probably would be useful and good movement to shut down the “complaint machine”. Trust me! if you bought any car or any brand but doesn’t know how to take care of it and drive out like a monkey, even an Audi, BMW or Porches’s brand also cannot guarantee that can be satisfying you. Don’t spend to much just to buy a car which is has a similar principal method to protecting you from raining, hot day, enjoying local radio station, more passenger’s seat and bonnet, viper, air-conditioning etc. Trust me! U can’t stay inside for damn longer than 24 hours (non-stop). Even inside the airplane from KL to London took around 13-14 hours also cannot tahan already. LOL