Proton 7-year/250,000 km warranty promotion ends

Proton has confirmed on its Facebook page that the national carmaker’s offer of a seven-year/250,000 km extended warranty on the Saga, Iriz, Preve, Suprima S and Exora ended on Monday.

But wait a minute, you ask, wasn’t the promotion only valid for the months of May and June? Well, it appears that Proton had extended the extended warranty offer for five months until the end of November, presumably in the interest of drumming up sales.

From now on, the warranty terms revert to five years or 150,000 km (whichever comes first) on the Iriz, Preve and Suprima S and three years or 100,000 km on the Saga and Exora. As for other models not covered by the promotion, the Inspira is also covered by a three-year/100,000 km warranty, while the Persona continues with the original two-year/50,000 km warranty period.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Only those cars in the promotion can survive 7 years and 250,000KM. So sad …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
    • Albert on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Bradder John,Proton can give UNLIMITED LIFETIME WARRANTY,it makes no difference.
      Come Dec 31,Proton will hit around 103,000 units for 2015. Perodua ,having started later…easily double that sales figure.
      Syed Zainal(now experimenting with a failed EV project)brought much expertise from Perodua into Proton,also BEH SAI (Tak Boleh).
      Now evergreen Tun came back into his pet project…..also BEH SAI(Tak Boleh)
      Who is coming into Proton to salvage it from the bleeding in 2016?
      The Saudi Santa(Pandai nya)said I want to PANG SAI(shitology) now,so BEH SAI(Tak Boleh)!!
      Protong…mark my words…YOU CAN ONLY FAIL A FEW TIMES IN THIS TOUGH MARKET,SOME LOYAL FANBOYS WILL TAG ALONG WITH YOU,BUT NOT EVERY ONE WILL BE SO FORGIVING for songlapping the car buyers /rakyat for 30 years.
      Do the right thing.Just LAYOFF all except TUN.Lelong the Tanjong Malim and Shah Alam plants…plenty of buyers now(from China).Let perodua,Honda,Toyota and Tan Chong slug it out.
      Kesian ,Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 34
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:01 pm

For those who miss the opportunity come find me I give extra discount… Proton for powerful, fuel-efficient, new cvt and Lotus handling ! Keep support Proton and if don’t buy have no taste !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:10 am

If the cars good enough, 3 years warranty also people buy.

If the car is junk class, lifetime warranty still you need to spend your weekends and annual leaves in service centre/garage.

See the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:26 am

Just waiting for new Perdana, Persona & New Saga. Still using Campro Engine? If yes, this 3 cars model is become a junk again & over again..

• TATA MOTOR VS AUDI on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Look at the honda..from the vtec to just i-vtec engine..so its just a vtec..look at the vios…always old engine until now..so, apa masalah? Haha..Look, to built an engine, they must also do rnd on it to make it durable..so, it’s need a long time to make sure the engine is really good and durable…. some people say that Hyundai took 50 years to build their own engines. I do not know whether the fact is true or not..If proton bring a new engine pun, korg tetap pertikaikan kualiti enjin bru tu…sbb itulah proton dan yg lain2 mengambil masa yg lama utk siapkan satu enjin..Engine is not TOY

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:08 pm

i will sold a proton after own a year. Proton car is Junk, especially Wira and Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 70
    • i don’t know what happen with yours, but my wira already 11 years and still going strong. no major problem so far.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 26
      • Alllson klana on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Loser! 11 years still drivin a wira.
        Ppl adi change 3 cars at least ! Only loser like u support proton. I have a wira running for 11 years . No problem . Wake up lar bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 116
        • i d i o t s on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:42 pm

U got a problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
          • Godcar the best on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Woo hoo…look like idiot another loser who drive proton. Work harder lar, at least can upgrade to Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 81
        • Hahaha… the lesson Proton taught them cannot pakai one. Trying to portray that there’s always exception that their quality is good. Mana tau kena balik.
          Anyway if you really have used it for 11 years, you should do yourself a tight slap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 38
          • i still keep my Wira 1.8 DOHC even though i have S60 and 2013 Estima. My Wira still ok and go long journey without hassle eventhough got minor problem like power window.. Still wanna slap my face?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 16
          • Colin Wong on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:02 pm

I drive a European D segment sedan and another Europen C segment sedan. On top of that, we have a family car, Proton Persona for our Dan Lain Lain usage. It drives better than a Toyota Corolla Altis. Handles way better. So, slap me as well.

People who buy Proton know that it is value for money. The older models may be lacking in refinement but the Iriz and Preve are much much better.

Do you even know how often things can go wrong with European cars. Dont be delusional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 20
          • Why would i want to slap you? You slap yourself la.
            Own self stupid but ask other people to slap you. ….them Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:36 am

So you so happy with your proton why bother buy other cars? And why don’t buy back proton c segment and d segment. If you can’t stick with proton full time, it means the proton can’t meet your requirement too. So stop acting like a proud proton users. Hypocrite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • Pondan on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:23 pm

another looser , change car just to show off .

Go wake up when u r near to 6ft under.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • Alllso Klana sound successful on Dec 02, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Well, congratulation for being so successful… bluff all u can, may I know what car u are driving now? Cars can be a symbol of ur success? Wake up!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:41 am

We can’t judge people by the car they drive I agree! But we can judge the CAR by its QUALITY! That’s why I say so many times: Proton is junk. I never comment on ppl but only the car brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Absolute Rider on Dec 02, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Wah, so those who drive and owns Porsche, Lamborghini, Ferrari and those top end cars which more than 1, 11 years…

you also call them loser?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Kardishan on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:52 am

You r a loser yourself. Tell me who drives a ferari, lambo and
            Porshe for 11 yrs. dont simply talk cock la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Win Er on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Pathetic fool. 11 years and you still drive a Wira. You must fail terribly in life. Either that or you just have no taste in cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
        • Daniel on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:48 pm

*So are you gonna call them a loser too? Typo due to my rage. Cant believe some malaysians have a brain the size of a walnut. How could u judge people by what they drive? Pathetic keyboard warriors/teenagers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
        • bunny on Dec 02, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Dude……WTF! Never share your house address on9. I get you r trying to prove a point. But why share your address? SMH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Ooh… kat sabah je… i thought at bandar utama.
          Dude .. want to show off pun tengok tempat la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
        • Looking at your writting style, it is not a surprise if your neighbours are loser too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
        • Daniel Wong C.K. on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:14 pm

To bunny. Thanks for the heads up man! I will be more cautious in revealing my details from now on. Just that ignorant people like ioma hasnt taste the reality of life (im guessing he’s a teenager who cant afford a car) so these kind of people who judge people based on what they drive really drives me insane. What world are we living in? Im preaching here. I better stop. Thanks again bunny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
          • Darth vader on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Here’s another emotional loser. First reveal address, then take off clothes just to prove a point which people still dont understand

• dingdong on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:27 am

It only prove you and your neighbor not yet to the level owning luxury like owning wira, that’s why you still need the pathetic wira, because you can’t afford anything happened to your luxury car or you simply can’t afford the fuel consumption. So stop proving to us you are rich. You NOT YET reach that level.
          People judgement or opinion won’t hurt you. Is your own low self esteem making you so furious. At the first place, why you so afraid labeled as loser?
          Same like fat ladies so scared of people telling them they are fat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • oldie on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:34 am

You dun know nick ioma ? You must be new here

And to add, yes some people won’t sell their old cars, it has much sentimental value more than their new cars not to mention can still serve well.

• dingdong on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:53 am

You need to save money to buy the semi detached house in Sabah, for this you have to stick with your Proton. What so glory?
          If really rich, come bangsar get a same size house and check out the car of your neighbors. House with big land sure expensive, so what? Real rich man stay in premium condo next to KLCC yet paying RM 4k a square feet, this is REAL RICH.
          I don’t want to say you are poor. But you are just not as rich as you thought. I see the solid reason why you still keep the proton running. I also understand why you so afraid people judge you by your Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • Sabah, been to that dung hole many times.
          2.5K for a lab assist? OMG, just admit life is bad there. Don’t think your salary any higher than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Daniel Wong C.K. on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:11 am

Judging from your writing skills, you seem to be a sore loser who whines. Yup! Thats the worst type of human that may exist. It seems that you continually comment on 80% of paultan articles with your weak grammatical sentences and poor sentence structure. To me, that portrays what type of human you are, the one who doesn’t work and spends too much time bickering on life’s unfairness. To quote Liam Petterson ‘He who whines will dive ungraciously in a strew of life’s revolution’.  That explains the hatred genre of the comments you spread.  Im actually an avid paultan reader (although on weekly basis rather than daily) but since i finished my year end report i decided to spend my free time reading articles today, where i stumbled upon your rude judgement. I didn’t mean to gloat and i sincerely apologise for it (Cc fellow paultan readers except ioma and motorhead) however i realised that you cant change a person’s sick attitude, let alone the world. Last words to ioma and the likes; do continue on your quest to become the ultimate keyboard warrior (and a loser too) and dwell on local cars while others seek success in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Yep, money is not everything.

• Yaya … rant all you want. You asked for these unwanted attention and enjoy it.
            Anyway you will always be known as Wira driver for 11 years living in a Semi-D in ……..Sabah. hahaha

• Douglas sai on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Don’t worry this Daniel will sooner or later capture by pirates. Sabah is not safe …hahaha

• hanjina on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:51 am

You dun read kah?

• Why cant on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:21 pm

Why cant?. its his money not yours or your grandfather money.

• Kenneth Fook on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Protons are a bunch of craps. 7 years warranty?! Confirm wont last that long. Just to give ppl an impression it does with this marketing gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 39
    • movingcoffin on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:35 am

If toyota/p2 moving coffin you go straight and die, no warranty needed, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Toyota vios on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:19 pm

persona with 2yrs, that means the persona built quality is far away from iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • jasni on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Suka suka bagi 7 years warranty now pull back cos P1 made a major blunder & now will have to put up with this cancer for the next 7 years.
    And the Persona warranty is the biggest joke !!
    Damage done , P1 branding takes another beating! !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
  • LandoCars on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:48 pm

My Savvy has painfully survived the 100,000km mark. Phew!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • You are another example how bad proton is. Pheww for a 100k proton car when all other cars can exceed 100k easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • My Gen2 oso passed 100k easily, and to commemorate it as soon as it reached 100k, I stopped at a safe side and took a picture ;-)

• john is otak tahi on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:54 am

Don’t just take pictures. .Don’t forget to put up a Halal sign also…mentioned “PORK FREE!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • iomasark on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:38 am

You must be gullible person who believe everything on the net.

• Give 20 years also no use ler if warranty not honored with excuse like “takde spare part la boss”.

Anyway for you that really want to buy, check the agreement for this 7 years warranty. Proton is well known for discontinuing things they advertised quietly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • wiwiwiwiw on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Isteri: Abang.. abang.. anak anak kita pun dah ramai dan besar
    Suami: Betul juga, jiran kita pun baru beli Iriz.
    Isteri: Tapi.. Proton sekarang Exora sudah tamat 7-tahun warranti bang.
    Suami: Kita mesti tetap support kereta nasional!
    Isteri: Abang bila la kita nak beli peti sejuk Alphard, letih la nak tarik pintu belakang
    Suami: Tunggu la abang dapat projek besar, kerajaan kata negara kita semakin maju, banyak peluang dekat bandar
    Isteri: Begitu, kita akan pindah ke bandaraya Kuala Lumpur?
    Suami: Insyallah, tetapi kita mesti juga sokong proton!
    Isteri: Abang ni asyik Proton sahaja, kahwin, kerja dan main saja la dengan proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
  • please just die la proton.. you are big mistake, people suffer from high maintenance, low quality crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
  • magsa on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:08 pm

I hope they really give 7 years..
    For those that want to get proton because of 5 years warranty, better dont.
    The warranty is just 3 years, after that they will tell you the warranty is over..

• ss427 on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:17 pm

tsk tsk tsk…. in SG, 95% of our new car models came with 5 yr UNLIMITED MILEAGE warranty. Yes you can turn your car into a uber vehicle and still enjoy the warranty…
    And Sam Loo, these unlimited mileage warranty was started by Hyundai and Kia in SG… And Kia SG offered 10 yrs warranty on the engine as well. the Japs authorized dealers were forced to follow suit.

Proton really CMI… LOL No wonder they got ZERO sales in SG for this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • ben yap on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:23 pm

whether 5, 7 or 10 years warranty, i will not buy a proton.

i’m one of the lucky few that didn’t own a proton even for my first car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Yes, your one of the lucky few that bought a moving coffin for your first car. You prepared your afterlife well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • youngnrich on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:47 am

Hi ben yap,
        I dun even have a car with me bcoz I travel with heli or chauffeur, problem?

• Ben yap on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:08 am

Volvo a moving coffin? Lol…

• oldvolo on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:48 am

Yes, you drive OLD volvo. Even myvi is safer, lol

• ben yap on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:57 am

yes, it is a 2005 S40 and it’s old. Do u think ur sister’s myvi safer than a Volvo S40? if go on a head-on collision, i bet your sister will be in heaven first with the 3-star rating car.

• @Ben Yap. Ur Volvo is onli 1 generation above the S40 platform used by P1 waja. Do you still think its safer than a more modern vehicle (ie Iriz)? Dun be so proud.

• Don’t be delusional la

• ben yap on Dec 03, 2015 at 3:35 pm

realistically it’s safer than a myvi…. facts below.

http://www.euroncap.com/en/results/volvo/s40/15655

• intermilan on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Marketing gimmick not working… better stop it. Or they are going to launch another sale campaign with similar cost for Dec… tukar strategy..

• Lancauuu on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Go die la proton, my first car is satria neo. But giving me 101 problem. Better buy japan car, no more p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • nosushi on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:49 am

Japs cars got fire starter power window switch, sked die in fire.

• Ah Pek Stupid M on Dec 02, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Ah Pek M creation. A cockroach ugly piece of shit

• Aaron on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:46 am

For some, it is about affordability and practicality of owning a car. For others, owning a car is a status symbol. As for me, I drive an Exora that gets my family of 5 from A to B, no complaints after using it for 2 years. Most practical car I have owned and i dont even give a damn how dirty it gets as long as it serves its purpose. Wanna bitch about safety, of course it is nowhere near a luxury MPV, which won’t make a difference if you drive on the road like a pariah.

Peace out!

• Rusmah on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:20 am

Similar joke started from 1985.
    Pride of malaysian.
    Similar tactic with G, “Janji Ditepati”.
    No policy!
    Continue support them? Let them fool us?

• Jobless on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Give 5 or 7 years warranty no difference, becoz the Prodon cars will pobably dont last even one year due to low mentality drivers

• Bapa Same Loo Story on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Kalau org dah beli proton mksdnya kena CUMA beli proton sampai mati? Wahh, ada juga org camni..suka hati dorg la apa mw beli…cthnya la, kw beli modenas, takkan kw nak pakai modenas je? Mesti lah kw tukar p expaip kan? Bapa kw beli toyotaik hailat, lpas satu tahun pakai beli pula nissan elgrand(kuat main, anak pun ramai), lepastu beli renault megane rs (utk bapa kw racing2 belakang taman pusat org2 tua), then belikan kw expaip the power of dreams utk kw yg kw idam2 kan..soalannya, bapa kw menyampah sgt ke dgn toyotaik tu? Lepastu bapa kw menyampah ke dgn kw sampai bapa belikan expaip je?

• Zahiyyy on Sep 27, 2018 at 6:31 pm

My wira did not breakdown for 15y 400k.past to my brother..beat that..