New Proton Saga or Persona under those covers?

Back in November, a new Proton Iriz-based sedan was sighted undergoing road trials, and the speculation then was this was essentially the next-generation Proton Persona. We already know that the return of the nameplate has been confirmed, and the new car bearing the Persona moniker is slated to be launched sometime next year.

There’s also the new Saga, which is also due to arrive in 2016. Nothing is yet known about the next-gen Saga (as far as we know, it’s based on the current one), so photos that have come about on social media today might be providing the first intimation of the car.

New Iriz-based Persona (left) and Saga renderings by Theophilus Chin.

The photos, uploaded by Naqiuddin Shah to the Proton Iriz Community Facebook group, are of covered cars on a transporter. Nothing out of the ordinary, really, but there’s every reason to believe that they’re Proton vehicles, given that the transporter had a DRB-Hicom polis bantuan escort.

The size and profile of the cars under wraps suggest that this might be the new Saga – the outline offered is tall, with a short boot. It could also be the Iriz-based next-gen Persona, but that one is more sedan like and not quite so tall. Still, it remains anyone’s guess as to which of the two are tucked away under those covers.

Aside from the Persona replacement and new Saga, next year will also see the national automaker debut its new Proton Perdana first, sometime in the first quarter. Plenty of activity in 2016 then from P1.

GALLERY: Proton Saga renderings, based on Proton Iriz hatch

GALLERY: Proton Persona renderings, based on Proton Iriz hatch

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Albert on Dec 23, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Wrapping ,wrapping,wrapping…..whats the big deal?
    Last time,they wrap the GLOBAL SMALL CAR….iriz?
    What happened? It can hardly sell,now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 147
    • Funny ppl on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Hahaha… U r rite…. I dont know why they wrap a milotin eventhough we know its hard as a milotin…funny proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 110
    • P2 Macai on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:29 pm

At least no people died in an Iriz yet. Meanwhile, if you align dead bodies from a MyVi crash, it can line up from JB to KL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 40
      • Mrfunny on Dec 23, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Funny there are still people new p1 a milo tin. Pls get out from cave!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 42
        • karam singh on Dec 24, 2015 at 3:47 am

Please for once, test drive the Iriz 1.3 manual then the Myvi 1.3 manual..
          feel it which feels better, Iriz is a better car than Myvi almost everything, just stay away from the CVT auto trans.

I own a 1st then 2nd gen Myvi, love it but after driving the Iriz its far better especially the handling,safety,manual tranny feels very solid,
          the point is, don’t stuck up your mind with all those -ve thinking.
          For the Saga & Persona ,we hope for the best one yet. please give us Stability control as standard.

Kipidap Dongibab
          for what I observe, Proton is getting better.
          even Sam Loo vios/avanza afraid to crash head on with the Preve. Safety always > RV .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:15 am

Work harder so you can afford a Sushi. Don’t waste your time talk rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 87
          • Low Budget on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:30 am

Sorry lah bradder, you may have your point but the “Once Bitten Twice Shy” syndrome is too powerful to ignore. I have been bitten by Proton cars twice and vow forever no more Proton for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 45
          • Notakata on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:02 am

Even sushi gone kaput and problematic nowadays. Dun get me started with killing airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • karam singh on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:10 pm

yeah I own Sushi, but not a Toyota.
            especially not a Vios.
            making stupid drift ads to sell is lame.

to ‘Once bitten twice shy’ guy,
            well don’t compare old P1 with new P1
            I never like Persona,blm,neo,waja.
            But for Preve,Iriz & Suprima are a good car.
            those car provide better safety than P2,vios,almera & some other car.
            lots&lots of Myvi,Viva,vios crashed yet the term “Once Bitten Twice Shy” syndrome never applied to P2 & T why ?
            for me, low budget go for proton Iriz/Preve
            mid budget go for Honda city,civic 2016

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 24, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Only in Malaysia people put so much effort on junk product. No matter what slogan, what discount, centuries long warranty it just can’t sell! Who wants a junk anyway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
          • karam singh on Dec 25, 2015 at 3:47 am

Toyota owners start complaining why their warranty only 3 years, other sushi provide 5 years warranty.
            T being expensive,overpriced,less equipment/safety but only 3 yrs warranty.
            go google Toyota recall, even Toyota got power window recall.
            ‘Toyota to recall 6.5 million cars to fix power window switch’
            ‘Toyota also issued a separate recall for hybrid anti-lock brake software’
            ‘As of January 28, 2010, Toyota had announced recalls of approximately 5.2 million vehicles for the pedal entrapment/floor mat problem, and an additional 2.3 million vehicles for the accelerator pedal problem.’ – how dangerous is that.

source – 18 recall in 2 years
            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009%E2%80%9311_Toyota_vehicle_recalls

• Steven see on Dec 26, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Sam loo son also drive saga. Can’t afford, what can he do?

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 26, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Being a responsible car maker, Toyota recall whenever there is a risk. Same does other major car makers in the world.

Proton no recall means Proton is better? I just can’t stop laughing!!! If Proton so good why sales keep dropping? Why Proton has no returning customers? Use your brain lar!

If I have a Proton, come knock my door and I will give you for free. Who wanna keep junk at home?

Lastly, Toyota 3 years warranty everyone buy, Proton 7 years warranty sales keep dropping. It is not about numbers of warranty years, it is all about QUALITY!

• Sam i want your proton saga on Dec 27, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Sam Loo, please share your cheras flat addressed, i want your saga?

• karam singh on Dec 26, 2015 at 6:15 am

funny though, Toyota only giving 3years warranty.
          Toyota got 6.5 millions car recall for power window too.
          There some recall regarding the unintended acceleration throttle pedal , abs module, driveshaft & steering all those very dangerous. Some got into accident and got killed.
          answer this dear Sam Loo

• He rather die in his mangled vios/myvi than survive in Preve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 11
        • john is otak batu on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Who cares if u, john die?.. not everybody fault. Nothing to do with the whole world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
      • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Iriz is as rare as dinosaur.
        Myvi is conquer the whole road.
        Use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 84
        • karam singh on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Myvi also conquer the workshop.
          too much accidents & their owner into hospital or graves.
          RIP

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
        • U juz go Perodua service center count how many thousand units Myvi crap stock there

• Oh mak lu cina on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:19 pm

That is because the number of Iriz on the road is insignificant. Almost dont exist..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 40
      • Still got people buy potong kah nowdays???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
        • P2macai on Dec 24, 2015 at 7:40 am

So many iriz on road. Pity you live in so remote area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 15
        • Yala…any problem? Juz same nowadays still got rubbishman buy rubbish car like Myvi, Axia, Saga and Vios.

• saya bodoh tapi ada akal.. on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:48 pm

aa.. ada lagi yang beli kereta proton.. so kenapa perlu pertikaikan.. diorang beli kereta pakai duit korang ke?..hahaha.. why bother3x.. tak perlu nk sibuk hal org lain daa..

• bobo ppl on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:27 pm

no people buy Iriz, for sure no people died la. bobo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
      • nazmi on Dec 26, 2015 at 8:46 am

All proton did is that they bought few BMW number plates and placed on their iriz cars to pretend they are at same level. proton is a zombie and rakyat knows it. drb must go for proton to survive. useless bunch of wannabes. place this in your heads as long as you are in charge people will not buy protons. they know where their money goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • rap1d on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:13 am

these days I only notice Proton cars when they are ON TOW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Ur eyes blind lo, Iriz sales more than Camry and Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Akira on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Duh… Thats because Camry and Altis are more expensive (more than 100k) while an iriz cost around 40k. Just imagine if an altis sell around 40k, will proton have more sales figure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • see then judge on Dec 28, 2015 at 3:37 pm

judging a car without seeing or test drive , just shows your ignorance!
      proton like other car manufacture working hard and trying to attract customers, they are coming with a new car ? ok fine lets see the car, lets test drive it and after all its your money to buy whatever you want .

• waxcer on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Nice….but paul , how do we can know if its the saga and persona ? I mean maybe its a diffrent car :P

• LatukBandar on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:16 pm

I will buy one when our ministers and their family and their cucu cici drives a proton and stops driving their low quality BMW and Mercedes.

Do you know Steve Jobs uses Windows 7? Do you know the founder of Google uses bing to search online? do you know Bill Gates uses Android Smartphone? Do you know Michael Dell uses HP Desktop?

Time for our ministers to walk the talk and sell their BMW, Mercedes and etc. Ride horse also better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
    • George Abdul on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Well said and same goes to the AP owners… They should drive Proton instead of Benz and BMW or Prosche !!! AP cronies owners must be logged with greed thanks to dumno policy of protection !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Dear leader rides on Q7, tokong rides on S-keras, deceased over-my-dead-body-alredi-dieded rides on Alfat. Your point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • LatukBandar on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:45 am

I am not a DAP supporter. Proton started by BN and Tun, either BN scrap the tax and allow proton to be run like a private company and not some proxy private company with super high tax on foreign cars, then you have my blessing.

Opposition did not start this super high car tax thing and proton. They can drive what they want, just like how I condemn some corrupt DAP MP because they talk cock about corruption.

Your Point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
        • Gobacktoschool on Dec 25, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Noone forces you to drive p1. If you sell sushi, you have yo eat sushi everyday? You are childish , grow up please.

• Audiftw on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:11 pm

I dun want to use Banyak Masuk Workshop car or Ah Pek Merc. Problem?

• shawal on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:24 pm

my mom’s preve cfe is only 3 years old, got it in july 2012

1) driver power window auto switch patah, so hv to press manually
    2) driver power window thingy patah, so d motor runs, but the window is not moving
    3) usb port n 12 volt socket in front not working
    4) water pump broke, so d car overheated abit

mmmm…..
    very hard to recommend proton to other ppl again….

otherwise, at least it is a safe car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 37
    • Rashuk_Khan2 on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Maybe your mother so so suei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 20
    • hey im preve driver too and i do join the club…
      never heard regard this power window problem yet from the longlist of the problem..

and everything you listed above is claimable to SC,, though your mum never go service her car??

or this just an fiction??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
      • karam singh on Dec 25, 2015 at 12:47 pm

TRUE FACT – Toyota recall 6.5 MILLIONS cars worldwide coz of power windows issue.

no one wanna brag bout it ?

• bukapintubayartol on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:01 pm

What about the headlights? Have you noticed that a lot of the Preve on the road only have one headlight… Dunno this is true or I imagining it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • Liar!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Moppo on Dec 24, 2015 at 6:58 am

Great. Bashing with wrong facts..Now dah kena…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • shawal on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:24 am

Yeah, changed d bulb already….

• Bristol on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Did u see Myvi and Viva most of the one headlight on? I saw but I never thought this is car problem. Actually is car owner never maintain good condition of the car

• Oh mak lu cina on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Bangsat pakai anything also will spoil/…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • karam singh on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:21 pm

your mum treat preve like a step child,
      put the car under the sun.
      any car prone to power window problem if put under the sun, my friend E200,Altis also got power window prob
      solution, every 3 month put silicon grease
      simple as that.

for the usb/12v prob, lots of other car suffer the same problem once u used some cheap china phone charger.
      suggest u buy better one & change the fuse.
      original Belkin,Remax car usb charger a good buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • I thought we should let the car serve us, rather than we serve the car like a baby.

• Ootai on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Nothing out of the ordinary, well described. Same high fuel consumption based on same engine. Same quality issues & same slow moving stocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Nosushi on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:09 pm

You wanna say 1.5l engine in Vios is more frugal than 1.3l engine in Saga?

That is plain stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • LatukBandar on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:52 am

A 2.0 engine can consume less fuel than a 1.0 L engine. it is all about technology.

you went full retard, never go full retard.

• Moppo on Dec 24, 2015 at 7:00 am

Ur dump stupid. Read the data and fact. IRIZ fuel consumption in NDEC how much? Go and do research. Then come back to talk..

• Ndecsucks on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:05 am

NDEC is nothing compared to real world figure. You want to compare with hybrid car or heavier car then you are moron stupid

• Tipster 101 on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Expect february to may for the relase of the 2. Perdana abit hazy…source wont confirm it…take it with a pinch of salt…saw the saga in developement…might be stunning…who knows. Just that no news and confirmation for the engine. Hint for the vvt thou….

• Another one leaking news little here and there, thinking people will get exited.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Iomasark on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:07 am

Excited or not it draws more traffic and views in to this site. Problem?

• Ppl will excited bcos they hv good option to own a car instead of Perodua project are sending ppl to coffin

• papa mama's sister on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:19 pm

everyday we see new cars on the road.
    So, if proton launch a new one tomorrow…it wouldn’t be any big deal…..

In matter of weeks, our road will be clogged up with protons, so many proton until we don’t care anymore.

• Movingcoffin on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Tell that to your beloved moving coffin Myvi and Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:44 am

Clog up with Axia and MyVi are more realistic. This is why we have perception that most nasty crashes and crazy drivers are riving MyVi

• smlok on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:20 pm

just the show suzuki rebadge modal, the other r insignificant.

• karam singh on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:27 pm

low end Suzuki car like the swift got 0 star crash test in India. better get a Preve.
      Suzuki is a Japan brand, just like Toyota.
      but their concern of safety of lower end car very2 low.

• iknowniknow on Dec 24, 2015 at 7:20 pm

actually no concern at all about the car, model, brand, safety or whatsoever! when it come a thread like this that talked about P1 or Malaysia, the keyboard warriors at their best try to create so much hatred and wanted P1 to bungkus je.

• This one really win. Cover until like that also want to guess.

• Same L0rr on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:47 pm

who cares if this is perdana or saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • The Persona rederings by Theophilus Chin.

The rear lights does really resembles the Toyota Camry U.S market.

• bukapintubayartol on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Wah… 2016 gonna be a ‘power’ year for Proton.. Kau kau man… launch 3 new cars in one calender year! That is impressive for a small company. (on the website only got 7 models including Inspira which already stopped production)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:26 pm

You sure it’s a proton? I can’t see any sign to tell it’s a proton as it totally covered.

• ProtonScrewed? on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:34 pm

Another mega failure to be launch in 2016.

Proton never seems to be short of failed cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Actman on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:38 pm

So what we got here? Proton City?

• nabill (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 12:03 am

Ya looks like a high boot… Tall body indicating its a saga rather than a supposedly lower stance persona… Bt looking at the pic with the abit of rim showing… And taking the big truck tyre size as a reference… That rim size does not look like a 14’/15′ that the saga comes with… More like a 16’…
    Regarding the saga, id like to see more general refinement rather than all new this and that… Things like power train refinement, better fit n finish n so on… Bcos packaging is stil good with plenty of room n still relevant to its competitors..

• This proton syok sendiri sampai tak terhingga. Transporting stocks with cover and escort. You really think people will hijack the transporter and steal your tech meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Augusta on Dec 24, 2015 at 3:22 pm

It’s top secret with maximum escort. This is Proton last chance for volume and survival.

If failed against Perodua sedan then finally Geely or BYD from China will bailout takeover Proton for 1 Yuan.

• Youaredreamer on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:31 pm

You watched too much back to the future movie. Get up from dreaming.

• syer1n on Dec 26, 2015 at 12:51 pm

even covered, people still snap 3 pictures of it. what if it’s not? what’s your point?

• karipap 1malysia on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:44 am

Sorry proton, kete you tak best la……

Saya tak nak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Kelle on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:57 am

Noone forces you to buy.

• Perodua tak best, tak cantik, ada byk masalah yg sy pakai skrg. Byk kesal i dengar org kata kereta Perodua byk bagus. Ini kali lah, nanti trade in beli baru sy tak nk dengar org ckp lagi.

• the driver on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:42 am

On my wish list for Proton : Just a Proton Saga body but with the best technology currently available and with the last word in reliability. Meaning, don’t change the design any more just work on the details! Is that too hard to ask? Later when you make enough money, then go hire some top notch designers to make it beautiful

• karam singh on Dec 25, 2015 at 12:41 pm

what the good being beautiful but got no safety & weak chasis..

• Leexinyeang on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:01 am

ATTENTION: Please be beware from those comment , ” I have Proton and so many problem” bla bla… Some of them are creating fake stories to make Proton look bad. We dunno what is their purpose spreading fake stories about Proton. Maybe feel insecure with a lot of upcoming Proton model such as Iriz 1.3 Turbo manual 140HP, 190NM, Saga R, Persona R, Perdana R , suzuki-Proton A segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Cronnie on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:34 pm

How about that open letter by Proton vendor? Truth hurts kah?

• such propaganda of creating bad sentiment is so common in communism…they hoping that sooner or later their bait will be taken by their victim…they’re trying their best to ousted proton and Malaysia’s industry in pathetic way. Be strong Malaysia!!! may the force be with u hikhik

• Yaa…i won’t listen those liars anymore.

• Yea..agree.in before there are ‘my friend’s car’,’my aunty’s car’,’my father’s car’, now more advance..’i have proton car’.wonder what is next.haha

• hahaha on Dec 24, 2015 at 4:31 pm

vios.. wahahha…. potong is bodohhhg

• horrayooi on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:03 pm

If the engine derived from campro with vvt but still using timing belt cannot sell my friend. People don’t want timing belt engine anymore. The trend now revert back to timing chain. Like the the old days. More durable.

• Good design those and hope Proton have got their design spot on. But the company has to overcome its quality, reliability and service issues. Improve those, get back the people’s confidence in them and it’ll be on its way to kick the competition’s rear. It’s a long road though. Does Proton have it in their people to do it? Many would say no but I hope in the not too long run, it does something to improve its human resource before it’s truly too late. The same thing could be said of the civil service. Too many of a single culture controlling everything will only stagnate the organization. The same also goes for private companies who tend to pick and promote only one type of culture. This may lead to short-term gain for certain people but in the long run everybody will lose. This is the problem in Malaysia that is a boon for unscrupulous politicians to take advantage of. Will we as Malaysians wake up to this? I hope so. Everybody – not just certain people – need to give and take. Only when we put ourselves in the position of interdepending on one another will we respect and help each other regardless of culture, race or religion.

• bestbeast on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:35 pm

I own a 2008 Persona and a 2015 Axia GX…
    I had an accident 8 month after I purchased Persona… A Mitsu Triton rammed from behind ..if I was in Axia.. my wife and kid could get major injury… my persona had no major breakdown. I always late for service…2k to 10k but it still run ok…the only downside is the IAFM module ..it still noisy like diesel engine… my Axia is quiet..I use for commuting to work place and to fetch my kids from day care..Persona for longer range travel…or out station…this is true. My seasoned Persona is a tough and rough car. I never send to SC after the 4th service ..after that only bengkel kampung done the works…
    My Axia just reached 5004 km today.
    My 5 sen story.

• Bungkus on Dec 25, 2015 at 10:22 am

If car company starts to pay in contra (cars itself) instead of cash payment to parts suppliers it means the company in serious financial trouble.

• Milo fan on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:29 am

milo had not been sold in tins for quite a while already… how come still many ppl refer to milo tin…

• we should be proud of proton bcause of their car hv high safety features and hv their own design compared to perodua which only keep on rebadging and facelifting cars