When it comes to the next generation Honda Civic, we’ve been getting a lot of previews. We’ve seen a concept and we’ve seen patent drawings, but the interior has been a question mark so far. Not anymore – here’s a first view at what the interior of the next generation Honda Civic will look like.
It looks like Honda will be abandoning the Honda Civic’s two-tiered dashboard design used in the previous two generations. Honda isn’t quite abandoning the idea – it’s used in other cars like the Honda Jade, but it appears that the Civic’s global clientele want a more traditional dash layout instead?
The new Civic’s instrument panel is now covered by a single, sculpted hood. The simple centre stack arrangement meets it in a way similiar to the Honda City. We can see a large storage area below the centre stack. A relatively short shifter knob is used, which the Civic has been employing the past two cars. The shift pattern looks like a CVT gearbox. No hand brake lever here – it’s been replaced by an electric version.
What do you think of the next generation Honda Civic’s interior so far? Have a close look at high resolution versions of the spyshots in the gallery below.
Looks brilliant. The korean designers should learn frm the Japs on how to design a fantastic interior instead of producing junk the world doesnt want to see
The design is much dated. In compare to City and HRV today.
Please don’t bring it here Malaysia Proton Preve will beat this car to dust.
Proton make Malaysian owns car if no all still riding bicycle !!!
Proton to global comfirm DrM says… Others brand just close shop !!!
As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.
No need to bring the facelift here Proton Preve already eating dust (in showroom). No one bother to buy Proton junk unfortunately.
CNY already RM8000 discount, Raya will have RM12000 discount? Then maybe year end you will get the promotion “Get 1 Preve free 1 Iriz”?
Just wait patiently, when the sales is so bad they are willing to do ANYTHING to lure you.
See you talk rubbish again ?
Preve bersepah atas jalan, new Vios and Altis kadang-kadang je
Takata airbags included?
OMG..This interior got a bit type R feel…
Fugly
Korean designers can make an exact replica of what the Japs do. Their vehicles will still not have RV
sad,, i was looking forward to the new civic after seeing the new elantra’s interior.. but this is disappointing, no two tier dash, short dashboard.. hmm
I know its a family/economy car, but couldn’t they have used a bit nicer looking camouflage material for the dash. That towel looks really funny.
Anyways, the short shifter is because the centre floor console is tall. No, I don’t think there’s a gearbox underneath that, cos this is not RWD. So perhaps a place to put hybrid batteries below, or just a design touch to make the cockpit look more like a RWD car (I think its the latter).
But notice the large padded area from the armrest goes all the way to the shifter? Now that is a nice touch. Which means the 10G will have more soft touch points than any Civic since the 90s (most Hondas from the 90s had soft touch vinyl everywhere back then). But with the tall floor console, I do hope the sides of the console are softly padded or at least not hard plastic, cos your knees are gonna be resting there on long journeys.
I kinda liked the old 2 tier dash actually. It was like having a HUD with the speedometer in clear line of sight. But they can’t put it there anymore, as the base of the windscreen is much further behind now for the 10G.
One more thing. The dash is missing a CD input slot. CD sales must be so bad that car manufacturers have decided to abandon them completely. I know MP3s/digital music files are more convenient, but they sound crap compared to audio CD. Hope the headunit is capable of reading & playing high definition/FLAC/etc music files in lieu of the CD player.
Its a bit…. restrained?
I quite liked the 2 tier layout, in fact the FB and FD had good designs. Such a pity the FB was just poorly finished, with hard plastics, same goes for the Civic hatch. At least it had some flair to it unlike the Golf and Focus which looked pretty standard.
Don’t let the ugly towel fool you. Hehe. Its not going into the production version. We still don’t know how the other half of the dash (dash top, AC vents, passenger side) looks like. And this is probably a base model, judging by small navi screen, lack of leather, and lack of push start button. But one thing’s for sure, it has the dreaded CVT (the gear selector “PNDSL” is the giveaway). Enthusiasts will gasp and recoil in horror.
Move along guys…there’s nothing much to see here. Let’s get back to work *yawn*
I am so lucky that i dint wait this next gen civic and place booking to new Mazda 3 2.0 high spec oled. Honestly, interior tell us all that this civic may fail again.
Mazda3 is crampy, civic or preve are much more spacious
mazda talking about sport. if wan space, get a van
fbfd is fool, Mazda no longer Civic and Altis competitor, in mat saleh country, MAzda 3 is compare against Audi A1, and BMW 1 series oled. Want spaces?then for fbfd, u get Nasa space ship,that will be a tonne of spaces for your next 100 generation dead body to throw in there.LOL
Lol even Mazdaspeed can’t have good handling like conti, dun ever compare both. Even with p1 still cannot beat.
Sampan handling anyone?
Looks quite nice & practical (same like Toyota or Nissan) , but not as stylish as Mazda’s interior let alone European marque’s..
looks like Honda is moving backwards from FD>FB>10gen. The interior design looks so futuristic back in the FD(except the touchscreen unit & reverse camera got cabut out when arriving malaysia). The two-tier looks more futuristic compare to this
It needs to be better than the honda city spec V in every manner to justify its existence…
even justify its case against the honda HRV….
it’ll be cool if honda can add the reclining rear bench like the prev gen city….loike dat function alot…
no push start and keyless..cant see any usb slot…
Except for the gear shift area, everything i have seen so far is ….. outdated.
Honda, could you at least please take a look at Mazda’s interior and learn from it?
That day i went to a Mazda showroom, was pleasantly surprised by its 3 and 6 build quality and breathtaking interior design. Simplistic yet modern design. Oh did i forget to mention that Mercedes-like command control knob? Awesome.
Civic is a good model series, please do not slap it with those mass market City model interior designs. Make it more premium and use some quality materials for its interior thanks.
Is that the new airbag system on the dashboard? Colorful.
Hope to see all new honda model included break hold and hand break swift
C-segment with B-segment interior?
Or the tester is a big man
melalak kat paultan.org buat apa.. macam la honda co. dengar.. ada ke dia orang kesah? puihh!
For those mazda fanboys, please note that Mazda 3 and even the cx3 is still having the ancient manual hand brake.
Alza also got foot brake
nissan gtr also having ancient manual hand brake, whats the problem with ancient manual hand brake?
Looks cheap and ugly to me.. dissapointed..
no more civic in japan market
http://www.honda.co.jp/auto-lineup/
fail product
fail! for sure
Be interesting to see how customer will react to the new civic later..after the failed 2012 facelift. When the bifold meter model was launched practically everyone rushed to buy Civic with the attractive design compared to boring Corolla and uninspired Elantra. Then Hyundai came out with their fluid in motion design and it was a game changer. Here in Saudi I hardly see any new Civic on the road now..the C segment is conquered by Corolla/Elantra/Cerato. There are more Accord on the road. Maybe things will change if the dealer brings in HRV but as of now Accord remains the best seller Honda model here. The starting price for Civic base model is SAR69k going up to SAR89k to top model. Only 1.8 liter engine available. The base Accord starts at SAR86k going up to SAR109k for top model and buyer has option with 2.4 liter or V6 for top model. Current exchange rate is RM1=SAR1.
As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV
Why they took out two tier meter design?
where is push start button?Still conventional key?WTF thinking like our PM
My car (MK7) is already 1 yr, so far so good, loving it! Another VW over 200k km, still running strong. ^^
Based on the spy shot, the interior is different, but not better then current.