Silver Proton P3-21A caught on camera – fully exposed!

Some would have already seen this pic circulating on the Net. It shows a silver-coloured Proton P3-21A, without an inch of disguise on it. Although partially blocked by an attempt preventing the cameraman from getting a clean shot, we still get to see a fair bit of the upcoming sedan.

Remember this leaked shot of the yellow coloured P3-21A from last year? Well, this latest revelation confirms that what we’ve seen before is final – the headlamp design, the strip of daytime running lights underlining it, the bumper design and the grille seen here match the yellow car’s.

By the way, this is a departure from the face of the Tuah concept shown at KLIMS 2010. For instance, the bottom edge of the headlamps now join seamlessly with the grille, as opposed to the ‘W’ shape of the concept.

The lower bumper intakes now contribute to the ‘X’ shape look, compared to the ‘U’ of the concept. The same change was also made to the current gen Toyota Camry – facelift introduced the ‘X’ face.

Previous leaked shots also show a rear end that differs from the Tuah concept’s connected single piece “cyclops” look. We’ve also seen the upcoming C-segment sedan’s dashboard before – it’s neat and safe and in design, not likely to polarise opinions.

What we can see from the car’s profile are multi spoke alloys, wing mirrors with indicators, a rising belt line and a prominent feature line. The front wheel arches look rather swelled, too. What do you think of the P3-21A, design wise?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• apen80 on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:15 pm

niceeeee…………..

• Sharvind Varma on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I seriously saw this car last tuesday speeding in the Plus highway..the car was drafting behind a Toyota Land Cruiser V8…i think it was going at a speed about 140-150 km/h

• HeMan on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:00 pm

what a coincidence! I saw one similar looking vehicle tailgating my crz around 140km/h before I overtook the Landcruiser v8 in front of me…

• koochai on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm

y so fast in ur green ride bro :)

• Sharvind Varma on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:42 pm

haha..i guess its true then…unfortunately I couldn’t drive at that speed coz it was still daytime..summon might appear…lol..i could have snapped some pic if it was during the night

• A4paper on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:11 pm

haa.. So you two were behind my V8 the other day! Now i know..

• V8 owner on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Why so many saying my v8 is theirs??

• there’s a ferrari in front of the landcruiser v8, and that’s me!

• scalabu on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:02 pm

maybe MYVi 8

• Sharvind Varma on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:03 pm

I love the Myvi 8 part…haha..but seriously there were two V8’s on the road…quite close to each other…haha

• libralcl on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:18 pm

This one I like! Hahaha.

• waterman on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:16 am

best starting comment i ever read in paultan~
            hilarious!!
            btw.. the car looks ok.. just don’t like the interior.

• Stephen on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:32 pm

just imagine if there’s a road block in front.
            then it will be on nation tv Proton prototype car get saman before launch :P

• Honda on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:34 pm

May I know your CRZ rpm at 150km/h? Thanks.

• kancil MERAH-WDT on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:33 am

now I know hwo make the trafic slower. the ferari infront of V8, 2nd V8, myvi8, P3-21A and last at behind CRZ. I keep highbeam u allz along the wighway. shit! to slow u allz. my kancil can’t overtook all, coz my signal was broken.

• Obama on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:09 pm

The front look is a mix of Audi + BMW 3 series, which looks…..actually not bad

• kimi_ on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:41 pm

The front actually not bad especially the head lights !!!

However, too bad the rear design is a COMPLETELY DISASTER!!!

• Btw i’m not a fan of Potong but pls stop complaining and bash it lah ! if don’t like it then don’t click in loh…pls show some respect ! different ppl with different taste if u don’t like it does not mean everybody r the same too !

• Meh. As always, designed by a monkey using MS Paint.

• Loneranger on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:11 pm

i dare u to apply position as Proton designer and design better car than this.,…….u dare to take the challenge?

• kimi_ on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Who the hell the STUPID guy posing at front, i want to look at the car NOT U!!!!!

• Rulered on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Haha, it’s the latest hi tech disguise use first by Proton. Trust me, he can jump, make some noise even stick on the car. :-).

• not qualified pun … cakap banyak je boleh

• KL fella on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:12 pm

merit to where it’s due please… do not simply insult anyone, it shows how childish you are..

• kimi_ on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:42 pm

I think the front will looks perfect IF the grill is smaller and slimmer !!!!

• wendy on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm

no brainer comment

• nas-T on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:41 pm

how about if that monkey is your father. Do you dare to said that?

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:57 pm

My god its ugly. Worst fear confirmed.

• captain on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:10 pm

u should show some respect as human being. you’re very rude…

• hisham on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Hahahahaha…and u only own a second hand 1996 Proton WIRA!!! Fook u lah…

• Mind you, the “monkey with ms-paint” is Italdesign Giugiaro

• sLayer on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:16 am

boleh jalan da..!

• apen80 on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:18 pm

superb….. nice….

• kejam on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Design wise – DNA and looks of Civic , Kia and Inspira !!
    Screwed up !!

• yeahjuststraightandcommentwithnobrainok on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:31 pm

then u should also considering bashing other brands or model, of i forgot..we should bash Ford Model-T for this..can we?

• People like you should migrate away from planet Earth…Mentality as such is not welcomed these days…

• Mashed up like mashed potato..

• as long it beautiful, have many gadget n safety equipment..good enough for me

• mfahd_88 on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:33 pm

and ur comment screwed up paul’s blog

• sirimusa on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Not bad. Not bad at all!
    Design wise, the car looks fresh and safe. Now let’s just hope that the quality and feel will match.
    Reliability wise, no major issues to report from the CFE engine on the Exora (no one has highlighted any issue on the forums) and the CVT (also on the Exora) seems ok.

Let’s just watch out for electronics, wiring and overall quality and feel. But looking at this design, looks like PROTON has done some serious work.

Launch it already!!!!!

• Masked Ryder on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:21 pm

A bit Plain Jane, but lasting look.

Turbo engine should be the main selling point.

Forte are in trouble !

• yeahjuststraightandcommentwithnobrainok on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:34 pm

if it is selling good at 1st year launch and still got complains about the styling we maybe got some luck seeing proton facelifting this model within 2 year.. :D

*i think they should take some cues from the SAGA FLX and the front inspira bumper to create a more refined styling flow..just my 2cent.. :P

• encik boss on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:08 pm

another selling point is the price. unofficial price stated in Berita Harian will be RM60k to RM70k.

• ong chin aun on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm

If that is true, then I will get one definately. However, I am not that optimistic to get one,cos prize should be higher probably 80k above.

• MYVI 1.5L SE on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

60 ~ 70k??? doom of P2 Extreme, T. V, H. C……

• aku adalah aku on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:23 pm

the price is confirmed at 65k the lowest and 75k the top and I’ve test driven them..and yes, NO REGRATE..thumb up to PROTON!!

• The front looks nice. But the back can be further refined.

• waterman on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:23 am

see.. this is the nice way of commenting…
      you are well educated.
      i agreed they need to refine the rear.. it’s just too simple and TUAH rear is much better.. why don’t they just follow the original design?
      and hopefully the interior is not too plasticky…
      i’m not a proton fans but i own a proton before we moving on to other better options.
      compare to old time proton is doing much much greater then just OEM from others.

respect the hardwork they put in, hopefully they can be just like korean car that they actually starting to love their local brand.

• looks photoshoped

• looking sleek from the front…from the back, not so…

• Abuya on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:29 pm

This is shit, aku kecewa kualiti teruk, design buruk. Apa nak jadi P1, makin lama makin teruk. Volvo 1979 bapak aku lagi cantik dari sampah bergerak ni. (90% comment will be similar like this).

My dugong look nicer, more attractive and furuteristic. Good job my fellow T&P2 salesman

• dugung 2 dugung la bro.. ape plak nk compare dgn setanding segment ni.. dugong dah outdated..

• Abuya on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Tau tak apa maksud futuristik? Mendahului zaman. Design dugong dikira sezaman dengan P32-1 ni walaupun dibuat bertahun2 dulu. Itulah Toyota. Proton? Err….. Semalam design, hari ni dah outdated. Sapa setuju tolong thumbs up. Yg tak setuju pergi cari komen yang sealiran dengan pendapat korang

• vios mendahului zaman?? troll level : Ultras Vios

• MoFaz on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:52 pm

sapa nak percaya cakap abuya? abuya kan pengasas ajaran sesat…

• damn…i tot u were being sarcastic in your first comment…silly of me..

• spyshotX on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:33 pm

it’s fine with me if somebody luv the dugong for it’s reliability and T brand.. but luv it for the design??.. just can’t process that dude lol

• Sushi on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:31 pm

‘Itulah Toyota’.

U’ve eaten too much sushi my friend….

• exJAVANESE on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:57 am

bullshit.. don’t u ever talk about design..not even ones..

if u really wanna talk on design..do some studies..if not, u’re like bullshiting yourself…

• the greed of p2 on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:15 am

Actually when the dugong was designed tomorow but it was outdated already yesterday. worst design ever…even saga is much better.

• Esbedon Esbebet on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:42 am

+1

well said bro! still can’t digest dugong’s design. City a bit more adventurous but that kind of design doesn’t last long. I have a feeling this Proton will age well with safe, clean but attractive design.

• salgoodguy on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:55 am

ha ha ha dugong got futuristic element? means my shit also got la? since its got 100% similarities with urs dugong…

• abzaja on Mar 04, 2012 at 12:36 pm

hehe…awak ni sekolah darjah berapa? just komen untuk nak thumbs up je? ceh…attention whor3

• niceone on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:06 pm

troll level – FAIL

• Loneranger on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:09 pm

u have time machine or u have capability to see the future meh?

this car dun even out yet but u already know the quality teruk…

maybe u urself not as good as now but u changed rite? so do Proton and anything else in the world.,,,how long it takes..depending on many aspects…..

dugong looks nicer? for me design is very sunjective, every single person on earth have their own preferences pertaining to design. so never say any design buruk coz maybe to u its buruk but to thers its really nice.

juz my 2 cents.

• wendy on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm

the comment rather sound threaten and desperate haha!

• bapakaka on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm

your dugong look nicer?
      yuckkss!!

• Yes
      I agree
      The futuristic dugong still using rear torsion beam in 2012

• syntium5000 on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:09 am

n use 4 speed auto too…very “futuristaik”!!

• to abuya…. cakap siang pandang-pandang bro…. kalau setiap improvement asyik nak kutuk… sampai bila pun pemikiran abuya tak akan improve….

• kusochon on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:33 pm

looks better than korean car

• just curious.. this car is made 100% by PROTON or Italdesign Giugiaro?? don’t get me wrong.. i leke the car, its look promising but does not have a ‘WAHHHHH’ factor…:P

then what happens to EMAS concept??

• helos on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:34 pm

looks nice. thumbs up!

• DAFAQ on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm

WHY U NO MAKE IT EXACTLY LIKE TUAH CONCEPT???

• uzer90 on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm

proton cant follow exactly like concept’s design coz of the vendor that in charge build the lamp, grill and so on….vendors cant follow 100% design that proton want so they just make it slightly different..and one more thing, all the designs should get the approval from the authority..

if im wrong correct me..

• Vader on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:59 pm

the rear light is not “slightly different”, the totally different!

• nas-T on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Don’t you understand what is concept car mean? You will never find a concept car sold exactly like it appear at car show etc. It just representation of idea and design of the new car without thinking about the manufacturing constraint, price etc.

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:21 am

Well, Hyundai veloster is a concept car being sold..It is way advanced in design and Visual quality.Who thought of a 3 door car b4.It was and still is a brilliant idea..

Proton should learn from Hyundai\KIA in order to make a remarkable footprint in the industry..I am a fan of Proton living in Egypt…

Proton entered the Egyptian market in 2004 after trying to enter it in 2000 but failed.Anyway,Chinese companies like CHERY & GWM are making stronger presence in the market through a variety of cars that have CVTs and Stronger body shell.The sad part is that Chery started in 1998 and GWM started making Consumer cars in 2008 and Proton from 1985 and still didn’t make a footprint..

Proton now is in the right direction but moving pretty slowly..It is not about that Malaysia is a small market..No it is about that any business that seeks profit and belongs to the government is a loss…Car Companies should be privatized in all over the world to avoid political games that harm them….

Proton started moving right since they introduced the 2007 Persona and 2008 Saga and the Exora…this new car if made LHD and sold in the middle east will put the KIA current Forte(Cerato) down…I like the new Persona but if Proton keeps selling outdated models in the world like the 2008 SAGA is still being sold in Egypt in 2012..Unbelievable…Proton won’t survive…Proton must focus on LHD versions quicker and faster and badge engineer a Chinese SUV and redesigning the Savvy to be more like a pi canto or GWM Voleex C10..

out of topic but I hope informative

• fikhri on Mar 10, 2012 at 1:13 am

The car cannot be produced as per concept car because of other design aspects. A lot of aspects need to be considered such as front end design protect for pedestrian protection, manufacturability in terms of stamping capability. Yes Hyundai, Kia and other Korean brand is improving. But u have to look at the maturity of the steel industry in Korea. They have wide range of available steel and cheaper tooling cost because everything is being made in Korea.

If you want to blame Proton, then not only Proton that has to be blamed. Their vendor needs to be mature in terms of manufacturing capability first.

• puggy on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:10 pm

bro, tuah nye design they save for FL laaaa. mana nleh kuar cun sgt awal2. nnti xtau nak FL apa lagi.

• wise Man on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Looks nine..7but maybe this is not the high spec? High spec maybe 17inch Rim?

Nway, Perodua Bashers, jangan kelam kabut now..haa haa haaaa

• Commendable efforts, a step in the right direction. I really like the bigger emblem. Thumbs up!

• spyshotX on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

if you notice, most of european marques nowadays have enlarge their emblem size on their cars.. guess that it’s the latest trend now.. maybe it’s a branding thing i supposed..

• puggy on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:36 pm

This i just paste from lowyat forum comment:

AKSESORI :

Auto fold/unfold side mirror – Side mirror akan Automatic fold setiap kali alarm kereta diaktifkan, dan automatik unfold selepas kenderaan bergerak selaju 5km. Selain itu ada juga button untuk kegunaan manual seperti Exora BOLD
    Auto Off Rear Demister – Mengelakan tint menggelembung
    Follow Home Lamp
    Headlamp Warning Buzzer
    Trunk Remote Release
    Front & rear socket 12V – Terdapat di bahagian hadapan dan belakang Utility Hook
    – Seperti Exora, terdapat di ruang penumpang hadapan dan juga belakang Low Rear Hump
    – Ruang kaki penumpang belakang tidak lagi sempat dengan bonggolan lantai ditengah yang rendah.
    Front & Rear Fog Lamp
    Anti-Trap Power Windor (Driver side only)
    Seat Material – Water repelent fabric. Seat boleh fold 60:40
    Smart Info Display (SID) – Mempunyai 3 bacaan kilometer, Trip A, Trip B dan Trip C. Terdapat pelbagai lagi maklumat seperti memberi amaran jika bateri kunci lemah dan lain-lain
    Autolock & advance lock system
    Magnisium Inside Door Handle
    Keyless Entry – Tiada lubang kunci pada keempat-empat pemegang pintu
    BOSCH Head-Unit – 2-Din, Touch Screen Monitor, Navigator, Bluetooth, USB, AUX, MP3
    YES WiFi Modem – In-car Internet, first ever car in Malaysia, coverage Semenanjung Malaysia
    S Mode (Sport) – Terdapat pada gear column (P-R-N-D-S), S Mode akan menambah RPM sebanyak 1,000 secara serta-merta untuk pemanduan lebih agresif.
    BCM – Body Control Module

SAFETY :

4 Wheel ABS & EBD with 4 Wheel Disc Brake
    TC (Traction Control)
    ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
    BA (Braking Assist)
    4 AIRBAG – Airbag penumpang hadapan boleh di ON/OFF, untuk keselematan jika Bayi diletak kan di tempat duduk.
    5 STARS Australia NCAP – Orang ramai tidak lagi perlu ragu-ragu tentang ketulenan markah penuh ujian perlanggaran, kerana prosedur NCAP, pemilihan unit yang akan di uji bukan pemilihan dari Proton atau syarikat pembuat kereta. Tetapi wakil NCAP dari Austrlia akan datang sendiri ke kilang dan memilih sendiri secara rawak unit yang akan di uji. Jadi tiada lagi persoalan tentang markah penuh ujian perlanggaran NCAP.

DIMENSION
    Length = 4.543m
    Width = 1.786m
    Height = 1.524m

CHASSIS
    Boot Space: 508 litre
    Turning Radius: 5.3m
    Full Tank Capacity: 50 litre
    Aerodynamic (rintangan angin): Cd Factor = 0.30
    – Untuk perbandingan, Audi TT memiliki Cd Factor = 0.29

POWERTRAIN
    1.6 CFE with 7speed Pro-Tronic CVT3 (VVT)
    0-100km/h: 9.6 saat
    – Untuk perbandingan, Kia Forte 1.6 12.5 saat

VARIANT
    Executive MT, 1.6 IAFM+ 5-Speed MT
    Executive CVT, 1.6 IAFM+ 6-Speed CVT
    Premuim CVT, 1.6 CFE 7-Speed CVT

COLOR
    Solid White
    Tranquility Black
    Genetic Silver
    Fire Red (my favorite)
    Blue Lagoon

PRICE
    RM65,000 – RM75,000

Ciri-ciri lain yang telah disebarkan sebelum ini

Auto Cruise
    Keyless Push Start (ON/OFF)
    Magnesium Paddle Shift 7-speed & Manual Mode (+/-) di gear column
    Audio Switch Steering Control
    Soft touch plastic dashboard
    Emblem at Steering Wheel
    ISOFIX
    Rain Sensor
    Light Sensor
    Front LED day light
    Sport Rim 16? (10 Spoke)
    Multi-link rear suspension

Interesting huh?

• puggy on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:19 pm

tapi aku hairab skit, ESP xde. xpela, info ni rumours je pun. not the official.

• MoFaz on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm

ESP sama fungsi macam ESC… kan ada ESC tulis kat atas tu..

• esc = esp :-)

this is for those who comment on futuristic n european design.
        not futuristic design,not european design…he…he…nice comment.

Try to look up at vw jetta design n elantra md design. Which one is futuristic n which one is european car? Which one is bold n elegance n which one is asian car?

Even fluiditic design in hyundai for europe market is not too futuristic as its another twin brother. Elantra vs i30 @sonata vs i40.

By the way,this baby was design by italdesign team, only slight changes made by prtn design such led foglamp to conventional one, the flying emblem supposed to be in the middle, not nearly at the top of grill.maybe the adjustment due to engineering process or coz so many other makes using flying emblem at the centre. Led foglamp maybe due to cost. Who knows.

Me also cannot define futuristic design or european design. Maybe futuristic as batmobil, n european as euro makes. Bmw 3 series vs sonata, i think sonata is more ‘futuristic’ but beemer is from europe, german to be specific. Is it bmw designers are dumb n cannot create more futuristic car design such as elantra@sonata? I think not coz they know what the market need n etc, the same as hyundai designers.

I dont think italdesign is stupid. Sometimes need to balance between exterior n interior according to cost proportion n budget. This including design theme.

If make futuristic exterior,must match with interior, but if still used brittle hard plastic, for me, its better to stick to general design but put in more quality material inside,like forte vs elantra md. Elantra md is really nice interm of design,inside n out,but still opt for hard plastic interior. Forte,otherwise, safe but bold n elegance design, with better equipment n quality soft plastic material plus cheaper price(price vs equipment).

In the end,depend on the market. Still remember,juara is not accepted in malaysia, but being one of the popular mini mpv in japan during that time(mitsu townbox).

By saying something not pleasing in ur eyes, will be irritating to others is not apply. Even for some,dugong vios is ugly,but for some,it is the most beautiful dugong ever lived.

So i think, to critics on design,its ur choice,it is a free world i guess, but to saying using inappropriate n harsh word,is not really nice coz we are all well educated people n civilised people,unless there are still living in stone age.

• pacifictuna on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm

exactly….. how juara and tiara died without being acknowledge in Malaysia…. they were Mitsu’s townbox and citroen AX. Citroen AX was one of the most futuristic car at it’s time…. wrong timing in Malaysia.

In fact, people preferences vary according to locality. This is why Honda have different Civic in different market and why Ford have i think 3 different Focus. American Focus never appeal to me but will do so to American, at least Ford thinks so. Proton claims that this is their global car so i guess the design might not suit us Malaysian entirely.

Anyway, i guess the car will looks okay in the metal. Simple and conservative. In fact i’m starting to like it’s look. but then again, VW also looks simple though we all know very well of it’s quality. hope Proton will try to match those kind of quality. otherwise be cheap and hope to sell in volume. or be in between and try to penetrate more market in a lower profile….

• spyshotX on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:47 pm

ESP = ESC same thing..

if u mean EPS = Electric Power Steering, then definitely don’t have la..

• pickup driver on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:21 pm

REALLY????

• my gen2 also have:
      – Auto Off Rear Demister (according to manual) but not functioning.. rectify with sc but no solution..
      – Trunk Remote Release…nice and practical!!!
      – Headlamp Warning Buzzer…nice!!
      – Smart Info Display (SID)…never give correct value for fuel consumption…when reset still give 4l/100km @ 90km/h..leh caya ke??nothing can be done according to sc..

So i think, it’s good to have all the gadget/accessories…but be sure it functions properly..things that could be tested boleh la tgk kalau defect…but how consumer want to test their airbags will function when we need them???pray hard mine will work when it matter…amiinnnn~

but still love my gen2 since it doesnt really trouble me yet and has 2 airbags compared to other “premium” cars that only provide one or nothing at all…

• interested on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:46 pm

price is still expensive considering it is a replacement model for persona. expensive for a proton car

• its not a replacement for persona

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:46 am

Eventually yes.

You think Proton is so stupid to have 4 cars in roughly the same size segment? The production logistics would be immense. I would think that it would not only replace the Persona/Gen2, but also the Inspira and overtly overdue Perdana. Proton’s new D segment is way overdue….and the Inspira was only a stop gap measure waiting for this new car.

• MoFaz on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:45 am

it’s not the same size as persona. it’s bigger than waja, even bigger than Civic

P3-21A:
            Length = 4.543m
            Width = 1.786m
            Height = 1.524m

Civic:
            Length = 4.540m
            Width = 1.755m
            Height = 1.435m

• tiger on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:49 pm

serious wow!!

• Stupid!!! Of all the specs listed, never mentioned about curb weight!!! Do u know that this curb weight has +200kg of Honda Civic 1.8L???

• mizzuddin on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:07 am

aiyyoooo

why no manual option for CFE..?

• OMG…so this would end up with the price tag….RM 80K up?…

• if everything u mentioned is in when the car is out.. i will buy it the next day..

• That guy is gonna get fired….

• VoidDance on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Nah… He will be rewarded for being able to cover the name of the car on the plate. If not, people will know what the new car name already.

• barca96 on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:42 pm

It really looks like a Kia Forte.

It is nice though. If it’s priced lower than a Vios, City and Forte, it will definitely sell well.

• Exactly the same thing happened when asian 3-series waja was launched…ohhhh so niceee….then folks rushing, pushing, jumping to get their first waja even took the showroom unit cannot wait anymore…Ha Ha Ha…later rosak sana rosak sini pissed off complained until autoworld forum under waja thread alone over 500 pages…Ha Ha Ha!

Still wanna be duped by Protongkat?
    Go ahead and keep buy this Protongkat Rosma, you fools!

Go ahead and keep this Dilbert marketing Theory proven again, again, again and again:
    “How do you sell a bad product?”
    “Sell it to stupid people!” :D

• encik boss on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:06 pm

no need to bash and complaint so much..it’s their money, up to them to buy which car..
      don’t u think u also fool coz u pay so much for tax for buying imported car? after all, the tax also go to your beloved Rosmah anyway..

• autojohndoe on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:34 pm

look likes a Desperado…

you may speak as u wish until you satisfy…

dreaming of getting cheaper car?

maybe your 3rd generation family member will have it… in your lifetime, maybe not

• manuhatetolove on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:52 pm

the day-light lamp can last for how long?

the design seemed to be inspired by kia forte (first lancer now forte?)

Tuah’s design seemed fresh and could challenge korean car’s design. But why not produce Tuah itself, rather coming out with another model? IMHO, Proton want to keep losing to Hyundai (DRB-Hicom) and Kia (Naza) on purpose, it seems.

• Brader PET on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:49 am

Sedara ikut perkembangan industri automotif negara tak? Ada tonton berita ke, baca surat khabar ke, macamana tu? DRB-Hicom ambil alih syer Proton pada Januari 2012, sedangkan Proton dedahkan design konsep Tuah/Espire ni di KLIMS 2010.

Ada sebarang atau sekecil-kecil kemungkinan tak, bahawa teori ‘Proton beri muka kepada Hyundai (DRB-Hicom)’ tu berasas? Proton dah tahu bahawa DRB-Hicom akan berjaya dalam proses membeli syer Proton SEBELUM konsep Tuah/Espire tu diorang design? Maka, Proton design model tu agar tidak boleh menyaingi model-model Hyundai/Kia di pasaran Malaysia?

Proton ada bela Nujum Pa’ Belalang ke, siap boleh ramal-ramal macam tu?

Dangkalnya pemikiran sedara ni. Nak berhujah tanpa ilmu dan tanpa asas…

• Brader PET on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Kenapa kita tak tunggu rekod jualan dan warranty claim sahaja, baru kita buat penilaian? Kita boleh perhatikan fakta-fakta bernombor dan buat perbandingan dengan lebih baik kan?

• Penilaian dibuat berdasarkan rekod penjualan terkini.

• Eyesore on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:20 am

rekod jualan terkini? Agak agaknye dah berapa ek kete ni dah jual? -.-

• Alson P on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm

itu penilaian rekod jualan..

u boleh nilai sendiri berasarkan “fakta”

• ahmadfaris93 on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm

The rear design looks weird. The concept looks more sleek than the real one. Quite disappointed about that.

• Abuya on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Samalah. Aku juga kecewa. Sepatut design lagi futuristik

• Kokopai on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:10 am

how to define ‘futuristic’ design? Ever see a ‘speed racer’ cartoon… During its day (few decades ago), the car in the series was portrayed as futuristic, but do you see anything like that nowadays? ‘Futuristic’ is just an interpretation of what we believe the future will look like. This ‘P3-21A’? I call it a ‘safe’ design – a design that will last for ages

• driver on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:18 am

it doesn’t have to be futuristic.. a clean, sweet & simple rear design will do.. at least for me~

• manuhatetolove on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:54 pm

although for sure i won’t buy proton anymore, at least make a design that rakyat can be proud of!

• cupin on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:14 am

you won’t buy or u still have 7 years installment to go for your current car? hehe

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:59 pm

a car so deformed even its mother could not love it.

• The more I see it, to more I dont like it.. too much exposure.. seems like a facelift Waja now.

• luqman on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm

hate to say this, but it does looks nice..has european feel to it..

lets hope the same for the interior quality though…

• ss427 on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Euro feel? What have you been drinking during lunchtime just now? LOL

Which current Euro car even remotely looked like that?? Esp the rear end??

• luqman on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:08 pm

dude, dont be so freaking emotional commenting bout cars…

• Rulered on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Yeah dude, after all a car is still a car, it’s not like you’re gonna stay and play in them like it’s a house with nice big compounds…. ehem….anyway you still need considerable amount of kilometres of road…ehem, ehem…..to enjoy whatever car you think is good enough for you.

• This car needs a nose job as well as butt job… Personally I prefer the Tuah concept more than the real thing though…

• ss427 on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Well what can I say? LOL… it looks outdated even before it is launched. I suppose the styling is at least better than the OMG, POS new Sunny/Almera… but that’s it.. Ok la Potong fans, I can say good things about Potong once in a blue moon too :D

As usual, Potong likes to put tiny wheels into their cars for some unknown reasons… machiam Toyota in SG… But then again, that tall, slabsided side profile will make even 17″ looked small.. LOL :D

Like I always said, park this next to the new Elantra… race this against the new Elantra.. :D:D

• put p3-21a to race against the elantra at bukit putus. that would be awesome. heheh

• Datu Syek Jenal Abe Din on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:22 pm

son.. u better watch out your mouth.. u’re talking about Malaysian product.. sooner or later u can get curse by the Malaysian.. i warn u..

• ss427 on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:30 pm

It is exactly with mentality like yours that Potong can never improve its products… and that after >25 yrs of protectionism, Potong is still rebadging Lancers and try to call it their own.

So it is a Malaysian product from a Malaysian company… so what about it? Does it mean it can be exempted from public scrutiny? Does it mean it should be exempted from critisism from overseas car reviews?

You wanna make world class products, then you need to pay attention to what the world public is generally looking for in a car.. and that outside Bolehland, Potong is not being protected by anything or anyone. Potong should face up to REAL competition instead of priding itself of making ‘SE Asian BMW.s’ or have driving characteristics of a Euro car when it is obviously now.

Be brave and be able to take rejections positively. And then improve from there.

• even peugeot rebadge car from mitsu..

• ss427 on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Which one, the Mitsubish i and the Outlander? Those are licenced clones and Peugoet didn’t hide the fact that the models are made by Mitsubishis..

The point is… Peugoet own offerings are way better than those rebadged Mitsubishis… and that’s what makes Peugoet succeed in the western world.

Potong is doing the exact opposite… and unfortunately, the rebadged Inspiras aint that good either….

• invalid argument by SS47.

Did Proton ever hide the fact that the models were Lancer?

The point is, Proton own offerings can consider way better than Mitsu’s since they adress the overheating problems by re-shaping the front bumper with bigger air intake and newly design cooling systems. With better ride and handling tuning.

Typical westerners worshipper. It’s okay if they do it, but its a big taboo and sinful if we Malaysian do it.

Jangan jadi lalang.

• mizzuddin on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:14 am

proton retune the suspensions for Inspira if i’m not mistaken…

who can hide their “licensed clones”…? aiyyoooo…

i looiikkkee ur “licensed clones” much lahh

• Proton did mentioned it was based on Lancer. They reworked the cooling systems, and the suspension. Handling improved.

Mitsu did not allow Proton to tune the engine though. If they did, we might get Inspira Evo already.

• maybe u shud put that, n try to race it :-).
      Or just putting elantra vs i30@ elantra vs forte. Who will win,lose or draw :-), he…he…

• eims @ gold on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:26 pm

definitely will shake H & T

• donadoni on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm

whats with the man covering the car exactly? just let the picture taken larr.. cover2 konon. pfft

• Darren on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Looks like the previous Gen Mazda 6 to me

• akmal on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:48 pm

yes,its been bothering my mind,finally somebody with same opinion.

• jawabandar on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Hmm..the front looks a bit bland.i reckon there might be facelifting exercise after launching it.

• nabill on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Actually thrs another photo circulating without dat guy blocking…one ting noticeable is it looks very wide rather than long…

• VoidDance on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Same pic, they only remove the troll infront and touch it up a bit.

• nazman on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Nice looking!
    Unfortunately its still PROTON…

• James Leong on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:54 pm

I am still support you proton because the specs is impressive and very different with previous model. I see the good improvement.
      but is still proton look, seem like the proton look could not run much away…..
      Hopefully next time we can see a proton car produce out without feel or element look like the previous proton model.

Kia/Hyundai look really good, it really give ppl have a good look.

Forte look different from previous to Spectra.
      Optima K5 different from previous optima.
      Elantra MD look different from previoous Elantra X20.

• MoFaz on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:54 pm

aih.. malaysia is unfortunate to have people like you.

• ss427 on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:58 pm

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.

Potong needs to take their work seriously if they want overseas people to take them seriously. The ability to offer a nice, modern shape is only part of the equation, what good would all the pretty shapes serve if the P321A continues to suffer from the numerous notorious Potong quality, reliability bug bears? :(

I’d like to ask everyone here… the achievement the Koreans have today, are they entirely concidental? Did they brag loudly with lots of hot air continue to offer late 80s Excel, Stellar kind of quality in their cars today?

The Koreans dived into the baptism of fire early by marketing their products in western markets even when their cars are not quite there yet. Yes people boo-ed and Hyundai/Kia were made butt jokes from many people in North America and Euro. But the Koreans didn’t give up.. they analyse, research and more importantly, improve on their products. If their current offering didn’t make it, then go develop the next generation of them and make sure the shortcomings are addressed…. and the cycle continues.

So you have constant power window problems? Find out why instead of just changing the motor only. Engine keep giving problems, why is that so? Running away from problems is not going to get your company anywhere far..

Hyundai once had Mitsubishi help too.. and back in the late 80s to early 90s, many Hyundai were using old, outdated Mitsubishi engines.

But today, what do they have? No only they don’t require Mitsubishi help, their own in house designed engines are so damn good that the Theta II and now the Nu series GDI engines made it to the World top 10 best engine list by Consumer Reports for 2011! :) And they’ve all but completely overrun Mitsubishi in terms of car building know how.

Potong needs to get into the world arena fast if they want their cars to be of world class quality eventually. Having kampong mentality that so long citizens in my country buys them through unfair trade practices, Potong will not survive long.. :( Even if the competition didnt kill it off, falling customer base surely will.

• asd asd on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:52 am

I like what you are saying here..

“The Koreans dived into the baptism of fire early by marketing their products in western markets even when their cars are not quite there yet. Yes people boo-ed and Hyundai/Kia were made butt jokes from many people in North America and Euro. But the Koreans didn’t give up.. they analyse, research and more importantly, improve on their products. If their current offering didn’t make it, then go develop the next generation of them and make sure the shortcomings are addressed…. and the cycle continues” (ss427 2012)

but what if the changes are happening right now? what if the quality of their product improved with this car? and what if they have been researching for all these years to give the best in this car?

you said something about kampong mentality, but you yourself cant see how kampong you are giving all these comment when you yourself didnt even touch the car yet?

and furthermore… the korean gets more help from their gov.. remember Automobile Industry Promotion Policy” in 1962? Foreign automakers were barred from operating in Korea.. the korean have no choice but to support their local company, which means more money to the carmakers = more RnD it can do.. simple as that..

so if we cant even support our own company? who else? i see proton quality is not decreasing, its actually gaining its pace to improve from one model to another.

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:54 am

‘the korean gets more help from their gov.. remember Automobile Industry Promotion Policy” in 1962? Foreign automakers were barred from operating in Korea.. the korean have no choice but to support their local company, which means more money to the carmakers = more RnD it can do.. simple as that..’

I am aware of that stupid policy bro… It was indeed one of the dumb decision the Korean gov made at that time. But they’ve all but abandon such policies today. Yes they still impose taxes on imported cars, but all brands from all countries are welcomed to do biz in Korea… Well Honda and Toyota do sell their cars in Korea… although sales aint good… The US Big 3 do sell their products in Korea too. You can buy a top spec Camaro SS in any Chevy showroom in Korea :)

Hyundai/Kia may have recieved support from the Korean gov, but…. so has Potong right? LOL But did the 2 companies just relaxed on such support after that?

Hyundai and Kia opened numerous R&D centers in North America and Europe, in addition to their own country’s. Did the Korean gov asked them to do that, or was it their own sheer determination and drive to be a serious world player that spur them on?

Ok, I do agree that perhaps Potong has finally did something right with the P321A. In that case, they should make it more the urgency to export this car to overseas market and let their car mags evaluate for themselves.

I’m sorry bro, but the Potongs currently sold in SG are just laughable, and the $$ they charge is just not competitive. As I’ve said b4, something is not right when the Persona costs more than the Forte 1.6SX in SG. The reg Exora was so bad that even our local car mags complained that the Campro engine was so weak off the line that the testers thought they forgot to release the parking brake! :D

• MoFaz on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:03 am

you’re prejudice, your brain already presumes that Proton is bad. look at how you mention Proton as “Potong”? that’s unprofessional and will just confirm that your writing is influenced by your own emotions and hatred.
            you just want to acknowledge the bad reviews on Proton cars and at the same time doubting the good reviews. this is why i said you’re just prejudice and unprofessional because there are many other reviews that are positive towards Exora especially in Thai and Indonesia. with Bold CFE engine due to be introduced there and several other markets, i believe we could see more and more good reviews on Exora in the future.

• driver on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Dude, just 2 quick questions..

Could you please elaborate why do you think that “something is not right when the Persona costs more than the Forte 1.6SX in SG” ?

Are you implying that Proton has to always produce cheapest car?

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:47 am

ofcourse Proton should be cheaper than any KIA.It is not about quality..It is about Costs…KIA employs German Designers (ex.Peter)(just c how much their salaries) plus Korean Income is higher than Malaysian..Kia Sponsorships like the tennis Player…Proton should be cheaper than Korean Cars and do not exceed Chinese Cars prices..I would understand that the new unannounced yet Persona is a major shift for Proton and moves it to a new direction and should be priced higher than old Persona or the same as Inspira..But look for example at a car called GWM Voleex C30 or Brilliance H530 or Chery A3 or BYD Range..They started way after Proton and are producing state of the art cars and cheap..very affordable…Proton should be sustainable by offering 2 Sedans…The saga with a hatchback version.The Persona with a stationwagon and coupe and a big hatchback from it..this will create better economics of scale…an suv,an mpv and that is it…Use Lotus factory to produce European bound models…and Malaysia factories for ASIA…open a factory in Egypt\Turkey for Middle East markets and North Africa…that’s it…this happens with creative products….

• xpitt on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm

whatever design proton makes, hideous or worst, just make sure spare part shop standby their power window parts as much as possible. surely will make lots of profit….

takut duit pi kat rosemak via proton or fancy tax of imported car? buy olskool…cash n carry from uncles at any rural area…thus can help increase their income :-) win-win!

hate the game, not the players.

• whysoserious on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:03 pm

xhabis2 ngn power window ko..da lapuk da…cari idea lain la..

• speed_lover on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm

come on..civic pun design dia tak bnyk berubah..ni kira okay la design dia

• hway de Cruz on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:48 pm

i would give some credit here, design not bad at all… can withstand the test of time. hv to wait n c the specs. i like the lights n doors but the p1 badge too big. Rims r nice, n the curve of the roof runs nicely to the rear. if the specs r similar to wat puggy mentioned, those with the means can consider this model. not bad at all…. u can actually see vast improvement since the early saga models up to this latest one. yeah, credit is due here, design wise. for those potential buyers, wait for the launch then take that test drive.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Anak sapa la tu…
    kalau kerja ngan Proton,
    mau kena buang tu….
    huhuhu

takde plak sapa cakap – Cheap Publicity from Proton

• Jonnie on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Aduh Proton.. Saga also only 30% who wanna buy layak… this one 60-70k, can sell but how many unit la.. bankrupt soon…

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Terrible design. Proton got conned by the Italian. Italian job!

• VoidDance on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Theo, whip your digital pen now. We want to see some good photoshop on this car… :D

• Datu Syek Jenal Abe Din on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:18 pm

looks like people happy with car.. i told u many time, proton will become world player and conquer the world. BMW, Mercedes and all will become proton company.. the day will come.. just wait and see..

Good Jobs…

• vincent ang on Mar 03, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Did not happened, has not happened till today and will never happen.

• Zippy Polo on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Nice….. but compare ti the TUAH…. that looks more modern…. esp the rear… Tuah looks so good….

• msian on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:27 pm

nice!good job Proton!

• ong chin aun on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Nice, but must compare the quality and the price.

• Design not bad tapi kualiti x tahu lagi mcm mana….sebenarnya aku rasa rakyat malaysia maybe dah agak ‘fobia’ dengan keluaran Malaysia…that’s why ramai yang ragu2 dgn keluaran proton. Proton kena berusaha lebih gigih lagi utk mendapatkan kembali kepercayaan rakyat Malaysia….just my 2cent…peace…

• Just me on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:30 pm

I hope they don’t forget to put Yes 4G meter in the dash board.

• cardreamer on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Boleh larr….side profile look good…but the front smiley face seems to be too wide and straight line….why don’t maintain the front look of the concept? Not that dificult isn’t ?

I suppose the FL version will be a very good looing one…but it will take another 4 years perhaps…just like Exora Bold…look lot better than the ori exora…now the Exora Bold looks like Mazda 5 a bit…can’t wait to the showroom..

Congrat Proton..

• woww… nicw car,,

• paohyean on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm

The whole car looks very nice..
    In fact if I did not change to the Persona less than a year ago I would have seriously consider this..

Now the most important question of all is how much is Proton going to price it..

I would hope to see the price not that much expensive than the Persona..
    Then they would have made another people’s car alongside the Saga BLM family..

My 2 cents of course..

• kalau rupa kerata tu macam dlm motor show gempak juga ni tak de ape yg gempak. proton hanya cukup kn forom pengeluar keta baru. keta ni akan menerima nasib yg same dgn waja. saleman proton akan temberang inilah keluaran terbaik proton yg mana tak pernah mereke sendiri dan proton am nya banga dgn kereta2 keluaran terdahulu seperti penegluar yg lain.

• yeahjuststraightandcommentwithnobrainok on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:04 pm

sama juga dgn brand2 lain…semua akan tegak mendabik dada bahawa produk mereka terbaik. yg pentingnya kita sebagai pengguna harus tahu nilai produk itu adakah sepadan dgn wang di belanjakan. beli keta ekonomi rm200k kebawah ini semuanya bukan investment.. if nak invest sila la beli exotic brand…

pendekatan design dan styling tak semudah sekali pandang terus terpikat, ia juga harus di nilai akan bila ia memasuki pasaran dan di lihat hari-hari. design yg baik adalah yg dapat memikat terus mata dan juga evergreen (atau sekurang2nya tahan 7thn di pasaran).

taktik pemasaran jepun yg membuatkan lifecycle sebuah kereta within 5thn ke bawah sebenarnya sekadar method milking the market, ia juga mendorong agar pengguna membazirkan duit untuk bertukar kereta demi fesyen, trend dan kononnya peningkatan status.

*takde org mati nanti di kebumi dlm liang lahad dgn keta…fikir2kan.. Allahurobi…

• jake 2.0 on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm

the front windscreen is way higher than the side, quite hideous for me but the tuah concept seems better. why no follow tuah grill, for sure a winning aspect.
    the rear seems too thick as the rear lamp is too small, it shud b bigger like saga blm. hopefully got facelift version like flx. the reason the tuah rear lamp like that is to cover the bulkiness.
    need to hear what users want & cast a vote. need improvement on design proton.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:57 pm

amboi 75K? can’t really afford it, so i must take a 9 yr loan, pay first 2 or 3 instalment, then i cabut and wait for repo thugs to come after me.

• Jerry on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Not exactly a fluid sculpture but P3-21A is neat and modern. Think VW or Audi.

• Ex TV Producer on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Guys, the first pic which shows the guy smiling in front of the car: Well that picture was taken probably during the television commercial shoot for the vehicle. The only reason why I know so is that I recognise the guy from the production industry as I’ve worked with him before and from the way he is dressed and the black masking tape on his shorts (typical tv production stuff). This shows that the impending launch is definitely very soon since the TVC has been shot.

• ericT on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:11 pm

from the side view its nice..but from the back…meh

• soundsfishy on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:13 pm

well done proton!!! for a perfect copy here, copy there and then paste. Drive tuah will feel like driving bmw, forte, vw, audi, etc… value for money ehh

• skybolt on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:28 pm

All the way proton tauhu are expose not only now….

• says says on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm

..just hope the meter panel design can at least match the one onboard that new Nissan Vanette Van!..

• mystvearn on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Was there an embargo on Paultan by Proton not able publish the picture earlier :P? Been shown in LYN forums and main page for few days now.

• shawal on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:02 am

i think embargo only applies if paultan was invited to do sum review and phtotoshoot before launch, then asked to withheld given infos n pics until due time, all these are spyshots

• kemang on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:12 pm

ada berani ka bagi waranti 300,00km?

• MoFaz on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:30 am

warranty 5 tahun pun dah cukup baik la. kalau beli H.City or T.Vios dapat 3 tahun je….

• mestilah !! 300,00km tu hanya 30 ribu km.. =)

• Alson P on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:36 pm

i reach 300.00k within 4 years…
      well yes, 5 tahun warranty memang cukup baik…

btw i need trade my car with the new car every 6 years (600.00k)…
      for my own satisfactory

• focus909 on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Not bad! Even though i’m not a P1 fan, but this model looks much better improvement in design/visual compare to other P1 model. Bravo P1, keep it up!

• nebula87 on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm

looks like SAAB + SEAT…

• F Fiesta on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Even Proton P3 has 4G technology it’s useless for us since Proton P3 not include voice control commands like Ford Fiesta. I reckon Ford Fiesta still the chosen one among 1.6cc and could beat easily Inspira and Forte.

• whysoserious on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:07 pm

sorry to say..
      i’m using neo and tapau fiesta already..

• Alson P on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:42 pm

haha lol…

i’m using gen2 cps and tapau fiesta already… rolf

• hey ken block this is a sedan, your fiesta is a hatchback. live with it.

• CLASS on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:18 pm

KERETA NI SAME BESAR MCM CIVIC ,KELAMRIN TGK DEKAT MRR2

• Paint on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:36 pm

For a moment, i thought, what the hell was that guy doing, blocking the view. Haha

• shadow on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:37 pm

what the fuc< y the ah beng block the car, succker

• pomen keto on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm

people keep on bashing proton…stupid la,not good la,itu la,ini la….but at their house or family members, they having a PROTON car…and still using it nicely until becoming besi buruk….huh…another typical m’sian….

• have use protons before.
    have no complain over the cars.
    only complain, harga makin lama makin melambung.

• Loneranger on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:58 pm

of course la bro…mana der brg harga turun skng..sumer bnd naik harga sb inflasi kita agk tinggi dan flow RM keluar terlalu byk sbb kita hantar RM kita p Jepun, Korea ngn Europe….(agak2 leh faham xmksd disebalik ayat aku tuh eh? )

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:42 am

Yeah.. sakit hati la sikit. The price of a City without Tax is around 55K only but theyre selling 85k here. 55K is abt the price the same price as a persona now right? Compare persona and City? Quite a difference.

But still the overpriced one is P2, small car put 1.5l engine from Alza and BANG.. 60K. i still dung get it why ppl still buy..

Some of us cant afford to buy a 100K so we opt for <80k cars which is a sedan, spacious and thinking "if i use and maintain this car properly it wont give me alot of issues". that's it.

For proton to give about 60-70K for this car, i think its not a bad idea.

• @8250rpm on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:21 pm

So obvious tat guy is not blocking the car but instead posing for the shot…..hey Anthony, do u need tis guy’s permission to post his face here? Or was he the One that posted the photos in the net??

• whyalwaysme? on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:26 pm

i completely love this car by looking at it…i hope it would not disappoint me when getting inside and drive it…

i will consider this model if the quality is above par with affordable price tag.

• syamness on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:31 pm

generally, i think the car looks good. i dont really care that it doesnt look super sleek, but pleasing and ‘well-balanced’. im not saying its the best, but its definitely getting there.

I would still insist on proton to really refine the engine, and we would have a good package here…

and honestly i would have preferred if proton went bold with the lamps, as in goin into production with the tuah lamps… i know its typical for manufacturers to tone down on the eccentricities from concept to manufacturing, but i really feel it would have made a BIG impact. I imagined if the car was to show up in Top Gear, chances are Clarkson and co would batter this car no matter how good it was, but maybe the lights would have given him something unique for him to comment/identify proton..

as for the bashers… you guys have to accept the fact that proton is never made to be the top end, good looking, high performance car. its a ‘peoples’ car made to sell by volume.

• My mum’s and dad’s future cars. My two sisters drive the New Saga.

• lawa

• Aroma on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Nice car but when u look at the badge ….. Proton, Puiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Perception is more important than reality !

• jolly_idiot on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Damn that ugly ass hole. Block the car complete view.

• Wisdom on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:16 pm

So much negative comment for a car that is not yet launch, not even available in the showroom, and if u’re not Proton staff / supplier u haven’t seen the actual car.

‘Creat’ive….

• shirts on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:31 pm

If u guys dont like it then go get myvi extreme for the same money lah…. Its design is so futuristic and extreme like most gays wearing a tight yellow t shirt!

• cant wait for the launch, anybody knows whats the fc of the car?

• 1.my friend one of engineer working with proton…he said “next year will launch hatchback for this car” now still r n d.. tq

• Design wise.. Looks ok to me.. But the side mirror unfold at 5km/h .. ? Don’t we need it when to get out from side parking lot? Too bad u can only have the mirror when u hit the main road…. Hmmmm… Think again

• MoFaz on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:32 am

please read and understand the sentence properly… there’s a manual button to unfold it. but i would also prefer it to unfold automatically whenever the engine start.

• it has manual override.

• shawal on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:50 pm

knowing proton current antics n trend, id wait for the gitch free FL or BOLD models in d pipeline, bt suffice to say theyve been working hard on this fella for quite sum time, hope its free from defects

• Reminds me of Fiat Linea side profile

• tokmoh on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:36 pm

I see what Proton did there…

http://www.carsbase.com/photo/Mercedes_Benz-SL_AMG_mp35_pic_56544.jpg

closeenough.jpg

• unnon on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:46 pm

the first time i looked at the rear lights, first thing that came out of my mind “its ugly!!”. but after watch it again n again, i think that might be the right design for it. i think it will look much more nicer when the car is on the road later after the launch.

and proton like to make facelift2.. i’m sure they will do something about all the complaints all together above n improvise everything later.

good job proton!! ^^

• Transforming Better on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:07 am

DUDE, PROTON IS MORPHING INTO GREATER HEIGHTS. OBVIOUSLY THIS IS IMPROVEMENT OVER THE PREVIOUS MODEL. NOW WHAT THE H IS FOR FIESTA TALKING ABOUT. VOICE COMMAND FOR A SMALL CAR IS NOT IMPORTANT BECAUSE ITS TOO SMALL, JUST PRESS IT LA STUPPP! EVERYTHING IS ABOUT COST, THEY R IN THT INDUSTRY. ALL FEATURES ARE PURPOSELY NOT TO BE THERE DUE TO COST OT STRATEGY FOR THE NEXT MODEL. TAKE A LOOK AT HPS. NOT ALL ARE INTO ONE. THT IS MARKETING STRATEGY U IDIOT!!!

• Waaa….that one in silver looks really nice

• Vincent on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:32 am

who will know when is the launching date?

• Vincent on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:34 am

when is the launching date??

• kyrol on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:44 am

Paultan…this is my friend…he was taking this picture after they were done with the shooting…at that moment they were doing a video commercial for this upcoming new model…

• Hugo Andore on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

And the dude behind the car is my cousin brother no four from Segambut.

• kyrol on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:26 am

this is no joke…
        u can see these…
        http://i1252.photobucket.com/albums/hh578/kyrol1303/427539_302669503122171_100001373706463_746272_1469070465_n.jpg
        and http://i1252.photobucket.com/albums/hh578/kyrol1303/423337_302669323122189_100001373706463_746271_2056656564_n.jpg

• why always compare to Tuah? I really dont understand..

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:27 am

Well, Hyundai veloster is a concept car being sold..It is way advanced in design and Visual quality.Who thought of a 3 door car b4.It was and still is a brilliant idea..

Proton should learn from Hyundai\KIA in order to make a remarkable footprint in the industry..I am a fan of Proton living in Egypt…

Proton entered the Egyptian market in 2004 after trying to enter it in 2000 but failed.Anyway,Chinese companies like CHERY & GWM are making stronger presence in the market through a variety of cars that have CVTs and Stronger body shell.The sad part is that Chery started in 1998 and GWM started making Consumer cars in 2008 and Proton from 1985 and still didn’t make a footprint..

Proton now is in the right direction but moving pretty slowly..It is not about that Malaysia is a small market..No it is about that any business that seeks profit and belongs to the government is a loss…Car Companies should be privatized in all over the world to avoid political games that harm them….

Proton started moving right since they introduced the 2007 Persona and 2008 Saga and the Exora…this new car if made LHD and sold in the middle east will put the KIA current Forte(Cerato) down…I like the new Persona but if Proton keeps selling outdated models in the world like the 2008 SAGA is still being sold in Egypt in 2012..Unbelievable…Proton won’t survive…Proton must focus on LHD versions quicker and faster and badge engineer a Chinese SUV and redesigning the Savvy to be more like a picanto or GWM Voleex C10..

out of topic but I hope informative

• FYI, you guys got the better QC’ed cars (some say cheaper) while we, the malaysian, are stuck with the left overs.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:39 am

Design wise, its a safe design, Euro conservative if you ask me. Nothing really glaringly wrong with it except perhaps a rather boring interior…which they could have made a little more avant-garde without polarizing any market demographic.

I believe they have made inroads into better quality, but that said, there are plenty of short-sightedness in proton product development, which I hope would be addressed in next generation protons. I would reserve judgement for this car until I have tested it, but Proton has a long history of letting a good product fail solely based on poor cost management.

However, the biggest problem with proton now is not if they can build better cars, but if malaysians can afford them. With BNM’s new guidelines toughening loan approvals, it would be tough to shift this car if it came within its estimated price ranges. a 75K car would mean a 1300/mth (60 months) give and take some with 10% downpayment. With these sorts of pricing, proton looks like it still expects middle income earners to saddle oneself with a 7-9 year loan. While it might still be workable for people in Klang valley with a higher average pay packet, wage earners in the rest of the country would have difficulty with shorter loan tenures.

If proton can buck up and make good and competitive cars (not based on price), this would make other marques work harder and we would all benefit, regardless of what cars we end up buying.

• armandd on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:57 am

My safe bet is that the handling and ride comfort would be better than any Vios, City, Forte, Swift or even the Civic..

• belacan on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:19 am

~17march2012~

• odi862 on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:55 am

The design is just barely ok but if they are still using the old 1.6 engine and then it is bad. If you cannot make new engine, just outsource it from any prominent engine makers out there.

This new car will be no good if it only can be sold locally. Established for nearly 30 years and still “jaguh kampung”. I hope the DRB will create a new direction and remove the old style in Proton managements.

• bro they are still using CAMPRO but more than 70% new component.. with VVT + turbo + the new gearbox…

• totti on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:58 am

Well, always look good from the design perspective but the engine component need to refine.

Gen2 is a good example of good design but engine lack of refinement. To justify this, we can compare the 1.5 engine from Vios and City. No way they are close to them.

To sell well, they need to price it below RM 60K for turbo engine. otherwise they will end up providing big discount to their product and 1st batch buyer will suffer massive loss in resale value.

Proton need to target at low budget consumer and not for mid range customer. Anyone paying RM 70K will opt for reliable product like T and H. The failure of Proton Inspira 1.8 (RM 78K to 85K) is a good example not to folow where they try to complete with Branded 1.5 CITY and VOIS.

You need to prove your turbo engine is reliable and refine before trying to sell at RM 60 to 70K.

• bro, if u dont like it, dont buy it…as simple as that… dont try acting like a automotive journalist in here…

Inspira 1.8 is not a failure, Inspira buyers rather go for 2.0 coz no much different on road tax wise… so called branded City and Vios is for a low income people at foreign.. and the engine of 1.6 Gen-2 is far better than Vios Crap engine!!

Proton already have a model for small income people and its called SAGA!! remember??

• i agree with you… there are so many people want to become a car journalist while their knowledge in basic car is weak. the only reason people choose vios rather than inspira is because of the brand… i just laugh at people thinking vios and city is a branded car… seriously… with cheap wheel and plastic… Forte is so much better than crappy vios… if you want to compare inspira, please compare it with forte at least… not crappy vios..

if you want to buy a cheap car, go for saga. For middle income, you can choose to buy persona. if persona is not good, go buy alza or myvii… if you are ranting about the price of this new proton, please go away, because this car is not targeted for you… you can choose saga.. why the heck you want proton to lower its price so that you can buy it… clearly, you cannot afford to buy this car… please… go away…

• 1.6 gen 2 campro engine is better than vios? in what way??

The campro suffers from low and mid end torque and power which results in bad fuel consumption!

The vios engine is so much for better in the low end and the engine is still being used for the 2nd gen vios because it is good and reliable.

oh and dont get me started on the throttle response….

• vios and city are much heavier than gen2, no wonder fuel consumption also more.
      hp wise both engine cannot beat cps 125hp lol

• Robert Kwok on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:01 am

i’ll ask my GM’s to buy this new proton for all staff company car. sokonglah produk tempatan.

• Ananda Krishnan on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:55 am

Agreed with you Robert. actually my company already start using exora for company car. i’ll ask my GM’s to change their BMW to this new proton.

• Vincent Tan on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:23 pm

since i’m retiring, i’ll ask my son to change from Japanese and European cars to this new local car for company cars. impressive with proton. nice job Malaysians sons.

• Bill Gates on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:40 pm

bitch please, since im rich, ill buy Proton Berhad and your whole company instead.

• Warren Buffett on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:11 am

WTF? I would rather buy this whole damn company and donate it to India or Nepal.

• Steve Jobs on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:23 am

Better donate your money for research to cure diseases so that there will be a cure to them. U’d never know when u will get sick.

• theone on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:25 am

after reading the comments, we can say that it’s just subjective, some people will like it, and some will not.
    for instance, i like this better than civic, but that does not mean i worship it. it is just my preference. if not, all of us will have the same cars, won’t we?
    so relax and post courteously
    thank you and a happy friday to all

• samsam on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:31 am

keep it up, the car look great and thumb up for the price i will go see the actual car at showroom. to those low brain commenter u should look at your mirror.

• wheeler on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:41 pm

This looks good..
    And the package is excellent.
    Well done proton..

• So many pro-Proton supporter here, good la. Some give slightly negative opinion or comment on pricing also kena, whatever la. No need to talk so much la, launch the car and let the sales figure do the talking. Meh cepat.

• Hugo Chong on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Let wait until it launch. Then only can see the real car, specs vs the pricing.
    I personal hope it not more then RM70k for a CFE full specs coz it still proton right.
    a affordable quality car for the people the most important !! that a national car maker should be ….

• azman on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:29 pm

NICE!!! i me one of that!!

• Hugo Chong on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I share my opnion that i drive a before facelift version saga manual 1.3.
    When driving using 1st gear or 2nd gear reving to 3k rpm. i can feel the smoothness driving wasn’t there. Sometime d engine chock. The engine have power but just not smooth at low speed. Dont know izzit combination engine with gear box not right.

Obviously u can’t feel this on a automatic saga.

Few days before my friend fetch me with his vios manual 1.5. The engine was so quiet and smooth reving to various k rpm. I can feel the differrents with my saga manual.

There still alot of room of improvement for proton.
    Hope your guys know what i trying to say. Hope proton keep growing & improve.

• if you want to compare saga, compare it with viva… if you compare saga with viva.. then you will think saga is ok… if you want to compare vios, compare it with persona at least, not saga.. and for me, persona is so much better than vios.. smooth and steady… of course first two gear is a bit slow for persona… but they are ok..

i am not saying your comparison is not valid, same size. but engine plays important role in determining the smoothness and nvh… 1.3 engine with manual compare with 1.5 engine auto (assume the vios is not j spec)… the revving is lower compare to saga and auto does keep the engine revving low, as low as it can…

• Hugo Chong on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Please read properly ok, is vios manual version 1.5 so that mean j spec.
        If you take away the import tax for vios, saga & vios fall on the same class.
        so it a fair comparison.

• allright my bad… but still the revving is higher than vios since its 1.5 vs 1.3… saga is not in the same level as vios if you read here…:

http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/cara-pengiraan-cukai-bagi-kereta-cbu-ckd/

saga is also taxed by government 75% while vios 75% plus 10% ckd tax…. so i dont think vios is in the same league as saga… go read there.. you can refer to the maa website to verify the article about how to calculate it…

the current engine which will be implemented in the p3-21a is a turbocharged engine produces more than 200nm at rpm as low as 2k… that is good enough actually…. even if they have 1.8/2.0engine, people will still avoid their car because of the brand.. look what happened to inspira.. so engine plays important role but current proton engine is good enough…

yes if you want to talk about reliability, proton is still far away…

• Hugo Chong on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:41 pm

What i trying to say is, if proton wan to compete with foreign car maker, proton must have the quality as good as foreign car maker then only it can survive on foreign market. For example just an engine, proton must have the engine as good as foreign car maker engine.
        I think is possible, if proton willing to be.

• erwer on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:40 pm

try saga with cvt , very smoooooth

• Fauzul on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Really nice looking car, would love for the tail lights to be at the same size though. If the specs are true to what has been spreading around the net then I would really consider to purchase this car.

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Nice nice.. Cant wait…

• Faisal Zulkarnaen on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:44 am

Hahaha..good bye P321A…P322A Hatchback development part start this end of march..Proton GSC (Global Small Car) will be start on this June 2012..huhu

• Quattro on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:10 am

Bila tarikh nak dilancarkan ini? Nak pergi test drive dulu

• James Leong on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm

i have already make an early booking. i think i am the first white mouse to try on this car later, my last chance to support proton, hope proton really did a good job this times.

• For those bashers I think they’re afford to buy imported cars. So don’t bother to write in this post if you don’t ever like Proton. For people who only afford Malaysian made cars, like me, we always hope Proton will improve so that people like me can buy a quality and nice car. I support Proton more over P2 because P2 just a mere rebadge company.

• Judging by the first pic…the number plate shows the last character is “A”.

I am guessing the name of this car will end with an “A”. Assuming this is a snapshot from the advertisement.

• Hyundai Fan. on Feb 25, 2012 at 11:05 pm

The design of concept car is better & impressive. Wonder why Proton changes the design with the rear lights look very normal?

• anonymous99 on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:17 am

Easy, coz proton want to keeps the price as low as they can so its cheaper than other imported car. If they put those additional cosmetic on the rear part, it would be cost consuming. If you want to make it like TUAH, just mod la…. I sure when this car launches, sure got all the accessories to convert to TUAH….. CONFIRM!

Another assumption is, they will release it in the next facelift…. just like proton saga FLX.

This is all marketing strategy. They know d if they design this car exactly like TUAH, for sure this car can beat other car…. then, other proton car like NEO, PERSONA, etc, sure x laku 1…. they cannot make a sudden change or they will lose a lot of profit.

• The rear design is not match to front. Like putting two cars’ “concept” to one, especially the rear. Unacceptable, too many rear line compromise the clean and smooth design.
    Poor design.

• Reduan on Mar 11, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Nice… Can consider to buy one. as for bussines purpose :D

• the malaysian designer still weak in new style of car design. must learn from italy and german designer. malayisa takut nak design takut kena marah dgn diri sendiri dan old concept management.

see japan. japan is stupid in design. but good in providing good engine.

so…sub design u car model from italy designer and sub u engine car model from japan. and the end result u get good car which realiable and cantik.hot for selling and profittable.

tq

• the front facelift very nice but the rear seriously very poor and shameful. i hope the quality of open and close door highly improved….nice look but poor quality is same like nothing happen….

• the front facelift very nice but the rear seriously very poor and shameful. i hope the quality of open and close door highly improved….nice look but poor quality is same like nothing happened….

• wow!!! facelift very2 nice…….but if second pic is the rear my god!!! shameful……third pic is very nice too….i hope open and close door improved….if not i think just throw it in rubbish bin….

• Alson P on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:45 pm

looks nice.. but tuah concept facelift looks nicer