Proton Australia drops S16 FLX, Persona Elegance and Gen.2 from line-up, streamlines range to 3 models

proton s16 flx

Proton Australia has dropped three models from its lineup, streamlining its range in the country to three vehicles – the models that have been discontinued are the S16 FLX (the Saga FLX), Persona Elegance and long-serving Gen.2, leaving the Preve, Suprima S and Exora as the automaker’s only offerings there.

Sales have reportedly been slow for the three outgoing models in 2014, with the S16 FLX being the best performer of the trio. Back in March, Proton Cars Australia stated its sales figures for January and February this year as being 48 and 106 units respectively. Reports indicate that the automaker has sold less than 800 vehicles in the country up to December.

The Proton S16 first began selling in Australia in late 2009, and was replaced in the model lineup by the S16 FLX in mid-2012, with two 1.6 litre CamPro IAFM variants, the GX and GXR, each with manual and CVT transmission options, going on sale there.

The last that was heard of the Gen.2 was last year, when it was named the country’s ‘least expensive small car under AUD$35k to own and run’ by New South Wales motoring association NRMA (National Roads and Motorists’ Association) in the association’s annual study of vehicle operating costs.

The Preve made its Australian debut in October 2012 at the 2012 Australian International Motor Show in Sydney, with the GX manual and GX CVT announced as variants. In August 2013, it was reported that pricing for the car had been revised, with both versions AUD$3,000 cheaper than they were at point of launch.

The Suprima S, meanwhile, made its market debut in November last year, while the Exora – in GX and GXR forms – was launched last December, even though it was also shown in Sydney a year earlier.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Proton mana ‘laku’ sana! Orang jual 2 ribu kereta Jepun tiap bulan, proton cuma 2 tiap bulan.
    Baik bungkus, tutp aje!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 34
    • Samelorrr CCB on Dec 15, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Yes Proton must stay focus.

Too many models currently for Proton’s small market share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
      • Proton’s export quality way better than here also cannot sell, what do you think the company can survive without perlindungan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:41 pm

PROTON will speed up their CAMPRO engine improvement direct injection to comply with Euro 5. Just wait and see next 2 years, PROTON will expand their market share in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
          • Super on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:15 pm

next 2 years or 20 years.. so long waiting but yet nothing. Buy Lotus for what?.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • estupido on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:10 am

Of course nothing if you dun support proton, only banal bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:34 am

Yes, Proton please STAY FOCUS to CON Malaysians. Only Malaysian are forced to buy Proton due to its high tax protection on foreign cars. Proton can’t survive with protection. Everyone knew it.

It is ok to dream big (expand to Europe lol), but dream will end up a dream. CAMPRO to comply with Euro5? 20 years should be enough I guess.

Lastly, talk is cheap. @estupido Did you buy the Suprima S and Iriz? Even if you are driving your old Wira/Saga/Iswara/Waja/Gen2/Satria/Tiara/Juara now, you are NOT supporting Proton! You don’t buy their new car, how can they make money? So talk is cheap, show us your action!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
          • Fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:41 am

No matter campro or mitsu or renault engine.

See what proton did.
            Any quality improvement?

Fact is fact,
            Proton user will feedback.
            As an ex proton user.
            Proton lack of quality,
            efficiency, safety.

How many years we waited?
            What we seen?

Expend in euro market,
            the essense are, emission, efficiency, safety, performance.

Which does proton score and stand out from others Jap, german, even korean car?

Korean car is the best example.
            improvement are drastically.
            The next wave might be China brand.

80-2000, was japs era.
            2000- current is korean era.
            Future, it could be china era.

Open our eyes, read the world.
            Everybody is improving. Except Proton still rely on tongkat.
            Using Malaysian tax payers’ money and do nothing.

I was proud while Proton launch.
            I was condident with Malaysia.

However, facts and truth tells.
            All the mottos, slogans, etc were created to enrich certain people. All money don’t well spend. Our hard earn money easy gone. National & household debt keep rising cause Ringgit keeping depreciate. Our life quality keeping down and down.

It’s no point to keep NFC, Proton, MAS, etc losing money business.

Economy rebuild comes from better economy grow, more job oppoturnity,stable government policy, fair competition.

Stop making joke, build up strength, rebuild our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:37 am

We wish Proton good luck! May the ‘Money God’ hypnotize the car buyers to bring good sales to Proton worldwide.

• Get out from cave got.5 star Australasia NCAP you said lack of safety?

So blind.

• Abang on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Hey yo Ah Beng, time for you to work overtime now! Ha ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Not only Ah Beng but all PROTON supporters. This time PROTON really got big project to expand their business. In PROTON we trust!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
        • Super on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:16 pm

expanding especially their stock yard. people do car business for sales n proton do car business for storage.

• seese on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:43 am

At least Saga are more on road than new catfish Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • more seese on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:46 am

There are more cockroachs than humans on the road too.

• Fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:52 am

Seese,

Stop fooling yourself.
            In UK, Nobody want to buy proton.
            That’s the fact.
            Saga to be seen more on Malaysia road is not because of its price, quality, efficiency, safety.

We are force to buy Saga in “Cheaper”, “Lower” cost.

Do you know in Malaysia,
            if you buy a saga, what you can get in others place with higher spec such ESP, 6 bags, etc?
            You can get Jap or Korean C segment easily.

Because of proton, you sacrifice your hard earn money to get low quality , tech, safety moving crap.

Saw many poster are complaining Proton bashes.
            Frankly, proton, never improve, will not improve. Main mission of create proton is not “makes ppl car”.
            It’s purpose is create “NAP” for rich crony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • splent on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:07 am

Still got buyers in UK last time
            get your facts right

• Sam Tow Truck on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:45 pm

I suggest Proton to expand their tow truck service first before expanding other business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:43 am

Proton Big project! Really?
          How much cash from ‘The People’ needed for this Big Project?

• Support statement banyak banyak

• Making way for Iriz…hopefully Proton fare better this time around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 44
    • ProtonGSC on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Iriz will be “tutup” by all the same range segment out there on AUS…

Because of protection for Govt it only consider nice here.

Wake up jer P1 fanboys…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 12
      • Rakyat on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Proton, the people has spoken. Do what’s right and close shop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:45 am

We believe in you, because no Protection for Proton in AU and its easy for Proton to contract deadly disease in AU.

• Wan Low Inflation on Dec 15, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Iris is meant for Asian, not for those big size fella in Aus. If they wan small compact sedan, Polo is not far expensive then proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:50 am

If Iriz is meant for Asian, why bother burn money test it in Europe and called it a Global Small Car?

No excuse and syok sendiri please.

• theanswer on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:06 pm

actually…u can see lots of korean car over there. especially i20 and some tucson. even more than jap car.

• Maserati(Official) (Member) fanclub on Dec 15, 2014 at 4:40 pm

yes yes. Iriz will be the toppest seller once it hit aussie. even in malaysia the iriz is selling like hot cakes. everywhere you look you’re bound to see an Iriz roaming the roads. it’s as regular as rapidkl busses.

just like there’s lots of prewe and sukimak rstuv roaming the streets. there’s just so many of it on the streets.
      once proton starts selling iriz in OZ, people will line up to buy em like iphone.

proton says there’s already 22,000 booking received for the iriz before launch. right now there must be millions of orders. i’ve seen… 1…. 2…. yes 2 iriz on the road. so many people are buying them.

bravo iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 20
      • berkata benar on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:29 pm

aku baru nampak 1 iriz… warna merah… mula2 ingatkan exora… rupa rupanya… iriz… smart sungguh dah la gemuk semacam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • Why you dun go and bash citroen cars, almost like SUV. Because it’s Citroen? Ptuih

• Super on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:00 am

well said Maserati!

• banshee on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:16 am

That cannot beat 3000K p2 orders!
        Not me saying! Lolololol

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:51 am

LOL well done Maserati.

You have shown us the finest level of Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok lifestyle!!!

Bravo!!

• Nieko on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Well I have seen at least about 10 here in Puchong but the best part is most of the cars are the ones that’s in that Sexy Dark Gray colour which proton says is the slowest to arrive to the dealers hum oh and that Green one is extremely sexy as when it catches the sunlight and amount shine that it makes is beautiful

• Iriz is a shitbox, Aussie wants UTE. Bye Iriz shitbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Kampung Boy on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Syiok sendiri attitude never die, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • berkata benar on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:25 pm

harga iriz dgn honda jazz kalau kat australia lebih kurang saja rasanya… sapa nak beli iriz kalau jazz jauh lagi bagus.. cantik pun cantik… kualiti pun ada..

• sckiker on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:18 am

Jazz cantik ke? Macam old shoe aku tengok

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:53 am

Cantik or not, it is subjective. Some also say Lambo ugly. It is personal choice.

But build quality, Jazz definitely win far far ahead. This is objective fact.

• Not really. They provide better overall quality for the Australian market. For example, the top Suprima model(aus) had cvt and dohc. Both feature doesnt present for its Malaysian counterparts. So does it build quality. Btw, Im guessing the top of the line Iriz will sell around 14k-16k aud. While top of the line Jazz 25K aud. Harge lebih kurang? Wak luu harga lebih kurang. Pandi2 je ckp harge lebih kurng. Bukak official website la bndingkn satu2. Tu baru betul fakta

• Super on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:17 pm

wann – fare or far?

• Was in Sydney and Gold coast last month and hardly see any Proton Car.

Can not survive in protection market (Bolehland) and want to complete in Australia?

Dreaming kah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 21
    • Osaka on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:19 pm

complete or compete?
      Pergi minum susu dulu la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:07 am

There are too much fake Proton fanboys in Malaysia.

They always shout here shout there support Proton national pride bla bla bla, but they themselves are driving old Waja/Wira/Gen2/Iswara/Satria/Tiara/Juara/Arena etc.

End up new Proton models no one buy, while the fake Proton fanboys are so noisy bla bla bla here.

Talk is cheap (especially Ah Beng), show us your action, buy the Iriz/Suprima S.

• same kot on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:20 pm

what eva lor same lori, toyota fanboys..try so hard to backup vios tikus mondok..

• berkata benar on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm

jgn kata kat australia tak laku… kat langkawi pun susah nak laku… hahaha proton… memang global car sungguh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • surik on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:15 am

Ada je proton kat Langkawi.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:54 am

jgn kata kat Langkawi tak laku… kat Bangsar pun susah nak laku… hahaha proton… memang global car sungguh.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:16 am

17 percent of proton supporter.
      abc is revealing the truth.

Potong created not for national proud.
      Dont be fooled by potong and cronies.

We need to face this fact.

• Without tax problems there literally is 0 reasons to buy a proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 9
    • vager on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:13 am

At least some p1 are safer than celup Japs cars here.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:56 am

Vager, Japanese car low spec, low safety rating happen in malaysia because of malaysia high tax and cronism distributor.

Without Potong, fair market policy.
        We will get standard spec, and buying jap car at even lower price than potong

• Japan and Korea also have NAP. You dont know right? Of course you dont. Kangkung is the best way to describe your knowledge. Worthless.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:26 am

BEN, 100% agree with you.

• Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:54 am

All Ministers, politicians and their families members must show leadership by example by buying Proton 1st.

• what is the reason to buy a proton in an open market?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 7
  • abdullah on Dec 15, 2014 at 2:36 pm

We can sell cars at dumping prices to foreigners while
    Dr. M refuse to allow foreigners to sell cars at dumping prices here. It’s not fair!

This is not free trade.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 12
    • kairul abdul on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Is not fair since 30’s years ago.

Automotive industry in bolehland keep falling from “Golden generation”(before Proton) to shameful ages (after Proton).

DrM ego and pride will lead proton to another graveyard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
      • fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:07 am

Indeed, potong created not for country.
        it’s for own.

Ego and pride were created to fool you and me.
        This fiction want to psycho malaysian to pay
        and feel pride/ego.

The fact is . what potong achieve, what we gain, whats the fact, where is the ego and pride?

Look at Tata, gerry, cherry, etc.
        Soon, they will overtake and smoke potong until can not see and can not smell the smoke.

• kiddo on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:20 am

Korean Japan USA China also have sort of protection
      Welcome to the world kid

• Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:59 am

They were protected while they are young, but now they have grown to handsome/pretty adults, but Proton is still stunted after 30 years.

• Obvious Proton Aus is a loss making venture.. Only reason proton is there is to show rest of world Proton is international car maker.

Other companies run their business on basis of P&L (Profit & Loss).
    In Malaysia, our UMMO runs based on Pride and Losses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 14
  • AVH (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Which is what Proton should have done, even over here. Streamline its model lineup to just 3 core models, The Preve series, Exora and currently the Iriz. It worked for Perodua. Cutting the model down can cut cost and also focused or concentrate its ongoing R&D to less model. It also makes the salesman job a hack more easier.

Also regarding Australia selling 800 Protons, Australia themselves have less population than Malaysia (Yes, I’ve checked) Spread in a much vast area, selling 800 cars a year isn’t really that bad. But for a market that achieved last year more than 1 million vehicles yearly, they can do a lot better. Currently dominating the charts are the Mazda 3 and Toyota Corolla with about 39,410 and 40,189 this year(-up to November) respectively. So 800 units for just a brand is sort of little. But than again this are big heavy hitters like Toyota, Hyundai and Mazda is hard to compare, what is really worrying is who is selling more than us….. Great Wall or GWM, which pushed out more than triple of what we did from their two model line-up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • It does not make any economical sense to buy a proton there and even less economical sense to sell one. Proton should swallow their ego, accept defeat gracefully and close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Agree, Proton should do what’s best for business, not what’s best for ego

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • RoadRage (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:15 pm

I thought doing more business is good for business? If closing shop is good for business, that explains why you hadn’t got one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • If the company is losing money more than earning money, then closing shop is what’s best for business! Btw, i own a business if you know me

• That’s loser quality, bolehland needs fighter

• syiok-syiok on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:32 am

@f22r

What loser? Proton that takes money from G is fighter? No wonder the country is getting poorer from people like you. If Proton is a fighter, please compete in an open market and not hide behind NAP coz that’s a real “loser quality”. Haha

• ProtonGSC on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:04 am

@f22r

As a fighter after loses everytime, it go back to they parents for protection???

Proton always loses shares and market then go back to Govt for protection. Ask Govt pay (R&D) for them…. fighter??? or f***ker you tell me.

• Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:04 am

Close down loss making business and open up a new business is the norm for businessmen all over the world. Proton should keep to this principle.

• RoadRage (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Accept defeat and tell the world that Malaysians can’t do sh*t? Does it make you feel any better if we become a country of cheap labor than be the ones who build something?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Can, Proton can only cheat own Malaysians but will people outside the country support Proton? Does it make you feel better selling truck loads in Malaysia but not any outside of it?

• reggae on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:23 am

Many countries can do it, why not bolehland? Only bashers losers run from fighting

• Boleh on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Why not? Ask Proton lah. After 20 years still cannot do it?

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:12 am

there is no meaning for potong burn malaysian money anymore.

• Kamal on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Proton is just wasting it’s time and resources
    selling its cars in the global market.
    Not only in Aust..but world wide.
    Sales generated cannot even cover the rental for its premises minus the remuneration to staff.
    Proton needs a major revamp starting from the top.
    No use pumping in millions into R&D when the end
    product is a failure. Proton just doesn’t have it to
    be a car producer & just accept this fact and move on..
    Please take this bold step sooner rather than later
    cos Proton is a sinking ship and needs to be revived.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:13 am

well said.
      lose million, billion, trillion,
      nobody need to responsible.
      Audit pass every year!

• iriz is the last hope huhuhuhuhuhu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Ice Kacang on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Close shop lah, stop giving false hope

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • youloser on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:01 am

Typical loser comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:07 am

If not closing shop then Proton should concentrate in selling the Iriz and the new Proton Saga based on Iriz cheaply to Malaysians.
        This is call National Service to the Malaysians by Proton.

• Dream job in Proton, fail and they keep you alive for decades on Dec 15, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Wow, would have been really nice to be one of the branch managers at this outlets overseas, running a car showroom with no customers at all…maybe 1 or 2 in a year, running at a complete loss by not being able to sell more than 10 units a year, plus maintaining a full support staff all shaking legs and makan gaji buta ….what a life, what a job, need to ask them to open in the Caribbean, I would definitely apply to be the branch manager….those islands could be ziiping around in the exora …haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • amran on Dec 15, 2014 at 4:18 pm

I have siblings, and I mean more than 1 sibling there whom are now PR in Australia and they don’t even bother bout Proton, so goes with probably few thousand Malaysian PRed there. So there you have it, Proton in reality dah elok tutup kedai je lah. The only way to cure this madness of a cancer is to just cut it off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Proton, just make new UTE truck like the Arena. Aussie likes UTE and V8 power because STRAYA!!!! IF you don’t want to die Proton just make UTE truck with V8 engine. But I guess its too late so just close your shop Proton.

Proton fanboys don’t needed here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • kapten on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:07 pm

PM australia umum “1st Proton for Australian Youth”

• bukapintubayartol on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Does this mean that Proton is planning on winding down and eventually ending manufacturing of the Gen2 (and perhaps the Persona)?

• Nope, all the trash from Proton will be dump to Malaysia. Where else can you find “dumping ground” for Proton?

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Eh guys,ya I know that the Proton is not really laku in Australia.But,it is better than in Malaysia.You know why,because they still support Proton.They still support,buy Proton car.And we,Malaysian people are……stupid,…..dumb.Why?Because you guys always praise the foreign car manufactures.Eventhough Audi,Toyota,Honda,Volkswagen,Mercedes,BMW car got problem,always broke down,bad quality material use also you guys still praise them like their car got no problem.But when Proton car got Proton car got problem,critics like Mak Cik,your mother stinky mouth at Pasar.Eh,if you got PHD,Master grades also cant think this,i don’t know.And you guys always say that Proton should tutup kedai,you guys must to stop your carrier in Malaysia and go to other country.You guys know what,if got more people like you guys in Malaysia,i think in another 10 years,Malaysia hancur!

#TypicalProtonHaters
    #ProtonThenNowForever
    #GoGoProton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • RoadRage (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:33 pm

I honestly second that, Malaysians are dumb to the core. Although I don’t buy proton, I don’t blame every damn thing on it, as if my life revolves around the car. If I want other makes, I work for it and not whine and expect the car to miraculously appear in front of me. Seriously get real. I know most chinamen here disapprove proton’s existence, they’d rather us be a country of cheap labor because that make business sense to them. The difference between Japanese and Chinese, Japanese invent and the world knows this but Chinese are just cheap labors and copy whatever they can. We don’t wanna be like them. Proton needs to pull their act together and do it right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • The Mug on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Now, what is it? Iriz shows an improvement. Come on, dont bash for something you didnt use or didnt know about. Yep, I know it’s harsh but knowing that their build quality have improved than what the Perodua have offered from the overseas technology, it’s something to be supported than to be lamented for “lack of quality”.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:19 am

I would like to say you never study.
        Japs also copy when they start their automotive business.
        The first mass production car was done by Nissan.
        That time, Nissan was Datsun.
        The Datsun SSS series was copy Ford.

Japs copy American.
        Korean Copy Japs
        China copy Japs, European.

Anything wrong?
        Everything start from copy.
        Even your study.
        Copy is a part of study before own invention.

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Eh guys,people in Australia still choose Proton as their car for daily life.And after this Proton will start sell Proton Iriz next year in Australia,UK and I think it will sell like a hotcakes because they like Euro class car like Iriz,Preve and Suprima S.Now also they like to buy Proton car such as Suprima S and Exora GX and GXR as a transport to go work or to go holidays.And I hope that Proton will achieve their goals to enter Euro market with their upcoming Proton SUV that still in RnD stage and got test in a hot place like The Sahara and the upcoming Proton Sa3a that expected to be launch April next year.So please gus,oen your eyes,your heart to support Proton.If you still support foreign car manufactures such as HOnda,Toyota,BMW,Volkswagen,Mercedes, no use.You guys should support our National car manufactures,Proton!!!!Go GO Proton!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • berkata benar on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:36 pm

adakah anda seekor lembu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Clarkson on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:02 pm

What BS are you talking about? No one likes your proton crap especially the UK and it is nothing like a euro car. Take it back to where it comes from

• Tikus on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:20 pm

R u high on ganja? 800 unit sold is a laughing stock. Keep on dreaming Sell like hot cake. Be real lar……koyak means koyak lor. Our country will soon be koyak if ppl like u keep on high on we are ok we are good without knowing the fact and figure.

• serenity on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:33 am

You dun study hard of course you end up to work as keyboard warrior, it won’t make you a rich

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:20 am

Katak bawah tempurung.
      Did you stay or work in Australia/UK before?
      It’s a dumb’s comments

• Blue-traveler on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Bro, dude…….Are you “high” on some medical smoke, when you wrote the 2 comments. Malaysian, ALL, malaysian love this country, if not the current gov’t. Most of us dislike proton, NOT because We Don’t Want a National Car, …… Just not a Crap! Company that don’t know how to run a business, but through cronies. And it creates a artificial HIGH TAX ON ALL OTHER CARS, making all citizens “suffer” for a car, just so that it can survive. That is not a fighter company or individual. Not one that ANY SANE person can respect, anywhere on this green earth. Wake up, and see the real world. Stop fooling yourselves.

• Sorry dude. I live in Australia and I don’t see as many Proton cars as you assume. Haven’t seen a Suprima before, maybe 1 or 2 exora and preve. I cover 70km on a round trip to work on the busiest roads in Sydney. So, not to say aussies like or dislike Proton, they just can’t be bothered.

• alldisc on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:47 pm

thank you proton for making us proud… err, the 5 star ANCAP.

now that teach your engineers, management and planners a thing or two right?

first – there is this an attitude problem regarding proton… and it is called pretentious. now, get rid of it.

second, just give some honest cars to consumers. meaning it has the features but at a reasonable price. proton still holds the record for fastest growing car franchise in UK but that was 25 years ago when Proton Saga was priced to compete with Skoda, Seat, Lada and other budget cars.

below are examples of what i would call pretentious
    1. calling waja as asia’s answer to BMW, with look alike VW bora headlamps, alfa 146 duck beak bonnet, BMW curve dashboard towards driver

2. advertised savvy as strong enough to be safe from godzillas.

3. shouting out loud proton exora and preve/suprima CVT gearbox… when ppl all over the world prefer manual transmission which gives better FC, better emission to benefit from taxes. oh yes, automatics are still popularin Japan perhaps, and taiwan and hong kong. go on, try to sell your cars there.

act up like VW Malaysia, by listening to customers (though a little too late). that is better than MAS which finally shut its operation after so many years of losses.

not that we malaysians hate you Proton, its just that if only you (and the magic hand behind the govt) allows Vios/city to be sold at same price as Saga… or Corolla/Civic as much as the C segment Preve/Suprima things may change for the better.

we love you proton, but dont penalise us for the sake of trying to make a business case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:08 pm

I think Proton should start replacing current saga with 3rd gen model meh… just take Iriz and add a trunk.. easy what…

• Super on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:06 am

Saga BLM already old in the market. Dun repeat the same mistake with 1st model Saga. Keep on selling for 20 years. Frm Saga Orient – Mega Valva – Iswara – LMST (1986 – 2006).

• Tree Mechanic on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:42 am

Sendiri pun boleh buat, why wait for them?

• berkata benar on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:21 pm

sapa nak beli kereta mahal.. tgk dekat langkawi pun cukup la… laku ka kereta proton kat langkawi?

org bodo saja akan beli kereta proton kat langkawi…

• Proton, are you selling your leftover stock for S16 in your own bolehland ?

• bujingyun on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:18 pm

i want to buy it if there are leftover stock for S16.for sure the quality built is farrrrr better than our saga FLX..worth for money is it?

• costa on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:56 pm

pity proton…more pity to rakyat yg didahulukan…huhu….

• Albert on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:16 pm

If you sell 70 units of Proton cars monthly in the land of kangaroos,just pack up,close shop,Proton.
    The overheads in Australia for salaries n showroom rentals will bleed you for the next 5 years.
    Orang putihs are very internet savvy,they know Proton’s background inside out.
    There are simply too many imported cars without perlindungan there.
    Even with everlasting perlindungan,proton is struggling in Boleh Land.There,without perlindungan,Proton,just pull out.Dont waste your time.

• const on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:38 am

If bolehland people dun support p1, why must mat salleh?

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:03 am

Don’t talkok support Proton. Have you bought the latest Suprima S or Iriz?

You are not supporting Proton if you are driving any old Proton, you don’t let Proton earn your money!

Talk is cheap, dirt cheap! Show us the action and get yourself an Iriz.

• proton should improved engine first…sucking oil too much…

• The Mug on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Its quite tiring to see the politic monkey in every site which touch on the Malaysian industry. Come on, if you want to close your own automotive industry and depends on the outside technology for up to the day you die, perhaps you are the type of morons that didn’t deserve to live the next day. After you close Proton, then what you want to comment on? Such stupid judgement. This is getting ridiculous by day and ass-argument. Raise your standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • keppler on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:58 pm

This IS their standard : p1 close shop, US price cheaper, p1 no quality, Japs higher RV, etc

• syiok-syiok on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:57 am

What standard? Without political help, Proton will not exist!

• Super on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:08 am

I’ve been cheated by Proton twice. T4 i am done with Proton.

• Low Budget on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:21 am

If a company sucks people money and making loses, it is wise to close shop so that it won’t drain more peoples money. If 100% private companies such as TC or UMW or Kah Bintang making loses and still keep operating, who cares!

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:27 am

sohai.
      if potong really manage well and doing good.
      everybody will buy and treat it as proud of Malaysian.

Be honest la.
      Boy, potong is a tools to fill in their pocket.
      Dont be childish and naive.

Malaysia could be automotive hub.
      but, all investor say good bye and move to thailand.

Do you know how big is the impact?
      If you do not understand this.
      Sorry, you are naive.

• Boo Hoo on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:31 am

The mug,

Don’t go down to their level, especially fair Kangkung. He kept mixing politics with automotive scene haha. Just by looking at his comments you can tell to him cars are all about resale value, efficiency and reliability. Would love to see him open his trash-mouth at one of our teh tarik sessions with real car guys though hahahaha

• CyberPatrol on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Until we see the audited P/L statement report, we may not know how well Proton AUS performance. With 30 outlets selling 800 units, basic math will tell you how AUS buyers demand for Proton cars based of Proton present in AUS since the 2009 (Gen2) that 4 years ago.

An average of 0.2 – 0.3% percentage market share growth, it’s DRH-HICOM financial capability and AUS partners to formulate a sustainable business abroad with a newly launch model of IRIZ.

If rakyat fund not used to bail out Proton AUS, I really don’t give a damn about it. Again it some think that rakyat will never know, because lack of transparency and sedition act enforced.

• Why bolehland people are not as patriotic as Japs or Korean or USA people? They do bailing out too. Political reason perhaps? Everybody are greedy for power.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:45 am

Malaysian do patriotic.
        Malaysian like malaysia.

However, see who is ruling
        see how they doing
        see what s the result.

PKFZ, NFC, C4, Scorpene boat, Missing Flight
        Why above happen?
        Who made them happen?

Majority malaysian’s income lower than average.
        Pay high fuel price, high car tax, import tax.
        Where the money goes?

Some naive ppl will say.
        British, American, etc pay high tax.
        Singaporean pay high COE.

Comon, take note.
        Their gov will ensure basic such as security,
        medical, human rights, equality.
        Especially police enforcement.

In US/UK, people pay high tax, but low car price.
        In emergency such as accident, even bitten by snake, Helicopter will send you to the hospital even in rural area.Above just story about western.

Look at asia nearby country.
        You buy a house(HDB). Interest rate is below 1.5% (Both gov and bank). Everybody can own his own house. Stable resale value, stable rental rate. Security? it could be one of the safest country in the world.

Yup. Naive ppl will say, its expensive there.
        But I want to tell you. Their income and expenses ratio is healthy.

Extremist will say, singaporean can not afford buy car. If you really went there before. The public transportation is well done! You dont even need to own a car there.

Super extremist will quote.
        If you dont like malaysia, you can migrate or out of Malaysia.

Actually, I do believe Malaysian like Malaysia. This is the place we born and grow.
        We like peace and harmony.

However, blood sucker people keep sucking Malaysian money. Ruling incompetance policy and bring down education standard.
        Keeping fooling people. Easier control people.

Know the facts, do the right things,\
        giving hope to our next generation.

• darkermarker on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:34 pm

proton is so delusional……

Proton is soooooo delusional until making loss means making profit for them….

No wonder the whole car market in Malaysia is soooo screw-up…

• Boo Hoo on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:08 am

Wow…

People here talk like they know the automotive world inside out. Proton have their issues no doubt, but remember the most common cars on our roads are Myvis and Vios. Says a lot about our automotive mindset. Just to add, even German cars have issues so no need to kecoh satu kampung about Proton’s issues. It’s obviously easy to bash, but to come up with solutions? Suddenly everyone is an expert zzz…

• blade on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:34 am

Proton bashers are always syiok sendiri acting as experts here, that’s why

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:51 am

A. Good service = Selling low price + high quantity,
      B. Good service = Selling high price + low quantity

C. Bad reliability = High performance + more maintainance
      D. Bad reliability = Corrupted management +poor performance + more maintainance.

Fact is fact.
      The German brand u quoted are B+C
      Potong is D only.

• Boo Hoo on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Aiyo fair Kangkung,

Don’t mix politics with automotive la, some more simply call other people naive and self-proclaimed “educated”. Educated people don’t talk so much like you, there’s a Malay phrase called “tong kosong” and you fit the phrase perfectly.

Cars are subjective, not everyone will agree on ones opinion, what’s good for you does not mean it’s good for others. Just respect other people’s view, stop thinking too much and just enjoy cars. Simply bash people, I don’t think you even know how to change a spark plug hehe

• proton just dont have a product which says buy me instead of the competition, the model range are pretty confusing, keep having new names for every new model, no continuity. Technical aspects are always behind and too slow to catch up, the only thing they are trying to sell is just ‘cheap’. what it needs the to have is some sorts of the korean leap towards design, quality and technical ability.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

more models + more variants = more chance

invest more R&D cost, more tooling cost,
      more business partner, more pocket money.

• They are trying to save more Aussie lives. LOL…Ugly trueth

• I remembered watching top gear episode 6 of season 20 I think where they line up every single automotive product made in Britain.

Someday, I want to be able to do like top gear did one day and line up all of our locally made/assembled cars with pride. We are slow but at least we are trying and kept on improving. Before this Proton was known as a moving coffin, now we got 5 stars safety cars. Slowly and surely we will get there.

• Richard on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:52 am

Firstly,Proton successful or not depend on Ali not ah beng or muthu. If Ali don’t like proton then proton can tutup kedai. My bumi neighbors I hardly see any new proton in their car porch. Why they dont buy proton? Ask Proton.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:59 am

Educated people understand why not to buy a potong.
      Not only because of dirty politic and policy.
      But also main reason. C/P is sucks.

Vios/City/Almera/Fiesta becomes the first choice even some of those car do not score high in ANCAP.
      Unbeatable reliability, effiency, quality, value,etc.
      Potong dubbing in this industry years.
      Achieve non of above.

People knowledge grows higher.
      They know what’s the basic, what is truth and facts.

Facts never breaks.
      Potong fanboy, i m sorry to say so.
      Either naive or corrupted ppl will keep praising
      or keep supporting potong.

Potong already potong malaysian A LOT!

• Boo Hoo on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:03 am

See what I mean? The best cars to drive does not place reliability, efficiency and good value as priorities. If everyone thinks like you, our automotive scene will only be filled with Japanese cars, which is very sad for car enthusiasts. Tells a lot about u la fair Kangkung. Haha you are the second funniest guy on Paultan after Sam Loo, same mindset, same motormouth. Most probably comes from the same womb.

• Boo Hoo on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:03 am

See what I mean? The best cars to drive does not place reliability, efficiency and good value as priorities. If everyone thinks like you, our automotive scene will only be filled with Japanese cars, which is very sad for car enthusiasts. Tells a lot about u la fair Kangkung. Haha you are the second funniest guy on Paultan after Sam Loo, same mindset, same motormouth.

• Proton, Do NOT exit Aus. Do a long term marketing plan.

1. Who are the owners’ of Proton there. in 3 years, ring them and invite for an interview. get their feedback, cust service and the satisfaction. Keep it for your 2nd stage marketing program.
    2. improve SC quality (I guess Proton’s build quality is premium compared to MY protons)
    3. Driver experience event. Peugeot did it, Merc did it. you may get attention from youngster to the brand.
    4. Concentrate on few model may help you to focus on marketing side
    5. Agree with some of the comment on wira based SUV.
    6. Proton shld copy Lotus’s business plan. Buy Celica engine and concentrate on car dynamic, composite research, design etc. Elise is a good example. It has beautiful chassis and even Hennessy tweaked the chassis to build a Venom GT.
    7. If you can, transfer some Lotus’s engineering division to MY. grow the engineering culture here. Offer engineering services & products to other business. If a McLaren trusts Lotus, why can’t Proton replicate the success?
    8. People need better engine. do research. What happened to E-01 engine? Is Campro technology derived from E-01?
    9. If you cannot build the engine, buy. Do a reverse engineering. Secretly build a copy of the engine. Do it for your engineers’ playground in order to build a better engine in the future.
    10. if you buy the engine, concentrate on drivetrain, suspension, composite, etc.

Its not the end of the world, what proton should do is to improve market perception. All cars have their own problem; don’t make it your excuse to fall.

BTW I am still a Perodua user for 10 years now. I am not favor on your FC, auto gearbox and engine refinement. Produce a decent car, I am happy to put my money on you.

• frankor on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:54 pm

My Dad have a Wira 1.6 Auto (1995) and myself a Satria 1.6 Manual (1996). Both cars have reaches 300,000 km mileage and yet both cars are still roadworthy.

To many peoples Proton made cars are built with bad, inferior or no quality but as far as I am concerned the Wira and Satria are built for ENDURANCE and I believe these 2 models will be able to sustain the Malaysia road condition and weather for another 10 years but of course with the continuous and proper maintainance.

• kemosabe on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:40 pm

What proton cars really need is a new engine. The campro engine has been around for far too long and its not exactly a good fuel efficient engine. It needs a fresh technology injection.

Quality wise I feel that proton has improved quite a fair share for the price. Still not cheap for its quality but that is due to its low volume which makes it relatively expensive to produce.

• Dino Bravo on Dec 30, 2014 at 7:28 pm

I am Proton loyal since 1998. Very satisfied owner. Just the economics of scale/scope dampen Proton effort. If Toyota/Honda launch products, they have tested them somewhere else. When arrived in Malaysia, these cars have bee proven. But Proton don’t have many places to test. Proton have very good engineers. As for now, of course Proton cannot compete with Japan, Korea, but we are better than many other countries in this field. As a matter of fact, Proton is the only “Islamic” manufacturer in the world.