ETCM extends Takata airbag recall to Nissan Grand Livina, X-Gear, Navara D40 – 98,216 units involved

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM), together with Tan Chong Ekspres Auto Servis Centre (TCEAS), have announced an extension to the recall campaign for the defective Takata front passenger airbag inflator module.

The Nissan distributor says that 98,216 units of the Nissan Grand Livina, Nissan X-Gear and Nissan Navara (D40) have been added to the recall list, in addition to models from the previous rounds. See the image below for year of manufacture.

Customers of affected vehicles will be notified by letter through TCEAS and are advised to call the nearest TCEAS outlet for an appointment. Selected outlets have extended operation hours and are now open 365 days a year, making it easier for customers to service their vehicles on weekends and public holidays, as well as to increase capacity for recall work.

Customers can call Nissan’s customer care toll-free line at 1800-88-3838 for more info. There will be no labour or replacement parts cost to owners.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kudos to ETCM… their Almera & Renault Fluence are underrated C-segment cars selling at B segment pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • ETCM is still around. Incredible.

• Char Kuey Teow on Jan 26, 2018 at 1:41 pm

Tan Chong just woke up, everyone finished recalling Takata la. Lied to customers sommore saying they’re not affected with Takata. Seriously, Nissan Asia Pacific are you guys listening? Please take over and because your own principal instead. These Chinamans are losing sales and are destroying your brand

• There is no doubt in my mind that if Nissan Global does a Honda Malaysia-like set up, the local Nissans will be the number 1 non-national brand here eventually. You just cannot harap on hopeless ETCM lah.

• But basher says ETCM tido means they not lazy and did gud job…

• Jepunis quality No.1!

• panjang on Jan 26, 2018 at 2:33 pm

As expected,the list just gets longer and longer.
    By right they must have the full affected list already.Why the delay in notifying the public?

Replacement availability is not an excuse when talking abt safety.

• Cheah Ewe Khoon on Jan 26, 2018 at 3:03 pm

In 2016, they rectified my driver side airbag. Now it is the passenger side. Why didnt they do it at the same time? Very poor after sales service

• Kennay nasan on Jan 26, 2018 at 7:26 pm

Thats why i dont drive a nissan nor honda…rattled with deadly issues..good luck to them.

• kennay s2pid on Jan 26, 2018 at 10:47 pm

Recalling airbags for safety of ppl and u complain around. Those who NEVER recall only u need to worry! And somemore so many automakers recalling Takata Airbags for faulty inflator, and you only mention Honda and Nissan? Toyota? Mazda? Mitsu? Or u driving one of the brand that u didnt mention?