2024 Volvo EM90 EV leaked in China – it’s a straight rebadge of Geely’s Zeekr 009 electric luxury MPV!

Volvo EM90 on left, Zeekr 009 on right.

Those patiently waiting to see the upcoming Volvo EM90, wait no more. We now have pictures of what the new electric MPV looks like and surprise, surprise, it’s a straight rebadge of Geely’s Zeekr 009!

Of course, we already knew this would be the case, but to see the final car bearing way more than just a passing resemblance to the donor car is still rather jarring. Comparing the two, it appears they will share plenty of the same body panels, with just the face and taillights being unique between them.

We know from Volvo’s official communications that the EM90 will feature an illuminated Iron Mark set on a rectangular grille, flanked by signature Thor’s Hammer headlamps. The taillights will have two L-shaped light strips (one inverted) to form a ‘T’ on both corners. All are present and accounted for in these leaked images from China.

There are no real details on the Volvo beyond that, but the base Zeekr 009 is built on Geely’s homegrown SEA1 platform, which is also shared with the Zeekr 001 and Polestar 4 (the Lotus Eletre and Emeya are built on the sportier SEA-S, and the Volvo EX30, Zeekr X, smart #1 and #3 on the smaller SEA2). Self-labelled as the “world’s first pure electric luxury MPV,” the 009 measured is 5,209 mm long, 2,024 mm wide and 1,856 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 3,205 mm.

The Zeekr MPV is available with a rear-mounted electric motor rated at 272 PS and 343 Nm of torque, or a dual-motor setup providing 544 PS. Battery options include ternary lithium units in 116 kWh and 140 kWh capacities, the former providing up to 702 km following the CLTC standard, while the latter offers as much as 822 km. The Volvo EM90 is set to make its global debut on November 12. Are you excited for this?

GALLERY: Zeekr 009

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• anonymous on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:58 pm

while i understand Geely owns Volvo, this is a product that is quite perplexing because who exactly is this for? Geely could have easily left Volvo alone with their SUV selection because this doesn’t fit in with Volvo’s product family at all lol.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:02 pm

We want Proton rebadging Volvo
      Not the other way round

• Jom Global on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:16 pm

no need to hide already.

Volkswagen boleh rebadge with Xpeng china car battery Platform,
    Audi boleh rebadge SAIC china car battery platform
    Honda boleh rebadge GM car battery platform
    Mercedes BENZ boleh rebadge Nio car battery platform
    Volvo boleh rebadge Geely battery car platform

• V0lv0 on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:27 pm

The Big Question is will it sell ??

• Peppa on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:24 pm

This is too ugly to wear a Volvo logo. But i also don’t expect anything extraordinary from geli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Mike Tee on Oct 17, 2023 at 6:59 am

Geely took over Volvo in 2020 and is responsible for the XC90 which is generally recognised to be a beautiful car. Do we only criticise and not give credit?

• seancorr on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:54 pm

Weird leh to see the Volvo logo on a MPV and why do they want to compete in a segment which Toyota/Lexus dominates? Don’t say Toyota, even Mercedes has their own MPV to represent Europe and they aren’t selling in huge numbers either.

• BEV user on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:30 pm

EM90 dual motor please, and cheaper than vellfire/alphard.. thank you very much.

• EV Car Mafia on Oct 16, 2023 at 6:27 pm

China says “You can’t live with me or without me… I am everywhere in some form or another. suck it up !!!”

• Wot happened to vw id buzz? Announced ages ago but stll nowhere to be seen.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:42 pm

The Volvo of today should not be spoken in the same breath as the Volvo of yesteryears. How far from the tree they have fallen..

• Lazy job by Volvo