Proton X70 SUV – between 200-300 bookings daily since launch; CKD production could start in Oct 2019

Reception to the Proton X70 SUV has been encouraging following its official launch on December 12, with about 200 to 300 bookings being made daily. This is according to Proton Edar CEO Datuk Abdul Rashid Musa in a report by Bernama.

“Strong support has continued, and this has been the best response received by Proton for a long time,” said Abdul Rashid Musa, who also noted that over 60% of the bookings made were for the range-topping Premium 2WD variant. Since the model’s launch, over 15,000 bookings have been recorded by the national carmaker.

For now, the X70 is being sold as a fully imported (CBU) model from China, and is available in four variants with prices starting from RM99,800. Local assembly (CKD) of the SUV is slated to begin around October 2019 after plant expansion initiatives at Proton’s Tanjung Malim site are completed.

The national carmaker previously announced it will invest RM1.2 billion to upgrade its Tanjung Malim facility, which will produce the X70 and next-generation Proton models. Set to be completed by March 2019, the plant will have a capacity of 150,000 annually.

Abdul Rashid Musa said that Proton could sell as many X70 CBU units as allowed under approved permits while the Tanjung Malim facility is being prepared to X70 CKD production.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Standard 2WD

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:22 pm

So….how many AP do they have before they need to stop selling it? Oct 2019 is still far away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Hit Target Already on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:52 pm

One year can sell between 73,000 to 109,500 units

• Gabriel on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Be patriotik. all dun buy Borgward BX5 yo’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • Saw it on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:28 pm

The car looks better in photos than on the road . Looks … China

• Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:47 pm

But X70 is fully a China car. So, no difference buying Bogward or X70

• Shahril Annuar on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:03 pm

This is hype. Wait till all these owners go to Proton Glenmarie to servis their car. And when the owner complains about their car problems and the Proton SC technician say “Biasalah bang, ini Proton, what do you expect,”

Then, you will see, all the X70 owners will get the same shock like all the previous Proton owners kena

• Yusof Zain on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Just like all Prootn cars, buy this car at RM123k, next year you want to sell, if you get RM65k also you will be lucky

Proton cars got the worst RV. China cars got even worse RV. Just look at Haval prices in Malaysia.

• Hongda Men on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Habisla Honda CRVs and HRVs.
          Overpriced CRVs and HRVs cannot sell now. We Hongda salesmen all eat Westnorth wind in the showroom, playing Fruit ninja in our showroom.
          Thousand and thousand RM discounts and free accesories pun cannot sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • john Many Stories P2 always win on Dec 29, 2018 at 12:09 am

And at last Perodua will always sell more, it’s already a fate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Badrul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:05 am

I want to buy Malaysian made car so that money circulates within our economy. This is CBU China car. All profits will go back to Geely China. So china gets richer. They say CKD only coming in October. So now, all money goes back to China. 10 months money will be repatriated back to China

China gets richer. Malaysia gets poorer

• Ytigasuku on Jan 01, 2019 at 9:24 am

So don’t buy any products from Nestlé..they’ll bring our money back to Netherlands…hahaha

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:15 am

Any car launched, first year it will be good sales. We will see 2nd year onwards.

I bet my bottom dollar that Proton cannot even sell 10,000 units per year.

Even CRV also tak sampai 10,000 units per year and more or less same price as Proton

• Sallehuddin on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:25 am

All Proton owners, after 1 years always run away. Cause after sales suck big time. Product maybe good but after sales suck

• Mohd Khairul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:40 am

Proton should make sure tyres and other parts cost cheaper and not let China dictate prices.

Proton is a car for Malaysians.

• Arshad on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:56 am

Sales are high because everybody trust CBU quality. Once CKD quality, you will see nobody buying X70.

Typical Malaysians always think this way

• suomynona on Dec 29, 2018 at 12:41 pm

Never made me interested anyway

• Honda Anscrak on Dec 29, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Honda HRV E spec RM101K , Proton X70 standard RM99K.
          Honda HRV V spec RM110K , Proton X70 Executive RM109K.
          Die la i cannot sell any HRV anymore, as Proton X70 is cheaper, higher spec, more powerful engine. I better ask my Honda Malaysia boss to stop producing Honda HRVs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Honda Salesmen Cry on Dec 29, 2018 at 8:01 pm

So true la, for the past few days since X70 Launch. So many of my customers and other sales rep’s customers, come to our Honda showroom to cancel their HRVs and CRVs order. They say our cars are over priced and underpowered, especially HRVs.
          Now we Honda salesmen start to eat WestNorth wind already.

• Hungda crying on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:56 am

Die la i cannot sell any HRV anymore, as Proton X70 is cheaper, higher spec, more powerful engine. I better ask my Honda Malaysia boss to stop producing Honda HRVs.

• Cancelled orders on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:57 am

So true la, for the past few days since X70 Launch. So many of my customers and other sales rep’s customers, come to our Honda showroom to cancel their HRVs and CRVs order. They say our cars are over priced and underpowered, especially HRVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 244 Thumb down 752
      • I rather trust BERNAMA than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • yeast lump on Dec 30, 2018 at 10:49 am

hoped we will not be long to still depend on government or tongkat walking stick in order to succeed. Oredy 62 years too long

• Hungda crying on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:58 am

Die la i cannot sell any HRV anymore, as Proton X70 is cheaper, higher spec, more powerful engine. I better ask my Honda Malaysia boss to stop producing Honda HRVs.

• John Cinta MO1 on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:28 pm

Kesian, Proton cybertroopers keep saying the new X70 will be a success.

It is a good car, but the rakyat all got bad mindset of proton lah.

Power windows rosak, masuk workshop, banyak makan duit, etc.

And now, Proton is rebadging China-made cars.

Lagi the rakyat will not support Proton. The rakyat has a negative mindset of China-made cars no matter how good they are.

Kesian John, I hope he can get a job at Metrojaya

• Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:49 pm

Proton has always been lying to the rakyat. Until 3 years ago, Proton also told everybody they are healthy and sales are strong. 3 years ago, Mustapha told press conference that Proton was bleeding badly and has taken about RM20 billion in bailouts and need more money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Shahril Annuar on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:04 pm

I owned many Protons before. The car is good. But SC is very poor and they NEVER rectify your problems. Most of them lie

• Tiguan (RM130k) or Proton X70 (RM123k)?? on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Tiguan always got firesales. You can get a brand new Tiguan for about RM130k after discounts.

OOOOPPPPPPSSSSSS…..This is not far from RM123k Proton.

So MALU MALU MALU. Tiguan is so respected globally. Boyue is not even approved in any first world country

Dont forget, Tiguan is a RM500k Porsche Macan in disguise. All parts are the same as the Macan. All DNA same as the Macan

Geely DNA is China Boyue

• 4 Tayar RM2800 on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:16 pm

How many Malaysians can afford Tayar at RM2800?

• Not anymore. The chairman is no longer there, hence Proton is on the right track rather than fulfilling his ego and own interest.

• Badrul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:02 am

best komen ever. The truth hurts but truth is truth!

• Are brake Pads RM1500!!!! on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:07 am

I spoke to Proton and they told be brake pads for front and back are RM1500!!!

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:13 am

This is very true. Like how Proton kena Kantoi when ANCAP caught them giving higher spec car for testing with ANCAP but they sell lower spec car to the public.

Kena kantoi then had to apologize.

• Sallehuddin on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:29 am

Proton is like 1MDB, just full of lies. Don’t know what is truth anymore

• Mohd Khairul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:37 am

I used to own a Proton dealership and all my buddies are still dealers and I can confirm orders are not 200 a day.

Sad that Proton has to lie to the rakyat. This is the reason why people bosan with Proton. Be honest and rakyat will support you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Aikon on Dec 31, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Thanks for the fake info ya…appreciate some proof that you’re an ex dealer and your buddies are still dealers…otherwise, it is just a load of…

• Mohd Khairul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:44 am

The only way Proton can contain their losses is to downsize their overbloated staff. Even if they sell 50,000 X70 per year also, they still cannot break even

• Arshad on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:53 am

I think MAA should release data by car and not by brand anymore. Then we will know the real news.

I am sure if MAA does this, Proton also cannot tanggung malu.

• Aikon on Dec 31, 2018 at 5:29 pm

MAA does not provide that because of some anti competition act…I’m sure the car companies also want to receive the detailed info

• Anthony Gan on Dec 29, 2018 at 12:02 pm

cool comment. You got so many likes and dislikes. Healthy arguement. I concur with you

• I gip you a like! Sapot! Berlogic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Honda Salesmen Cry on Dec 29, 2018 at 8:01 pm

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 29, 2018 at 8:36 pm

When I have 500 dislikes, I know people at Proton cannot accept the truth. Siapa makan cili, dia lah rasa pedas.

Many curious why I got 500 dislikes still open the post to read the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
        • John Cinta MO1 on Dec 30, 2018 at 9:46 am

The reason is P1 salesmen and fanboys all syok sendiri.

For now, we can see many people booking the X70.

After 1 year, those owners of the X70 will regret and nangis banyak.

Other people will continue to purchase P2 vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Perodua Sucks on Dec 30, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Majority Malaysians will definitely not going to purchase Perodua. Because everyone knows that Perodua has been cheated for the past 20 years as Perodua always rebadging models for Axia, Bezza and Alza. Some more, Perodua also selling Axia, Bezza and Alza all together with 2 airbags without VSC. Don’t forget, Perodua are also removing engine temperature gauge for Perodua Myvi that still currently selling in Malaysia as compare to previous Myvi where previous Amy I have Engine temperature gauge

• Perodua Sucks on Dec 30, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Majority Malaysians will definitely not going to purchase Perodua. Because everyone knows that Perodua has been cheated for the past 20 years as Perodua always rebadging models for Axia, Bezza and Alza. Some more, Perodua also selling Axia, Bezza and Alza all together with 2 airbags without VSC. Don’t forget, Perodua are also removing engine temperature gauge for Perodua Myvi that still currently selling in Malaysia as compare to previous Myvi where previous Myvi have Engine temperature gauge. Majority People in Malaysia will prefer for Proton or Toyota than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
        • Cancelled orders on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:58 am

• Stan Ong on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:03 am

I also remember this incident. I think whole Malaysia also knows

• redpilled on Dec 30, 2018 at 6:50 pm

dah pikup u pyna BSH?

• I think P1 didn’t expect the overwhelming response received by the X70. 15k bookings might have exceeded their own initial expectation. Any carmaker would love to have the demand outstripping supply, but the waiting time mustn’t be too long that it put off existing ang potential customers. If that continues, P1 would have to speed up CKD assembly of the X70 to meet the demand.

• Honda Fan on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:24 pm

Saw the X70 on the road, but haven’t seen any in the 2 showrooms near my house. Not bad that Proton has got a car that peoples bought without seeing it in fresh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • 123k bargain Volvo. Tayar 19in Rm700, berbaloi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • The Truth About Proton, Geely, Volvo and London Cabs on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:10 pm

After Geely bought Volvo, Malaysians have seen Volvo parts prices go up 3X

After Geely bought London Cab, UK cab drivers complain prices of parts shot up like crazy. Nearly 3X gone up

After Geely bought Proton, Malaysians can expect Proton parts prices go up 3X also.

Don’t bilip me? Go ask any Volvo owner who owns Volvo the past 15 years.

China NEVER gives anything FREE

Don’t get heart attack Proton owners. You still don’t know or have asked Proton X70 parts prices yet.

Is there a guarantee that parts prices are fixed for the next 5 years?

• 4 Tayar RM2800 on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Most buyers are buying with loan. Tayar at RM700 who can really afford?

4 Tayar Rm2800

• Keiran on Dec 29, 2018 at 3:32 am

TunF

Fabulous

Please help me to rebadged the new X70 into a new Volvo with 123K now. Make sure it must perform like an original Volvo specs and nothing short.

The cost saving and advantages are great if you can help to do that.

Make sure you are not a NATO member
        NATO = No Action Talk Only

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 243
      • Honda CRV 2.0 2018 RM128k on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 201
        • Celup King on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:18 pm

Award wining for the many gates scandals. Meanwhile back in homeland Japan, Geely Volvo XC40 wins COTY award. The awkward moment when CRV cannot win in it’s homeland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 14
          • Mohd Khairul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:42 am

Most Delerships already upgraded to 3S/4S but personnel still not trained. Most cannot even comprehend English

• Honda Salesmen Cry on Dec 29, 2018 at 8:03 pm

• Cancelled orders on Dec 30, 2018 at 12:06 pm

• Honda turbo you go for maintenance for oil engine more often as the timing is not same with normal service. Ends up with more cost than x70

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 8
          • autojacket on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:11 pm

Yup true. People will also never buy CRV and HRV cause there are lots of major problems about many parts for Honda CRV and Honda HRV, ten of thousands people will buy Proton X70 instead of buying CRV and HRV. Somemore, majority people will also buy Toyota Rush over Perodua SUV D38L and BRV as cause there are major problems for many parts for BRV while Perodua SUV D38L is actually copying from originally Toyota Rush Design which Perodua are always rebadging other brands models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Badrul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:21 am

every year from 1985 Proton always say game changer but then every car also sales kaput

• Award-winning? You do know that all awards were for the CRV 1.5 TC Premium, right? The 2.0 was just there for bean counting people like you.

• Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Better thank China for saving Proton and saving our car industry. Pity Proton could not succeed without Geely’s cars and help

• Forester RM123k vs Proton X70 Rm123k on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Malaysians cannot understand the logic. Isn’t barang buatan tempatan supposed to be cheaper for Malaysians?

So why is Barang Import lagi mahal?

• Badrul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:08 am

At the end of the day, 9 out of 10 Malaysians will pay the extra to buy the CRV.

And Proton RV will drop because sales will be low like before

• Han Cheng on Dec 30, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Honda accord BIW TR 8KNW/°, Proton X70 BIW TR 16.8KNW/°, Proton Preve BIW TR 19KNW/°
          Which car body will look wavy after 3 years and which will car are safe, your money your life, in this era sensation are more legit than truth, SAD

• Happy on Dec 31, 2018 at 11:43 pm

Dunno about you but I bought CHR during tax holiday. Solid performance and not even a single problem so far. Toyota will always be Toyota, robust and reliable!

• Danny Wong on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:14 pm

If you are as broke as your describe, fret not. There is still Perodua to satisfy your needs. If you are earning RM2K and are considering this RM100K car, then you need to reconsider your priorities or better yet, stop complaining and work harder. There are plenty of cars available for RM50-60K for you. Don’t act like there is only ONE car for all Malaysians.

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:17 am

Who in Malaysia got RM120k? That is so much of money. And those who can afford RM120k don’t want to even look at Proton

• Aikon on Dec 31, 2018 at 10:20 am

Nope, they do have cars for rakyat like the Saga, Iriz and Persona, but their aim is to move away from that IMHO. So, they will probably LEAVE that segment soon but probably also retain a few models still to represent them in the cheap car market. Perodua holds the monopoly to cheap cars and that’s what the majority will buy anyway. Water will always flow to the lowest point. Seriously no point for Proton to really worry about producing ‘public’ cars. Fighting Perodua is again IMHO, just a waste of resources. Just move the brand image up and give better products and services to get market share from the Japanese. This might make more financial sense. No need so much volume to earn. As with kereta rakyat, the company needs super volume and thin margins. I don’t think Geely will want that anymore. So, yes while the company was started to build cheap cars for the public, that role is effectively taken over by Perodua now. Let Proton move away and fight the higher segments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • The troll will be working overtime to spew bullshits and lies after hearing this.

• Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:51 pm

This is because rakyat trust in China quality, nothing to do with Proton at all.

We must thank China for saving us

• Proton Oh Proton on Dec 29, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Aiyooo yooo Proton, rakyat mana ada duit. Harga kereta mahal.

Harga spare part mahal

RV pun tarak ada.

Nak sokong pun susah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Jangan gembira terlebih dahulu john on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 179
    • applegreen on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:10 pm

60% pick range-topping Premium 2WD variant. Local economy pickin up again, pipu gaji oso up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Proton X70 Rm123k- Forester RM123k on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Both cars SAME price.

One car only sold in China and officiaally rejected by all FIRST WORLD countries.

The other car is AWARD Winning and has awards as the best family SUV in Australia, UK, US and many FIRST World countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 46
        • Celup King on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Award wining for the many gates scandals. Meanwhile back in homeland Japan, Geely Volvo XC40 wins COTY award. The awkward moment when CRV cannot win in it’s homeland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 8
          • Arshad on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:58 am

Geely will kill all other Proton models and start marketing all their Geely cars in Malaysia besides this X70.

So, what is so national about our National car company?

• Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:56 pm

We Malaysians must give full recognition and appreciation to Geely for giving us a good SUV that is high spec.

Lucky Geely gave us a safe car which Proton could not give us in 20 years.

• Are brake Pads RM1500!!!! on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:10 am

Proton X70 owners gonna get panic when they find out brake pads are RM1500 for front and back

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:26 am

CRV, X-Trail, Forester and Tiguan all nearly SAMA HARGA

No need to crack my head to think which to buy

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:30 am

Owners have not gone to Service Centre yet. When you go, you will know the SECRET.

• What?? on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:19 pm

Replace “Perodua D38L” with “Proton X50” and you’ll be right on the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:58 pm

Every year Perodua sales is 4X more than Proton sales.

Next year it will be the same. Once rakyat see the poor SC, then they will stop buying Proton again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Badrul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:11 am

Perodua cars never breakdown. Prootn cars always breakdown and repair is so expensive. Now, X70 will be even more expensive

• Haidi on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:31 pm

D38L sounds like a Durian. Yum yum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • In your dreams. More likely follow the path of Nautica, only 200 total production.

• Datuk Abdul Rashid john Musa on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:32 pm

“Strong support from john has continued, and this has been the best response received by Proton for a long time,” said Abdul Rashid Musa, who also noted that only 1% of the bookings made were for the range-topping Premium 2WD variant. Since the model’s launch, only 1 bookings have been recorded by the national carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 67
    • The idiot troll really trying to be more idiotic than usual after hearing this. This is indeed nightmare for him. Habislah his salary going down the drain because failed to do his job.

• The Truth About Proton, Geely, Volvo and London Cabs on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:15 pm

Wait till you see parts prices yet. Has any owners asked Proton for parts prices yet?

And will it be the same 5 years time?

• Sallehuddin on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:31 am

Most people here are fed up with the paid people who come here and boost Proton image. So obvious. We know already, that is why we reject Proton

• Where is 8X tea drinker? on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:34 pm

2 words : habisla Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
    • Hongda Men on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:09 pm

Habisla Honda CRVs and HRVs.
      Overpriced CRVs and HRVs cannot sell now. We Hongda salesmen all eat Westnorth wind in the showroom, playing Fruit ninja in our showroom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
    • Abesla on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Abesla Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • Badrul on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:18 am

Every launch say Game Changer and abislah Perodua but every year Perodua still sell 200,00 cars and Proton only sell 60,000 cars

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:32 am

Spare parts in X70 will cost you an arm and a leg!!!!!

• dream on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:34 pm

CKD Rm 69,888 is very cheap for basic X70.

• Baby john doo doo on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Will decrease soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • Dilbert on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Yes, price will decrease soon when CKD version starts selling.

• Dilbert shark doo doo on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:11 am

Salah! Sales will decrease soon when CKD version starts selling.

• Sallehuddin on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:32 am

This is Proton style. Like to kelentong rakyat sales are good but actually sales are very low

• Fareed on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Just wondering how our tidak APA attitude and laziness of Proton so call mechanics are going to provide efficient , fast , good advice , attentive , high standard and convenient services to these customers later on.

Plz SACK lousy , lacking knowledge and lazy Proton mechanics as the world does not owed them a living . They have to meet the standard and work harder and properly to earn a living .for themselves..

Proton cannot survive with Tongkat forever need change to human resource immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
  • SOON SIONG KOONG on Dec 28, 2018 at 1:57 pm

We made our booking more than 6 months ago and when the prices were finally announced we proceeded with the purchase. We were told that our unit was already on the trailer on the 17th and made full payment on the 20th. We were told then that the cheque needed to be cleared before delivery can be made. Car number have been obtained, SIM card activated but up till now (more than 2 weeks after the launch date)the car has still not been delivered. The excuse is now that they are waiting for the trailer for delivery. I speculate that the marketing wishes to release the vehicle only in 2019 and meanwhile creating excitement and pent up anticipation. If that is the case then it’s an idiotic marketing ploy cos it’s targeting only those who have not committed yet. What about those that have so much faith and belief in the model that they pre-order without seeing the car and irrespective of the price. After a wait of more than half a year and after making full payment they are still left without the car leading to much frustration. These buyers are your faithful and loyal fan base and your priority should be to keep them happy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • lilytan on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Geeli or not, its a Potong after all. Expect the worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • The market itself wud want to have the car in 2019 since getting it now will eat into depreciation rate later on. Why wud the market wanna lose that much becuz they cant wait for another 4 days? Deswai the bookings r going stronk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Petaiberry on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:17 pm

But when u want trade in, the tauke stiil look at year of production and not year of registration…. Banyak rugi. Kereta lambat. Bila dapat value terus jatuh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Fordist on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Year of registration not year of make.

• For AP car, taukes will look at year of registration which will be 2019.

• Sallehuddin on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:27 am

No such thing, everybody looks at year of make. Proton is a silly company to launch in December. No planning

• U mean just like P2 which launch Myvi last year Dec? Yeah, no planning at all… oh wai

• Please review the experience after you get the early batch. I suspect too that they actually want to release it on 2019. But, hopefully the wait it worth it.

• james kwan on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:40 pm

this is called Proton first class service. they dont care about customers. but they can give cars free to DRB bosses and other senior managers who basically do nothing in proton but coffee drinking and smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • PROTON EDAR SDN BHD on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Mr Soon (if this is your real name),
      I assume they have been in touch with you if they read this given the name is listed. But if it isn’t your real name, please raise this to PROTON or DRB-Hicom management directly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • thefact on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:38 pm

such an idiot.. u want a 2018 car..n immediately in few days u loose value as it will be 2019? memang sohai.
      Tunggu la few more days.

All manufacturers also do the same. even overseas la.

• Keyboard Warrior Strikes on Dec 28, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Reception to the Proton X70 SUV has been encouraging following its official launch on December 12, with about 2 to 3 bookings being made daily. This is according to Projohn Edar CEO Datuk john in a report by Keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
  • benzs on Dec 28, 2018 at 2:16 pm

Daily 200-300 units? Habis lah all SUV in Malaysia. Average 6000 units per month and average price 99.8k = 598,800,000.00 (Proton is being safe guard)

• To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 6
  • benzs on Dec 28, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Better wait for CKD. Will be cheaper by RM10k, at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Soon rip john on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:21 pm

Salah! Better wait for P2 SUV. Will be a lot cheaper, at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
      • redpilled on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:15 pm

And a lot less refined with a lot less toys and features. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Anonymous on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:44 pm

P2 suv will be targeting the budget market and is a smaller suv. It’s like competing a VW Golf against a Myvi. Let people buy whatever they can afford. The P2 will be the more popular model for sure, because it’s cheaper not because it will be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
      • Why wait for cheaper junk? CKD X70 is worthed every sen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Different engine compartment

• It’s baoteng we are talking about here. mula mula memang shiok sendiri announce new model laku keras. Wait after another few months. Same old same old macam all their previous failures. It happens so often, you cannot claim to be surprised anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • newme on Dec 28, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Rashid oh Rashid… the same person that looked down on rebadged and non-european cars. Now everyday looking at China made car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Blowing Water

• tokmoh. on Dec 28, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Hahahhahahahhahahhahaha

All bashers so happy to claim during launching ceremony “habislah, who stupid will pay rm123k for proton, more than half will sure cancel booking, proton so stupid overpriced it whereas in china it starts from rm60k (not knowing it’s not even same engine and it’s a manual), who dare risk rm100k++ for china junk tech, no RV blablabla”

BOOM, NAH AMBIK KAU! GLORY TO GEELY EMPIRE! This is not even CKD yet, will be even cheaper with more tax break.

Honda, Toyota, Perodua SAs all pissing in their pants, create fake news. The market has spoken, Proton’s counterattack has only just begun! Dread it, run from it, destiny still arrives!

Proton, Geely > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 18
    • Fist bump bro! Basher is screaming in his empty showroom now, I can hear it. Its like music to my ears. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • This kinda electrifying rush of Patriotism really unprecedented. At least since AFF Cup final & May 9th victory, good luck Proton!

• Proton Oh Proton on Dec 29, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Without China, Proton will be nothing. Without China, Maalaysia will be nothing.

Lucky China now making Proton workers work hard

• tokmoh. on Dec 29, 2018 at 6:31 am

Fist bump!

A valiant effort, but ultimately futile muahahahaha.

• Yeah bro! Even his Toyota lord need to find Geely for partnership. Basher salesman tak tau malu. His Jepunis lords r heading towards their sunsets and they r still arrogant about it, even chucking one of their foreign CEO saviour into prison.

• tokmoh. Salah Total on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Hahahhahahahhahahhahaha

All bashers so happy to claim during launching ceremony “habislah, who stupid will pay rm123k for proton, more than half will sure cancel booking, proton so stupid overpriced it whereas in china it starts from rm60k (not knowing it’s not even same engine and it’s a manual), who dare risk rm100k++ for china junk tech, no RV blablabla”

BOOM, NAH AMBIK KAU john! GLORY TO OTHER CARMAKER EMPIRE! This is not even CKD yet, will be finished even with more tax break.

Proton SAs all pissing in their pants, create fake news. The market has spoken, other carmakers counterattack has only just begun! Dread it, run from it, destiny still arrives.

All > Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • Ur screams r sweet music to my ears. Hahahaha!

• Volvo no RV > All on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Well done Proton and Geely. But you kill Volvo SUV sales badly

• Anonymous on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:47 pm

They were never great to start with. Volvo has to compete against both European (Audi, BMW, VW) and Japanese (Mitsubishi, Honda, Subaru, Toyota, Lexus) and their SUVs are well established here.

• No worries. VolvoCar major market is outside of MY. Both teams complement each other in their own target market.

• tokmoh. on Dec 29, 2018 at 6:27 am

No worries, Volvo Cars still pecah sales record and profit for the fourth year in a row.

One day, the premium market in Malaysia will caught on. They will see the brilliance of Volvo and it will be the one all wants to be seen in.

• Audi No RV on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:09 pm

Volvo SUVs sells better and more in number than Audi SUVs and BMW SUVs in Europe.

Poor thing , In Europe , Lexus SUVs hardly can sell . The limited number of Lexus SUV in Europe make Lexus a Non sought after brand which is almost Last position in sales order there.

Toyota Harriet is view as a Junk SUV in Europe market

• Proton Oh Proton on Dec 29, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Now China car gives life to Proton. Proton cars could not sell anymore.

Bertuah that China cars have quality

• Rahim Chik on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:52 pm

Tokmoh, please thank China. Proton did not do anything. Even conversion also, China did all the work for the Proton staff.

So, pls thank Geely and China for their hard work

• Just because it’s China, you are jumping for joy….Pathetic

• Vincent on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Personally checked the X70 premium unit. Was impress with the build quality and spec. Geely given all into this X70.

But when back to rational, I wonder how many would pay 120+K for Proton!

We will wait and see!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Phaser on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:33 pm

As the article says. The answer is 200-300 a day. Are those who order now irrational? I’m guessing you mean when the hype has died down though and we are 2 years in to the product life cycle. If PROTON can maintain 20-24k sales a month it will easily be the premium c-segment SUV market leader and remember, by then the small SUV and the MPV would have joined the range too.

• Ultimate Rugal on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:38 pm

That is the problem, the Proton brand. They oversee all the specs given to them with only RM124k. Besides X70, the cheapest SUV with AEB is CRV with RM160k++ but people still buy it because it’s Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Ultimate Rugal on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:41 pm

That’s the problem, the Proton brand. The cheapest C segment SUV with AEB is RM165k CRV, if I’m not mistaken. People still buy it because it’s Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • fadzili Rahman on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:44 pm

And considering that its not even a proton. its a Chinese made car with proton badge on it. a car that is not even approved for sale in Europe, North America and other high level asian countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Freddy on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:06 pm

So what? Even Toyotas sold here is not even approved for sale in Europe, North America and other high level asian countries. Toyota had to rebadge Mazda2 as Yaris to enter North America. Such a pathetic excuse of a brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • basherlogic on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:22 pm

So you mean saudi arabia is not high level country? Duh.

• You think your beloved Vios is sold in USA or Japan? Face it, most of the Toyotas here are designed for 3rd world countries.

• Otak bansai ke, Myvi pun tak approved sale kat Europe, jadi Myvi tak blh pakai kan?

• Did you miss the part “200-300 bookings daily” in the headline? Or did you read the article? If you did, you’ll know that 60% of the bookings is for the Premium 2WD variant which is the RM123k unit bro. Do the math.

• applegreen on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:02 pm

The ckd version could come up with volvo 1.5 t3 turbo engine. This will help x70 buyers getting fuel subsidies

• SALang on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Save the 1.5T for the smaller SUV.. X60 or X50 maybe..
      and the price is at least 20k lower.. thats the real game changer..
      others car maker just be prepare..

• Victor on Dec 29, 2018 at 3:08 am

SA Lang

You have no knowledge about car whether it is a big , medium or small segment .

XC60 is not a B or C segment SUV TO FIT a 1.5L engine due to its massive weight of more than 1.8 Ton.

It will be good for B segment cars that is lighter like Renault Capture , Honda HRV, Toyota Rush to fit a 1.5T engine that really make them performing powerfully

• fadzili Rahman on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:38 pm

each tome Proton launch a “game changer” they have 10,000 bookings and later hundreds daily but they still bleed and lose billions and ask for loan. I saw a red X70 two days ago and it was driven by a proton salesman. the car is realy ugly in real life its like old 2002 Hyundai cars. not worth the money at all. too expensive for a Chinese made car rebadged. I checked a new Subaru and its only 7K price difference. this car will not save proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 35
    • qwerty on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Forrester dashboard, meter panel and gear console look cheap. X70 much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Correction: The D38L or Toyota Rush is realy ugly in real life its like old Perodua Rusa, not worth the money at all.

• Well, Proton did something very different from the rest in term of marketing & building up their new SUV anticipation from public (eg. marketing hype & gimmick – saying it will be price low, showing actual LHD BoYue, RM 1k few months advance booking, then RM 99 only online booking , showing the X70 to selected buyers/VIPs only etc) from public and it could backfire them too! Then BOOM!, shocked everyone with their high price release, many cancellations lor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
  • typical malaysian on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:47 pm

you just wait for the suv from P2. we have the advantage of low income earners, which makes the majority of the population in Malaysia. so P2 sales will directly jump high during launch. even now P2 is making its suv desirable by taking it to Japan. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 72
    • typical malaysian extremely salah on Dec 29, 2018 at 6:44 am

P2 SUV is originally from Toyota Rush Design. So rebadging Toyota Rush Design known as Perodua SUV D38L will also bringing in to Japan. And moreover, Majority Malaysians have been cancelled booking for Perodua Terios and book for either Toyota Rush or Proton X70. So what for, when Perodua Terios is actually copying from Toyota Rush Design. Some more, Perodua are always rebadging for other brand models. Perodua Company are always hiding for the past 20 years.

• SALang on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:01 pm

200 to 300 booking since 12 Dec 2018..
    Wao..
    Proton should have receive at least 3200 booking so far ( (28-12)x200)
    Seriously..

• AeroWings on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:56 pm

“..on December 12, with about 200 to 300 bookings being made daily”. Daily. Can’t you read?

• Happy on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Deliveries will only begin in Jan.

• Buy Subaru Forester. Good value for money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • Don't be sad John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:15 pm

Habislah! Perodua!

No one will buy their SUV since it looks identical to Toyota Rush.

Priced at 70k? People rather buy Toyota Rush or Proton X70 even though it is much bigger. You will get laughed by others if you buy a Perodua SUV.

Perodua are so lazy to design their car themselves except the new Myvi. They have been rebadging other cars for over two decades! Only SOHAI will buy Perodua.

So Perodua sales will be falling like waterfall.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 7
    • Don't be sad john on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:20 pm

Habislah! Proton!

No one will buy their SUV since it looks identical to Geely Boyue.

Priced at 123k? People rather buy Toyota Rush or Perodua D38L SUV even though it is much bigger. You will get laughed by others if you buy a Proton X70.

Proton are so lazy to design their car themselves. They have been rebadging other cars for over two decades! Only SOHAI will buy Proton.

So Proton sales will be falling like waterfall.

• Aikon on Jan 01, 2019 at 10:00 am

Those who choose the Perodua SUV over the X70 are usually those who can’t afford the X70. But it is fine, the Perodua SUV which is a copy and paste (Also ya, so don’t just say Proton is lazy. It works both ways) of the Toyota Rush was designed for the economy minded. So, there’s a high chance the smaller, cheaper, lower tech SUV will sell more at the end of the day. Proton is not competing with that and you need to start to think otherwise already.

No point laughing also when you’re in the economy car which is basically a 7-seater for the masses. From 99.8k onwards, the X70 is not for those economy minded SUV buyers who desperately need 7 seats. For those, by all means, go and buy the Perodua.

• But Bezza also their design. Not rebadge.

• Proton Kantoi King on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:23 am

This is why Perodua sales always 4X more than Proton sales every year the past 15 years

• toxic on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:11 pm

im only here for the cancerous comment

• Complaints Resolver on Dec 28, 2018 at 10:22 pm

P2 technician here. Dont know about x70 but P2 NSU maintenance cost will be way cheaper bcoz with simple 4 speed AT. Just expect a little underpowered but decent torque to compensate. Build within Toyota factory.

• Haslindah on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:15 pm

Disgusting lousy garbage

• krsdy on Dec 29, 2018 at 6:53 am

ppl don’t buy chery and haval. this? Still the China car. it just a China car with Proton logo nothing special about.

• that figure..sure lie.

• SOON SIONG KOONG on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:55 am

Proton Edar, yes that’s my real name and no, I have not been contacted yet. Proton have every right to determine when to release the car but the point is they should not collect payment if they wish only to deliver it in 2019. If that is their strategy, then collect payment only when the car is ready for delivery. As to depreciation, it’s up to the individual buyer to decide. Some buyers may decide to only have the car registered in 2019 for that reason but if a buyer is prepared to make full payment for immediate delivery, why should you stop him, it’s his decision, it’s his money.

• Honda oso have the same long waiting time lor. If u really wanted the car now, u shud have call up and ask few dealers if they have stock availability. P1 wun know becoz they r not the seller, so they dun keep track of stocks at dealer yard. Be proactive if u want the car now, and dun complain later when ur RV drops after few days into new year.

• Thomas Aw on Dec 29, 2018 at 5:26 pm

Hi,
    I am not sure whether this has been asked before. I noticed in a youtube review recently of the Proton X70 the Turn Signal Indicator Stick is on the left side of the steering wheel. Why cannot it be on the right side of the steering wheel as eventually it will be manufactured in Malaysia.

To me it is natural to have on the right side for Right Handed Drive cars driving on left side of the road and vice versa. Maybe a kind person here can shed more lights on this. Thank you very much for the kind understanding.

• Because baoteng perasan ala-European since wanna days

• Proton cars signal stick is on the left side, go and check preve, exora, saga etc

• Amran on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:31 pm

3 month later sambung bayar

• Fred Durst on Dec 30, 2018 at 7:27 am

X70 is a disgrace for proton. Despite all those years championing local design n local content made by malaysian, they are just copy n paste .proton is even worse than perodua. At least perodua made effort to localise malaysia made part as much as possible into their car. But this car cbu from china in rhd is made from mainland people. What it is gain for proton? Better tukar the name altogether to geely, scrap the proton name..Get it Mr CEO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Aikon on Dec 31, 2018 at 10:25 am

Why so much anger? It is a company and not a charity and they do what they need to survive. Nothing about all those things mentioned, it is in the end, whether or not the company survives and to do this fast, they need a fresh source of income with as little as possible cost. Hope you get it as well. It’s no big deal, really, if the products are good and stay good with good support.

• John is otak batu on Dec 31, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Booo! Lousy comment !

• LEE KIM SAI on Dec 30, 2018 at 7:35 am

RMB 100k = RM 100k!!!!!

• Han Cheng on Dec 30, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Honda accord BIW TR 8KNW/°, Proton X70 BIW TR 16.8KNW/°, Proton Preve BIW TR 19KNW/°
    Which car body will look wavy after 3 years and which will car are safe, your money your life, in this era sensation are more legit than truth, SAD

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 30, 2018 at 11:15 pm

Test drove my friend’s X70 mid spec 2WD on highway, winding & kampung uneven roads. The 2 seats in the front feels comfortable & rides pretty well. The back passengers however gets motion sickness from the wallowing & feeling every single uneveness on the road. Throughout the journey, we switch between driving & being a passenger just to feel the car. Perhaps most have not owned a SUV before & accept it as part of SUV character but for me & my friends who owned other SUVs we find the rear setup rather displeased. The rear wheels have a tendancy to lift up in the air without traction when you hit a bump/uneveness. Due to the swaying at the rear, we had to lower our speeds to less than 60kmh when taking curves/bends on the highway. On our other SUVs, we could take those curves faster due to better traction, control & far less swaying. Unlike other Proton models, this one rides without the handling perhaps due to fast track decision to launch with little Lotus Ride magic in the works. I hope Proton look into this in the upcoming CKD model & I would gladly buy one without hesitation. The engine power for me is adequate especialy in Power mode. The steering becomes heavier but still the rear sways at the slightest twiching of the steering.

• Amran on Dec 31, 2018 at 7:20 am

Buy x70 today, 3 month later go for sambung bayar.. Kahkahkah