Proton Preve launched in Indonesia – single spec 1.6 CFE Premium, Rp 285 juta or RM90,000

Preve Indonesia-6

Proton Edar Indonesia officially launched the Proton Preve this morning at the Kempinski Hotel Jakarta. The C-segment sedan was unveiled by Malaysian ambassador to Indonesia Datuk Syed Munshe Afdzaruddin, accompanied by DRB-Hicom and Proton boss Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil and Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim.

Today’s launch makes Indonesia the fourth export market for the Malaysian carmaker’s latest product, after Australia, Thailand and Brunei. The Preve is available in a single high spec here – 1.6 CFE Premium – and retails for Rp 285 juta, equivalent to RM90,000.

This sticker price puts the Preve between B-segment favourites Vios and City (below Rp 250 mil) and size rivals like the Corolla Altis and Civic, typically priced from Rp 330 mil. In Malaysia, the Preve is priced from RM60k to RM73k.

Preve Indonesia-17

In a pre-launch press conference with Malaysian journalists, Proton’s management explained that the C-segment market is very small in Indonesia, accounting for just around 1% of the total industry volume (MPVs and smaller cars rule in this Toyota-dominated market). Of that pie, Proton is aiming for just 2% share, which should translate to 200-220 units per year.

Some might ask, if it’s so small, why do it? Khamil explained that this is a “strategy to make people know that Proton is there” and to ensure that the company’s presence is felt. He cites Hyundai in Indonesia and Thailand as example – the Korean carmaker may be a bit part player in Toyota-land, but maintains a presence with a range of models.

Proton also sees its recent export moves as laying a branding and after-sales foundation for a potential hit product to land on. A global small car is in the works, and that one will go head-to-head with our region’s most popular cars when it surfaces.

proton bosses

Also in progress as we type is the left-hand drive programme for the Preve range, which is needed to penetrate the Middle East and China markets. The latter is the tougher nut to crack, as Proton will need a suitable local partner.

The Preve isn’t what one would call cheap in Indonesia, but Proton does not want to fight on price alone. That was the case previously, but Khamil explains that “our strategy is to increase the price, but keep it affordable, value for money, and value for the tech we put in the car.”

Speaking of that, Indonesia-bound Preves are equipped with ABS, EBD, ESC, four airbags, ISOFIX, auto headlamps/wipers, cruise control, leather steering with buttons, CVT with paddle shifters, push start and auto air con, features that back up the above statement and set the car apart from the Vios/City class. Of course, it’s also five-star Australian NCAP rated.

Preve Indonesia-22

Also spotted is a Blaupunkt touch screen ICE system with GPS, something we don’t remember seeing in the domestic market Preve. This 2-DIN head unit has a minimalistic design with a single knob and a flap that hides the USB, AUX and SD card slots. It has been customised to display Proton and Preve logos on startup – pics are below.

We paid a recent visit to Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant where the Preve is made, and you can read colleague Jonathan’s inside view here. We also learnt that Proton has made minor tweaks to the Preve since launch, based on customer feedback. Full details here.

As for when the anticipated Preve Hatchback will be launched in Malaysia, “after Raya” is the answer from Proton’s top brass. Coming much sooner (this weekend) is new variant, one that is over 10% cheaper than the current car. We think it’s a Saga, and you can find out why here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• here we go..

who said indo price better than us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 53
    • Walao 90k for this? can get a Toyota already! hope can sell few units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 40
      • Tak best sebab takde turbo, enjin zaman Jepun, kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 63
        • Indonesian dont need turbo, actually they dont need big cars like this, the road there is like hell if you think KL traffic is hell you should go to Jakarta, then you will know what hell is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
        • azrai on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:46 am

CFE is a turboed engine lah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Veneno on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:54 pm

ni la orang kita.. mgharapkan syarikat negara sndiri yg jatug dan sanjung syarikat luar.. lame on you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • ntah.. on Jun 14, 2013 at 3:34 pm

yes, they can get a vios for that price.. it was stated in the article that the corolla which is in the same segment of the preve price started at rp330 million which is more expensive than the preve.. do you actually read the article before you comment? or you just simply make a conclusion out of the title..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • driver on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:11 pm

they did a good job in expanding the market.. i don’t what’s wrong with it. why butt-hurt?

• _xXx_ on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:52 am

aiyo…itu dlm punye aircon grille kasi tukar lah…mcm datsun pickup truck punye aduh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • bande on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:37 pm

aiya, aku tengok preve punya mcm beemer, toyota baru punya dashboard yg macam zaman toyota KE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • old dog on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:40 pm

lets see how many units they can sell there in Year 1 and Year 2…lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 36
    • Jimmy on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:30 pm

When people make the 1st 10% improvement, puji lah sikit, supaya mereka tau kita ada menghargai; menghargai banyak atau tidak, bergantung kepada the ultimate improvement over a specified period.
      Asyik membangkang, blindly if it is, bukannya baik sangat.
      Persaingan bebas diperlukan, be it politics or automotives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 14
    • unforgiven on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:40 am

If the sales target is not high, few thousands a month, who’s going to pay for the operating expenses, rental, gaji, advertisement?

• Expatriate VN on Jun 14, 2013 at 5:00 pm

How about after sales service like service center and spare part?

• Cowboy on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

wah, i see a lot of aunties promoter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
  • jolly_idiot on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 145
    • Andra on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Nobody will buy these in indonesia. I’m indonesian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 85
      • Peter on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:31 am

Why vote him down? Is this the way you guys be patriotic by only want to listen good comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 53
      • Alson P on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:05 pm

C-segment market is very small in Indonesia…. No wonder You wont buy it….

• Kenny G on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:25 am

u all who dislike the above statement, go to indonesia and check how many toyota on d road as compare to proton. toyota really selling good there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • alldisc on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:51 am

toyota sells in indonesia with the reliability and no-nonsense people carrier in a wide open market.

reliability is highly needed as the nearest service centre can be hundreds of km away.

• Izayoi on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Wow… five-star Australian NCAP rated. Is ours 5 stars as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • mystvearn on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Why hatchback “after raya”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • tricycle on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:51 pm

that’s why they go for only for 200 units. it is only for show purpose. no business sense at all.

remember we have facebook, google in the planet earth now, the world can feel your present if it needs to be, not just 200 units.

you can go to official site of honda, toyota and any other brand for the price comparison.

just don’t forget to put .co.id <—guide for idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
    • Indonesia’s car market is a very special case. The average Indonesian family has 3 or 4 kids, there is higher demand for MPVs and SUVs. 4 door sedan/saloon cars are a considered a luxury in Indonesia. Furthermore, Indonesia is still 3 or 4 times poorer than Malaysia (on per capita basis), and most families can only afford one car. This is why the ‘bajet’ Avanza and Innova is so extremely popular there.

Now we know why Proton only targeted 200 units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 136
      • Better don’t come at all. Think Proton like Porsche kah so exclusive 200 units?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 29
        • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:24 pm

the volume doesn’t speak whether it is exclusive or not. it is based on market demand and trend.
          Porsche target lower volume in Malaysia because of demand as well. Not all malaysians can afford to buy em.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Budget Avanza and Innova, still costly here. No wonder why new Avanza can’t sell at all here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • flat_tire on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:39 am

next stop.. zimbabwe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • OMG…So our Exora got sell there? if yes, how the sales? lol

• Alson P on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:14 pm

C-segment market is very small in Indonesia….. Exora have better target than Preve…. accounting for just around 1% of the total industry volume in Indonesia for C-segment car….

• Graham on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Aero, when you going to use auto like with this thread? All your other postings, within 1 hour, got about 200 likes in your postings. People know your tricks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Is Aero Optimus Prime? If yes then he can shout, “Autobots, transform!!!!” LOLOL

• greenbeast on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:49 am

3-4 time poorer than Malaysia (per capita).. but the middle income group/population has bigger number compare to our population….they can afford the price… Due to strong patriotic sense and some sentiments on our country, most Indonesian dont want to be traitor by purchasing this car…

• offis on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Market test, you don’t know business. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • blacktop on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:51 pm

got big screen for tac audio

• Terryble on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Anyway, the LCD unit is better than the current ones~~
    Wonder when will malaysia’s 1 start using that~~

Come on Proton~~give us a facelift Preve with a nicer interior~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • The Truth on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Although the market is tiny, this is done to give the staff who have been seconded to Indonesea a nice holiday. They will be given drivers, few maids each, big bungalows with pools, several sexy ladies to massage them. This is how companies waste money. To give the Proton name a presence is sheer bull. It is a crony way to give several staff from Malaysia a nice relaxing holiday in Jakarta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
    • You know very well…must be the company that u work for have a same practice…and u are one of them that have been enjoying all that benefit… so be it la…it’s not our tax money they spent anymore..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Tok Kok on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Cannot sell wan lah… got aunty promoter somemore!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • namanama on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:05 pm

damnit mafakas…90k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • Green on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:14 pm

wow. it DOES NOT make sense..:::

Proton Neo CPS A/T
    Price Rp. 198.000.000 = RM62,964

Proton Exora H Line 1.6 A/T
    Price Rp. 220.000.000 = RM69,960

Proton Waja 1.6 A/T
    Price Rp. 192.000.000 (RM61,056)

How would a Preve SHOOT UP to rRp. 285k = RM90k??

Proton is ripping off Indon for Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 39
    • No, it is not Proton who is ripping off the Indonesians. They are just adhering to the market trend.

Even at Rp285 million, the Prevé is Rp65 million cheaper than the cheapest Corolla Altis and Rp68 million less than the ‘bajet’ Civic.

Indonesians have low consumer rights, it is very sad indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 116
    • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:38 pm

i thought when Proton sell cheaper price outside, we will condemn Proton for not doing the same to us rakyat. When Proton do the other way, higher price at outside country, we will condemn damn u Proton, why u rip off those outsiders?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
      • exilim on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:43 pm

You still don’t know? That’s how proton bashers bash, haters always hate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
      • kambinganas on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:39 pm

You mean it is ok for Proton to rip people off as long as it is not us? How narrow minded can you be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
        • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:11 pm

how narrow minded can you be that you failed to detect the sarcasm in my previous comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Nvm, later it’ll be cheaper like Exora Star.

Here the price of crappy imported cars are increasing, that’s RIP OFF

• boomboom on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:23 pm

taxes for sedans in indo is significantly higher than for MPVs

• maybe you can list down all the technology the PREVE have and then compare back with all the cars you had mention..

• meng meng on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Now proton shot off our mouth.
    That we always complain proton selling price in other country cheaper than home country.
    But 1 thing we can sure is.
    Preve sale will very poor indo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • sxcger on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:06 pm

No, as proton haters hate proton they will say,”why so expensive, better buy (crappy) toyota”.

I can’t stop laughing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Abdullah on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:31 pm

It will not sell well in Indonesia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
  • imran on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:34 pm

can proton play in toyota dominated market..lets see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • how it can be rated as five-star Australian NCAP when it only comes with 4 airbags instead of the tested and certified unit that comes with 6 airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • EXACTLY! They can’t simply publish false information like this. Just for the sake of promoting “Proton” , they are lying to readers. In Australia, or Europe or America, if a car is fitted less than 6 airbags, safety ratings by NCAP will be no more than 3 stars. Cause for side and pole impact tests, the dummies will have prominent injuries to their heads and that could result in death without curtain airbags.

It has been studied and proven that ever since those countries implemented curtain airbags as a compulsory safety feature, death from side impact accidents has been reduced by over 60%!!! A VERY HUGE REDUCTION!

If proton continues to give us shit safety features, the government will never implement rules like these cause to begin with, the government doesn’t even care about their rakyat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
      • Overload of proton fanboys on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Guess there’s just too many Proton fanboys here to deny the fact that a Preve fitted with 4 airbags will not receive a 5 star safety rating by NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
        • It is not only proton fanboys will understood the pre-requisites to be eligible for 5 star rating in ANCAP. Even non-proton fanboys know that. They are front, side and head protecting curtain airbags(6 airbags) + ABS + EBD + ESC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • upalk on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:20 am

That’s australia, for asean ncap honda city got 5 stars only with 2 airbags. That’s the same case when you want to buy car, you look for US prices, stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
          • and not to confuse Australian NCAP with ASEAN NCAP. the rated 5 star comes from Australian, so it is not right to use that rating on Preve in ASEAN since ASEAN NCAP for proton only tested on FLX and FLX+. the requirements of ASEAN rating is so much lower compared to Australian, only ESC and seatbelt reminder is needed for 5 star eligibility. even the car has 1 airbag or none, it is still be eligible for 5 star rating as long as ESC and seatbelt reminder are there. using Honda City as pure comparison without comparing the pre-requisites is just purely naïve. that’s the reason our lives in Malaysia is still that cheap on the road. They are looking into the gimmick rather than understanding what it takes for a certain standards.

• NIEKO on Jun 14, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Hate to Object but the Honda City with 2 Airbag scored 5Star at Asia.ncap while the Proton Preve comes with 4 airbag soo,I hate to say this but the Preve will not only Beat the Honda but also all the other Cars in malaysia ,if you Test the Malaysian spec Honda and test it in Ancap.Australia it will only get 3 stars I know its hard to accept but its the truth. The Indo,Preve will Tapaw all the Toyota’s there, remember Indonesian’s don’t care about safety if they do ,Toyota would not be popular there

• Proton Staff on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Dual airbags and full curtain can receive 5 star ANCAP. 6 airbags without ESC will never get full star rating either. It is not all about airbags that impacting the star rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
        • capati on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:35 pm

sure, why not send the 4 airbag proton to be tested and see how it fares? why send the highest spec not available locally with 6 airbag when 4 airbag is enough to get the full 5 stars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
          • x-cross on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:04 pm

In Australia all preve have 6 airbags, why should they have to ditch 2 to do the test? Sigh.

Only know how to bash without brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
          • Proton Staff on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:17 am

That is why it is important to have our own NCAP. Asean NCAP already started. Proton already addressing their concerned with safety on their cars.

What i can tell you, and updated Preve with better safety is coming. This is to prepare the next wave of Asean NCAP to start testing C segment. They don’t want the same thing happened to Saga FLX which is scored 1 star and later 3 star with updated safety feature.

Just to let you know, alot of popular import cars over here does not comply with UNECE R94/R95. These models getting exclusion from JPJ. Proton want this to be an end. All cars should be comply with standard R94/R95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • yes, it is something we should be applauding since the G is taking the initiative on the 1st move towards safety. but ASEAN NCAP only needs ESC + seatbelt reminder (+ 2 airbags???) to be eligible for 5 stars rating. so, ASEAN NCAP standards will be much lower than Australian NCAP. Given the current spec on paper of Preve, we know it is already 5 star rated in ASEAN, but not in Aussie (ANCAP), which the marketing side is using. ANCAP = Australia, ASEAN NCAP = ASEAN. so shouldn’t the marketing side stop using ANCAP and instead use ASEAN NCAP as the wording in their marketing?

• alldisc on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:11 pm

no need asean NCAP, just follow euro NCAP which already has strict guidelines including pedestrian safety – reason why Jaguar cars has no more ‘leaper’ on the bonnet + pedestrian airbags as addition.

• Littlefire on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Just 1 question.. Why a lot of countries now are implementing at least 6 air-bags & ESP standard cars can only sell in their countries? Google all these safety feature and answer your own self that are u driving a safe car from our local Proton?

Air-bags got 2 kind, frontal & side + (Curtain air-bags)

ESP no need explain much, already Paul cover it already..

Do you think orang putih cincai sambil-lawa set 6 air-bags + ESP law without research?

• Front, side and head protecting curtain aibags(6 airbags) + ABS + EBD + ESC are pre-requisites of ANCAP 5 star rating eligibility. Anyone missing will not be eligible for that rating. U said dual airbags with full curtain? they r equivalent to 6 airbags right? And I do agree 6 airbags without ESC will not qualify for the 5 star rating since that doesn’t meet all the pre-requisites. Now, do 4 airbags even qualify for that?

• Safety Warden on Jun 14, 2013 at 6:42 pm

I think the general perception of the public (sometimes even automotive journalists) is that if a car is a 5 Star EURO NCAP / ANCAP, then the local variants are too.

This is so so wrong, maybe Paul should write an article about this. We need more articles about automobile and road safety. Only then will the automakers stop doing things like taking out ESC in a car priced around RM 150,000.

• Preve Indonesia equipped with “ABS, EBD, ESC, four airbags, ISOFIX, auto headlamps/wipers, cruise control, leather steering with buttons, CVT with paddle shifters, push start, and Blaupunkt touch screen ICE system with GPS”. I wonder if this added feature in Preve Malaysia, how much extra we have to pay? Additional RM15,000 to RM20,000 ? If Yes, sama saja. We get the stripped down version and claimed the car is more expensive in Indonesia. We are truly 1TrueSpinKing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
    • Proton Staff on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Ours is the same. Only the LCD is different. No stripping down version and still cheaper. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • capati on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:43 pm

why only compare it to indonesia?
        why not compare it to the price in middle east?
        why not compare it to whichever country that’s selling cheaper than ours?

85% excise to all local cars is just a label. proton got discounts from the bulk 85. and huge grants on top of that. level playing field?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
        • recitist on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Why don’t you ask gomen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Proton Staff on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:20 am

Feel free to read Proton financial statement. Proton paid excise tax and yes Proton receive RnD grant (175m). Just like ford/holden received hundred millions more of grant from their own government.

• Dru-Zod on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:38 am

Ford used the grant to come out with the award winning Eco-Boost engine family. Where are the deliverables from your grant? Saga FLX+, Preve hatch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • gtunbg on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Deliverable is nothing without benefits for customers. Fiesta Ecoboost 1.0 90k 3cyl who cares only you, haha!

• 100 years old FORD vs +-30 years old proton..sure PROTON win..”thinking!”

• I see, but only targeting 200 – 220 units per year only (or 20 units per month or 5 units per week). I still believe it is a just a show-boating to impress upon the market in Malaysia that we are getting a cheaper car here.

• Anonymous Coward on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:32 am

Wrong. It’s exactly the same specifications as the Premium variant sold here, EXCEPT for the new head-unit. The ones sold here have an unmarked head-unit.

• Gosdur on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Don’t worry Indonesians are way smarter to keep on buying Toyota lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
  • ben yap on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:21 pm

wow! at RM90K in indon is expensive but who cares? those indons agency maids have been sucking malaysians for decades!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • greenbeast on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:40 am

there are more rich people in Indonesia than Malaysia but the poorer one also too numerous to count. Indo has bigger population, almost 240 millions compare to our twenty something millions….the upper class can afford that price

• For this writers info, the Preve only got 5 star in the Australian NCAP due to the fact that it has 6 airbags!

4 air bags would only be bound to 3 star as head injuries will be prominent! Stop being so full of it claiming that a car with only 4 airbags can garner a 5 star rating from Australian NCAP. There’s no such thing as a 5 star rated car with only 4 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • Prev-aling Failure on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:03 pm

When the invited editor to the launch has more photos of the Double Din BlauPunkt player than the car itself … you know how boring the Preve is !

Tan Sri Jamil … your bunch of morons at Proton mgmt better SHAPE up….. Proton is no Audi or VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • Anonymous Coward on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:33 am

Uh… the player is new to the car. You already know how the car looks like.

• armandd on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Now who said proton cars are being sold at cheaper prices overseas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Andra on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Of course Preve will not sell wel in indonesia. High prices, and it’s a sedan. I’m indonesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 24
    • Big Boss on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:46 pm

I didn’t hire a maid to write stuffs on the internet. Pergi sambung kerja!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 48
      • chong on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:53 am

hei boss, i just boil some water, mind if we pour in this guy or should we just cut his finger?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
    • Alson P on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:39 pm

C-segment market is very small in Indonesia,…. accounting for just around 1% of the total industry volume for C-segment car in Indonesia…. MPVs and smaller cars rule in this dominated market…..

• PauKaya on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:15 pm

its too expensive. cars arent that expensive in indonesia you know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
  • Missing Airbags on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Indonesian has 4 airbags … Malaysian variant only 2 ….?

Malaysian life is worth less to Proton

so much for Malaysians supporting the national car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • ingres on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:01 pm

If like that then Malaysian life is worth much lesser to Toyota, Honda, etc…2 airbags!

so much for Malaysians paying hefty price for “imported” car

Sounds good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Dru-Zod on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:45 am

Malaysians could pay cheaper prices for imported cars if the government wasn’t trying to protect Proton and its Kroni vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • kolok on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Camry in US got 10, here got 2…?
      Shame

• Anonymous Coward on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:34 am

Wrong. There are three Malaysian variants: 1.6 IAFM+ Manual, 1.6 IAFM+ CVT and 1.6 CFE CVT. The last of these has exactly the same specs as the one sold in Indonesia.

Stop spreading FUD.

• Pontiac on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Which cronies? Tan sri vincent tan? Boon siew? Or yong ming? Who underdeclare tax to gain profits?

• Alson P on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Only one varian in Indonesia but 3 variant in Malaysia…..

• robin LIm on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:27 pm

whether the car going to sell well in indo is a question,but it certainly doesn’t help by not filtering the uploaded picture of the model.

• andra-fan on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Andra, you should say same things many times here, twice is not enough. Don’t forget to say you are Indonesian ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
  • b sensible on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:25 pm

i personally think proton is very slow in marketing their products…in that they are launching the products country by country, segment by segment…and by the time it introduce in one country, it will look dated as it was launched here in apr’12. the problem is that if you launch the car late, people will perceive the car as old. look not car is also a commodity as car sellers need to sell the cars fast or it will become obsolete!
    as proton is still not well known overseas, why they don’t want to offer its cars as taxi fleet, car rental, or official car to local gov rather than direct marketing. by that, they can gain knowledge on the market and building the brand name.
    i see it’s a long way to go for proton before it can say it’s a global car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • @b sensible
      Most likely I’m agree with u for strategy in Indonesian market
      Better proton penetrate corporate consumer rather than traditional market.
      Corporate market is also huge there, e.g:
      -taxi fleet: check thru mr google how Blue Bird & Express Taxi Group growing. Currently they using vios. They adding thousand units per year
      -car rental fleet: big player therr is also Blue Bird group, mpm rent, indorent, asys and many more with thousand units

I really can’t understand with proton biz strategy in indon, are they excting provit? Or else?
      If ther’re an easy way to gain money why choose hard one?

Aaah, wateva, as long as not using my tax money, but if yes: go to hell

• really…. anyone who knows a little about business will know that this “strategy to make people know that Proton is there” will definitely FAIL. what’s the point of wasting money to deliver the cars from klang to jakarta and make huge publicity? i just don’t understand proton’s management….

• Indonesia tax tinggi kereta Malaysia ke? Kenapa mahal sangat? Strategy proton ke jual mahal?

• nanashisan on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:57 pm

danny, are u purposely sharing pic 16 purposely? lol

• pergh patutlah sampai rm90k semua ada untuk preve sana, EBD, ESC, GPS, ISOFIX, ICE, ABC, CENDOL, etc etc

• Alson P on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Yes it is… all in there…. but only one variant in Indonesia

• RawDeal on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:33 am

What car does Jamil use on a daily basis to work ?

100% its not a PREVE nor even a Proton

So much for believing in one’s own product … and they expect us to bite the bait ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • atukkaubongok on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:02 am

silly, if you have 1 mil, do you arrive in kancil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • KepalaOtakKosong on Jun 14, 2013 at 6:42 am

You mesti kerja kat Proton… nak angkat bodek naik pangkat ke ?

Betul you cakap ….Preve itu kancil… KAKAKAKA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • NoBusinessSense on Jun 14, 2013 at 7:03 am

atukkaubongok

You saying you are the CEO of Nissan you will drive a BMW or Toyota to work ?

Obviously the kancil is smarter than you e

• frenzyaustin on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:41 am

If I have 1 million, definitely no. But if I am the boss of perodua, definitely drive a Myvi most of the time and maybe a Rolls Royce so that I know how my car can improve better when compare to a extremely higher level car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • beggar on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Talk is cheap, if you have 1 mil in your bank, you don’t even touch a myvi.

• hello on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:32 pm

The car he uses to work is a PROTON Exora. You can go to his reserved parking lot in Centre of Exellence.

• Derek Storm on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Actually he does drive a Preve to work everyday. I think if you ask any Proton staff and they’ll tell you that.

He does own a fleet of other cars though for leisure and stuff but he does drive a Preve to work everyday. So, don’t just make assumptions. Thank you. :)

• alfie on Jun 14, 2013 at 3:52 am

They purposely price higher in Indonesia because they know they wont or cant sell many units there BUT psychologically make the Malaysian think that that cars in Malaysia are cheap!!
    Just like an ugly girl if she want to look beautiful she try to go out with some one uglier than her so she look ‘pretty’. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • grimm on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:05 pm

So you suggest it’s similar thing with other automakers througout the world. Why so fuss?

• Doyok on Jun 14, 2013 at 7:56 am

Proton should sell Saga FLX at similar price with Vios, City RM65K at Indonesia…Bisa kah pak???

Hmmm Indonesia Saga FLX…250 juta rupiah….Brengsek Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Apa u orang mau lagi? Jual murah, compren, jual mahal, compren. That’s what they have decide, let them be :) At least they did make a new step, we’ll never know what will happen next. Though I dislike the idea of selling that price and Im not Proton staffs, they don’t care about my thoughts but I do hope that they can indeed achieve something. All ze best!

• sammyloo on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:38 am

So this ‘global car’ is just for displaying in the ‘global’ showrooms lah?

• Inspiraa on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:09 pm

OK Proton can try sell Inspira in Indonesia also…same price Altis there RM120K…let’s see how many smart cowoks get it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Norman on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Stop being a Pussy Proton!Thought after the govt sell to drb getting better but instead getting greedier.Should just sold to Honda at least you will see Saga using Fit 1.3 engine,Preve,Neo using Civic 1.6 engine and Saga SE using City 1.5 engine or Exora using Stream 1.8 engine..No need fancy Turbo engine.Nevermind if its over 4 years technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • keyal on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:09 pm

If you want old tech better ask for toyota engines and gears. It’s so suitable for you.

• smilm on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:22 pm

If you want 20 years tech also can, choose Atoyot, oooops Toyota

• v-power on Jun 14, 2013 at 4:36 pm

I don’t think many Indonesians are willing to fork out 285 million rupiah…for a Malaysian-made car!

Yes, it undercuts the Altis & base Civic by some margin, but which C-segment model would they rather have take pride of place (or pride)in their driveway…even if it will cost them an arm and a leg…?

After numerous ‘friendly fire’ over the years between our two countries, on various issues, national pride will be at a high…and Proton decides to step into the lion’s den and flog the Preve at a wallet-busting 285 mil rupiah…!

And Proton boss Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil iron-clad strategy was that ‘…Proton wasn’t fighting on price alone’…? Err…excuse me Tan Sri, but you MIGHT want to schedule a ‘pow-wow’ with your marketing dept…

If the 200-220 allotted Preve’s fail to set sales alight…Proton presence there would be nothing more than a 5-star bling-bling launch, some paparazzi fodder for the Indon tabloids/ lifestyle glossies and probably a nice sumptuous dinner for the Proton & DRB top brass as well…

Well, despite all this I could be proven wrong…and to be fair, I sincerely hope they do…

• gOOsh on Jun 14, 2013 at 5:59 pm

ala… kalau PROTON offer high spec and harga murah, bukannyer korang nak beli pun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Kamil on Jun 14, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Saya tak suka kereta PROTON. Tiada kualiti. RM90,000? Elok beli HONDA/TOYOTA…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • justLooking on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:55 am

lantaklah nak jual harga mahal ke kt indon..nnti jual harga murah dr kt malaysia korang jg yng kecik ati…komen mcm2..harga mahal slah murah pn salah.. choii!!!!

• kingkool84 on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Hujan emas di negeri orang, hujan batu di negeri sendiri, lebih baik negeri sendiri.

• SEPATUTNYA PROTON BOLEH BUAT LEBIH DARI INI. LIHAT HYUNDAI BERAPA MAJU MEREKA….. ENGINEER PROTON MAKAN GAJI BUTA…. KERETA KUALITI ENTAH APA-APA…… SEPATUTNYA SEMUA KERETA PROTON HARGA DI BAWAH RM50 RIBU….. KERAJAAN KENA HAPUSKAN CUKAI UNTUK KERETA NATIONAL….. JIKA NAK KENAKAN CUKAI UNTUK NON NATIONAL CAR LANTAKLAH SEBAB ORANG KAYA MASIH BOLEH BELI KERETA NON NATIONAL TETAPI GOLONGAN BERPENDAPATAN RENDAH SEHARUSNYA BOLEH MEMBELI KERETA TEMPATAN DENGAN HARGA YANG RENDAH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Rameyuk on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:38 am

I’m actually the very first buyer for Preve in Indonesia, ordered it straight when it was launched here. Honestly I was taken aback at the price they released. I was expecting it to be no more than Rp220 mil or around RM 72,000. Same price as in Malaysia. I think that’s why I’ve been waiting for over a year for it to arrive in Indonesia, ever since it was launched in Malaysia back in 2012.

But after thinking about it, and taking a look at the actual car. It’s actually competing against Corolla Altis and Civic, but with the same price as a Toyota Vios. Weighing the options between price/features. Preve wins hands down.

It’s true C-segment markets are pretty much dead in Indonesia. Most people would rather be buying MPVs or SUVs due to road conditions and family size. But that makes C-segments even more of an interest to me. MPVs are too mainstream here, lol.

I don’t really care about the tensions/sentiments between our two beautiful countries. Honestly, those that are saying “buying malaysian car is a traitorous act” are just egotistical idiots. True nationalist/patriotic people are those that are brave enough to look past our differences and coexist peacefully and advance both countries together. Not trying to bash each other. Make love, not war.

• javanese on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Javanese people agree with you .. and egoistic sentiment between both civilizations will eventually be a time bomb. strengthen our economy should not be trapped by the name of war.

• Preve’s spec it as good as the Accord in fact.

• Car Watch on Jun 22, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Japan and Korea Car Manufacturers already cut prices n gv lot of discount in Indonesia (even dumping prices below the price in their own country so they can producing) since Japanesse Yen has depreciated against USD. Now, Proton is selling w/ price above KL’s Price and above the industry average in Indonesia? Just announce the 30% discount already lah! Or No sales

• otong on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:35 pm

at least your government put their heart and money (your money) to boost this industry so when people googling Proton its Malaysian flag will show next to it. two sides of a blade either cut your enemy or cut your self

• great kipas on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:16 pm

indon dungu goblok aja akan beli proton si maling ini..

• ini sahaja proton mampu on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Engineer proton makan gaji buta.. makan pisang..

• Car_Crash_Investigator on Dec 01, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Basher bash, haters hate….why people..?..nothing perfect la…even those Japs car didn’t go so well, my father owned a 2011 Accord, servis ikut masa, minor or major accident pun tak pernah, (my father love his car, and yes, dia jaga mcm anak sendiri, u know what I mean) but still, there’s a prob. Those hundreds of button on the dashboard did not work, noisy as the noise from outside, engine, beam etc easily penetrate the cabin, leaking sana, leaking sini, hantar pergi Honda Centre, the lame salesman said itu masalah biasa dan kecil and there’s many other Honda model face even more problem…… My sister with her upgrade version of exora 2011 (w/o turbo) even better than the Accord, I did not say proton is way better than others car brand, but foreign carmaker pun got their own prob. on their car…. People are blinded by the brand, sebut Europe car, org fikir psl quality, dashboard etc, sebut japs and Koreans, safety, power bla bla etc…. Sama je lah, nnti genap 12 tahun, the Gvmnt suruh lupus kereta lama……… Haiyaa……

• COMMENTAR on Feb 24, 2014 at 12:56 pm

GOOD TO SEE PROTON MOVING FORWARD BUT I HOPE IN FUTURE CEO/DIRECTOR ETC.. TO DRESS MORE LIKE A REAL BUSINESSMAN AND LOOK SMART SO THEY CAN REPRESENT PROTON SO BUYERS WILL HAVE MORE CONFIDENT FOR THE PRODUCT