VIDEO: Perodua snubs Proton in Axia launch gambit

Perodua did something cheeky during the Perodua Axia‘s launch gambit last night. During one of the scenes showcasing the Axia’s claimed fuel economy, the numbers counted up to 18.2 km/L and paused for a while before rising up to the Axia’s claimed 21.6 km/L.

No official word about it, but this is clearly a reference to the Axia’s 1.0 litre 1KR-DE’s number beating the fuel economy figures released by Proton on the PCC/Iriz‘s new 1.6 litre VVT engine last week – 5.5 litres per 100 km at a constant 90 km/h, which translates to 18.2 km/L. Proton also claims NEDC cycle numbers of 6.6 litres and 7.4 litres per 100 km for the manual and CVT variants respectively.

Of course, the Perodua Axia is not in direct competition with the new baby Proton – one being in the A-segment and the other in the B-segment, one having a small three-cylinder engine and the other, a bigger (comparatively, of course) four-cylinder engine – but Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid was quick to wish the first national carmaker well on its new car.

“We wish them well, we hope this is the turning point for Proton,” he said yesterday at the pre-launch press conference. “We are in different segments, and each (product) has its own strengths. Let’s together be successful.”

You can watch the video below for the launch gambit – skip to the 1 minute 26 second mark for the part with the fuel economy numbers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yang benar on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:08 pm

macam gempak… tengok tgk eler… perodua je… peee lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 33
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Later P1 make a 23.7km/l.
      You just wait. Buy more Proton so riz and I can drive BMW.
      Go buy now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • riz (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:24 pm

u mentioned me ?
        never like a Bimmer, give me Nissan GTR
        hahaha just kidding,
        Do everyone know that Daihatsu/Toyota have another
        1.0litre engine that claimed FC 27-28km/l
        1KR-FE 69 PS at 6,000 rpm, 92 Nm

there’s better engine out there, but only sold in Japan.. maybeee , who knowss….

• kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:23 pm

no need for p1 to snub since its engine 1.6L vs p2 1.0L pretty close with smaller engine..if 1.6L is claim 18km/l wat bout 1.3L variant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Proton can claim whatever they like, they used to give brilliant figure while launching Saga BLM. Later the driver found out, Saga is the most fuel saving while they are parked at car park.

They syok sendiri their issue. Fact and public feedback will tell how thirsty is Proton engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 63
        • samelorsark on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:07 pm

P2 claimed Saga FC is 12.2km/l that’s city driving. But axia’s 21.6.

That’s for city driving? P2 conned people lor. Too desperate to get sales, even with different segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:37 pm

When the world trend is getting smaller engine with more power and better fuel consumption, you see 1.6 is equipped in the B segment hatchback.

See the gap of technology!!!

When they launch new D segment, then it will be 8L V16??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

yaris 1.5, fiesta 1.5L, jazz 1.5L, mazda2 1.5L, picanto 1.4L, latio 1.8, pug 208 1.6L, polo 1.6L?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Good point. 1.5-1.6L engines are still alive and well…different manufacturers will have different ways of doing things. I remember Toyota saying that they will not follow the downsizing + turbo trend but will use the Atkinson cycle on their engines to increase fuel-efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:20 pm

These are for performance, not for fuel consumption. That 1.6 is neither fuel saving or powerful… what for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:48 pm

since when yaris, jazz n fiesta is for performance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • samelorstpd on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:11 pm

1.6 CFE is powerful, Civic, Sylphy, Forte, Altis where got 205Nm? Haahaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • driver on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:52 am

I tried to believe, from your comments, that you’re genuinely concern about p1 and people’s ride quality. I really did.

But after the above comment, the only title that is worth for you is just “P1 hater”. Nothing more, nothing less.

Why?

• maxefic on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Only people who still live in stone age think good engine should have a high hp/liter. Today we talk about hp/fuel consumption. We dont care about displacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:14 pm

paultan need new episode of Driven featuring axia vs iriz genting showdown..but dont give harve drive iriz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Kah kah kah….

Do you think P1 ever bothered???

They dont even have a game plan!!!! They are lost in their own world!!!! They can bring Tun ka, Luca De Montezemollo ka, Carlos Ghosn ka, but fact remains a fact, P1 memang syiok sendiri thinking they are the best in da world…..ahaks……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
  • medic on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Maybe P1 should snub P2 with the lack of Vehicle Stability Control…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 11
    • agreed..
      ABS/BA/EBD only comes for Axia from RM37k+
      near the Iriz RM42k , fuhhh thats close enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Hopefully Proton’s VSC will work…

While they can’t even make the power window right, for the VSC… hm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 69
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:49 pm

proton make vsc ,6 airbags???

ahahahah

i know laa ur vios has no such faetures n u believe all these produced by maker???

jajajjajaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
        • DrCooper on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Automakers don’t make the stability control but they got it from the specialist company who made the system… There only certain companies makes the system globally…Proton have it from the best of all…BOSCH

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
        • my power windows still ok,,
          u need tu lubricant them sometimes..
          same as other cars, expecially for smokers
          and those who always park the car outside under the sun.
          My friend myvi’s windows got stuck sometimes, put in some lubes, and its good as new.
          put it before it broke.. well, even if it broke , still has lifetime warranty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • jongos on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:02 pm

it is year 2014, and you are still talking about power window. and as if other cars (including perodua) dont have the same problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • pengguna UMW keciwa on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Serius UMW mybi no power window prob?? Using 6month got prob all door change at SC. Now got prob again after 3 year. DIY repair. N now 6 year got same prob. Also my wife use myvi 2008. Power window prob till now. My dad avansa.. 1 year got front wheel. 2year engine bearing prob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • You don’t need VSC/Traction control in this small vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 82
      • medic on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:32 pm

So says the loser…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:35 pm

If Proton Axia not selling well, they will start selling bicycle with VSC and TRC.

Easy to install, easier to talk and sell; working or not, none of our problem. You buy you die your own problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 44
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

p1 previously make carbon fibre mountain bikee..called T-Bolt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:21 pm

So does the T bolt has power steering? 6 airbags?

Did Proton ever make condom? because Protection Always Best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:32 pm

no p1 not produce condom..but world biggest condom manufacturer is called Karex n its brand Carex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Karex is boleh company..

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

That’s why you never see Karex begging money from government. Taking tax payers as their ATM.

Products good, no need worry of sales.

Karex make record of RM12.6mil net profit while Proton beg for RM1.6bil. What a contrast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:26 pm

it is weird that nobody compare iriz with yaris since yaris wheelbase is 2550mm vs iriz 2555mm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Maybe because the Yaris is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay out of the Iriz price range.

• Clubuxx on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Same l0rr…proton Axia?hahahahaahaha. Idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:35 pm

EuroNCAP will not agree with that statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • DrCooper on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:19 pm

On the contrary…relatively short wheel base cars like axia and to that extend, Myvi and Iriz are imminently caught into spin in corner..so actually need VSC more

• yeah maybe u are right.. maybe,,
        but for ABS brake its a must for all variant,
        RM37k AXIA at least for ABS.. hurm…..
        VSC/Traction control help alot in the rain u know.
        more confident driving.
        the car so light and easily get slip/skid.
        HYDROPLANNING
        sharp turn or avoiding something on the road during emergency also gonna get your car skidding.
        well proton Iriz have all that safety feature starting from RM42k .. isnt it worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Abu Sayur on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:00 pm

shud show dead passengers in the perodua. morbid moment sry

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Let the snub wars begin! Perodua has drawn first blood. Let’s see if Proton responds.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Hm…come to think of it, the Iriz and Axia FC comparison isn’t that straight also. But since both uses the NEDC combined cycle for FC rating, Perodua should have paused the FC rating at 13.5 km/l (7.4 l/100km).

• p1orp2 on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:36 pm

even the 6-bag model for highline 1.6, still all variant score 5 star in ANCAP, due to VSC, TC, HHA proven 5 star ancap and better handling for all variant. +1 for proton iriz.

for perodua. i just test drive the advance version today. for my opinion, the new axia is worth the price too if compare to current perodua model like myvi.
      boot space bigger than myvi, rear leg room much better than myvi, even more better than current saga. trust me! and dont know about new proton iriz yet since im never drive it yet. axia engine power is good enough to handling the car (since i test it with 4 adults people including me). only the cons, u will feel vibrating issue once u change gear to D to make u move the car from idle point. other than that, i feel electric power steering much better than myvi extreme (my last car). not too light not too heavy. it work well. handling is normal just like other perodua. at cornering feel rasa buang still there. and feeling sampan also still there. but at least. with that price. im not so angry unlike last myvi extreme that soo overpriced. noise level much better than last viva. and of coz if compare to current proton CVT engine. this new axia engine noise lesser.

for door case, this new axia indeed improve a lot. u hardly feel rasa tin milo or bunyik tin milo like last perodua viva while u close the door.

but if u truely compare between axia and iriz. i cant said much more. since i never drive iriz yet. but if only refer to the spec. indeed iriz is much better in term of safety spec.

it is very hard to find a cheap car, with better quality, better FC and better spec.

if u want better FC – axia.
      if u want better spec – i would said indeed the iriz.

just like other said, ABS/BA/EBD only comes for axia from Rm37k. but for iriz RM42k not only ABS/BA/EBD included, but plus with ESC,TC,HHA is most likely people will consider proton rather than perodua. even both are from diff segment. but this only applicable for neutral people. who dont hv any feeling for these two brand. lol

for those who had nightmare with proton. mostly they will hate proton. just like perodua case. for people who had nightmare with perodua. most likely the will stay out from perodua.

my case, nightmares to both brand im experienced it already. proton and perodua. both. but looking at the bright side. actually both have thier pros. i like p2 in term of FC. and for proton definitely i like the handling quality and power (indeed not for all model, got model handling quite sucks and got model handling beyond godlike)

so, i will wait for iriz. want to test it first. then will decide either go for axia or iriz.

• For combined driving highway and city gonna need more
    power/engine displacement.
    not gonna be a problem if its only for city driving.

but… still, city driving needs ABS brake,
    RM37k+ for Axia with ABS brake.
    btw good job beating Mitsubishi Mirage FC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Mitsu Mirage FC is with a larger engine…not a straight fight.

• how about world best Ford Ecoboost engine
        same displacement ;P
        World Best Engine stands up for something right ?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:54 pm

cannot ma..ecoboost is turbocharged engine

• riz (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Yeah..
            so 1.0 litre engine from Axia no competition ?
            How about Yamaha R1 engine from YZF-R1
            superbike producing 160hp++
            1.0 NA engine ;P

haha just messing with u ,

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Yeah. The FC characteristic should be different. NA should be more fuel efficient at the expense of having less power. A turbocharged 1.0L 3cyl engine drinks more fuel. The torque seems to be addictive as well, so it sort of encourages spirited driving.

Superbikes? Different world. So much lighter and more aerodynamic than a car.

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:07 am

Mr Obviously,
            do you know Toyota have better engine
            Its 1.0litre engine FC almost 28km/l
            1KR-FE engine …
            maybe the engine for toyota only,
            they only giva lower grade engine to us..

• It’s power is about 1.6l n/a engine. Too powerful to compare with tiny n/a 1.0l

• bukapintubayartol on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:18 pm

payback for Proton’s “lucky I didn’t buy that other car” advert

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:18 pm

The soundtrack used was OK, but is it me, or was there some issue with the projection mapping onto the car? It’s like, the sheet or the projector used was a bit misaligned, and the wheels looked a bit lopsided cause of that….

I know the one done by Toyota did not have that…

• Allen on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Its two different segment cars anyway…..
    And if Iriz FC can beat Axia, habis la Axia.

Perodua somehow do not showcase they dun equip ESC/TCS into their models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • ezwan on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:37 pm

customer nowadays goes for brand…fuelhead measure a car of its FC and other functionality

• Matchy on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:34 pm

How to showcase if they don’t have one…lol

• vincent on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:19 pm

What Proton can do is compare Iriz with Axis’ 0-100km/sec comparison. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • and VSC/Hill Hold/Traction control comparison
      at a slippery road…

• Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Proton fanboys have nothing to say, so they keep on saying smoke this smoke that smoke Christmas turkey.

They will tell you the Iriz can land on KLIA 2 also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
        • Those gadgets can be shown for safety, not smoke this smoke that, even if CFE can tarpau any 2000cc normal Japs cars.

Vios can be thrown into longkang.

• mim (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:21 pm

1.0L 3-cyl can’t compare to 1.6L 4-cyl la. Perodua syok sendiri. How about with Mirage’s 3A92 1.2L? Lagi jimat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • ezwan on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:34 pm

must also compare of the car pricing, service pricing, parts pricing, aftersales service availability, spare parts availability…if the spare parts comes from other country…u might have to wait longer and pay more

• Meh

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:26 pm

this axia will have fate like viva n vios
    viva: ppl buy coz cheap n good rv kunun.. then after 5 year.. viva discont n new model ( axia) come out… viva no more rv n viva buyer felt cheated
    new vios: macai said this will sell like hot cakes.. but now.. new city drb sell better becoz city has better safety deatures
    moral
    : ppl smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:39 pm

dont u tired keep posting..paste/copy n non-informative comment. u moreless like Same L0rrr p1 fanboi version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Mind your words! I don’t copy and paste. Neither I am fanboys of any brand. Price, features, reliability, RV, cost of maintenance, sales figures, these are all fact based. No doubt Toyota is relatively cheap and reliable, Honda/Nissan/Mazda also not bad.

I only comment on junk build quality cars and money begging/sucking car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:32 pm

umw salesman soo sad his vios not selling well as expected.. and lose to drb honda city

remember what macai said during nww vios launching??
          ” this car will be selling like hot cakes”

now???

hahahah rakyat smart oredi
          ppl chose safety ( city) over japan wannabe ( vios)

• samelorstpd on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:35 pm

No copy paste? Shame on you. Let me give this and you can reply with your usual copy paste stuff
          Toyot 7O

1.Overpriced
          2.Overhyped
          3.Obsolete
          4.On garbage lorries
          5.Out of proportion
          6.Outdated
          7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
          2. Sounds Good
          3. Promised Good
          4. But never Good

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

That’s why, you see. When Proton has people like you as their staff, it is forever copy and paste. Even Proton 6S lifestyle and 4-Good quality control also you wanna copy me. lol

Copy 2014 i10 then copy lar, why so secretive and claim self developed? Like Perodua, they openly admit they rebadge. That’s why 13500 booking now.

You admit copy, rebadge, you sell better.
            You copy and tell lies, you only syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:56 pm

sam loor
            p2 admit rwbadge but claim as national car???

hahahahah

ppl smart oredi

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:41 pm

This guy also a constant victim of nick-jacking…

• frossonice on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:55 am

I still wait for you to take back your racist word on supposedly ‘kampung people’ which indirectly targeted at a certain race.

Yeah, till then, you are still a racist cunt.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm

As I said, I only comment on cars, not people. I believe all Malaysians deserve cheap and reliable car. And all hardworking Malaysian deserve Bentley, not BMW 3 series due to ridiculous tax to protect Proton.

WHen you see “kampung people” is mentioned under my name, you know it is fake. I do believe orang kampung (all races) generally richer than orang city, considering everything is so expensive living in city.

No discrimination on people/race, only discrimination on junk build quality and beggar car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • don mok on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Why don’t compare with my Honda EX5?

• motorheadsark on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Yeah yeah Motorhead said it’s good alternative for motorbikers. BUT can you buy this car with 6k? Ptuih

• ezwan on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Almost as good as Suprima S launching…same gimmick but the timing is good…not too long and boring for the wait

• no name on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:42 pm

1.0 vs 1.6 data… i’m not sure it’s apple to apple or not…

• ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Did perodua just mock their own myvi 1.5 engine FC in a way?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • setiapaduka on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:47 pm

yeah perodua win again but not against weight ratio, body size and engine capacity.

• Proton can snub back.. 4 stars Asean NCAP? nope.. it’s 5 stars Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) rating.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • for me, the Ayla design much more better than perodua Axia for frond design

• kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm

ayla not so pleasant to eye as compare to axia at least to my eyes la…axia look cuter.

• kusochon on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm

agree with you ayla looks better than this ah beng axia. of course the original mira:es looks much better than both.

• I-pong on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Perodua Axia might have advantage in term fuel efficiency but Proton Iriz undoubtedly can climb genting smoothly. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • I thought that Axia was A-Segment while Iriz is B-Segment? Is this the case?

• hyrule on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:09 pm

They cant compare apple with pineapple….
    Haha

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:11 pm

hahaha kereta ah beng tim milo 1000cc40l nak compare dgn iriz 1.6 60k??

qhat ashame u p2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

ya, your iriz 1.6 can smoke this smoke that. That’s why they tested it in Europe (smoked salmon).

It is really a MPV (Multi Purpose Vehicle)!

• yogabear on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Proton is not coward enough to depute a convincing car with a small capacity engine then claim it an EEV car. 18.2KM/L for 1.3 engine is good enough. imagine if Iriz had 1.0 engine. hmmmm sure can tapau axia easily in FC.

• Nice background!! As it looked 3D, btw the soundtrack in 2 mins is hardwell – spaceman with some violin touchup (??)

• Annoynimouse on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Good one.
    But I prefer miles perhour over miles pergallon, thanks…

• John Reverse on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:40 pm

It’s not a healthy competition when our 2 national car manufacturers fight against each other. They should, however corporate and fight with the other Japs and Korean car instead. Now, they compete just to be a Jaguh Kampong only.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:59 pm

p2= national car maker .. import car wannabe

• Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:28 pm

p1=RM1.6 bil begging car maker… normal car wannabe junk

So which one is better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
        • Anti-Establishment on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Toyota = killer car company…80 years in the business still can’t make cars that work properly.

So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:35 pm

both of them still crony bn protected n begging rakyat money

real anti NAP n real import car owner – saleaman whi has no relayion with gomen will bash all national car maker… not selective

why u selective??coz u r also protected p2/umw saleaman n fighing with
          protectwd drb salesman

jahaha

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

aziah
    indon DNA A segment car B segment wannabe

• latacc (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Fuel economy figures are only describing a sole point in the driving range. Manufacturers have learnt to optimise fuel used to the nth degree when it detects cruising condition. However, when the driver dabs the throttle to accelerate, there’s this tricky balance between delivering the power, fuel consumption, emission, auto gearbox strategy, changing ambient conditions and so on. So let’s wait for the real world fuel consumption to surface. Bear in mind fuel figure also improves slightly after the engine has a bit of mileage in it.

• Axia has too low horse power and torque for driving pleasure. Fuel consumption is related to driving style, terrain and traffic conditions. Many European cars with more than 150 hp and weigh more than 1,400kg can do 17km/l when cruised at 130 – 140km/hr along the highway

• Henry on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Isn’t there an understanding between P1 and P2 that P1 will not venture into making compact cars?

• Painter on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:33 pm

The market segment for both Axia and the upcoming Iriz seem to be overlapping at a certain price point.

• Allen on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:56 pm

“Never be too blinded by trivial things like high resale value or fuel consumption figures when deciding on a car. All these matters not when you lose a loved one, or your own life in the event of mishap. You only need that one single lesson to understand this, and I hope you never need to”

• Axis no adjustable steering and weird auto gear knob position..weird to drive.. Don’t recommend it..

• mel8488 on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Iriz & Axia… I think both can sells well… One of my lecturer use to say “buy perodua then proton then move on”… buy Axia then buy Iriz then buy BMW…. buy ferrari…

• zubir on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:41 pm

I bet Axia will be a hot sale..the lower variants below 35k. Price tag is still a major concern for malaysian..especially for compact car. The FC is a good selling point for Axia. 5 years warranty is magnificient. Good after sale services are important.

• Chyan on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Not even classy.

• James on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:06 pm

how can u compare a 1.0 liter engine with a 1.6 liter engine by proton? not comparing apple to apple!

and proton’s iriz is different car segment altogether, apalahdatuk….. and it’s bigger in size somemore…

furthermore, all these fuel efficiency figures are downright misleading.

i’m driving a viva elite auto at the moment. they put the figure at 15km/l but i’m only getting 11-ish km/l only… so that’s the big difference!!

on the other hand, my dad just bought the proton saga SV flx with cvt 1.3, and it also performs the same at 11-ish km/l…

if you want good FC get hybrid loh, but after 3 years using, i guess all the fuel money you save will go into the new battery for the car.. lolz.. so what’s the point?

• AXIA – 1.0 CC @ 21.6 KM/L

IRIZ – 1.6 CC @ 18.2 KM/L

Which one better?

• Axia: no adjustable steering.. Weird position for driver… Star is 2.5 out of 5…

Iris: not yet inspect..

• Peter on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Both are quoting on ideal basis and the figure are obtained in run track. Both are bullshiting! Take Saga & Myvi fuel consumption fig (as stated in broucher) and compare to your real life experience, how is it? Goto fuely.com to look at real data instead of the marketing figure.

• pondan on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Comparing moron vs idiot. Both FC figures are rubbish but P1 is the bigger dick head cuz the claim vs actual is way way off.

I know cuz i own preve, blm and myvi. Those proton fan boy who defending blindly, go to the back yard and go shiok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:50 am

see dah agak dah

mesti level macai pki p2 jee

• pondan on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:03 am

Kalau saya macai p2 pun lebih baik compare to buta buta macai p1 yang support company with the root reason for causing all the expensive car price tag.

Yang pasti, u ingat u dah agak, ingat adah otak tapi otak takde… Ingat saje, action takde, cakap saje. Baik baik pegi belakang rumah.. Buat shiok sendiri macam p1.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:25 pm

peyno duduk jepun 6 thn pon tak kemaruk jepun cam macai p2.. kagum dgn jepun yeeee

pasal nak protect perodua laa keta import compact car lain mahal

kalau jazz murah sapa nak beli keta tin milo ko tu

set2 tu jerr

• pondan on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Duduk saje. Result takde. Biasa la… Hari hari shiok sendiri.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Yes. You are right, pondan. We comment based on fact. P2 maybe lacked some safety features, we admit. No need hide, bullshit and syok sendiri.

Don’t like p2? You don’t have to get out of Malaysia/Japan/Indonesia.

• pondan on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:18 pm

I comment on this cuz I’m frustrated and a victim of such. Hence, i voice my frustration after many rounds of p1 ownership, from perdana, blm, preve, kancil and myvi.

One thing is p2 never give me unnecessary headache. That’s why blind p1 fanboy are really cxxk talker and ball sxxker with no substance

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Ppl who have always wanted a sub-40K budget car would have put down their bookings already. Ppl who can spend a little bit more need to just wait a few more days to see Iriz for themselves. I believe P1 still have some aces in their sleeves to steal some sales from this group. 90% of the potential customers haven’t made their decision yet. It’s P1’s to lose if they make a pricing mistake and if their aftersales support doesn’t buck up

• Usavich on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:30 am

I thought it was the video of new lambo launch event lol

• 18.2L? New W205 C-Class is already 18.9L.

Proton, I know you can better it!

• Bila Proton @ Perodua kuar kereta baru, kutuk sana sini.

Typical perangai.
    Omputih kata “Malaysian”.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:48 am

On second thought, i think the 18km figure is for Viva. Because that is the lowest FC from perodua car. The Proton reference is just coincidence.