SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Persona spotted yet again

The upcoming 2016 Proton Persona has been spotted again, this time with a closer look at the front and rear of the Iriz-based B-segment sedan. Thanks to reader Jian Wei for the spyshots!

While the front of the car may resemble that of the Iriz, a closer look shows some slight differences. The upper line of the headlights now flow continuously into the grille, which match the renders done by both resident Photoshop expert Theophilus Chin and Proton Design Competition 2014 winner Pow Ying Hern. The fog lights are also round in shape, rather than triangular on the Iriz – again matching Theo’s render.

Unlike in previous spyshots, the Persona is seen here wearing wheels from existing models – one car sports the six-spoke alloys from the Iriz 1.3, while the other is fitted with the current Persona‘s seven-spoke items. However, we expect it to stick to the turbine-design five-spoke design seen before, come its launch.

Renderings of the 2016 Proton Persona, by Theophilus Chin (top) and Pow Ying Hern (bottom)

The rear of the car is unusually short, and, as with previous spyshots, sports a tall bootlid lip, along with large one-piece tail lights that flank the bootlid – instead of the slim two-piece items as seen on Theo’s render. Not seen here is the shapely rear valence insert that is seen on both Pow’s render and an earlier spyshot.

The Persona looks to be taller than most of the competition, keeping the Iriz’s considerable height – the hatch is around 75 mm taller than both the Honda City and the Toyota Vios. This would explain the slightly awkward proportions compared to some of its rivals.

The Persona will be unveiled some time after the soon-to-be-launched Perdana, but ahead of the new Saga. The Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines are expected to be offered on the Persona at launch, but the car could gain Proton’s new 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre direct-injected (GDI/TGDI) engines after production of the new mills begin by the end of 2017.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BAMyouhaveAIDS on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Looks like my ex’s face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Steven see on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Finally Sam Loo can upgrade his son Saga to this new persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • agree.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Another failure in the making. This is just another Proton Arena, Juara, Tiara, Savvy and of course, the biggest failure, Iriz.

Proton, please close down. 30 years sucking our money. We, the rakyat cannot be subsidising you forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:35 am

If I have any Proton at home, I will give out for free. Who wanna keep junk at home?
            I also wonder why so many sozai pay money to drive junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • I want your proton on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Pakcik Sam, please let me know where can i collect your son proton. Accident free?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:52 pm

If you don’t even know where I stay, don’t talkok that I have Proton. No one likes to drive junk, including me. Knock my door and I will let you take any Proton (if I have any).

Again, where got people like you like to take junk home? You garbage collector?

• Sam proton on Feb 26, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Apa yang nak Malu kalau anak you pakai proton saga? Kerja kuat sikit pakcik kalau nak pakai kereta jepun

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Just read all 31 comments as of 5.30pm. Every comment is negative. This makes me think.

What is the 1000 over engineers doing in Proton? Proton employs the largest number of engineers amongst any car company in the world. We follow Malaysian style….employ just to give jobs for fun.

The 1000 over engineers cannot come out with a proper design at all? Are they all that bodoh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
          • Albert on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Brader Songlap,
            Protong can come out with 10 new models this year.
            It won’t make any drastic difference,in terms of sales.
            People just dont want a Protong.They dont mind paying a higher price or lengthen the h/p by opting for Japanese marques.
            Puihh….Protong,still cannot get the bladdy message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrr on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Proton (whatever Proton model name) still have bad RV if still using campro Engine..
      Buy Toyota VVT-i or Honda I-VTec better.. Good reliable engine & good RV too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35
      • Ur Toyota January 2016 only sale 2000 units, no more RV already lo. Lol
        FYI, nobody judge new car by past result. Sohais only remembered brand name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
        • Donkey John on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Proton Thailand car sales Dec 2015:
          – Preve 11 units
          – Exora 9 units

• if your had one.

• I love big butts on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:54 pm

I’m having ptsd flashbacks, that big ugly rear end looks like my ex’s big droopy ass *shudder*

• Jobless on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Tis model will be anoter epic failure mark my words…it should be the new Saga instead of Petsona….the short ugly rear again designed by the Preve team i believed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 33
    • Albert on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Jobless jutawan,
      If Proton still dream of success using the heavily condemned Campro engine with Punch CVT gearbox,it is just making up for some lost sales.
      Initially,the Proton fanboys will buy but by the 3rd month,everything will grind to a halt.
      Preve,Suprima,Iriz,Exora all failed miserably.
      Those senior execs really are stupid to the core.At least pinjam some Honda previous generation engine and CVT gearbox.Just like the Accordana,at least people dont mind Honda engine and gearbox for this persona.
      People dont want anything to do with CAMPRO and PUNCH GEARBOX.
      KESIAN.Still cannot gauge what the buyers need after 30 years of experimenting.
      Better ta pao and f..off.Wasting Paultan’s and our precious time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • Its PT’s decision whether or not to spend time write about P1 and decision if the time used is gainful or otherwise, but it seems u wasted ur time to go read all the articles and to bash non-stop.

So who was productively using their time, and who has wasted his time to bash nonsensically?

• Dun take Honda tech? U must have missed the memo about new perdana initially using honda engines. Or perhaps u will turn around and bash P1 for using honda engines? A case of do & die or dun do still die in ur mind.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Strongly agreed with you. it should be Iris sedan instead of Persona. Shape and overall contour line not persona at all.

• Every month 2000 units no problem

• Wow. Surely many malaysians would flock to the showrooms and buy this absolute beauty of a car. The loyal proton supporters would buy 2 units each.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • Fedup on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Macai must buy it more. Proton not doing well. Need more sales. Or else sell off to Greatwall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • January 2016 do very well what, sale figure tell the truth like sb said.

• Consumer on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Awkward proportion especially the back half.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • La Naufal on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Looks like the tail light taken from suprima s??

• azermalak on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Long time ago Malaysian dreamt it could build its own cars. A lot commenters will give negative and some positive arguments but then again its a car design, build and manufacture in a so call “failed state” called Malaysia. Not many countries have achieved that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • The ‘proportion’ are so wrong, large wide and low sedan become this small narrow and tall hatchback with extended butt. U spoil the name of Persona, better just give it a new name or just name it Iriz sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • persona on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Agree, Persona say:” i rather you make me become history than become like this.” So sad persona.

• applegreen on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:15 pm

A bit weird to see proton using theopilus and contestant design. What happen to proton designers anyway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Bristol on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:34 am

Stupid laa u…that is ps photo shown, not the actual design

• tinmilo on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:17 pm

2016 Proton Persona?

Aren’t they launching the Perdana this year?
    Proton can’t even get their product launches right… launch everything in 1 year, and nothing for the next 5 years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Consumer on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:46 pm

They had confirmed 3 models this year right.

• john is otak batu on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Yeap. Pile up the stock yard 1st. Complaint with full reasons & get $$$$$$$$$ from gomen again… just another repeat another bad cycle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Proton….big body,small tyre..zzz

• Poobs on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Look better than honda city 2006
    Vios dugong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • normal_user on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:49 pm

The current persona looked so much better & well proportioned, even during its spyshot days back in 2008. But, the Persona suffers from lack of rear passenger space (tight legroom, ‘sunken’ & upright rear seats). The engineers must thought that Iriz interior might provide solution for that. But then most car makers have learnt to offer both practicality and attractive design, rather than sacrificing one for the other (compare the old City iDSI to the new one). I guess they should re-look at some other options or repackage the whole car (hey, that’s something you should consult from Suzuki-the compact car packaging expert). Would Malaysians buy a ‘sedan-ized’ hatch that would weigh near 1.2 tons (Iriz premium) while the competitors can offer a better looking & more spacious car at lesser weigh (and less FC)?

• Suzuki, with all their wisdom, cudnt design a worse looking sedan than the swift dzire, Sx4 & kizashi. They wud be last person, P1 shud consult on how to design a gud looking compact sedan.

• They do not think the outfit (body design) is important. The fact is, people buy nice looking cars.

• Hooray…the best value B segment coming soon

• brian on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:10 pm

campro again? boring lah! don’t want lah!

• superman on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:11 pm

so ugly this car, the rear end is horrible. this car will tarnish the good name Persona had. another epic failure by a dying company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • all i can say is all the best Proton.

• Silthice on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:32 pm

I wonder the Proton Iriz and Exora 1.3 turbo prototypes with 140 hp and 190 Nm engines based on Iriz’s VVT engines or TGDI? Most probably VVT Turbo engines which will be featured in IRIZ Activ and may also be in the new persona?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Mimau on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:51 pm

The 1.3L turbo can be seen as a turbocharged 1.3L VVT or a downscaled (improved) CFE. TGDI is not yet finished so, no.

• shamsul on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:43 pm

As long as its a Campro power plant
    Smart guys won’t buy it.
    And from the look of it.
    It’s definately NOT betul2x Onzzzz !!!

• Now the car is full of camo stickers, we cannot really see the design underneath. I believe, stickers off, during launching, it will surprise you. It will be so much uglier! ;D
      They do not think the outfit (body design) is important. The fact is, people buy nice looking cars.

• This is what we call failing even before start.
    How sad…

• bpapk on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:27 pm

I hope the 3 models that are launching this year will be Proton’s last, no more pain!

• why proton waste time giving info to this blog…proton should do for exports..some non malay chaps over here think they are superior but they are ultimate racist bigots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Some comment might sound racist but it pointed out the truth. That is really sad.

• Bruise on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:16 am

The info is given by public not Proton. Actually the basher is wasting time give nonsense comments.

• kapchai on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Aiyo, its looks like an Iriz with a very short ugly tail. For heavens sake at least make it look a bit different from the Iriz, just like the Saga looks so balanced and different from the Savvy. Don’t make it a failure even before it can start

• osman sega on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Wake up TS Syed Mokhtar & DRB !!
    Your net worth halved last year so start plugging the leakages starting with P1.
    Review where P1 is heading.
    JV with Suzuki and yet still business as usual producing Persona , Saga & Iriz ?
    At this point of time P1 should cut back on capex, consolidate your range of cars in the same segment and even cut production.
    Concerntrate on quality rather than quantity.
    Time for a major shake up cos desperate times calls for desperate measures.

• Osman is the Dreamer on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Dey, why you teaching them so much? If they follow yr advice, they will take longer to tutup kedai!!!

• tadulako on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:46 pm

tayar so kecik……makes the car look very dunggu lah…

• Nasi Lemak Oh Nasi Lemak! on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Another nasi lemak product that using rakyat money and will claim nvr use at all… Proton was sucking khazanah money for years… Zzzz… Pity us rakyat… Juz like MAS sucked all ppl money!!!

• FIST (Member) on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:27 pm

just launch something already

• old horse on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:06 pm

seriously, you have Saga, the Preve…
    Person in the middle just for price sick?

the usage has no much difference than Saga, and Preve, since just a sedan without much different except for price. No different function use in daily (like SUV), or family MPV.

That’s the failure of Protong in strategy in redundant of the similar line of roll out and waste tons of money.

Blame the market? blame own management better.

Just like Apple launch the MAC as the 1st step to regain market, protong just need to make ONE good car in terms of price, quality and safety that CONSUMER wants.

• ujintan on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:17 pm

What happen to Proton Wira? Why is it that there is no new face-lift for WIRA? I think there are more Wira on the road than Persona…

• Bangla Dato' on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Ini kirita pon mau kasi camouflage? Sapa mau tiroo?

• camtakpro on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:38 pm

Car looks nicer (according to Pow Ying Hern renderings) than Preve.

Let’s see whether the buttons or gearknob fall off this time. Campro or not, if it is Campro Turbo 6MT, will be nice.

• Same L0rrr on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:20 am

Yes.. Persona campro with CVT Punch Powertrain gearbox.. The another failure..

• drillero on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:07 am

Simple, in order for Proton to be successful again, they need to produce cars that sought by domestic consumers not by the management or consultants. Instead of apeing Perodua with products mirroring, proton should focus on their strength and improve on the weakness. Instead, all fail products from Proton due to inherent legacy or wrong products mix. Why Waja, Wira, Saga were successful? Why Preve, Savvy, Juara were flops? Dont ape Perodua, do your own homework and produce car badly needed by Malaysian. Simple

• Mamat on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:32 am

Proton
    1. Wujudkan varian 1.3 Premium, Kebanyakan pembeli akan membeli varian 1.3, tapi features kurang terutama airbag.
    2. Saga varian 1.3 shj
    3. Persona 1.6 shj
    4. Preve 1.6 cps & CFE
    5. Suprima S CFE shj
    6. Exora tambah feature spt segment C
    7. Keluarkan MPV compact saiz Nissan GL/Alza segmen B
    8. Keluarkan SUV crossover guna platform Suprima S 1.6 CFE
    9. Pick up platform Exora.. tak perlu 4X4 pun..
    10. Perdana dgn 6 airbag la.. Iriz boleh ada varian 6 airbag.. Perdana 4 airbag mencacatkan features..

jadi tiada model yang overlaping seperti Gen2, Persona, Wira & waja seperti dulu..

• Ahmad on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:38 am

Please stop differentiating variants with different tyre sizes. It looks wierd.

• jobless on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Ala ala, still offer 1.3 and 1.6liter engine for same model, they still.living in the 90s…redundancy and waste of resources each new.model competing against same existing line up..Iriz vs Saga, Preve vs Persona, while Perdana is.a niche market

• Proton iriz 1.6 premium ? on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:15 am

Walao proton ah ? I dun wanna mention about engine n gearbox 1st… the most simplest thing oso got problem… the infotainment sometimes cant touch when the engine started… dunno when or how , i need to shut down the car n wait the car cool down 1st then only start bec the car then only the screen works… antenna problem too , everytime anywhere the line damn weak… WTF ! The car bought from November 2015 , infotainment problem started on december… langsung tak ada reliability… small things oso cant work properly, ask ppl how to trust ur brand ? The CVT gearbox really sucks n delayed too much… really not worth to buy a proton on their current prices… old proton quality far more better than new proton… zzz…

• than theo lee on Feb 27, 2016 at 5:46 am

for proton to succeed, it should go for export markets, forget about Malaysian market, did not waste time with the locals. 70% overseas market is achievable

• james on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:21 am

i think it look nice :) well done proton.