After years of talks, everyone gets full RON95 subsidy; what happened to cutting costs and taxing the rich?

It’s official: the government confirmed this morning that it will extend the full RON95 petrol subsidy to all Malaysians. And just like that, the big fight over targeted subsidies – arguably the centrepiece of the current Madani government – has fallen by the wayside.

To be fair, the new price of RM1.99 per litre will be limited to a quota of 300 litres per month before reverting to RM2.60 per litre (to be floated based on market price), with the exception of registered e-hailing drivers who will receive the lower amount throughout. The use of MyKad verification also further discourages foreigners from smuggling subsidised petrol across borders.

Still, this move is a significant departure from what was previously announced, with prime minister Anwar Ibrahim saying then that a subsidy rationalisation plan was necessary to “optimise national resources for the benefit of the people and reduce subsidy waste.”

Talks of targeted subsidies began not long after the current government came to power – we first reported on it in December 2022, and even the previous government had mulled such a mechanism. Subsidies were then cut for diesel in 2024, but the rationalisation plan for RON95 petrol was repeatedly pushed back, first to the second half of 2024, then to mid-2025, then finally to September 2025.

All the while, we were assured that targeted subsidies were necessary to “save the country;” that the government had “no choice,” that Malaysia should stop giving subsidies to the rich, and that 90% of Malaysians (later, 18 million car drivers and motorcyclists) would be eligible, with only the “extremely wealthy” being left out. Well, that figure is now a full 100%.

The extension of subsidies to all literal card-carrying Malaysians blindsided everyone, including us. Just last month, it was reported that luxury vehicle and property ownership would be among the criteria determining which individuals would get the subsidy and who didn’t. Even as recently as last Friday, when home minister Saifuddin Nasution Ismail advised Malaysians to make sure that their MyKad chip was functional in order to enjoy the lower RON95 price, it was clearly stated that the subsidies would still be targeted.

It’s worth noting that for all the talk of targeted subsidies being necessary to reduce the budget deficit, the reduction in RON95 price from the current level of RM2.05 per litre means there will probably be more subsidies for the government to pay out, compared to leaving the current subsidies alone in the first place.

And while there is a nominal limit for the amount of petrol each person can purchase, the 300 litre quota is far more than one single person can expect to use every month. Not to mention, this quota is exactly the sort of thing a wealthy person can bypass by simply buying a more fuel-efficient car – something that cannot be said for, say, a lower-income individual with older, less efficient transport.

The government has also repeatedly said that this measure will prevent foreigners from benefitting from our subsidies, but it also bears repeating that foreign cars are already barred from using subsidised fuel, and that foreign citizens owning private vehicles in Malaysia are few and far between anyway.

Plus, while the MyKad requirement is a deterrent, it won’t completely stop all forms of smuggling, since foreigners can simply ask a Malaysian family member or friend to fill up for them. All this put together makes us wonder how much the government realistically expects to save from this.

As you can imagine, there are several questions. For one, it is pretty obvious that the government does not have the stomach to tax the super-rich. We have already seen the mooted High Value Goods Tax (HVGT) get canned, so this move is not unprecedented. So, will the greater rakyat pay for this subsidy in other areas?

Just this morning, even as news of the subsidy expansion broke, The Star reported that on Friday, Anwar said savings from targeted subsidies would be spent on “education, health, and basic infrastructure,” including public infrastructure damaged by the ongoing Sabah floods. What will happen to those initiatives?

Secondly, it still hasn’t been answered whether the MyKad verification requirement will lead to long queues at petrol station counters. We’ve only seen the in-store credit card terminal with the card slot so far, and while the government has said that at-pump terminals and petrol company apps will also be able to verify a user’s eligibility, we should point out that a) not every pump has a credit card terminal, and not everyone uses an app to pay for fuel, and b) we still have no details as to how these options will work.

Thirdly, with the RON95 fuel price its lowest since 2019, will demand for EVs continue to plummet? If so, the government will have to extend its current tax incentives if it is to meet its target of EVs to make up 15% of vehicle sales by 2030. Except it won’t be able to afford doing so now, will it?

Last but not least, what will happen to diesel subsidy rationalisation? The expansion of RON95 to all Malaysians will seem unfair to those using diesel vehicles – which, in case you need a refresher, get RM200 a month only if they are Malaysians with an annual household income of less than RM100,000 (no more than RM8,333 per month) and don’t drive a luxury car less than ten years old.

The MyKad verification mechanism also appears to be light years ahead of the rather rudimentary Budi Madani system for targeted subsidies; will this be upgraded?

Over to you now – what do you think of the expansion of RON95 subsidies to all Malaysians? Do you agree or disagree with the implementation? Let us know in the comments.

10% discount when you renew your car insurance with us

Compare prices between different insurer providers and use the promo code 'PAULTAN10' when you make your payment to save the most on your car insurance renewal compared to other competing services. You can also pay with instalment using Grab PayLater or Shopee SPayLater.

Renew Car Insurance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• haters gonna hate on Sep 22, 2025 at 2:57 pm

complain this and that . better just migrate if you dont wish to enjoy cheap petrol

Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Hate not gonna haters on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:04 pm

T20 tersakiti?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 3
      • pity t20 on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:21 pm

T20 driving AMG45, bmw m4, high performance car cannot use ron95 ok . your engine pinging premature detonation. minimum must ron97. kesian T20 no subsidy.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 2
  • AACO MAHA KAYA on Sep 22, 2025 at 2:58 pm

Anwar Always Chicken Out

sad day for Malaysian.

Getting conned again by Anwar.

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • plainbs is that you. on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:56 pm

petrol price drop you say AACO.
      petrol price remain same you say DSAI didnt fulfill promise.
      cant please these bashers.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • irbas on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:00 pm

taxing the rich means contribution and donation for political campaign will be reduced. small dollars from the public can only get you so far. the extra step of mykad verification is like taking off your pants to fart when the government can just give rm200 monthly in cash to all malaysians to save all the hassle. sales of evs likely to increase given the tax advantage and price cuts

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1
  • Everything mao complain on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:05 pm

Stop hating just enjoy. Hafriz Shah also driving Mercedes what. Ask him to pump Ron 97 if he doesn’t want the “cheaper” ron95.

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 2
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:14 pm

Hafriz drives a diesel, so he doesn’t get to enjoy subsidies anyway. :)

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • ThePolygon on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:08 pm

Because the argument was rich use MORE subsidy… so now everyone got 300 litres of subsidized fuel. The rich which used more than 300 litres will have to pay unsubsidized price. They do pay their dues in taxes by the way. Its basically to stop people from abusing more than the subsidized 300 litres, selling to luar negara.

Thumb up 13 Thumb down 1
    • stasta on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:22 pm

that doesnt make any sense because if people who seldom drive use less than 300 liters then can they smuggle their excess to profit illegally?

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 4
      • meladam on Sep 22, 2025 at 4:08 pm

what profit? RM150 for 300 litres? then how long you’ll be at petrol station? unless you’re unemployed and gov feed you sara money then it make sense

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • ollie use brain on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:22 pm

these are literally workable loopholes which people will exploit, the person who dismisses these without a single thought is the child . i sure hope ollie isnt a civil servant else malaysia is doommed.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Am a foreigner/expat living and working in Malaysia legally and I pay my taxes and obey the laws and have got good circle of friends and colleagues who are from Malaysia and from other countries . I do like Malaysia and love the fact that it’s a culturally rich country . Having said that , why penalise only foreigners is something I am not able to digest , my neighbour who is ultra rich gets a subsidy for his RangeRover /Mercs , while I have to pay more than him . I understand the concept of charging more for foreigners but even when you go to Zoo Negara even if you are a foreigner but have an I- Card or working permit you would get the same price as locals .Why single out foreigners who are legally working and living here

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 7
    • ollie read this on Sep 22, 2025 at 3:58 pm

see ollie what did i tell you? these are legitinate grievances litearlly happening right now in the real world , on both sides of the fence.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • How bout the not “legal” one? We are grateful that there are people like you who pay their taxes and all but let’s be honest, how many of you out there? A lot of them are here illegally.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • meladam on Sep 22, 2025 at 4:07 pm

haiyaaa already gave the chicken thigh, now can you want the drumstick too? no wonder so much downvoted. Ish ish

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • You are right. The initial phase of using nationality as the sole criterion is a blunt tool that feels penalizing to valuable, law-abiding members of the community like yourself. It is widely seen as an imperfect but necessary first step. The hope among many policymakers and analysts is that the system will evolve into a more sophisticated and fair model that distinguishes based on residency and income, not just citizenship. Your frustration is a valid criticism of the current policy’s lack of nuance.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • If writer is literate he would know that the subsidy is up to 300 litres only. The ultra rich (eg. Johor) who have >10 cars will have to pay full price after exausting quota.

>it won’t completely stop all forms of smuggling, since foreigners can simply ask a Malaysian family member or friend to fill up for them

Yea, up to 300 litres only, instead of infinite before 30th sept.

Anyway none of these is really to save money to build school or hospital. Despite leaving out foreigner from the subsidy, ironically these kind of money saving move is just to wayang to foreigner (foreign investors) to show that gomen is attempting to fiscally responsible. If gomen really passionate about building school and hospital they can just ask BNM to print money and scare away foreinger, like Argentina.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • 4GR-FSE on Sep 22, 2025 at 4:11 pm

Should have just floated the RON95 price and let the market adjust itself, moving to EV or Hybrid or more efficient vehicles or taking public transportation. And then provide direct cash transfer to those with lower income.
    Use those savings to improve our infrastructure, education, health care, social security.
    Unfortunately, policy makers are lack of political will to reform..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • PitStop on Sep 22, 2025 at 4:11 pm

– AI knows that most of his political backer comes from the
    ultra-rich group, contrary to his word of ‘Ini Parti
    Derita’
    – Implementing additional costs to these group will
    backfired him in the future, so that is why he backtracks
    – Again, AI only know how to talk, but has ZERO knowledge
    on how to manage the country. He only play the people’s
    rhetoric to pursue his and his entourage personal
    agenda

Everyday kena kencing with AI liaowww…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • T20 Jangan Happy Dulu on Sep 22, 2025 at 4:14 pm

I believe this is just first phase, once this system is stable then they might consider to cut T20 out from RON95 subsidy or maybe lesser quota each month. But who knows? Maybe it will stay this way until next GE?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0