The Proton BLM: watch this space tomorrow!

BLM TeaserTomorrow is the launch day of the new Proton BLM, which will replace the “classic” Proton Saga with a new modern model with updated crash safety, and updated internals.

Can Proton produce something that is baseline yet still looks stylish? Something that when you look at it, you may think that the owner could have afforded something else but decided to buy the BLM instead because of its value of money. Basically not something that you are forced to buy because of price alone. If Proton manages to achieve this with the Proton BLM, it will have a huge one up over cars like the Renault Logan.

You’ll find out when you come back to this blog at 5:30PM on the 18th of January 2008 (tomorrow) to find out the full scoop on the new Proton Saga replacement, including a short test drive report.

In the meanwhile, read the previous posts on the BLM linked below:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:25 pm

it’s going to fill the road…everywhere u gonna see the BLM…
    just like the wira nowdays…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:35 pm

Fill the road? Just like stone age old saga? If really it is phenomenon sales, then this model will help Proton take back “jaguh kampong” title from P2, that previously MyVi managed to snatched away from P1.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Is that the cover is over size, or the BLM is undersize?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:43 pm

Agree!

can’t wait for a tomorrow’s event for BLM!
    See it Live!

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:05 pm

A noob question: Where will the new proton be officially revealed?

• want_diy (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Go BLM go!!!…can’t wait to feel it!!!…xcited

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:17 pm

Can’t wait to see the car, at the same time can get some free food too….. jom ke showroom proton.

• Bebelon (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:24 pm

can’t wait tomorrow…hope will be a good car for Malaysian

• ndmervin (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Doob! Doob! Doob! Feel the pulse of the BLM??? :O

Yes, its gonna flood the streets this time. Eat your heart out, P2’s Viva and Myvi!

• calwinsingh (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:31 pm

=) I Hope It’ll Be A Good Suprise… cant wait…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:34 pm

You’re lucky guys, got the chance to smell the car thats becoming a local legend…the legendary SAGA.

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Beli Lah Macha – Bermutu Lagi Murah!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:48 pm

Hope it’s not another nightmare for consumers.

• seperlinky (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:54 pm

i will love to hear the complains ;)

• xstan (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 6:20 pm

I would anticipate to read test drive review of Paultan. Review 1st…launch & inspection of the vehicle of my 2nd piority. Doono why..no interest to own it but the good buzz has effectively arouse my anticipation. Good one…just to hear both side of views. View of Blind Basher not welcome.

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Is it going to be launched in KLCC ??

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 6:54 pm

I really count on you for the report Paul. You’ll be one of my reliable sources. Ok 5:30 pm tomorrow will be my appointment with you.

Sorejya mata ashita..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:06 pm

Malaysia Bull-eh!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:09 pm

Aiya…sadly i am working….can watch from internet?

• rikeys (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:26 pm

birdie info with 90+ ponies very good for a 1.3
    looks like the vim works

• szw (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:05 pm

fast fast , can’t wait !!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:11 pm

To rikeys. The Campro 1.3 comes with IAFM (Intake Air Fuel Module) which can be found in this New Saga. The VIM (Variable Inlet Manifold) is on the Campro 1.6 CPS (Cam-shaft Profiling Switching System) engine which can be found later on Waja CPS and Gen.2 CPS models.

Below just a general post, so not only to you rikeys.
    We must look at present (now), and look in to the future. Why still looking back 1985? We must understand and know our history but not pushing everything back which we have now, back to the past. Most of us here look at the situation now and learn now, improve now, work smart and hard now etc., for the future.

Paul, I’m going to read your report here. Hopefully you have enough time to take a bit more pictures including some close up pictures. Of course, I’m going to the showroom to look, feel and test drive the car.

Happy motoring.

• darkwizard (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:28 pm

Does this 17:30 18 Jan 2008 lunching also for other state as well? Sabah and Sarawak same time also?

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:33 pm

tanasi said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 5:37 pm

Beli Lah Macha – Bermutu Lagi Murah!
    ————————–
    -yeah.. i like this trademark… Bermutu Lagi Murah..

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:35 pm

seperlinky said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 5:54 pm

i will love to hear the complains

——————————–
    -not complaints…. but feedbacks/comments…

• ENZO (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:53 pm

finally the legendary Saga going to ‘retired’………..
    Flood the road with nice, well performance & Locally made car is not a bad news.
    hahaha~~~~~

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:25 pm

hmm, that explains the empty (no cars on showroom floor!!) showroom at TTDI. Just passed it couple of mins ago.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:37 pm

DAMN I CANT SLEEP NOW!!!

• ydf2112 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:49 pm

the launching will be in KL Convention Center… just pass thru walkway in front the hall…got 2 cars outside with ‘selimut’ and guarded…
    one is normal sedan and one with ‘superb’ accessories…16′ or 17′ sport rims… for 1.3 engine… the only proton did…hebat proton…

• ydf2112 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:55 pm

launching will be in KL Convention Center… just pass thru walkway in front the hall…got 2 cars outside with ‘selimut’ and guarded…
    one is normal sedan and one is ‘superb’ accessories… 16′ or 17′ sport rims… the only proton did for 1.3 engine… hebat proton

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:05 pm

ezralimm said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 9:25 pm

hmm, that explains the empty (no cars on showroom floor!!) showroom at TTDI. Just passed it couple of mins ago.

——————————–
    -me too… just looking around PJ… i didn’t see that car but has a many SAs very busy with their balloons…. maybe they do some preparations….

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:11 pm

Old SAGA (1985-2008) – R.I.P

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:19 pm

Hope that this car can cause a big hit and beat the Myvi and Viva!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:22 pm

paul nice hype you create here….at 530 tomorrow your blog will be jam with readers….hope to read good review from you tomorow paul…g luck BLM g luck P1

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:29 pm

White Jack said,

January 17, 2008 @ 6:30 pm

Is it going to be launched in KLCC ??
    —————————
    >>>Exactly!! I just went to CoE USJ4 just now, the guy told me it’ll be launched after Friday prayers at KLCC!!

This is goin to b interesting. Wonder if it’s gonna b one hell of a party ala Karnival TV3….

• skil2u (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:34 pm

I’m really very excited. cant wait for tomorrow. Hope Paultan shows more picture

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:46 pm

the crowd anticipation (or shall i say expectation) is very high….. please guys don’t set your standard to high laa for a base line model with 30k price. otherwise you’ll be frustrated when it release.

peace all! cant wait for tomorrow.

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:52 pm

just hope you site won’t crash =_=”

The anyone cannot go in XD.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:57 pm

blm clone

like Renault Logan

http://www.mahindrarenault.com/logan/index.htm

nice BLM more!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:48 pm

yeah paul are ur servers ready for the traffic?

• tembadau (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:16 am

darkwizard said,

January 17, 2008 @ 8:28 pm

Does this 17:30 18 Jan 2008 lunching also for other state as well? Sabah and Sarawak same time also?
    ———————————-
    maybe bro,;)wah, cant wait la dis blm

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:31 am

Wah! Everybody semua sangat happey, bagus2. To the first batch of lab creatures who participate in this program, good luck! ;)

• bash (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:44 am

lots of comment will be posted..whether from basher, defender, constructive critsicm, and praise.

• zzua (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:56 am

i’ve got this kind of feelings.. just the same ones i felt when i was in the cinema to see transformers the movie.. kinda nerveuos.. dunno what to expect.. but i’ll be positive.. go proton! i’ll be watching!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:46 am

There is that TATA Nano thing. Which is smaller and cheaper too. People who only have so little to spend will go for it and Logan..if BLM’s price is higher than those cars

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:56 am

mystvearn said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 1:46 am

There is that TATA Nano thing. Which is smaller and cheaper too. People who only have so little to spend will go for it and Logan..if BLM’s price is higher than those cars
    ——————————————

i wont even im in that kind of situation, little money. id rather take loan for blm if logan and nano sell here. indian made car quality is far worst than proton. i think on par with china made car. its not safer too. only mindless stingy people will buy that.

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:06 am

I’m so excited!!!
    can’t wait to see the birth of my first car 2moro…
    syoknyer…..

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:10 am

seperlinky said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 5:54 pm

i will love to hear the complains

================
    belum launch lg dh think negatively…
    relax….
    n give a chance la beb!!
    whatever other people say…i’m always here for u proton BLM!!!!!
    mybe we can start a BLM SAGA club after this ha!??
    cool!!!

• bash (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:11 am

TATA NANO are in diff level with the BLM..maybe with kancil boleh la..

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 7:07 am

can’t compare tata nano with this proton blm… already know the result..
    tata – no aircond, no radio, no paint bumper, no central locking….

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 7:54 am

i’ll drop by to check the car in KK proton this evening..
    wohoo..dont know what to espect..!
    & yes misspurple..there shld be a BLM club after this..sure be cool! :

• shaif (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:07 am

My brother is looking for his first car. This might be it. Gonna persuade him..at least for a test drive. For me, I’m waiting for Waja FL with all the CPS, VIM and whatever it got. Go Proton…:)

• wheregotcar (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:17 am

aiyoo jgn over-xcited.. u ppl make me nervous oso

• want_diy (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:51 am

I hope P1 won’t disappoint rakyat this time..all da best SAGA!!!

• piaa (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:52 am

ayooo..u all ah, make this site hot la!! everybody xcited lor.
    it’s will be more excitment then celebrating new year hahahaha!!! 1st see the the new SAGA, others model talk later la bro!

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:57 am

Shaif, me too, last month, my lil sister has KIVed her Persona for this car. She was a little bit sceptical at first, but I have “racun”ed her. Due to her situation as newly graduated, personally I think Persona is a bit luxurios for her. She seems more interested in this car now. Heheh.

• want_diy (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 9:18 am

Good luck P1,SAGA!!!…but still risky for those first batch buyer…It would be great if we just wait n see first to see feedback from this ‘lab rat’.hehe…but in term of design..its already a good job from P1…

• tkp (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 9:28 am

Haha.. already thinking of BLM Saga club eh? what about BLM fans merge with the Saga-Iswara Club? BLM also consider Saga maa… huhu…

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 9:44 am

tkp said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 9:28 am

Haha.. already thinking of BLM Saga club eh? what about BLM fans merge with the Saga-Iswara Club? BLM also consider Saga maa… huhu…

============================

sure dude…anything goes!
    the more the merrier!!!
    hehehe

• ganz (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 10:06 am

saw one yesterday… speeding from federal highway up to subang airport road (n i just turn into glemmeries ).. white color with a trade plate.. a bit suspicious on the shape….. kekekekkeke..but sure fast

• paxter (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 11:30 am

lets make a bet! on which post will bigfish bash the blm? i say post 10…

anyways the car has pretty much became part of the ordinary rakyat identity… the iswara was my first car…. although i wont be buying a blm, i cant wait to see it! hope proton will stand strong today… lots of ppl expecting a lot from this humble car.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:16 pm

woah , lots of us here are so excited and nervous.its like ur first time having sex…!

relax la , lets all enjoy the occasion !

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:26 pm

tkp said,

——————————————————————-

u promoting Saga-Iswara-Club in here? :)

• milkysusu (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 12:45 pm

Just now went to Nibong Tebal showroom, the front still havent display. So I walked to the BACK of the showroom. Then I saw all sales rep are being briefed about the car. There was a black SAGA there waiting to be washed as it is quite dirty due to rain yesterday when delivery. The sales rep allows me to sit inside and have a look. From what I saw, it is very very IMPRESSIVE work by PROTON !! All material is very solid and I dont see much cost cutting effort in this car. The dashboard plastic is a little better than MYVI plastic. And the door side also has some fabric finishing.

I am more than 6 foot tall and what I can say about the SAGA is that it is very very spacious inside. Even when the front seat is pulled all the way to the back, I still can sit comfortably at the back with a little legroom to spare!! :lol:
    The seats are very comfy fabric. Sitting at the back seat, the feel is more or like the HONDA CITY where the headroom and legroom is very impressive. The steering is like the Satria NEO but there was no any audio control button. However, the three spole steering is kinda too thick which obstruct the view of the meter panel. :sweat: The electric window switch has a very very good feel (way much better than SAVVY feel), same goes to the signal and wiper stalk (the signal is at the left, wiper at the right, all follow the european style). Well, the meter is the as SAVVY without the stupid yellow background and revised digit font, now it is in black color with PERSONA orange-red light illuminating it! (very cool!!)

When I requested the sales person to start the engine, well the sound of starting is VERY VERY COOL!! (Just like what you hear in those VIOS and CITY, no longer rough starting sound like LMST) The engine sound is very quiet indeed. However, I havent started the air-con, so still dunno how loud will the air con will produce (hopefully not like the crazy loud sound from LMST )

There was a total of 5 cup holders two at the front , one at the centre between the two seats, and 2 at each doors (under side of it). The glovebox is still the same as SAVVY and the feel of closing it is sad to say , same as before :sweat: :sweat: The closing gap is still not aligned properly but this is only the part that I discover to have misaligned, other place is just perfect. The door opening feel is like “half” of the feel of TOYOTA VIOS shutting feel. But really good if compared to SAVVY and LMST.

The boot is considered large for this kind of car size, the light was at the middle top and the usable space is very reasonable. One thing worth to mention for this SAGA is it have a FULL SIZE spare tyre under the boot!! :thumbs: :thumbs: Though not alloy rim, just a steel rim. This is very good compared to others which provide small tiny spare tyre….

All seems good to this SAGA and I can definitely say that this will be the HOTTEST SELLING CAR in 2008!!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:30 pm

milkysusu, this is the 1st feedback from you who are actually touch the car.
    More to come after 5.30 PM. Then all of us will “smell what the bashers and defenders is cooking”.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:36 pm

paxter said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 11:30 am

—————
    Can’t deny your statement, I will go to nearby Proton showroom to have “BigFish assesment” by “touch-smell-elbow-press-see2&look2”, and not forgoten bang the door kuat2 to “observe” the quality built. Hopefully I have the chance to test drive this new kid on the road.

Will be back after 5.30 PM!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:51 pm

tkp said,

————-
    Don’t be over excited with Club, people form club because of hobby or love for certain thing. For Iswara, most if not all bought it because of limited budget. To form a BLM/Iswara club, then it is likely just invite complaints!

If form Satria GTI then it is well understood, there are “hardcore lover” for this car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:54 pm

Show starts at 4pm. Be ready…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:56 pm

milkysusu said,

All seems good to this SAGA and I can definitely say that this will be the HOTTEST SELLING CAR in 2008!!
    —————————————————————-

Don’t worry, it will be.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Paul,
    I can see a smiley at the bottom, very excited to see the car ah?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Pak Lah will launch the car at the Centre of Excellence I think, so we won’t be able to see the car until 4 pm.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:07 pm

milkysusu,

Thanks for the teaser, will see the car later.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm

Someone must be Proton salesman come with ………………… Sure sooner or later P2 salesman will come in …………….

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:27 pm

just get ready now la.. :)

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 2:27 pm

aiyaaa… you milkysusu, spoil my mood today… im hoping for paul to post but………. haiyaaa… hahahaha
    anyway, i also want to spoil too. i just touched the car too. i went to the showroom this morning since ive already booked earlier and second person at that puchong branch. it is black color. the bumper feel solid. the wheel arch is somehow same size as current honda city. suitable for its tire size. overall, i think it lookss more expensive than its price. so this is a bargain.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:01 pm

paxter said,

“O ya, most of my comments on BLM also positive!”
    – Comment Posted By BigFish On 17.01.2008 @ 00:01

Huhu.. this new saga is gonna be big. Hell freezing over liaoz..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:28 pm

If the car have better build like Persona, why have to bang the door hard (x2). With moderate efford the door will close nicely and sound nicely if built good. Unless the door built like those old lorry. Have to give more efford to close.

Anyway, have to see and feel it to give more comments.

Happy motoring.

• madimat (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

BigFish said;

“…I will go to nearby Proton showroom to have “BigFish assesment” by “touch-smell-elbow-press-see2&look2″, and not forgoten bang the door kuat2 to “observe” the quality built”

I bet you didn’t dare to do that (bang the door kuat2) during the previous launches of new Civic, Lancer, Accent, Livina, bla bla bla etc etc …

• paxter (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:35 pm

to BigFish

well you are the reason i enter the forums kinda fun to read from another perspective. Good luck and happy bashing! I am still keeping hope… 1 last time!

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:45 pm

dear milkysusu,
    doin an early review??
    hehehehe sudah lawan taukey!!!
    anyway thanks for the info though!!
    really appreaciate it!!
    cant wait for paul’s review though!!!

jeng…jeng….jeng!!!!

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:54 pm

BigFish said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 1:51 pm

tkp said,

————-
    Don’t be over excited with Club, people form club because of hobby or love for certain thing. For Iswara, most if not all bought it because of limited budget. To form a BLM/Iswara club, then it is likely just invite complaints!

If form Satria GTI then it is well understood, there are “hardcore lover” for this car.

=================
    what a terible thing to say?!!!
    u think people who own cheaper n better bargain car like this BLM SAGA is not worthy of having a club is it??
    so harsh of u….
    even if we buy cheap cars due to our limited budget doesnt mean tht we dont hav any motoring spirit!!!!
    i LOVE every single thing that i spend my money on!
    for instance tis BLM SAGA.
    isn’t tht sufficient enough to form a club?
    anyway, its my hard earned money!!

what do u care????

• GTI (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:57 pm

5 minutes more to 4 pm…

• GTI (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:00 pm

2 Minutes more…

ha..ha so exited.. dun know why…

• GTI (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:08 pm

already started… watch RTM 1…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:10 pm

BigFish said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 1:51 pm

tkp said,

————-

—————————————————————-

iswara club is big and they are just as hardcore as well.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:10 pm

huh… why 5.30 is sooo long…

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:11 pm

lol.. those in the office want to watch..
    go to this site :-
    http://um.com.my/streaming/v1/modules.php?name=Video_Stream&page=watch&id=1

be careful make sure your boss not around. :D

• want_diy (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:11 pm

wwwaaa…i’m still at the office loorr…hihi..

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

Paul, how about last night teaser demo?? no update??

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:13 pm

Should be 5.30pm launching right ? How come 4pm tak sabar tunggu ? hehe…

• jared323f (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:25 pm

I managed to have a sneak preview of the Saga during lunch time today courtesy of my salesman friend. I saw the green M -Line one with driver’s side airbag. I was impressed to say the least. Since it was not properly launched yet, I only managed to watch the car in the basement of the dealer’s showroom.
    I booked one, B-Line Solid White Auto.
    The boot space is impressive and interior space is good for a 35K car considering my small family (me, my pregnant wife and my 8 y.o daughter.

• want_diy (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 5:09 pm

hehe..thanks ‘fadzlizuka’….my boss tumpang sekaki la pulak…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 5:16 pm

ezralimm said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 3:01 pm

paxter said,

“O ya, most of my comments on BLM also positive!” – Comment Posted By BigFish On 17.01.2008 @ 00:01
    ——————–
    The above statement is applicable to pre-launch BLM up to 17 hour 29 minutes 29 seconds. Please take note this statement may be no longer valid from 18 Jan 08, 17.30 PM onward after the tough “BigFish Assesment” aka “touch-smell-elbow-press-see2&look2″, and not forgoten bang the door kuat2 to “observe” the quality built.

• tkp (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 5:28 pm

my pc clock is now 5.29…. but need to go home either…
    well i’ll just review back on Monday :P