2023 Perodua Axia D74A 1.0L CVT – official teaser images released, full front and rear angles uncovered

You’ve seen the first images of the 2023 Perodua Axia from today’s media preview event, and here are some fresh official teaser images to go along with it. Put these front and rear pieces on the jigsaw puzzle of the camouflaged cars we showed you earlier, and you’ll have a pretty good idea of how the D74A looks unclothed. Go on, play now.

UPDATE: Here’s our first impressions test drive report of the 2023 Perodua Axia

Speaking of that, we can’t show you the full car yet, as that’s embargoed till the February 14 launch date. As for the new Axia’s interior, you’ve already seen the horizontal-style dashboard with a “floating” screen in its full glory. Very current and very nice for an entry-level car, I’m sure you’ll agree. See more below.

As you’d already know, the 2023 Axia sits on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform and is powered by a carryover 1.0 litre VVT-i engine. The 1KR-VE three-cylinder is a naturally-aspirated unit with 67 hp/91 Nm – no turbo as rumoured.

Instead, the big news in the powertrain department is the EEV engine’s partner, which is the D-CVT gearbox. Just like in the Myvi facelift, the stepless auto replaces the long-serving four-speed torque converter automatic transmission, bringing improvements in both fuel efficiency and performance. That’s a win-win at both ends of the scale.

First introduced in the Ativa, D-CVT stands for Dual-Mode CVT, the world’s first split gear CVT system. Basically, the unit combines belt drive with a gear drive for improved FC, acceleration and quietness.

From rest to medium speeds, the D-CVT functions like any other CVT, with engine torque going through a torque converter (like Toyota and Honda CVTs; Proton’s Punch CVT uses a clutch pack) and into the input pulley, before being transferred to the output pulley via a belt and then to the wheels. At higher speeds, D-CVT shifts into its split mode, engaging the gear drive to provide more efficient power transmission (less energy loss), while the rotation to the belt drive is decreased significantly. More on the D-CVT here.

With the CVT, fuel consumption is now 25.3 km/l, or up to 27.4 km/l with the Eco Idle auto start-stop system. These claimed figures are in what P2 calls the Malaysian Driving Cycle (MDC), which supposedly follows local road conditions and driving patterns. By the way, in the Myvi facelift, FC was 5% better with the 4AT-CVT swap (engine was unchanged) while 0-100 km/h acceleration improved by a whopping 20%, so expect a more economical and faster new Axia.

This new 1.0L D-CVT combo is standard across the new Axia board, which has four variants – G, X, SE and AV. The latter two variants add on Eco Idle and Power mode (PWR button on the steering’s right spoke, as per the Ativa).

You can tell the SE and AV apart from the outside thanks to LED daytime running lights, housed in a sideways T-shaped trim, which reminds me of the pre-facelift G20 BMW 320i Sport. Yes, LED DRLs are now available on the Axia. LED headlamps are standard from the X onwards.

The wing mirrors on all Axias are electric, but those on the SE/AV are auto retractable. Keyless entry is standard from the X onwards, and the graphic shows an electrostatic sensor, where just a touch will do instead of a button press. This is as per the Ativa and an upgrade from the Myvi’s black button.

Another feature highlight is the digital meter panel. The range-topping AV gets a 7.0-inch TFT instrument panel. That’s the same size as the MID in the Ativa and Alza, and the flyer shows a “3D ring” tachometer, so it’s probably the same unit coupled with a digital speedo. Also exclusive to the AV is a floating-style 9.0-inch display audio. Once again, that’s the same size as the Ativa’s and the graphics look similar as well. Every other variant gets a non-touchscreen radio.

Moving on, there are two levels of seats, divided between G/X and SE/AV. The cheaper variants get “standard” front seats and rear seats with “pillow headrests.” The higher end variants get “semi-bucket” front seats and “separate headrests” for the rear seats. As for upholstery, only the AV gets two-tone semi-leather covers. Solar and security window tint is reserved for the SE and AV.

These days, we expect new Perodua models to have massively upgraded safety over previous versions, and the Axia doesn’t disappoint. The top variant will have six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), a big jump from its predecessor, which maxed out at two front airbags.

Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) is also available. Advanced Safety Assist (ASA, which includes autonomous emergency braking, AEB) made its debut in the 2019 Axia facelift, and it should also be available here – we’ll have to wait to see which variants get ASA. Meanwhile, VSC is standard across the board.

By the way, the PDSA umbrella also covers the “Driving Assist” pack, which has lane keeping functions, blind spot monitoring and adaptive cruise control – it remains to be seen if the new Axia has these semi-autonomous features in the AV, or will it be just ASA. In any case, it’s a lot of safety for the money, and this being a new DNGA product, expect five stars in the ASEAN NCAP crash test.

Finally, colours. The new Axia can be had in five shades – Granite Grey, Lava Red, Glittering Silver, Ivory White (solid) and the new Coral Blue. The latter is the launch hero colour for the D74A.

As announced on January 31 when the order books opened, estimated prices are from RM38,600 for the G, RM40,000 for the X, RM44,000 for the SE and RM49,500 for the AV, all on-the-road without insurance. That’s higher than before, so you do pay more for a bigger car with extra features. For reference, the launch prices of the 2019 Axia facelift were RM34,990 for the GXtra with VSC and RM43,190 for the AV.

There’s no kosong Axia E with a manual gearbox a.k.a. the driving school spec at launch, but Perodua has confirmed that a cheaper Axia with a stick shift will be launched after Hari Raya Aidilfitri, which falls in April. Also not in the D74A line-up is the SUV-inspired Style variant. Later, perhaps.

What’s your take on the new 2013 Axia’s looks and specs?

GALLERY: Perodua Axia D74A, media preview

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anonymous_C on Feb 08, 2023 at 4:11 pm

Looking forward to Daihatsu version of this car.

As expected these headlamps will be challenging for sunny Malaysia weather. Weirdly the current Bezza headlamps looks better compare to new Axia.

P2 have not made improvements to that old air-cond control unit?

• John Geli on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:27 pm

Alhamdullilah sure got global version with at least 1 million units sales soon.

That’s why we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA)!!

• Michael Druce on Feb 10, 2023 at 4:35 pm

Proton X50 and X70 with Turbo variance Perodua Axia shall fitted with turbo Engine as per current global market standard spec for Turbo variant.

• Roti john on Feb 08, 2023 at 6:31 pm

No wonder the all new Perodua Axia will become Malaysia’s No.1 best selling car. Just look at the design, stunning indeed! Who wants to buy the ancient looking Proton Saga again

• Dah Menang Semua on Feb 08, 2023 at 8:50 pm

bookings w/o SST can get rebate if converting to new-AXIA?

• Makes Tata Proud Again on Feb 09, 2023 at 10:25 am

don’t be bad breaking golden rice bowl of P2 directors ok

• Roshan on Feb 08, 2023 at 7:09 pm

Lebih Sporty, Lebih Comfort, Lebih Fuel Efficient, Lagi Safety

Tapau the iconic dugong Yaris HB

• Ex kelisa owner on Feb 08, 2023 at 4:16 pm

A little bit small, alza pulak a little bit too big. rm38k i ambil saga standard, rm48k i ambil persona standard jer lah.

• newme on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:50 pm

I am thinking to get Saga too. But Proton’s poor service is too much to ignore.

• Will wait for STYLE Variant, bet it would be nicer.

• IMO the Axia should get lighter pastel colours like the mira e:S (or the pink on the first gen axia) then it will look so cute and cheerful. Coral blue like this suits larger car better.

• newme on Feb 08, 2023 at 4:46 pm

Bukak sampai depan belakang, memang sah order sikit. People are interested in the price, not so much on the design anymore. This car is in price sensitive category.

• FudgeMeSideways on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:07 pm

Kesian la org Malaysia, duit kian hari semakin kecik. Kete kecik mahal bagai.

• Kingdom on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:28 pm

Indonesia mobile makin murah ya?

• Kereta mahal sebab perodua ke sebab ekonomi? What’s the point of new gen if it doesn’t upgrade from the previous gen?

• Robinhood on Feb 09, 2023 at 10:23 am

Barang semakin mahal. Kerajaan pulak tak nak bagi subsidi lagi…Dari pandu Myvi sekarang jadi Axia…Smart and good govt we have!

• Up to you... on Feb 10, 2023 at 9:34 pm

Study & work hard brother. 50k with all the goodies actually bargain already. If not, just get the basic spec or just buy used car.

B40s always want all the tongkat from the gov. Please wake up… Improve yourself. Don’t expect other people to ‘suap’ your family.

• budaya tongkat on Feb 16, 2023 at 3:46 pm

budaya tongkat… again.
        sikit sikit minta bantuan la, NEP la.
        budaya tongkat

• Demmi on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Even better than Americano Chevrolet Aveo dulu…

• Vincent on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:14 pm

The Interior looks great with the clean line! Exterior, is not my personal preference!

• Mr Mar on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:20 pm

The front resemble a bit like City Hatchback,
    but for the price, current AXIA price will sky rocket!

People will be running around to buy the current version even though second hand, wkwkwk

• Basically it is a Myvi mini me. So DNGA platform spawn Ativa,Alza,Vios,Axia. Since Axia has grown bigger, I wonder how the upcoming gen of Myvi a.k.a. Yaris Hatchback will come out.

• P2 launching it “locally” on february 14th ahead of IIMS on 16th february in jakarta just to please malaysian public as this cheap A-segment is one of their best seller and their traditional cash cow. Still wondering why though no renowned nameplate had their car launching “globally” in so called “this hub that hub” Malaysia?

• Boy Racer on Feb 08, 2023 at 6:49 pm

Truly would have killed off the every other A segment car, but this is no longer Axia-priced.

• FrankC on Feb 08, 2023 at 9:46 pm

hmm.. for old man / retiree this seems a good choice to consider. kecil tak pa. tak ke mana pun.. cheers

• piplup on Feb 08, 2023 at 10:14 pm

referring to the MDC, as we did not see Perodua did their testing before on public road, i assume they have their own test track? if that is the case can we conclude their MDC is not accurate? there are alot of traffic in the real world, stop n go condition as we have countless hills and speed humps, junctions n so on.

• Ahmad Sharifuddin on Feb 09, 2023 at 5:02 am

Why the price too high compare with facelift?

• Sohai on Feb 09, 2023 at 6:46 am

It gives me the proton “sawi” vibe.. which is not good

• Macam kelakar pulak bumper depan & belakang. Dengan harga macam tu, takde la ralat sangat baru angkat axia model lama

• lolpanda on Feb 09, 2023 at 8:20 am

they’ve added PSDA and all but I don’t see a reverse camera even on the AV model in the photos – didn’t the 2019 Axia Advance model have a reverse camera?

Weird if they’re omitting it from the new Axia given that a reverse camera has frequent day-to-day utility.

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 09, 2023 at 10:50 am

I think the reverse camera is located at the license plate lights. Just like other recent P2s

• lolpanda on Feb 09, 2023 at 3:31 pm

i stand corrected, you may be right:

https://paultan.org/image/2023/02/2023_Perodua_Axia_AV_Camo_Preview_Malaysia_Int-26-850×567.jpg

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Feb 09, 2023 at 8:33 am

Disliked rear bumper mounted plate recess…

• Waiting for bezza 2024.axia too small too expensive

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 09, 2023 at 10:49 am

The front is fine. But rear already look outdated. That rear can’t justify RM40k-50k price tag. I can live with that rear shape but the taillights and the way rear wiper is not integrated into the rear window irks me

• Axia is inching its size up the segment, so they probably should introduce a new mini car in the line up within next 5 years. However, since the Kei cars are losing their tax incentives, we might be looking at the end of Kei cars (at least the smaller non-MPV-like models).

This is probably where Proton might have an advantage with China seems to churn out compact EVs every month or something. Who knows, we might have Geely’s Panda Mini EV.