SPIED: 2016 Proton Persona gives clearest view yet

PROTON-PERSONA-IRIZ-SEDAN-ISAAC-CHAN

Yesterday we brought you renderings of what the 2016 Proton Persona may look like, and now we have a new high-resolution spyshot of the real deal, taken by reader Isaac Chan.

Although still fully-camouflaged, this sole image does afford us a proper insight into how the Iriz-based B-segment sedan will look. Firstly, the Persona looks to be taller than most of the competition, keeping the Iriz’s height – the hatch is around 75 mm taller than both the Honda City and the Toyota Vios. This would explain the slightly awkward proportions compared to some of its rivals.

The photo also exposes some of the details of the new car – the upper line of the headlights now flow continuously into the grille, which match the renders done by both resident Photoshop expert Theophilus Chin and Proton Design Competition 2014 winner Pow Ying Hern.

Renderings of the 2016 Proton Persona, by Theophilus Chin (top) and Pow Ying Hern (bottom)

The fog lights are also round in shape, rather than triangular on the Iriz – again matching Theo’s render. Meanwhile, the wheels gain a new turbine design that’s now in-vogue, appearing on everything from the Perodua Myvi to the Honda Jazz and City.

The Persona will be unveiled some time after the soon-to-be-launched Perdana, but ahead of the new Saga. The Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines are expected to be offered on the Persona at launch, but the car could gain Proton’s new 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre direct-injected (GDI/TGDI) engines after production of the new mills begin by the end of 2017.

SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Persona

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• shawal on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:09 am

dunno how the public will react to this, the persona used to be a slender long car , now it is a chunky booted iriz, hopefully it’ll look decent and not like the peugeot 206 sedan….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:57 am

I am more interest in which model will lunch first and date… 1.Perdana 2.Saga 3.Persona?

• theanswer on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:14 am

i also dont know whether persona or saga will remain relevant together in the market. since preve price (non cfe) and size is good enough to replace persona. should focus more on saga (for compact sedan). iriz & saga like jazz & city.

• Apunkdee on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:29 am

$2.6B bolih beli brp bijik Persona?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • does it mean persona will be in b segment, saga in a segment? hopefully they will price it according to segment (e.g. reduce)

• khairul on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:02 pm

yes correct… A is Saga, B is Persona, C is Preve and D is Perdana. they should do this very long time ago…

• OMG…WTH of this ugly shape of car…If like that, P1 will die faster man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Geli siot! on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:15 am

Geli siot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
    • Alpha on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:24 am

Asyik2 geli. Go look at yourself in the mirror then u will see the real definition definition of ‘geli’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Alpha on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:24 am

Asyik2 geli. Go look at yourself in the mirror then u will see the real definition of ‘geli’

• sanstheskeleton on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:32 am

It’s basically the Iriz but in sedan form.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • macaiprotongsejati on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:40 am

Oi, apa ambil gambar dari jauh. Pergi dekat-dekat capture la interior. Bosan liao luaran sahaja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • MitchelJohn on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:10 pm

kalau camtu… cuba kau pergi dekat sendiri…

ambil gambar dan hantar kepada kitaorg, k?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:04 am

katak katak lompat

• It migh just look like what Theopolus rendered, only a bit shorter and chunkier

• Current persona looks nicer, it looks low and wide enough, just like c segment car, but the new persona downgraded, it become tall and narrow b segment car.
    Proton u destroy the persona’s name, it would be better if u just name it iriz sedan or whatever new name. Please don’t downgrade Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Rashuk_Khan2 on Feb 14, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Current Persona outdated. By switch to B segment doesn’t mean downgrade. Iriz wide less only 4mm to current Persona while wheel base less only 45mm. But cabin space more to Iriz. If replacement Saga base on Iriz means upgrading for Saga thus Proton need to raise selling price that cannot compete with Axia. Let Saga become A segment, Iriz and Persona in B segment, Preve and Suprima in C segment and Perdana in D segment. I think Proton is right…..

• Jobless on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:21 am

Yeah the Naza Peeget 206 sedan rear looks likee it was jacked up so ungainly ugly…and Potong management still living in the 90s still offering 1.3 and 1.6 engines omg

• Meanwhile toyota still gip jurassic 1.5L for vios and jurassic 1.8L for altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • 205nm on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:41 pm

CFE got lowish torquey acceleration, much better than any n/a crap 2.0l jepunis engine

• persona R rendered by Pow Ying Hern is so cool! look amazing if it’s real production~

• Alpha on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:32 am

Dear paultan.org team… i think you guys need to upgrade yr commenting system to allow editing or delete a comment (sometimes your phone’s autocorrect behaves erratically so u wana undo certain things). Do take this into consideration. Thanks.

• John Donkey on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Hopefully it can increase more sales to Proton? What a joke.

Like picking Iriz as one of 2015 best car yet still low sales. Epic fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • DAP zombies. Mindlessly bash for the sake of bashing. RBA 2016 motto: Bash for the sake for it.

• superman on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:33 am

this car is totally out of proportion. looks fat and ugly, is this the best they could come up with after all the hoo haa? there goes Persona which was one of the best cars Proton ever made. if you dont know how to design a car just dont do it… it will be a failure for sure same as that ugly iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • It’s going to be massively ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • nosushi on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Go back to your fugley Vios

• I don’t own a vios dumbass. In fact I stopped owning cars since I no longer need one anymore.

You on the other hand should wash the poop out of your mouth.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:35 am

The existing Iriz 1.6 rims are better than these bling turbine wheels. Likewise, Honda’s 5-spoke 15 inch wheels don’t look good as the 16 inch ones. The tyre size seems like 195/55 R15, but 185/65 thicker profile tyres would fit the tallish side profile better (as seen in the Iriz EV, and Nissan Almera).

• Selesaikan masalah enjin kalau nk pegi jauh. Kalau masih campro… entahlah.

• MitchelJohn on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:12 pm

dia menggunakan enjin daripada iriz, cuma transmission ja kita harap bermula model nii dia pakai Jatco

• bosansiot on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:44 am

ketandusan idea.. citarasa orang gila..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • bosansiot on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:46 am

kesian proton..

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Looks weird and off to me. It has some previous gen Pug 206 and Mazda 2 sedan design cues in it and that’s baddddddd

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm

It is not good. More so the downgrade of a nameplate from a C segment to a B.

I always maintained that if Proton want to add space to a B segment hatch, they should make a B segment stationwagon. Note 207/307 SW. Not tag on a boot.

Nissan started all the odd hatch + boot in the Latio…it didn’t sell well. Like wise the weird Mazda 2 and Ford Fiesta sedan twins and the 206 sedan and the equally odd Suzuki SX4 sedan. Those didn’t work either.

What’s the point of bragging about design and design competition when all they do is regurgitate other people’s failed designs?

Very odd indeed.

• Drive on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Once new engine family being released in 2017, this car together with Iriz should use 1.3 GDI and 1.3 Turbo GDI for premium and sport model.

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 28, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Which I don’t understand why Proton always shoots themselves in the foot.

Why rush to launch 3 new models when the proper power train is not ready? Looks like they have not learnt from their mistakes.

Waja . missing campro
      Satria Neo. Missing CPS
      Exora. Missing turbo charger.

Proton makes good handling chassis…just not matched to the correct power train.

Why would anyone buy a new Proton when in a years time, there will be significant improvements in the power train? People will just hold on to their cars another year.

Something seriously wrong with marketing, product planning and engineering. In corporate…when u see something like this happen, it shows interference in the management. Someone is trying to heavy hand something…to the detriment of Proton.

• Bini_aku_ada_Persona on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:13 pm

OMG!!!! looks a like Honda Citi on the rear side view.
    all looks crap design.
    epic fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • boooo on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Yes, Almera and Vios dugung have the most beautiful designs, more beautiful than Ferrari or Lambo

• Kudos on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Well this look quite nice.. i really interested how much would be the price tag..

• Hopefully price is acceptable so everyone can change the new car.

• kamal perudua on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:46 pm

cacat gila.. mcm bangang je…

• kamal perudua on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:48 pm

kalau dah tahu kereta tu depan dia ketot kalau nak nampak cantik kena buat lampu dia melengkung ke bawah / U terbalik cam mulut masam…. baru nampak ok

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 28, 2016 at 4:27 pm

focus seems to be on the interior space, and that boot looks to be huge…

looks ? well these hatchbacks that grow a boot tend to divide opinion, some will like them, others will probably find the design not to their liking

• Launch 1 model also so much problems. Now want to launch 4 models. Ukurlah badan sendiri.

• Anonymous on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:16 pm

In all seriousness… the word fugly comes to mind… sorry P1… remember the dugong t/vios n h/city of yesteryears… just telling it like it is.

• 1malaysia! on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:49 pm

please la, proton…

Please dont go overboard syoik sendiri…..

• hadi anwar on Mar 21, 2016 at 11:59 am

i dislike the rendering. i love looking at persona as it is replacing wira and i owned both of it. its nice. big boot, long hood, cruise control for both car… when i see this… its rubbish. its enough to see preve’ have been shortened and still look acceptable to me. i use persona for long distance trip. i hope it got the bigger cc and paddleshifter variation and maybe its only a dream… :(

• Aku pakai Merc pon problem tetap ada.Lawa tang bontot je depe macam tudung botol.Camry pon sama masa henyut ok tp
    tang koner…ketar lutut.So jange merepek dengan camcam kompalen .nak ..beli je.Tak nak…jual je

• nak…. beli….tak nak…. sudah

• Peeved on Apr 20, 2016 at 9:42 am

Will look like Nissan Latio

• Syaii on Jul 24, 2016 at 8:48 pm

I think it look nice. I think many people will like it. Don’t care about what others say. When you look at it and you like it, other’s opinion doesn’t matter.

• tekaje on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:03 pm

it seems proton like to design cars with sloping roof for
    stability purposes rather than of copying the jag so much.
    such design already prevail in gen2,pesona and preve.as far rebadge is concerned even bmw rebadges mini which is possibly
    more than 50 years old.nothing wrong with proton rebadging honda which is less than 15 years old.