New Proton Savvy renders with Geely bits: yay or nay?

With all that’s happening at Proton right now, in the midst of what is looking to be a successful partnership with Geely, it’s easy to forget the national carmaker’s early struggles in building cars under its own power. One of the company’s notable efforts was the Savvy, a noble attempt to enter the small hatchback market – a segment that was Perodua’s heartland at the time.

Even though it was ultimately not as successful as its contemporary, the Myvi, the little tyke of a car still found fans, which is why Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin has decided to utilise his skills to render a new generation Savvy, using bits of various Geely models.

Most of the hallmarks of the original’s distinctive design are there, including the strong shoulder section that wraps around the car, the U-shaped clamshell bonnet and the mask-like front end graphic. Only the controversial stepped window line is missing – the kink has been moved to the flanks, near where the door rubbing strips sit. Onto this, Theo has added a number of more modern touches.

At the front, you’ll find Proton’s new grille with the Infinite Weave pattern and the Ethereal Bow design that dips under the tiger badge. It is flanked by a pair of projector headlights with internals borrowed from the X70 SUV, while the lower air intake features silver trim and LED daytime running light strips.

Moving to the rear of the car, there are trapezoidal tail lights from the Geely Binyue, joined together by a chrome strip with the Proton script. The rear number plate recess, which was previously mounted on the bumper, has been moved up to the tailgate, while the funky centre-exit exhaust has been replaced by twin pipes. Eight-spoke turbine-style alloy wheels complete the look.

Such a car could utilise Geely’s new 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine in the Binyue, although that mill is only connected to a six-speed manual gearbox – not a problem for us enthusiasts, but it wouldn’t be good news for the commuters that would be the ideal market if it does enter production. Don’t count on that happening anytime soon, however, not when the local compact car segment is so small, and with Proton already having the larger, more practical and relatively inexpensive Iriz.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Asam pedas on Jul 08, 2019 at 5:45 pm

My answer will be “Nay”. Lucky Proton realize that their Savvy is a car with game over design and quickly discontinue it to prevent more loss. I hope Proton also do the same to their current game over PIES models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
    • https://paultan.org/2019/04/03/bangkok-2019-suzuki-swift-sport-halo-car-inspiration/

• Roti sdn bhd on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Game over Proton PIES sales are very dissapointing as some PIES owners already migrate to the X70. Some PIES owners also already migrate to the game changing Perodua Myvi, Bezza and Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
        • Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 08, 2019 at 7:49 pm

Now tell me. How is the Alza game changing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • Safety First on Jul 08, 2019 at 10:27 pm

It is the first car to guarantee 7 deaths at one go. Truly a game changer for the grim reaper.

• Hanum Adnan on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:26 am

Proton should stay focused in what makes money. Now like huru hara. Don’t know what to do also

Proton CEO already announced, Saga and Persona make 78% of their total sales.

They should focus on Saga and Persona.

• Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:53 am

Malaysians are particular about RV

You buy 2019 myvi today for RM50k, in 2020, you sell also can get RM45k

You buy 2019 Savvy (for example) for RM50k, in 2020 you sell you get RM18k

• Darren on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:08 am

Just rebadge Proton sibling previous gen merc A-class. name it Proton Savvy Pro,

• Dyalan Kumar on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Alza changed the sales figures of Proton Exora – to the extent of proton badly wanted a compact MPV and asked Suzuki to rebadge the Ertiga.

• June 2019 Myvi, Bezza & Alza owners migrate to the game master PIES. 6000 units decrease from 22000 units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
          • Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:49 am

Perodua sales is 4X more than Proton sales. I think rakyat has spoken. They know which is a true car

• Jamaluddin Arshad on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:08 am

You cannot challenge Axia and Myvi. Just Myvi alone, Perodua has sold 110,000 units from November 2018 to June 2019

In the same period, 700 Iriz was sold.

So, pls open your eyes Proton. Savvy will be another Iriz

• Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:45 am

You hardly can see any old Savvy on our roads. Pity Proton cars cannot last more than 10 years.

• Richard Gomez on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:42 pm

We must thank Li Chunrong for bringing Proton out of the ruts. Li Chunrong in 6 months turned around Proton for the better what local CEOs could not do in 30 years. We Malaysians express out utter gratitude to

1) Li Chunrong
      2) Geely
      3) China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 54
      • Roti pvt ltd on Jul 08, 2019 at 9:56 pm

Thank you Li Chunrong for saving the game over Proton!

• Jamaluddin Arshad on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:12 am

Proton sales last year and this year just slightly more. This is because all the potential Persona, Exora and Saga buyers decided to migrate to Proton X70.

So sales more or less sama sama as last year because Proton local made cars very less now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Aiman on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:03 am

The one that should receive gratitude is dato seri najib razak for getting geely to make a deal with proton.but at that time everyone was like oh no proton has been sold to china and dont want to buy it cause it is no longer malaysia’s car opps

• Hanum Adnan on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:27 am

Local people just caused debts for Proton. Lucky got foreigner come and help

• Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:50 am

Locals buat apa? Goyang kaki in opis?

• Balls Carrier on Jul 09, 2019 at 10:39 am

make sure you wash your slimy putrid hands after ya

• Aura89 on Jul 08, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Troll bait.
      Troll baited.
      Troll got caught.
      Yep. Becoming a tired joke.
      Not so very clever are y’all?

• suomynona on Jul 08, 2019 at 10:57 pm

*comment unrelated to the thread above

I needed a second look after feeling confused seeing it the first time, design kinda warms up to you but that ‘Savvy’ font needs to change

• Avenger on Jul 08, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Wanna bet how many shitstorms this pointless article will bring? Firstly Proton ain’t gonna revive Savvy cause the platform only works with that small Renault engine and compact AMT gearbox.

Enough with the trollbait, Paul Tan & crew.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 35
    • Richard Gomez on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:44 pm

Proton is still losing RM4 million per day despite sales of Proton X70 being good. Only until Proton reaches 100,000 Sales YTD only can it just break even

So, I don’t know where will Proton get the research funding for this new Savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
      • You simply speaking never tell the truth.

Proton X70 profit margin more than other Proton models, with 10000 units X70 sales already break even.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
        • Jamaluddin Arshad on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:09 am

50% owned by Geely China, so 50% of all profits go back to China.

Proton and DRB only get half untung

• 50% untung better than having all profits goes back to Japan.

• Hanum Adnan on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:29 am

What big lies, Proton never announced their Profit and Loss accounts and you can already say X70 break even. Don’t lie lie

Bila nak announce P&L to rakyat?

• No private company has ever the need to announce P&L to anybody but the shareholders which in this case is Geely & DRB-HICOM. You don’t own any shares, you’re the least to make such demands.

• If u all dunno P&L, how come the stupid guy always said loss 4mil every month?

• Hanum Adnan on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:31 am

Proton got no money also they want to waste on all these

• Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:46 am

Proton cannot tanggung malu as they have become just a China rebadger now. So, they trying so hard to jaga muka

• Avenger shallow on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Aduyai…even if its revived, they wont use the ori platform lah. Dont be too shallow like our gomen pocket…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Good to have new savvy with new powertrain, till today I still own 12 yrs old savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Manual Driver on Jul 08, 2019 at 8:37 pm

New Savvy with new powertrain 1.5T gti from volvo with stick shift. Base model 1.0T

• Jamaluddin Arshad on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:10 am

Savvy was the most problematic car in Proton’s lineup.

• Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:48 am

1st generation Myvi still on the road. Running so well. Hardly can see any Savvy on the road.

They say French engine also mahal to maintain

• Pharkchiq Along on Jul 08, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Savvy can fit other car manufacturer engine, don’t you forget the new proton saga is based on savvy with a boot plus some cosmetic changes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Engineer on Jul 08, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Nope. Not really. Engines, transmission and chassis are designed to a specific requirements for mating. Savvy’s engine bay might fit in Campro VVT 1.3L but it won’t be able to fit the Punch CVT into that limited space made smaller by that larger engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Richard on Jul 08, 2019 at 7:38 pm

Avenger, this is a car site. i am not interested in your anger issues. Pls post relevant comments yea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • EDITOR on Jul 08, 2019 at 9:12 pm

You really should take your own advice.

• Avenger on Jul 08, 2019 at 9:44 pm

Why take it so personally? Are you one of them? Did I hit the nail right on the head?

• Celup King on Jul 08, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Incoming trolls in 3…2 ….1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Richard Gomez on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:46 pm

We must thank the trolls the past 6 years. If not for them, Proton would not have been motivated to find a good partner like Geely to reinvent themselves.

Lucky the trolls put a check and balanace to Proton’s lembap and lepak attitude and gave them a wake up call

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • Mario and Bros on Jul 08, 2019 at 5:58 pm

Later, as usual, our resident troll will sure come here and say Perodua is better than Proton for this article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • Ramesh on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:52 am

People prefer PErodua because got RV. Proton got no RV

Old Savvy dropped 70% in price in the first year!

• Celup King on Jul 09, 2019 at 2:32 pm

No wonder so many regret after getting Perodua and quickly dispose them. Too high Regret Value.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:04 pm

Not bad. Not bad at all. Now I think it’s time for the Tiara though no studio shots of that exists.

• abang hassan on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:11 pm

Time for a total revamp on the drive train is much needed. No use recycling the same engine from yester year. With a newer and nippier package from Geely’s backyard, P1 will definitely be rejuvenated.

• The Saga itself was based in the Savvy’s chassis. You can see the obvious characteristics of it on the Saga.

• Zombeij on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Yuck.. Eww no. Just no.

• benhassan on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:34 pm

waste of time effort

• panjang on Jul 08, 2019 at 6:48 pm

If Iriz is not around and it handle like the original Sawy, why not…..which means it wont happen as Iriz is around and the new sawy wont handle like the original thanks to Geely.

• Ex-VGM staff on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:27 pm

Iriz is B segment, savvy is A segment… Similar to Axia

• Same L0rr on Jul 08, 2019 at 7:43 pm

NAY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Din Din on Jul 08, 2019 at 8:03 pm

Thats exactly what it’s gonna become. I have no delusions, Geely wanted Lotus, it was clear from the start. Proton was forced as part of the deal. Geely agreed but aside from swallowing Proton’s debts, they’re not interested in putting money into Proton. Proton’s R&D will spend their days designing Infinite Weaves for rebadging all the Geely models. Case in point, Proton’s assembly plants are being modified to put together Geely cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Perodua didn’t make new engine, SH still buy.
    Proton just follow Perodua did.

• Jamaluddin Arshad on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:14 am

Perodua makes maoney. Perodua gives company tax in the tune of billions per year to LHDN the past 30 years.

Proton has been getting tax exemptions the past 20 years. Not one sen of taxes paid by Proton.

So thats the difference

• The difference is whatever profits Perodua makes all goes back to Japan, which is why Perodua never pay taxes. Proton on the other hand had made profits and given millions back as taxes on profits.

So thats the difference. One makes profits and gives back to rakyat, the other makes profits but give all back to Japan.

• David on Jul 08, 2019 at 8:17 pm

Ugly to core

• I will be interested if they have latest drive train from geely too. If the price is right, this can compete with the picanto and win!

• Its only miss the underwear or our pm’s nose back then (oh, he still is) at the back.

• Fariz on Jul 08, 2019 at 9:27 pm

Looks like previous gen A1 haha

• mengembek on Jul 08, 2019 at 9:36 pm

Sayur bergerak.

• Nope! The 2nd hand Savvy is less than RM1k…

Better to bring in a new Geely product, maybe…

Geely Vision X1 to compete with Axia :p
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:2018_Geely_Yuanjing_(Vision)_X1_front_8.9.18.jpg

• Poppyholla on Jul 08, 2019 at 11:27 pm

Sorry, it looks way too dated, it’s going to be a Nay

• Enak Chicken Chop & Western Grill, Saujana Utama, Sg Buloh on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:04 am

Nay or Yay..not for us to decide..

• Proton should have fired the designer and whoever approved those ugly design.

• Larra Jassinta Bapok Bertelur on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:14 am

Why all proton cars so fugly one?

• Silthice on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:05 am

Looking like a Proton Tiara… Way to move backwards rather have the mimos guy designs…

• Jamaluddin Arshad on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:17 am

Proton got 10,000 staff. Produce 55,000 cars per annum

Mitsubishi in Thailand got 5000 staff. Produce 350,000 cars per annum

So much time in their hands.

• Aiman on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:01 am

Haha so funny.the one that should get the gragitude is dato seri najib razak for getting geely to make a deal with proton.but at that everyone was like oh no the proton is no longer malaysia car and has been sold to china opps

• Kalabatu on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:29 am

If it cheaper than Iriz, why not?

• Ksatria on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:09 am

HELL NO

• Tunaman on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:36 am

Im greeb savvy owner for 13 yr, i feel happy n excitee, if slow engine it is a kill off,

This car should pyt 1.0 turbo or 1.3 turbo

If not wasted the good looks

• xoxox on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:12 am

i think older one look nicer lo…..

• haha…

apa tukar?
    *speechless*

• Benham on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:21 am

Definitely NAY

• Matchy on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:22 am

Nay…

• Paultan.org should tukar nama kpd prototan org..

• Ben Yap on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:42 am

even uglier than the existing Savvy.

• For now just forget about this Proton Savvy. More appropriate to propose this SAVVY to the 3rd National Car Project Company for their first 3rd National Car.

• newme on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:21 am

Savvy? hahaha … Tak usahlah diungkitkan kisah aib Proton ni.

• Kirito on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Nay.. Because of its design.. Rubbish.

• M15A4E on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:15 pm

I would like to see rendered satria neo

• GEELYMADEINCHINA on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:24 pm

Yucks!!! But the colour gives me ideas of the colour name

Green – Bok Choi Green
    Orenge – Singo Pear Orangy
    Blue – Yalong Blue

• Yucks!!

• jin666 on Jul 09, 2019 at 3:02 pm

WHY???

• Nazah on Jul 09, 2019 at 3:03 pm

Nay. What a hideous looking car.

• T F Lee on Jul 09, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Good looking… fit with 3 cyclinder turbo engine, Proton can consider this.. ha ha ha…

• Enuff said on Jul 09, 2019 at 3:17 pm

Theophilus Chin > Azlano

• AKUANAKMSIA on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:05 pm

As opposed to bashing the poor car. I bought the savvy in 2012 still own it now. 156kms on it, still drives well with decent FC. I must point out for the nonsense bashing without know the truth is pointless to keyboard warriors. The savvy was doomed to fail from day one, it made the person who secured the deal a ton of money but the rest is history. Common misconception, the AMT is not weak. Just that the training materials did not go out to the proton staff to check the clutch bite point at certain service point. No money invested on this NEW product training. If it was checked and adjusted, we wont hear about the AMT being a crappy car. Admittedly is was an early version for auto/manual tranny, but then again same can be said for early version for wet clutch transmission or even the first FI cars. Before bashing know the truth understand what happened and then comment. Comparing P1 and P2 will open another can of worms. Its not apple to apple. Another discussion for another day.

• Mahmud on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:35 pm

Iriz is already savvy replacement

• Amran on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:18 pm

Nay… Totally game over!

• Haikal on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:24 pm

Nay… I just want proton bring back.. A new wira.. Waja.. Satria gti and putra… Please bring them…

• I still use my 14 year old manual savvy. Don’t play play with my tough savvy. Camri knock my back, camri kemek. I langgar mercedes, mercedes kemek. It is the first proton car made of high tensile steel.

• If that true Proton want bring back Savvy model on the road, I’m very happy about that. Last time when I drive Savvy (my sister in law car), I said “I want buy this car after I finish my study & get job.” Then before I finish study, my brother said he want change Savvy because maintenance cost & that car always have problem. I so sad about that & I very hope Proton can bring back Savvy with new design like a spotty car & low maintenance cost. Please build good engine 1.3 or 1.5 litter timing chain, not belting!

• Aiman_946 on Jul 10, 2019 at 6:41 am

Nay. Because still using renault base. Still can see the old savvy. It’s front looks too big because of the space distance between the lamp and lower grill design is too big. At the back maybe ok. But the whole body, still look like the old savvy renault base.

• Aidil on Jul 10, 2019 at 3:47 pm

Kenapa tak buat wira baru

• RAJA ISKANDAR SHAH on Jul 10, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Nay ! I own a Savvy and still driving it. But would love to have after market kits for the rear, looks very nice.