Proton confirms new SS11 model coming soon – S50 sedan to rival B-segment Toyota Vios, Honda City?

At the Aapico-Proton JV annoucement, Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong let slip that Proton is indeed working on a new sedan model, and that it will be introduced sooner rather than later. He referenced the new model’s SS11 internal codename, which of course points directly at the Geely Emgrand sedan.

In the Proton context, this would be the B-segment sedan that is widely tipped to be named the S50, which would go head-to-head with the likes of the Toyota Vios and Honda City.

The national carmaker’s upcoming sedan model was last sighted running trials on public roads last month, and in right-hand-drive guise which suggests local-market development work is now at an advanced stage. The June sighting of the development car lends weight to suggestions that this is the model CEO Li has said will be the all-new model to be introduced by the end of 2023.

With the Geely Emgrand as its base, a possible powertrain for the upcoming S50 is the Geely’s 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine with 114 PS and 147 Nm of torque, paired with either a five-speed manual or CVT sending drive to the front wheels.

Meanwhile, its use of the B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA) as used for the Proton X50 also means that it could share the B-segment crossover’s turbocharged powerplant, namely its 1.5 litre inline-three cylinder turbo petrol that makes 150 PS and 226 Nm.

Previously, we have also reported that the 1.5 litre turbocharged petrol engine is set to power more Proton models; one of these has since emerged to be the X90, while the other is the S50.

Measuring 4,638 mm long, 1,820 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, the Emgrand-based S50 will be a larger model than the Proton Preve it appears to succeed. We will see if Proton will market the S50 (or S70?) as a B- or C-segment sedan, but it’s pretty likely that it will be fielded in the price range of the non-national B-segment sedans such as the Toyota Vios and Honda City.

It will outsize its competition, just like how the CR-V-sized X70 is priced against the HR-V currently. Our guess is it’ll be priced between RM70k (similar to the Preve) and RM85k (to slot in under the base X50). Over to you, how much would you be willing to pay for Proton’s upcoming new sedan?

GALLERY: Proton S50 spyshots

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• It will be S70 since it is encroaching Altis, Civic dimension. The sales point is you get a C segment car with all the tech less than Japanese brand develop in Thai or Indonesia B segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Beater Car on Jul 03, 2023 at 7:14 pm

Euro 6 compliant engine producing comparable power to the Japs, pretty high tech to me. C segment size, with japanese A segment price. Knowing proton, they would improve handling and nvh of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
      • Dah Menang Semua on Jul 03, 2023 at 8:16 pm

U gotta be smoking… Proton can’t do anything when comes to bad design such as the A-pillar wind noise; All the power will just translate to louder noise as speed going >80km/h

*latest Toyota Harrier also same A-pillar wind noise problem >90km/h

**not sure about Geely Emgrand but test drive review (in China) already highlighted this problem >80km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • Civic Type L(ol) on Jul 04, 2023 at 12:08 am

Nvh is way more than just an A-pillar wind noise. Anyway, that specific problem already has a simple fix, though not by proton nor toyota themselves, any accessories shop can fix it.

• Donno on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:01 am

Civic size for City price?

Proton needs to do superb marketing for mindsets to be changed. Hopefully the Proton version will be much more sportier than the uncle-looking Geely version.

Needs a proper R3 variant at around RM90K, with large alloy wheels, large brakes, proper brand-name bucket seat interior, bodykits, wings. This will automatically be the car any B40 wannabe wants to be seen in instead of ahbeng 3rd Gen VIOS or used Civic Ketams.

A bodykit that apes the look of the Audi RS3 Sedan would be a killer.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 04, 2023 at 12:16 pm

Just market it as the new Preve/Inspira, problem solved. Rakyat just wants a value for money care like Preve and it was well loved by everyone. An all new Preve will be well sold just as every other recent new Proton models.

• S50R3 on Jul 04, 2023 at 2:02 pm

if same 1.5 turbo engine as the X50,

get the same version as Coolray GT, with 200hp

• Ex Proton Fanboi on Jul 03, 2023 at 6:34 pm

Just change Proton name to Geely Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 17
    • Can I advice u something..from Fat Mama on Jul 03, 2023 at 9:15 pm

Whats still not changed to a Geely right handed vehicle?
      Answer …the Jurassic sunset Exora,Iriz,Saga…all these heavily botoxed with multiple facelifts.
      So,by 2025..I believe the whole Protong lineup,is Geelerised.
      So,by 2025..P1 will be renamed Geely M Bhd.A new era.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 04, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Just as Perodua had always been Daihatsu M Bhd but claim to be national car brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Ex Perodua Fanboi on Jul 04, 2023 at 6:35 pm

Should change to Daihatsu Malaysia also. No big deal.

• Beater Car on Jul 03, 2023 at 7:04 pm

With 1.5T this could be a legit C segment car, given it size despite a little shorter wheelbase. Granted it’s a lot lighter at 1185kg(according to Zigwheel Philippines) so 1.5 NA not too underpowered with 143nm of torque, just shy 2nm lower than Honda City with 50kg lighter body. Toyota Vios only 138nm with 100kg lighter than City.

• John Doe on Jul 03, 2023 at 7:11 pm

This one definitely can replace Preve, not a B segment car.

• Emgrand (S50) : B Segment ???
    Binrui (S70??) : C Segment ???
    Preface (S90??) : D Segment ???

• Frankc on Jul 03, 2023 at 8:16 pm

I wish proton good luck.
    I hope they don’t underpriced this model such that it lacks much required features of today’s car. Preve was held back by too low pricing target that it doesn’t able to fulfil its potential..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Laugh on Jul 04, 2023 at 8:22 am

What have you been smoking bro?
      Kindly share with us.

All the Geely brought in models are overpriced by a far margin.
      Please do your research properly.

• Sohai on Jul 03, 2023 at 10:06 pm

Can’t fight with civic and Corolla, overkill for vios and city. Doom from the very beginning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • “oh no, I’ve got something more than i paid for”

What’s the issue with being overkill again may i ask?

• Yalah on Jul 04, 2023 at 11:26 am

He has a point, there is such a thing as overkill.
        Because putting more would mean more cost, and that affects whether you can price it competitively.
        If the more features would mean the pricing is too close to Vios / City, then you and i know who will win the customers.
        Proton must price it substantially lower than Vios/City and strike a balance in the feature list to have a chance. As we go lower market, customers are very price sensitive.

• Bananas Bro on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:45 am

Civic/Corolla prices is shooting up.
      Vios and City still a traditional B segment car.
      There is a gap in the market, and a market in that gap.
      X70 has been plagued with reliability issues; but X50 seems to have more positive feedback.
      This S50/S70 could do well and eat into traditional Toyota/Honda marketshare.. time will tell..

• Peppa on Jul 04, 2023 at 11:59 am

What positive feedback? Both x50 and x70 are disposable cars. Pakai sampai mati liao

• Yalah on Jul 04, 2023 at 4:44 pm

Is a different philosophy in car making between the jap and Chinese.
          Like you said, the Chinese makes a car and expect you to change it after warranty… the Jap thinks about keeping the parts for 10 years.

• Sohai on Jul 04, 2023 at 3:47 pm

My thought is that if you try to slot above vios and city, it will be suicidal.

• Hopefully P1 give some nip and tuck…need to start with own design language

• finger crossed this comes with turbo engine instead of NA.

maybe NA engine for lower variant

• Sohai on Jul 05, 2023 at 7:56 am

There is a chance, since proton makes the 1.5L turbo locally, for the volume it makes sense

• TempeKeras on Jul 03, 2023 at 11:59 pm

Tofu kecil

• @NotBruceWayne on Jul 04, 2023 at 8:52 am

I really don’t mind a rebadge with proper spec/reliability but at least Proton should try to redesign to cater to local flavor if they want it to succeed especially at higher price point. Make people to love it at first sight.

• It makes sense for them to install 1.5 turbo. NA is pretty underpowered for vehicle that size, it will lose to competitors such as Honda City

• Proton? Competitor of Honda ??!
      Hahahaha… kencing sudah keluar lah…

• Proton oh Proton on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:06 am

I hear lot of “Coming Soon” ready.

• allsmokescreens on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:21 am

if sell 50k maybe many people will buy….if sell at 70-80k , 20-30k more expensive than original, then susah la…

• Your choice on Jul 28, 2023 at 9:03 am

Will not be 50k. This is not a persona replacement despite having the same segment. The price will start from 59-79k depending on the booking feedback, if the booking higher than expected, then it might increase another 5-10k more.

Same method like the X50.

• Xdm S. on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:22 am

I will consider only if it’s priced slightly above current Persona because it’s still a B Segment car no matter what. Preve is a C segment car and the highest spec of Preve just 72K. Not to mention during the end cycle of preve the Premium spec just fall below 70K. If it’s higher than that byebye Proton. People will still go for lowest specs City (soon facelift to be announced with Honda sensing available thru the entire range) and Vios.

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:41 am

Proton said new model to come but never said got new engine, so should be the same x50 “3T” powertrain else high cost to open a new product line to manufacture or import different engine. With vios city price u get civic corolla power but lost out in fuel efficiency and maintenance.

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:53 am

not sure if proton product development team is aware of the market demand for such a car

• It is a completely NEW model on Jul 04, 2023 at 2:37 pm

Proton doesnt want to be reminded to completed failure PREVE disaster.

The only survivving noted features is PREVE Teh Tarik Hooks

• Lolwhut? on Jul 04, 2023 at 5:36 pm

LOL you got confused between Preve and Bezza. This failure is still in production.

• Firdaus on Jul 05, 2023 at 8:28 am

How many X90’s have you seen on the road?
    Protons classic launch first then figure out how to build them!
    Very different from Perodua’s built couple of thousands before launch.

• Chan Boon Chew on Jul 06, 2023 at 8:57 pm

Japanese car supporters are very worry now…

• Out of topic: if we are back to rm3/l, will you guys still buy petrol car?