2018 Perodua Myvi – first glimpse of all-new interior

The 2018 Perodua Myvi made its public debut in Malaysia yesterday, although it was hidden in a box designed to allow just a sneak peek. The letterbox slots on the front, rear and sides give us a general idea of the third-generation hatchback’s exterior design.

From what we’ve seen so far, it’s clear that the new Myvi is not a rebadge of the JDM Daihatsu Boon, which we showed you in detail last month. The upper body is a 100% Perodua design. “The all-new Myvi is a the first Perodua model to have an upper body designed completely in-house, without foreign input,” said Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, president and CEO of Perodua.

With more time and less of a crowd today, our photographer Patrick Seow has returned with more images of the boxed Myvi. Thanks to flash and zoom, we now have our first glimpse of the new Myvi’s dashboard, teased by Perodua in the only official video released so far.

It’s a big departure from the outgoing Myvi’s triangle of a centre stack, and there are hints of Honda City and Jazz in the way the air con vents are in-line with the top of the dash, and instrument binnacle. The layout is more centred around the driver compared to the cabins of Perodua’s other models.

Also, the way the top section “folds in” (around the 2-DIN touchscreen head unit) might remind some of the Corolla Altis’ dashboard. Like the Toyota sedan, piano black is the trim of choice here, with a metallic border. Situated in the bottom half of the two-section dashboard are the air con controls and push start button. The AC panel is digital, while keyless entry/push start is standard across the board.

There’s also a steering wheel design that’s new to Perodua. Four-way audio buttons on the left, Bluetooth call button on the right. Perodua has opened online registration of interest for the new Myvi, and you can find out more about the new Myvi’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) package and its functions here.

Perodua Myvi 1.3 Standard G
RM44,300 (MT)
RM46,300 (AT)

Gets as standard:
1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine (1NR-VE)
1,329 cc, four-cylinder petrol
94 hp at 6,000 rpm, 121 Nm at 4,000 rpm (est. numbers from Bezza 1.3)
Five-speed manual or four-speed E-AT
LED headlamps with auto off and follow-me-home functions
Headlight levelling
LED tail lamps with light guides
Reverse sensors
14-inch alloy wheels
Keyless entry and start
Flexible 8+1 seating configurations
60:40 folding rear seats
Side pocket on front seat (for mobile phones)
Four airbags (dual front, front sides)
ABS, EBD
Electronic stability control (VSC)
Traction control (TRC)
Emergency Stop Signal (ESS)
Five-year/150,000 km warranty
Target five-star ASEAN NCAP crash test rating

Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X
RM48,300 (AT)

Adds on:
Eco-idle automatic start-stop system
Other exterior and interior trim (not released yet)

Colour options for Myvi 1.3:
Ivory White (solid)
Glittering Silver (metallic)
Mystical Purple (metallic)
Lava Red (metallic)
Peppermint Green (metallic) – new, exclusive to 1.3 models

Perodua Myvi 1.5 High
RM51,800 (AT)

Adds on:
1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine (2NR-VE)
1,496 cc, four-cylinder petrol
106 hp at 6,000 rpm, 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm (est. numbers from Vios 1.5)
Four-speed E-AT
Combined fuel economy of 20.1 km per litre
15-inch dual-tone alloy wheels
Front bodykit and side skirts (dual-tone)
Two-tone rear bumper
Rear spoiler
Built-in toll reader (integrated SmartTAG)
Six airbags (dual front, front sides, curtains)

Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance
RM55,300 (AT)

Adds on:
Advanced Safety Assist (ASA)
Pre-collision Warning
Pre-collision Braking (low-speed autonomous emergency braking)
Front Departure Alert
Pedal Misoperation Control

Colour options for Myvi 1.5:
Ivory White (solid)
Glittering Silver (metallic)
Mystical Purple (metallic)
Lava Red (metallic)
Granite Grey (metallic) – new, exclusive to 1.5 models

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• zarakiken on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Erm… is this a honda interior???

• Jinbaittai on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:07 pm

Adunbilivit!! Toyota tech + honda interior + Mazda design.

1 word. WOWWW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • I miss Ohwai on Nov 10, 2017 at 11:07 pm

This year, sales of Perodua is over 200,000. Next year, I won’t be surprised if it touches 300,000

Bravo Perodua! You have done so well despite NOT having orders from

1) Government Departments
        2) Ministries
        3) PDRM
        4) Bomba
        5) TUDM, TLDM dan Angkatan Tentera
        6) All local Universities
        7) Kastam
        8) Immigresion
        etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc

• fugley on Nov 12, 2017 at 11:50 am

Still fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Eternalgl0ry on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:46 pm

Wow the taillights even better looking than most 90k cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 64
    • talldisc on Nov 11, 2017 at 11:07 am

its time Perodua to change name as P1.

Proton i think… is P2. Perodua is way ahead of the game. they have more sales, scores better in customer satisfaction, more reliable engineering (no doubt, from Toyota but whatever!). and they have several EEV models on sales (Proton has only the rebadged Ertiga) even though using dinosaur 4 speed auto. now, their cars is even in terms of safety (up to 6 airbags, ABS, VSC) but they also have ASA ahead of Proton.

• did anyone have a closer look at the rear brakes on whether they’re drum or disc?

• Raptor on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:57 pm

The rear brakes of the model in the picture above is drum brakes. Check out the 3rd pic from vehicle’s sides.

• R dhanaraj on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:46 pm

Gud job Perodua! Myvi every sukses!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 46
  • German on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:51 pm

The public is tired of the sneak peek. Enough of the teasing. We want to see the car fully naked please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Evo X on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Still having airbag cut out. Spoil a little bit la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Still looks like Innova at rear. Vampire fangs.

• Bernard on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Most msians can only afford this . Hence better than taking the bus , riding a bike or walking.

We make do I suppose…

• Msia logic on Nov 15, 2017 at 11:05 am

MSian live a luxury life with high end mobile a fewa pieces, every 30mins starbuck, weekend or not specialty shops full, party at high end club every weekend, luxury brand attires, vacation every few months in japan or europe. However, no money to buy a safer luxury car. Why, bacause bank dont approve loan. So u understand how is the logic of ppl. Rupanya bank kosong punya. When boss fire, cant survive a month. We must educate our next generation not to be like that. Like what? Kiasu all the way by burning ourself. We with real wealth, yup we enjoy everything normal ppl enjoy (maybe less than them) but with luxury house car accessories and.. Sustainability. And u knw whats the best thing? I go to my company every morning and all my 60 workers say good morning boss to me. Spend more, save less. The boss will definitely be pleased.

• Zuchie on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:10 pm

P2 for new Myvi should show the video ASEAN NCAP crash test also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Nocturnal Animals on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:15 pm

No use Perodua. Honda and Kia is even much better than Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
  • Alex Richard on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:18 pm

New Myvi 2018

Or

Proton Iriz 1.0L three cyclinder twin scroll turbo direct injection + hybrid motor

Or

Preve Facelift 1.5 TGDi + hybrid motor + Volvo same alike sensing, 220hp 320nm combine output..

Mana you pilih?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
    • balldisc on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:16 am

i choose whatever is there in reality, not on drawing board.

• Anything But P1 on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:24 am

sy pilih Proton turbo bocor… sumpah!

• Proton vs Perodua on Nov 11, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Proton’s TGDI is dead in the water already. The Chinaman boss insisted to use their readiedly available engine and save the cost of having to go through the time consuming and resources draining process of engine R&D.

One thing Perodua is vastly superior to Proton is its management system inherited from Toyota conglomerate – they are very cost effective, and they use readiedly off-the-shelve parts frm Toyota and Daihatsu to maximized cost effectiveness and profit margin. Proton on the other hand, waste lots of money and resources trying to go through the painful learning process of product maturity and eventually fell short of quality and reliability benchmark to Peordua. Not only that Proton make far fewer profit on every car sold compared to Perodua, but Proton losses its customer base to Perodua as well. In the end, Proton become weaker and weaker (both financially and number of car sales), and Perodua became mighhter and mighter.

The arrival of Chinese boss and managment is to stop this insane and stupid practices of Proton’s way of producing cars, not only it’s not cost-effective, but also create lop hole for cronies suppliers to exploit the system, making Proton losses its money to unnecessary wastage and internal bleeding. The Chinese auditing team had just finished audited the Shah Alam factory and will shut in down in the near future, this is because Shah Alam is very human labour intensive and it could only produce 250k per annum. Tanjung Malim on the other hand, is highy automated and robotics, and could make 1 million cars per year, it is just insane to retain the Shah Alam factory for so long whereas the Tanjung Malim plant is woefully under utilised all these while. One funny thing is some of the Shah Alam factory managment choose to resign (rather than being fired) even before the Chinese auditing team came in, you guess the reason?

With Chinaman ironfist landing down on Proton’s managment and eradicating its past rent-seeking infested business malpractices, Proton is set to see better days. And with Proton consolidating under the Chinese management, it will soon up to a fight agianst Perodua. The local automotive scence will be exciting to watch in coming years, with Proton and Peordua competing each other, we consumers will be the ultimate benificier, make no question about it.

As for the TGDI, it is good to just kill it off, yea, we lose the galmour of “indeginious made engine” monicker, but Proton could roll out its new line up faster up against Peordua. In business, nobody give a damn whether you are indigenous or not. As long as your car are trouble-free, save, fuel saving and comes decent quality, people will buy. The sales chart of Perodua in recent years says it all.

• Bernard on Nov 13, 2017 at 4:51 pm

I think you should run Proton with your vast knowledge , know how etc

• Mohd. Faizul bin aziz Aziz on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:02 am

Syabas! Only a genius can write like this. Your car company must be very succesful indeed.

• Yyyop on Nov 12, 2017 at 12:00 am

In your dream la proton come out with that engine..in ur dream boy…even geely dont have much hybrid car..

• LOK CHYI YEU on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:26 pm

I hate it when ppl sell thing and ask for u to put a booking or register interested when they don’t show the product or tell u the pricelist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Hong Yung on Nov 10, 2017 at 10:23 pm

Then just don’t book it and wait for the real thing on sale… Why you need to feel bad when they not even force you to book it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • Iron Man on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:43 pm

Perodua is even worst than Kia and Honda and Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 20
  • Rufus on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Wah my grab driver’s car getting more luxurious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Susukotak on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:56 pm

still no rear mid head rest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • farghmee on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Uninspiring dashboard design.
    Change this in the facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Driver's Choice on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Don’t know have rear disc breaks same as Kia Picanto? Wish to have built-in TPMS like Picanto also.

• I miss Ohwai on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:10 pm

This car is now Proton’s biggest threat. Previously, Myvi had no VSC and just 2 airbags. Now, with the spec increased plus a host of other safety features, people buying Persona or Saga or even Iriz will change boat and buy Myvi.

Even with this kind of threat, Proton today announced that they are confident of increasing their workers from 9600 workers to 20,000 workers and gave 100% assurance not even 1 worker will face retrenchment.

Wow, this is ultimate Business 101

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 24
    • Manutd on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:30 am

Gomen shud gips extension for Proton to repay bailout loans. similar to those extension gips to toll concessions, pipu power backup P1!!!

• Yyyop on Nov 12, 2017 at 12:05 am

Vss is on the way…people still buy proton with 2 airbag? Comonla even saga lowest spec is tin kosong…no safety at all..better buy myvi with manual 1.3dual vvti + traction+stability + abs/ebd , this make it so much wiser to buy new myvi even the lowest spec.

• Will all models get the 2 DIN touchscreen system?

• Nocturnal Animals on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:47 pm

Buy Honda, Toyota, Mazda, Kia better don’t buy Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
  • daniel on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, president and CEO of Perodua was saying in the media that the new MYVI almost all meet world standard. Is it too expensive to fully meet world standard?
    Please take away the LED aesthetics and use the cost saved to fully meet world standard for the precious lives of a typical Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • walau on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:40 pm

eh perodua, dont pattern la… show dy la

• Hodoh sangat, tak berbaloi beli

• Wak Joko on Nov 11, 2017 at 6:42 am

What do you mean upper body? Please la Datuk, tell the truth. This model just cnp from toyota auris, perodua just make up or devaluate the facelift 90% look alike Auris. How dare you said upper body design in your facility. Dont bullshit malaysian.

• dudududuuu on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:38 pm

he dare becoz he tell the truth. why not u compare the car side by side later after the launching.

• camtakpro on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:38 am

Who cares about copying here and there? Proton is even worse in copying. Even the logo is copied from Thundercats.

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 11, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Lol a lot of potong fans here. Shh

• I want rear middle headrest. Anyone agree with me??

• Dashboard design closer to Bezza and not that “modern”.

Display not at eye level like Boon OR classy.yet ergonomic like Mazda. In country that prone to fatal accidents distracted eyes from the road ahead is our driver’s biggest threat.

Perodua overlooked that Myvi boot capacity merely 17l better than Axia despite claim P2 reengineered upper body. Most B-segment cars were over-300l boot capacity. Newest Polo is 355l while Honda Jazz is 363l.

Grab Car or Uber’s customers definitely prefer bigger luggage area, huh?

The rest is very good. Kudos Myvi Mk III.

• bro 2.1 on Nov 12, 2017 at 2:53 pm

They say don’t have anything nice to say, keep quiet. So many keyboard warrior here.

At least Perodua is trying to keep up with the market. You?

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:58 am

Extremely disappointing rear license plate bracket located!!! Any latest features of 3rd generation Perodua Myvi are very useless unless the rear license plate bracket is repositioned to its tailgate!! I’m waiting its major facelift, then 3rd generation Perodua Myvi will be more impressing-looked and like to be owned!