VIDEO: Proton Iriz USPs – Official Product Footage

You’ve already seen our in-depth walk-around tour of the Proton Iriz by Hafriz Shah and Gregory Sze, but here’s Proton’s own take on a video to explain the Proton Iriz’s unique selling points.

Some of the safety features like the Electronic Stability Control feature are demoed in this video in a more professionally-shot way than the winter testing videos we featured previously. Enjoy!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• observer on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:39 am

great presentation for proton, now waiting for review.
    -hows the sound proofing
    -engine performance
    -handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • riz (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:24 am

-also the overall quality .

After that , Proton only need to improve its SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • M/T is KING on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:31 am

They need to put a lot more effort in continuous improvements plan for their SC.

• Smart Buyer on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:56 am

The Campro engine still sucks fuel like V8 sportscar. Better buy Axia, even auto can get 20km/Liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:01 am

Good job PROTON. Betul2x ONZ laa..

• Eyes of Iris on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:44 am

Those who drove or own the Preve or Suprima will notice two most snnoying things

1) The Gear Knob – Pinches your finger sharply when you press to engage. Many times I suffered this pain thinking my finger is bleeding

2) The signal stalk – Is positioned too far forward for people with your fingers to reach them while gripping the steering. I have rather big hands and yet suffer the same. So you got to release the steering and reach forward before able to signal or flash

3) The power windows open and close with too much force. Maybe Proton put in an over-spec motor to give lifetime warranty. But its not a pleasant experience

4) Drive train NVH is still very poor on both cars

5) The CCVT behaves erratically when moving from stationary. Sometimes it surges forward and sometimes its like stuck in 4th gear with little power.

6) The color scheme are one of the most gawdy colors… esp the electric blue !

Has Proton addressed these issues with $500m in R&D on IRIZ ? We shall see this weekend when I go to test drive

$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
        • i have been driving preve since June 2012. I never experience the problems stated above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • Pervert on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:23 am

You already accepted proton is sucky car and thus, you are not bothered with all the flaws.

Next time, worker harder and buy toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
          • aminofx on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:16 pm

while you are pervert enough to lay on your toyotas while they keep lying to you about their so called ‘quality’ so you can blind your eyes and paid your cheap earn money to buy the price of toyotas piece of plastic emblem and stick it to your kancil hahaha lol

• Mr.NK on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Hahaha pity on you la pervert, anda dah kena tipu, bayar mahal2 smpai 90K! Tapi spec habok pun taknak, atleast preve have more gear speed, stability system and so on…sorry to say… ;)

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Correction RM500 million not $500 million

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:34 pm

The blue is actually quite nice. Quite similar to Subaru’s blue.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:13 am

Most of the test driver given positive respond after driving new Iriz. I wonder who dislike their comment bet they didnt even test drive it yet..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Bye Proton on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:46 pm

So when are you gonna buy Iriz? Don’t be like Peyno, support Proton but still dare not buy it.

Post the link with your Iriz here ok, so we can reply it with ‘You fool’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • DRB SUXs on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:59 am

Money Well Spent or Went ?

Spent a mind boggling $500 million to develop a compact car for budget market.

If one IRIZ sold , Proton makes an average of 10% nett, it works out to be $5k per car to Proton.

Proton will need to sell a whopping 100,000 units just to recoup the R&D of $500mil.

Even if Proton can achieve 100,000 units. They need to produce that 100,000 units with 6 different variants. Averaging less than 20,000 units per variant. But imagine how many production lines Proton must have just to produce those variants. Its just not economically feasible

And that is excluding the current and future overheads and S&P cost to market the IRIZ !

In any case, I seriously doubt this 100,000 figure can be achieve. Not even 50% of it. Proton gotta ask themselves how many units of the best selling SAGA they sold since ?

Might as well just rebadge from Accord to Perdana, just like Perodua with Daihatsu. Its a unpopular decision to rebadge, but sometimes unpopular decisions are the right decisions. Heck !! the badge will cost Proton less than RM50 per car and they still have $500mil cash in the bank.

Those who argue its job etc etc that Proton wants to create, then with $500 million in the bank – they can create one hellavu work force

Crux of the matter is its sheer irresponsible business decision at Proton Board level.

The first rule of R&D is …

” If its not broken, don’t fix it !”

<>

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
      • Hi sometimes the cost of development of one model can also be carried over to other future models. so i think your analysis is not completely accurate. Investment can be recoup over several models. I am sure you heard of many makes or models that may share platforms, technologies. etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Mohd Nizam on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:49 am

Agree with KT, don’t forget yesterday ceremony. The CEO say that this model is a base model for future Hybrid and EEV model. So, I think you only had short time planning. No wonder, Proton not hired you as CEO hehehehe

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:45 am

500 millions for R&D is actually. . This.. read carefully. .

”This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

The short-term solution would be for Proton to source the engine from other manufacturers.
        “To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir….”

TADA ENJIN.. KITA BELI ENJIN. DUIT BOLEH MINTA.. KITA KATA UTK R&D.. belakang kita pusing.. kita beli enjin.

Hahaha. . Your are busted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Since when rebadging only cost rm50..? & since when obtaining a licence to manufacture & rebadge cars r free of charge? & one more, u think the primary manufacturer will just give the car & continue their business like usual?

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:00 am

you only need 1 production line to produce variants.. the beauty of modern assembly lines.. if i remember reading somewhere before.. protons tg malim plant can run 5 different MODELS.. not variants on the same line at the same time.. and parts for each car arrives at the station that needs it when it needs it. this is actually pretty normal for all modern car plants.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:27 pm

$500m =/= RM500m.. still not enough for R&D platform+engine…all new engine might oni cost as low as $1 billion..IF p1 want develop own transmission at least they need $800m…RM500m? Platform oni maybe..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:40 pm

If it’s not broken, don’t fix it? Good thing you don’t run any R&D centers then. What will you even do at work?

The point of R&D is to make something better, or to come up with a new or better way of doing things.

Telling not to spend on R&D is more characteristic of the accounting or financing department.

• Albert Lee on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Rm500 juta is the ‘official” development RND cost.
        The actual cost is Rm50juta.The rest,you should know where it goes.
        In the past,they have receive Billions of Rm of Gomen grants for RND.What have they produced,tell me?
        They need to sell 1 million units to make money,ie 5-10 years alone on this model.
        The next 3 months,you can predict sales of Saga FLX,Preve,Satria Neo,Persona fall cos there is a PRICE OVERLAP from42k-63K.
        Besides,Rm500 juta,they also have bleeding Lotus which is busy retrenching staff.
        Tell me,will proton make money this year?
        Judge for yourself and do your math.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:40 am

I’m honestly quite excited about this car. I like the fact that they are willing to offer manual tranny up to premium variant. For me, its more fun to drive a small car with a proper manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • M/T is KING on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:08 am

I’m agree. Well done Proton to put M/T up to premium variants even though i didn’t like small hatchbacks cars.
      Only with M/T we feel attached to the cars.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:03 am

Let’s join the test drive session at COE tomorrow until Sunday. Feel the exitement with new VVT engine..

• “New” VVT that caused the PCC not able to be sold globally.. LOL

Well at least T.M knows he needs to get the engine, from someone else.. Just pray that when he gets the engine, Malaysian aren’t leftout with the “NEW” VVT.

• terbaik dari Proton. Good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • axsatr on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:40 am

Wait, is that orange crash test car for Australian NCAP? The ASEAN NCAP crash test car for Iriz was black?

• The yp

• The young woman’s voice is supposed to appeal to young people..but what on earth is she literally mumbling about? I can’t understand very well what she was saying. OTOH paultan’s video presentation is better in terms of understanding words. Also very nice camera work with the panning.

• pelangi79 on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:48 am

Test drive Iriz yesterday.. Handling, cabin space, safety are impressive.. Even if you’re buying the lowest specs.. Safety features still same as full specs which is good.. What can i say.. Good job proton its nothing like previous model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • To paultan team, I am curious to know what is the swept boot volume for iriz as in iso measurements it is 215L and for axia is the 260L measured in iso or swept? And for axia’s claimed fuel economy is measured at NEDC or constant 90km/h. Thank you

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:42 am

Can’t help you on the volume with the seats down but the F/C is NEDC I believe.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Axia’s 20km/l is based on NEDC combined cycle.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:32 am

more n more p2 salesman will be here and give comment
    coz now… they are very free… nobody wanna visit p2 showroom… we can see lonely p2 salesman seating inside aziah

most of customers come to p2 showroom to cancel the booking

wherelse p1 salesman soo bz now n dont hv time to
    be here

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:56 am

Penyojualbutut.. tgk org jepun mandi. .

P2 BN crony. . Not JDM.. copy indon.. Tun M not crony… Eat this sheet…

The Proton chairman did not elaborate any further on the matter but earlier this year Tun Dr. Mahathir has said that Proton is in talks with several Japanese car manufacturers on the prospects of future collaborations.

“We are looking at other Japanese automotive makers. Right now we are cooperating with Honda,” Tun Dr. Mahathir said…..

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:58 pm

p1 does not have live tv coverage n no PM or TPM launching car..thank god paultan do live coverage..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:34 am

most of customer give a positive comment after they
    test drive the iriz

opposite to aziah.. more negative comments adter ppl test drive under pwrr , vibrate n noisy
    engine
    hahaha

• Ive seen the car myself, the trunk space that some people are really scared & overhyped about is actually not that small.. If no one highlighted the trunk space or never made any comparisons before, i think some of us cant really tell the exact difference btwn this & axia & myvi, though the axia’s is a bit deeper i guess.. It depends on how u arrange your stuff cuz the shape of the space r different on these cars,

Best of all, the doors & the tailgate is not as crispy & as thin as its recent competitor. The plastics r not as hollow as before too.. If they keep on progressing, the quality might be at par or better than honda, toyota, kia & hyundai in the near future.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:59 am

Hantu plocong hypocrisy. . Peynoo.. selling butut. . Tgk org jepun mandi…

…The Proton chairman did not elaborate any further on the matter but earlier this year Tun Dr. Mahathir has said that Proton is in talks with several Japanese car manufacturers on the prospects of future collaborations.

“We are looking at other Japanese automotive makers. Right now we are cooperating with Honda,” Tun Dr. Mahathir said in May 2014.

• Oh yes, some ppl ask why is it so expensive? Even more expensive than saga or persona?

Answer is simple. This car applied many high-technology machineries & standards right from its frame n chasis. Unlike saga & persona that does not apply any of the technologies presented in this car. So, even though its smaller, it is somehow quite well-built technology wise.

I think malaysians r still with the old mindset. If proton, it has to be super cheap. Small car, must be cheap. So sorry to say, but this kind of mentality has made myvi the best selling car. This is not exactly healthy since technological advancement & safety were not put forward in myvi.

Proton should make good TV advertisement that highlights all of the techs placed in their cars to create awareness to the public so that in the future, ppl will think twice before being blinded by the pricetag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • I hope the car is good as it is told. Quite impressed with the car in an out. Good job Proton!
    btw, the video is made by amateur or a pro? why did the music is louder than the woman’s voice? I cannot even hear what is she mumbling about.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:01 am

Axia..

Bang maaf.. kena tggu 7 bulan dpt kereta. . 20,000 org order. . Mmg xde VSC.. tp maaf byk2. . Kena tggu.

Iriz..
    Datuk cakap 17,000.. tp xderhal bang.. hari ni order. . Besok bole dpt.

Malaysian prefer con version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • john error on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:21 am

why still using timing belt instead of timing chain? can anyone explain? i really confuse…..

• ngvuser on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Enough la with timing chain vs belt…. The best small engine in the world pun timing belt…

• john error on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm

dude…. changing timing belt is so costing… once, i had saga BLM.. changing that timing belt cost me around RM800++ at SC…

• It wont be long, that the street spawn by this Proton Iriz. After few decades since Wira, i think this is the proton car which most Malaysian will give a like +1.

• Bye Proton on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:39 pm

At first maybe lots of sales. Go back here after 1 year, masih jugak fail macam Savvy rosak here rosak there.

• confuse on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:25 pm

some guys won’t buy a car because it use timing belt! OMG, the age of IT with so many mixed info [fake+real+myth+manipulation) really make people confused…

• Buy Toyota on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Read my name, Proton macais. Thanks me later ok.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:43 pm

I am impressed with the Iriz.

Just that it kindda missed the boat by not making the full complement of airbags across the range. Afterall, Proton themselves have been touting safety as priority.

• Jenglot on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:57 pm

My god, Paultan comment sections has turned into salesman battlefield lately. Obvious sales line, name calling, fake reviews. Genuine comments from genuine readers been drowned like crazy haihh

• oto13 on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:03 pm

… and now long list of safety features is no longer important, isn’t it?

oh boy… please reply this once you come back from school, had dinner and done all your homework, ok.

:)

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Cold weather testing? Now people will think stability control etc. are only useful when it’s snowing, so in Malaysia no need… *facepalm* What the hell is the marketing department thinking? Can’t they hire marketing people who also happen to know a thing or two about cars?!

• siowmage on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:51 am

this lady’s voice cannot make it