Volkswagen CEO to visit Malaysia?

Proton LogoThe Edge reports citing unnamed sources that Volkswagen AG’s CEO Martin Winterkorn will be visiting Malaysia sometime in the next few weeks, and hopes to settle alot of questions that surround the Proton-Volkswagen tie-up negotiations to date.

To keep up to date with news on the current progress of the Proton-VW talks to date, have a look at all the related posts below, which I have listed in reverse chronological order – latest on top.

More conditions for Proton-Volkswagen deal?
Volkswagen to decide on Proton in February 2008
Proton-Volkswagen talks to intensify
PM confirms Proton due diligence audit
Due diligence audit for Proton this month?
More details on Proton-Volkswagen deal

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 3:57 am

ya read that in The Edge newspaper…..anyway hopefully it wil be solved soon…

• azrai (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 6:48 am

In The Edge again right? It seems The Edge is the first media to announce anything about VW-Proton deal. It is wrong each time right. Even Pak Lah don’t announce anything. Sigh. I wonder who is the source a.k.a. for The Edge on this news. It’s like the boy who shout for help cause the ‘wolf’ want to eat his sheep. After 3 times, the villagers never believe him again and losing the sheep. Or are there any ‘black sheep’ in this deal. :)

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 7:51 am

Still taaaaaaaaaaaaalking!

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 7:58 am

Hahaha The Edge is becoming a joke

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 9:59 am

I guess VW CEO visit Malaysia is to ENJOY his HOLIDAYS,……the Edge is GORENG the news again…..Hard to believe it.

GOOD LUCK lah…talk.talk……talk until 2020

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 10:09 am

Yoooh, what’s with the management? They’re so much like aunties la, talk talk talk and talk only, no end to it. Anyway, Proton must be of value to VW if they’ve persisted on talks up till now, that’s something huh.

• acbc (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 10:15 am

NATO la!

• infinity (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 10:42 am

a bit out of topic..but paul, how come no news on the proton blm recently???

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 10:47 am

sorry guys.. i know its lil off topic.. but i think proton BLM would look sumtg like dis…

http://es.autoblog.com/2007/09/24/sudafrica-llega-el-ford-ikon/

if i’m not wrong its ford econo car for markets like brazil, africa… based on fiesta if i’m not wrong.. it seriously reminds me of our BLM.. but i seriously hope tat our BLM, despite being an affordable family car, has some character in it.. like other new protons.. of course d good characters! cheers..

• drM (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 11:25 am

EDGE is… not a reliable source of info. and unfortunately, EDGE is a product of one of the the most read newspaper in the country. but it losing the credibility fast due to incorrect infos before. so..i’ll treat this news as a piece of a cooking stuff.

you put sugar. put salt. plus few herbs. to make it smell good. atleast it smell good. but still to taste.

i have nothing against the Chief of VW to come to malaysia. lai~lai~ we got KLCC (which the German dont give a damn about at all), we got Eye of Malaysia (and you might get killed because of the shoddy ground works), durian? (will PakLah fly another heli of durian to the meeting point?), chics ( i think European size or i call them Free Size these days, is oversized!!!), or you may go to Penang for a plate of Char Kuey Tiau!

or you can visit the Grand Ole Man at IJN. just sembang2 looooo…

ahaahahahahah

• spidermutu (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 12:26 pm

visit? Maybe talk for 10 minutes,then go for a 2 weeks holidays…achtung..achtung

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 12:35 pm

guys totally aside from topic here (sorry Paul)… check out the link of a test drive for the new Honda Jazz by Autocar:

http://autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Honda-Jazz-1.4/228106/

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 12:39 pm

If the BLM like that Ford Ikon..hmmm not bad. I’ll book one cause of its lower price.

• gonggok (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:25 pm

Nobody knows because the partners don’t know – except maybe the Edge?

Does the Govt want to sell controlling shares? Mixed signals there…
    If yes than the govt will set conditions like local investments etc to justify vw/proton to continue to get certain tax breaks….acceptable to VW?

Does VW WANT A CONTROLLING SHARE? Again mixed signals from VW. With the new board with Porsche on board VW seems keen to REDUCE BRANDS. There’s talk of SEAT, LAMBO, BUGGATTI put up for sale. Seems VW only want two brands -VW and SKODA for mass market cars.

So many unknowns – it’s not just a matter of valuations. Intentions are also unclear – except maybe to the people at EDGE ;)

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:27 pm

hope that the deal will be done faster

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:34 pm

come la now
    VISIT MALAYSIA YEAR 2007

now Proton have lots of discount….buy Perdana
    discount 13k come with standard problems.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 2:24 pm

ZZzzzz…. Visit Malaysia 2007… From march 07′ until 08’…. yawn… Just sign the damn agreement pls…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 3:18 pm

Cutu-cuti Malaysia 2007.
    Jom jalan-jalan.. hehee!

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 3:19 pm

come all the way from Germany just to talk,talk.talk…walk,walk…next 3 mths,again talk,talk

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 3:19 pm

HUH..VISIT 2 MAQLAYSIA..YEA..YEA..WELCOME TO MALAYSIA..VISIT MALAYSIA YEAR 2007

• heavymetal (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 3:47 pm

kalau dia tengok driver Malaysia ni mesti dia hairan bin ajaib..kalah Schumacher….hehe..kalau tenguk mat rempit buat stunt…terus dia pun ‘stunt’…welcome to Malaysia….

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Even Playboy makes better reading than them, at least the contents are authentic…tabloid!

• neo2 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 5:42 pm

The scepticism surrounding the talk or negotiation is attracting much and much attention from the public. Will it be a blown-off or will it be a great surprise for all of us? Well, who knows! The Edge has been secretly leaking information and sneaking around the talk and from its annomynous and unverified source, who knows whether it is realiable or it just cook up the heat for P1.
    In short, if you have bought or thinking of going to buy P1 shares, better be prepared to undergo a lot of stress as rumours nowadays are pretty much not true. All the best, P1!

• xstan (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Sorry its not pertinent but just to inform u guys that the real life poster pixs of Proton BLM is at pg 48 of Motor Trader. The Sales Guy that advertised the unit got warned. Its nice…not the odd look of Savvy. Thank God for that..Influence of Renault front. Check them out b4 the mags taken away from the shelves. Its ligth blue & I’ll be going over to the dealer I know , to show me the pixs & suggested price list…its starts at RM28K.

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 7:07 pm

Look like similar talk story!

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/newsncom.php?itemid=8552

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:48 am

A fisherman wants to be a contractor. Stands beside street, longing for projects to be handed to him. Persistence pays, after many weeks, with his wife and children lying on the street half dead, a wealthy German businessmen passed by, emphatize thie fishy contractor, gave him a contract : “k, i’ll let you join me and you could get some small projects.”

Fishy contractor:” I’ll have to consider, and we’ll do feasibility studies first, and sign a memorandum of understanding for the time being.”

Wife and children :” !@#@%#^%$@##@”

Wealthy Businessmen :”………………………..”

Fishy Contractor :”So how? If you don’t want, there might be french businessmen or american businessmen that would theoretically be somehow interested in considering.”

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:26 am

Fishy Contractor workers:”!@#!@%$$#%!@#!”

Suppliers (Cronies) for the Fishy Contractor:”No, No, he is not bumiputra don’t sign wif him! He will suk our money dry!”

American businessman:” I rather cooperate with the Indian (Sime derby) , coz Indian prove to be good in engineering (India).”

French businessman:” That naza guy treat me very good with great hospitality + easiness of importing cars into Malaysia.”

Wealthy Businessman: ” (Thinking) I already have factory in China, now i just want to help proton to be like skoda Asia. WTF does they think i am so interest in their company? If not their people ask for it, i wont even visit Malaysia 2007!”

Predict in future what wealthy businessman may ask when in Malaysia :” What does Proton can do better compare to Thailand + Indonesia automobile industry?”

Malaysian representer :” Campro technology? Lotus? Err… Truly Asian?”

wealthy businessman:”…(Think my company technology is from stone age?)”

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:37 am

With current deals Proton has, it should get the company making a lot of profit next quarter/year

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 2:13 am

sheesh, a whole long post full of stereotypical rhetoric with no substance or perspective.

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 3:07 am

Somebody talking about stoneage technology? Can only find that in Fred Flinstone cartoon…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:58 am

The EDGE, from an unamed source, what a reliable source.

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 10:22 am

hai have u guys heard about satria gemilang very nice i just get photos from a friend today but cant post it here its satria neo with 2 seat (i think) with no roof its very gemilang paul where can i paste this pic but if u guys know about it never mind

• azrai (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 10:27 am

Regarding to Proton effort to penetrate Thai market. This excerpt from today’s Utusan:-

Apichart turut membayangkan yang model-model permulaan akan berharga kurang daripada 400,000 baht dan disasarkan kepada pasaran khusus terutama untuk anak muda, pemilik kereta pertama dan mereka yang ingin menukar daripada kereta pikap kepada kereta penumpang.

Malah, tiada kereta yang dijual dalam lingkungan harga ini di dalam negara dan yang paling hampir pun ialah Toyota Vios, yang dijual pada harga 490,000 baht, kata beliau.

Is it under RM40k? Vios is only about RM49k there.Hmmmmmm….

• hamster (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 6:51 pm

Ooo… Martin’s coming over??.. Cool.. Workers in Proton plant, get ready to lose your jobs.. I’ve seen the VW factory, hardly any humans working there mostly robots.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:15 am

Selling cheaper then Malaysian own market again? Oh man…

Siam young boy coming to malaysia wif Proton:” Sowatika, eh u also drive proton! how much u buy for satria neo 1.3L? ”

Malaysian guy wif satria neo 1.3L:”Hello, i bought it for RM43,500, you?”

*Smiling in it’s heart” Siam boy:” Oh, ur proton give good service to me that why i buy from them. It’s cheaper then ur’s… :P”

Malaysian guy:” What?!? My own country made selling more expensive then Thais! What wrong wif my own land?!? BN=Barang Naik again!”

Siam boy:”…, lucky my own G help us people more then Malaysian G and have a great king that donate a lot”

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 1:03 am

Hai,

Hahahahahaha! I quote;

Malaysian guy:” What?!? My own country made selling more expensive then Thais! What wrong wif my own land?!? BN=Barang Naik again!”

Hahahahahahaha! This is the funniest (and true) joke of the century. Selling cheap at foreign countries while selling expensive at locals. Proton, may you “lingkup”!