Proton SUV previewed with new details – TGDi engine confirmed; to be based on latest Geely Boyue facelift?

Proton’s first SUV will only be launched in Q4 this year, but the national carmaker is giving the public a more informational preview of the model ahead of that.

On display here is a mock-up of the SUV’s face, which doesn’t look that much different from what you’ll find on the Geely Boyue – the Proton SUV is based on this model.

The lower apron mimics that of the facelifted Boyue, with a sportier bumper that features LED fog lamps integrated into the lower corners – the fog lamp enclosures themselves are pretty angular in shape as well. Other revisions will involve the grille, where Geely’s “expanding cosmos” look will be likely be replaced with Proton’s own design.

Based on the safety and driver assist systems being touted for the Proton SUV, it isn’t far-fetched to say the rest of the vehicle will follow the updated Geely SUV too.

Firstly, a blind spot monitor will be available, which was an addition that came with the Boyue facelift. This joins the list of existing driver assists, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning and auto high beam.

As for other features, the Proton SUV gets a smart air purifier, tyre pressure monitoring system, 360-degree camera and an eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system. The last two items also came with the facelift, with the latter offering 4G connectivity, online apps and something called smart phone remote control.

Lastly, there’s finally a mention on the engine that will power the Proton SUV, which will be a TGDi unit. This could be the 1.8 litre turbo four-cylinder petrol engine offered in China, which serves up 181 hp and 285 Nm when paired with a six-speed automatic. The setup can be ordered in either front- or all-wheel drive over there, but it remains to be seen what we will get here.

Sounds promising, don’t you think? The question now is, how much do you think the yet-to-be-named Proton SUV should be priced at?

GALLERY: Geely Boyue facelift

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kebal on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:38 pm

What an atrocious clay job. This “preview” is actually an unfinished job. Even the wheels don’t flush properly with the body. What the hell Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 54
    • Do remember than ‘tease here, tease there’ is Proton’s culture. We must respect their culture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
      • kebal on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:51 pm

that’s not the point. If u want to ‘tease tease’ Then do it properly. This looks like a project that missed its deadline.

Not disrespecting the tease ‘culture’, every car maker has their own tease method but this is subpar quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
        • Wrong pronunciation of Boyue on Apr 28, 2018 at 1:16 pm

Hafriz, you are pronouncing the Boyue name wrongly. Correct pronunciation is “Broh-Yueh” 博越, not Bo-Yu. I am from China and listening you pronounce it is a pain to my ears

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 27, 2018 at 3:04 pm

Don’t tell me clay job was done by that Mimos guy who badly wants his old Proton job back!

• Geli betul on Apr 27, 2018 at 9:25 pm

For Pete’s sake… It’s only a Boyue… What’s with all the unnecessary fanfare and waste of money …money which Proton don’t have

• Eiddy on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:46 pm

They don’t want to reveal everything yet. So just make it have a look la. Aiyoo

• kebal on Apr 26, 2018 at 10:40 pm

It’s not a brand new car designed by Proton, just a minor nip and tuck. It’s a rebadged Geely.

We all know 95% how it’s going to look like. What do they want to hide?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Clearly it is not for real production, why so much fuss?

• Clearly from its scaling, it is not for real production, why so much fuss?

• Totally agree. Memalukan… if wan to hide please don’t make the clay so wavy…there are other ways to hide…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Tyre come out from body. JPJ no compliance abang…designer ah beng keh lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Biggest customer is probably PDRM, JPJ, FAMA, Risda, …. itu pun terpaksa beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 38
    • What?? on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Still a lot more sales than that total failure called the Nautica.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • Itu dipanggil patriotic, unlike some of u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
      • 7yrsold on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:21 pm

My father told me, buy a Proton once and your family suffer for next 5years. So change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
        • Pyraxle on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:35 pm

Meeeh not my family. My family have 09′ Persona SE, ’10 Exora and ’15 Iriz and they’ve been serving us well and no workshop visit at all. Also before that we had 2 wiras that have been running without any problems, both are secondhand when we bought it. The only problematic car we have at home now is my mom’s naza citra. That awful car likes to break down itself after a few mins of drive. (7 times this year alone). Sent it for repair but they just couldn’t tell us why. Also, they said once we need to pump RON97 instead of 95. Tried it and guess what? It broke down when we about to start the car at petrol pump. Right now, mom’s driving the iriz with happy face without worrying of breaking down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
        • sembang la brader..why me and my family don’t have problem with ours? a lot of vw complaints ade la..puii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • A45 recond owner on Apr 27, 2018 at 2:41 pm

hahahaha , one more fairy tales story , keep your stupid for your kids

• YB Albert on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:32 pm

datuk Ioma
      At this turtle pace,when DRB announce another massive loss of RM 500Juta soon,the rakyat,perhaps will have to be saddled with another bailout no matter who wins may9.
      Just to launch a high end model where many malaysians cant afford,takes 15 donkey months.
      I think Geely is buying time,to test their resilience.At 170juta Rm,this is peanuts compared to the billions of US Dollars geely untung .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:29 pm

As far as Proton has many times been a “failure” , we shouldnt hold “grudges” and simply tembak everytime we hear the name. I bought a saga and tembak proton also, but i judged it in a fair manner.
      And this time around, we can REALLY SEE the persistance and will of the new CEO Lee Chun Rong to change the fundalmental but neglected issues of Proton. Example, he gave strict order for the canteen management to improve the quality of the food within two weeks. This looks as if theres nothing to do with the quality and branding of proton but he knows that for proton to succeed , the welfare of the workforce must be taken care of, CHANGE OF QUALITY must start from within.
      Of course, if Proton comes out with a poor product this time, I will sure tembak them just like I tembak a CORRUPTED government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • U know the quality of Malaysians food lah. The new CEO simply dun want to get poison before he can manage the company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Tengku Halim on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:42 pm

We can have all the latest technology in the Boyue but most importantly, what will the price be?

In Malaysians mind, especially Proton buyers….it is how much that matters.

This is why, even Proton CEO admitted, 75% of their total sales come from Saga and Persona which is less than RM50k

The remaining 25%, bulk of it is Government ordered Perdanas which is priced at RM113k

So, Geely can give all the latest engines etc, but if you price the car at RM100k…..who is going to buy?

After discounts, Nissan X-Trail is now RM126k. You can call ETCM Glenmarie to verify.

Most buyers willing to pay RM100k will just add a bit more and buy a 7 seater Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • Sgt Scoop on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:22 pm

The X-Trail hasn’t sold well because it comes with only 2 airbags. Nissan is now offering big discounts to move all of those unsold units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:46 pm

cannot be more than 70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
    • U must change ur mentality that Proton’s cars are cheap. Should be at least 100K to match the premium quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
  • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:49 pm

Boring.. x keluar2 jugak proton suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • tokmoh. on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Proton, Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Potongstim on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Aiyo. I really wish if they rebadge from suzuki vitara. 1.4 boosterjet turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • azrai on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Olaf’s Boyue?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:10 pm

The chinese CEO knows what he is doing. I am quite convinced that they will launch this car with a bang, in terms of specs, trim level, warranty as well as new benchmark of SALES and SERVICE . I am looking for a SUV as my second car . I cant say I will definitely put my money in the new proton but it will be worth the wait.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
  • Proton Clayer on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:12 pm

It looks better in clay…keep it tht way ya..and do make it like smaller so we put on our coffee table..tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
  • I would think that this SUV would wipe the floor clean of every SUV on the planet, just like Thanos in Avengers

Proton is the new Thanos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
  • benisyourdad on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:33 pm

I’ll try my luck again. I hope this comment gets approved.

Wishing Proton the very best! Assuming by working on keeping costs down (under new management)and a favorable Ringgit by the time this model is launched, without skimping on essentials such as safety, I hope Proton can get a net profit of RM13k each car sold. This should be about right. Immediately dispatch this model to all RHD markets and they should achieve 200,000 sales by year 3. This equates to RM2.6 billion net profits over 3 years if all stars are aligned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Bernard on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Just launch the bloody thing! Why all the sandiwara?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • pls ask on Apr 27, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Dun know, you ask other brands to with those “newspaper” camo cars – BMW, Merc, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, etc

• johnnas on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Proton needs new marketing team too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • 12yrsold john on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm

With all the latest tech/gadgets & sell for under RM100k, this will steal thousands of units from Japanese SUV. The most interesting part is the TGDi 1.8 TURBO. I’m Eager to test the Real deal ASAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • sugarhill on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:23 pm

This can be the gamechanger for proton if they spec, price n market it well.

• No confidence on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:59 pm

I thing proton should let ppl see the real car preview and get the comments . coz proton name already been dead 18 yrs ago since proton waja.If have negative feedback about this so call proton SUV at least have time to fix it.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:40 pm

From the numerous YouTube reviews of Boyue, there are a few points Proton need to tweak for Malaysian driving conditions.

The ride & handling – currently on the soft side to cater to Chinese market. Also SUV front end dips upon hard braking.
    The powertrain software – currently not responsive enough as Chinese drivers are docile drivers. We like aggressive throttle response.
    The central cup holders – can’t fit 2 McDonald’s drinks properly (current design too close together).
    The steering power assist – currently too light to cater to Chinese market (we need heavier steering feel especially at highway speed).

If it comes as per newer facelift version, then the 6 USB ports will be more practical than the old version of only 1 USB port.

Curious which mapping software Proton will use as Chinese have their own version of Google Maps. If they use Android Auto here, both Waze & Google Maps can be used. So far, Google Maps have the most detailed information on locations (Eg. shops, buildings, malls, hotels etc). Don’t think the Chinese maps will be as detailed as Google Maps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Guan yin ma on Apr 26, 2018 at 10:29 pm

Hope proton to solve boyue main problem in china, HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION, this is a 1700kg car. But, I dont think its so easy.

• ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:59 pm

This could actually work

• old horse on Apr 26, 2018 at 10:40 pm

i think the redesign will look better…
    just need to give a good price (and backup with services), then in two years time (people skeptic wont buy at launch), P1 should be good..hopefully

• Kuinosan on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:31 am

It’s business as usual la for Proton to miss the deadline. All these teasing and information of this vehicle feels like its an overkill. Very fast to jelat(fed up) even before the vehicle is launched. Jangan lebih2 la Proton!

• Alibaba on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:48 am

Hope Geely can mould Proton into a great company….

• TokMat on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:15 pm

WOW… confirmed “tapau” most of the SUV in malaysia… Great Job PROTON!
    Price 80-90K is the BEST!