Perodua sold 82,700 cars in Jan-Apr 2019 – 43% market share; almost 20,000 bookings for the Aruz

For the first four months of 2019, Perodua managed to deliver 82,700 units, which is not only 9.5% more than the same corresponding period in 2018 (75,500 units), but is the most number of vehicles the national carmaker has sold in the first four months of any year in its history.

“The sales figures, which are internally generated, show strong continued support for our products and we, along with the country’s automotive ecosystem, consisting mainly of suppliers and authorised dealers, are sincerely grateful for this endorsement,” said Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad, president and CEO of Perodua.

“While Perodua awaits the Malaysian Automotive Association’s (MAA) official total industry volume numbers, we believe that Perodua’s market share is above 43% for the four-month period, thus directly benefitting the domestic economy as a whole,” he added.

According to Perodua, it has spent RM1.8 billion on component purchases from local automotive suppliers from January to end-April 2019, and is set to fulfil its commitment of RM5.4 billion in component purchases for this year.

In April 2019, the company sold 22,100 units, 11% higher than the same month last year (19,939 units), but less than what was seen in March 2019 (23,286 units). The Myvi made up the majority of sales with 7,700 units, followed by the Axia (5,900 units), Bezza (4,200 units), Aruz (over 3,200 units) and Alza (1,100 units).

A point to note is the Aruz, the company’s only seven-seat SUV, recorded the highest number of registrations in April since it was launched at the start of the year. Datuk Zainal added that production of the model had to be accelerated to meet the encouraging demand.

“Since the order books for the Aruz opened on 3 January, nearly 20,000 bookings have been recorded, yielding an average of 170 bookings daily. And as of today, over 9,800 Aruz have been delivered since registrations began on January 31 – an average of more than 100 units daily – making it among the best-selling SUVs in the country,” Datuk Zainal explained.

“The Myvi continues to be our best-selling model – since its November 2017 launch we have delivered over 115,000 units to happy customers, who love the stylish looks, build quality, fuel efficiency, interior space and the amount of advanced equipment they get for the price,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• KongBoyong on May 02, 2019 at 12:43 pm

Hahahahahaha! Basher basher come in come in…
    82K in 4 months wowwwwwwwwwwww. Awesome!
    Meanwhile, p1 ony 26k in 4 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • I am so happy to read this news. As always, it’s not surprising to see Perodua amazing sales each month. There must be reasons why Perodua cars are so Laku. The obvious reasons are Perodua cars are built from Toyota platform, using award winning engine, world class design, comfort, high RV and top build quality. Thank you P2 for making game changing cars for us. We Msian are proud of you as a successful national carmaker unlike the first one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
      • I want to buy a national car that I can be proud of, I don’t want to buy this Aruz that was rejected by 99% of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
      • R n R on May 02, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Nope. Pipu buy P2 because it is cheap, not because it is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • With that kind of size and segment are considered expensive not cheap at all.

• Which is why more pipu r going for X70. Over 27,000 bookings alredi.

• Lets See on May 02, 2019 at 2:22 pm

Well, tbh I am very sad to read this game over news. Our Perodua was supposed to be the best national carmaker in Msia but instead it’s the opposite today. After being under Daihatsu, there is still no hope for them to come out with their own cars. Unfortunately, what we see today is Perodua continue rebadging Daihatsus & Toyotas and expected to rebadge more. My advice for Perodua is to learn from big carmakers like Proton. No need Geely, learning from Proton is also the best example for Perodua to learn how to make their own game changing cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • Norlia on May 02, 2019 at 2:40 pm

You been telling us Perodua is making game changing cars but all we can see, they are just selling more junk cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • im not john on May 02, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Lolz gud one bro KongBoyong! Anyway 1 frustrated basher here , no prize for correct guess. lols

• So shy, even without Government help also, Perodua can do so well

• Rogaz on May 13, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Because Malaysian is stupid, with low safety feature, they still buying because marketing.

• Tell the truth on May 02, 2019 at 7:31 pm

They are not car maker, they are car rebadger

• Perodua told us got so many Aruz sold but I have never seen one on the road which is not a test drive unit. I have seen many Proton X70 and they are becoming more common but so far not one single Aruz. I doubt about Perodua figures for Aruz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 02, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Perodua can show all the sales figures. But most important, are they making money?

We the Rakyat want to see the Profit and Loss Accounts. This is because we have the right to see those accounts as all the tax breaks and national car incentives money this rebadger have been getting the past 27 years has come from our own LHDN and our pockets.

We also want Perodua to prove to us they did not send all their profits back to Japan. This is our hard earned money, not to further enrich Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Ya, Perodua successfully sell 82700 rambutans to rakyat in 4 months.

• You sound desperately worried. Why?

• Optimus on May 03, 2019 at 4:45 pm

When economy is good, people have more disposable income to afford better than lower segment cars. So if Perodua sales is strong but mid- to higher-segment sales is going down, what does it tell you about the economy? Prepare for the inevitable crash.

• Veryimpress on May 02, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Huhu 82,700 within 4 months? Impressive and well done p2. By year end 200+K easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • BringItOn on May 02, 2019 at 2:43 pm

By early April, x70 booking almost 25k, now aruz almost 20k. Aruz slowly catch up n will overtake x70 within 2-3 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • DriveNewWays on May 02, 2019 at 6:09 pm

If X70 continues to outsold ARUZ, something must be very wrong with ARUZ lol… it is expected that lower priced SUV to sell more than premium SUV… duh…

• Ramalingham Murthy on May 02, 2019 at 3:08 pm

82,700 in 4 months. that means in 12 months about 250,000 cars.

WOW WOW WOW

• Seems like P2 positive news also need cybertroopers to hype up with self comments and self replies. Can’t really see any Malaysian that are truly proud of P2 achievement, only the same paid troopers and salesmen doing their very OBVIOUS self-congratulatory hoohaa. Sad, indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • As expected. Bravo P2!

• Perodua successfully sell 82700 rambutans to rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • the driver on May 02, 2019 at 1:19 pm

DZ calls Aruz an SUV? More like a people carrier, there is no ‘sport’ in the design of this Indon people carrier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • panjang on May 02, 2019 at 4:13 pm

There term SUV is just a term with various non official definition worldwide.

I always joked with my friend whom wants to buy an SUV or crossover with zero offroad capability…not even light off road. Buying such vehicle is like ‘Pondan nak jadi jantan’ but that is the market direction.

Aruz as an SUV?
      Not even close…its an MPV with an overly tall stance. I would say the Avanza and Innova as SUV too in that case.

• pendek on May 03, 2019 at 10:50 am

There is one crossover capable of going light off-road which is the Subaru XV

• Proton oh Proton on May 02, 2019 at 1:24 pm

best brand = volume = market share.
    Good Luck P2

• P2 pls on May 02, 2019 at 1:32 pm

Perodua should consider offer 360 camera n blind spot spot sensor as gearup option to existing buyers, since bios or yaris can offer at similar price range.

• Ramalingham Murthy on May 02, 2019 at 3:07 pm

This is so exciting. Even the Aruz sales is now TOP. At the end of the day Perodua sales is always 4X Proton sales.

People trust Toyota quality and PErodua quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Murthy on May 02, 2019 at 4:21 pm

Wow exciting…
      Now only i know why people dont buy other makes as much as Perodua. Its because of their quality…or Toyota quality…or whichever way u put it.
      All these while i really tot people buy Perodua coz they cant afford other makes.

• Quality?

• Frozen on May 03, 2019 at 9:59 am

He meant the rear axle detachment and fiery destruction kind of quality.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 02, 2019 at 4:37 pm

Hahahaha Loved how Perodua cucuk balik Proton with the same tactics.

Aruz highest number of registration this month.
    Aruz 20,000 bookings at average 170 bookings per day.
    Myvi best selling model with 115,000 sold.

Let the games begin!!! But in all seriousness, Perodua will be the volume market leader for a long long time.

• Bernard on May 02, 2019 at 6:35 pm

That’s the reason the road always full of traffic, doesn’t matter how many highway is going to build.

• We have to thank all this success to Daihatsu & Toyota. Nothing for us locals to be proud about.

• Rogaz on May 13, 2019 at 12:36 pm

Because Malaysian is stupid, with low safety feature, they still buying because marketing.