New 2015 Mazda 2 Skyactiv spied testing in Thailand

mazda-2-thailand

The new Mazda 2 has been spotted in Thailand, which could mean that production of the B-segment car will be starting soon. The 2015 Mazda 2 was only revealed two weeks ago, so this sighting comes very soon. It’s a rear shot of a white five-door hatchback (sedan not confirmed or revealed yet, but could look like this) with the Mazda and Skyactiv badges under black tape.

A faithful reproduction of the Hazumi concept from Geneva 2014, the new Mazda 2 (Demio in Japan) will come with 1.3 and 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrols, and a new 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel. Expect SkyActiv manual and auto gearboxes, both with six speeds, plus MZD Connect and the i-Activsense suite of safety systems.

The new five-door hatch grows in all dimensions except width, which remains at 1,695 mm. Wheelbase has jumped 80 mm to 2,570 mm, length is up 160 mm to 4,060 mm, and height enjoys a 25 mm leap to 1,500 mm. Compared to the Honda Jazz and Ford Fiesta, the M2 is longer overall, and from wheel to wheel.

The new 2 will come to Malaysia either towards the end of this year (according to a research report) or sometime in the first half of 2015. We have plenty of material for you to pore over, from comparo charts to videos and hi-res pics. Click here to view them all.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• And will be bloody expensive as usual. Janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • anon2 on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:47 pm

and with bloody minimum equipment as usual. Rakyat Dibahulukan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:54 am

Correct, especially when Bermaz announces Mazda 2 will be CKDed will slight price reduction from CBU price.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:10 am

It shouldn’t be expensive. All thanks to the Proton and its legendary GSC.

Legend is legend, it is never real.

• elson on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:25 pm

i wan sedan pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Mazda Malaysia kinda screwed up the 3 big time, with only a sedan, an absolutely pathetic features for the price. They did the 6 and CX5 right. It’s critical for them to repeat the CX5 and 6’s packaging formula instead, before they end up losing ground to the now pretty strong Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:32 pm

IMO the mazda 3 wasn’t really bad specs….but cruise control omission is very strange. it was more of a case of not getting the full bounty which tempted us in the press photos and roadshows…(2.5 engine, head up display, dual zone climate control)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:25 am

History told us the totally failure marketing strategy from BY management team which set the 3 which under C-segment cat vehicle at D-segment pricing range. How freq u could see the 3 on the road compared H Accord?

• KKZOOM on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Hey dude…. compare apple with an apple.
        I reiterate again… if is a Fuji Apple then compare with an Fuji apple.
        Pathetic

• KKZOOM on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:39 pm

sorry man, I have to correct you. You are damn lucky to able to view or perhaps touched the car. Talking about pathetic features and may you elaborate more details the meaning of your comment? If not, allow me to point out some factors why this is price like this…
      First is CBU (fully imported from Japan)the price is stupendously controlled by our gomen where else Honda’s most are already local assemble.
      There are many Skyactiv components in this 3
      like I-eloop, I-stop… does Honda has it?? Oh.. by the way if you so not no what that is, pls check the Net. The sum it up… the Mazda 3 was in picked into the last 3 entry of the World Car Of the Year,,, are you aware?? Where is Honda’s?? By the way we consumer are out there is not trying to see who bit who to be the market leader… we see facts
      and foremost vale buy in terms oh totality not just the stupid $$$$ PRICE. Wake up dude!! Shift your paradigm in seeing things. By the way last but not least … I’m a proud owner of the new 3’s.

• old dog on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:13 pm

just remain the existing price of under RM80K, and it can be a hit against Vios…

hello Mr P’s Global Car??

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:12 pm

This kinda small B segment should priced below 75k while low spec at +-60k. That why the Nissan Almera still maintain its market share which have targeted those who spending ~6xk for a small family sedan. Do remember Nissan Versa (almari) at US pricing from US$ 11900 (MYR 40000) have uncountable disappointing review since launched BUT the sales figure will tell the truth when we deal with the smart consumers from the states.

• KKZOOM on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:18 pm

again… again… price and not spec… how can you campare Mazda 2, a global car with Vios and City which are regional made to suit your fools here.
      wake up!! You should be thankful to get so many
      new players coming to us than to stuck with the 2 makes for donkey years Ad

• teelim on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Mazda 2 MPS please…

• Mr Khan on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:31 am

This might bump straightaway with Proton GSC since both will be launched simultaneously…Now, would you be patriotic or be captivated by this baby’s interior?(Which I am btw)

• BuRaIaN on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:09 am

Still the most gorgeous compact ever built.

• second class citizen on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:39 am

much better than jazz without dream earth engine. kudos to Mazda for not using second class engine & drivedrain like toyota and honda Malaysia do.

• IdealTech on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:23 am

U made my day son. U dreamt of the earth too much despite it supposedly Earth Dream Technology. To conclude about ur english, you have already self-conclude by “drivedrain” instead of drivetrain. Yes, ur english is by the drain haha

• 3rd class kiki lala on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:23 pm

2nd class bro english is better than mine cause i was keep googling what is drivedrain huhu haha.

• KKZOOM on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Hi lad… you do made sense… by the way can someone tell me what is Dream Earth ttechnology..
      come on guys… is just Honda publicity stunt!! check what did they really improve??

• samlok on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:27 am

Shit, i should have waited for this then buying ckd swift. Lousy workmanship!

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Swift was designed & manufactured to target on consumer under category LOW INCOME but excluded Msia. The tax duties structure applied differently across different brand although same engine cc and same ckd, the same ministry after 57yrs merdeka still not able to standardize and make tax structure transparent.
      The result from Trade ministry could be ranked as top10 mystery of the world.

• Kiki Steeringnator on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:22 am

It’s a bargain. Comes with steering lock and anger & tension sensors to advise you when you get upset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:57 am

Mazda 2 is B segment car. Hopefully manual transmission will be provided as manual transmission is still preferred by drivers for cars from A to C segments.

• EnergyAnalyst on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Big face for small car, is kind of a turn off for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • rokiah on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:00 am

interesting..wish to have one.1 day