Perodua sedan concept set to debut at KLIMS 2013

perodua-sedan-teaser-image

Perodua has teased the sedan concept that it will be exhibiting at KLIMS13 via its website.

As we only have outlines of the car to look at for now, we can’t make out much, but the front end does bear a family resemblance to the new Perodua Myvi. The headlamps are sharper than the Myvi’s, but the way the front grille meets the headlamps is similar.

The car doesn’t look like it has a particularly large boot, instead having more of a notchback design. We’re curious to check out the concept in real life to see if Perodua has pulled off the sedan roofline well.

We’ll be covering the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 extensively as we always do, so check back for our coverage later this week.

Learn more: , ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• actually, im looking forward to this. So we will be seeing a sedan based on the vios or etios platform?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • kadajawa on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:08 am

Perodua is not allowed to produce sedan car according to some secret agreement with Proton…

Perodua concept sedan will not make it to production lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • no name on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:02 pm

if p2 is allowed to make a sedan…surely vios market will disturbed…

• bacang on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:23 pm

got any black & white for that statement? i heard that policy loongg time ago from mouth to mouth only.

• sharp on Dec 12, 2013 at 11:21 am

Yes but its not a secret agreement.. its an agreement like how TM has with Maxis and others… They are only given opportunity to venture into hatchback/minicars thats y u get alza next might be suprima’s rival thats all

• takin on Nov 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm

what happened to BEZZA ?
    i hope this upcoming concept car from Perodua will not end up like BEZZA..only a concept..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Iskandar Hidayat on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:21 pm

True.. totally agree.. hope its not end up just a concept..

• samlook on Nov 12, 2013 at 5:57 pm

wow…myvi koup! i lovin it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • SalSays on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Ya I also think it’s going to be based on the latest Toyota Etios model…

• sudonano on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Perodua Jaguh eh? Anyway, what happened to the Bezza? At least Proton’s Tuah made it into production as the Preve. Your move Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • lazyf on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Perodua show the concept car BUT finally come out with rebadge model from Toyota/Daihatsu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • jolly_idiot on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Hahaha… Laugh me die. Perodua with concept car? Where the concept comes from? Daihatsu? Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • lazyf on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Perodua shows the concept car and finally come out the rebadge car from Toyota/Daihatsu…huhu

• powershot on Nov 12, 2013 at 7:02 pm

looks like the daihatsu coupe roadster

• I wonder Perodua Japanese emperor would allow this to make into production without dipping into Vios sale. Even if it happen what outdated Toyota/Daihatsu model Perodua would change the bumper design?

• motorhead on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Myvi will always be my favorite car.. It’s fat & ve big cabin.. Hopefully this sedan will keep some of myvi DNA.. Fat & spacious..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • are u nuts? on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:06 pm

big cabin? are u insane?Myvi is pure trash vehicle friend.One of the most horrendous cars in the world. Not worth the money honestly:)I just sold off my “xtreme” 1.5. Sad car.its basically crap.bodykit is totally useless. Honda Jazz and Ford fiesta.Hell, even my faithful hyundai matrix are lightyears ahead of the horrendous myvi.Stupid myvi:)Lagi power lagi mati:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • biar betik on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:29 am

extreme?
        elite?
        advance version?

• motorhead on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:01 am

Nuts? Go take a measuring tape & measure yourself the width & the height of the passenger cabin of a myvi.. Then pls compare with others.. Or easier.. Ask an adult to sit on you at the driver seat.. & try to do it in other car.. Even bigger car like mazda 3 or a civic… Handling, yes suck.. But add a few performance stuffs (a lot in market).. & with proper tuning.. Myvi can be a fun car.. Just go to any myvi fan club pages or fb.. You can say what you want.. The fact is.. Myvi ve fans of it own.. & its a lot of them.. & you sux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Incognito3690 on Nov 13, 2013 at 12:10 pm

“Ask an adult to sit on you at the driver seat.. & try to do it in other car..”

No wonder I see so many ‘broken down’ myvis’ at secluded or dark areas.

Sorry bro, I prefer to do it in the comfort of a nice cozy bed or a sofa.

If people were doing it in the car, I can bet you, they don’t care if the vehicle is spacious or not as long as they can “puaskan nafsu serakah”….opps…spoke to much.

• motorhead on Nov 13, 2013 at 12:45 pm

You speculate too much.. You ve nothing else to do eh? If I ask my wife to sit on me, you ve a problem with that? Want talk about cars talk about cars… I can talk abiut your mother if you want.

• policeman on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Again concept only? Dulu punya concept apa jadi?

Is this going to be another BS concept? With ridiculous interior and without B pilars?

• B-pillarless design is actually brilliant and has been materialised like Ford B-Max and BMW i3. Hope more manufacturer opt this design because it make ingress/egress easier

• kadajawi on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:12 pm

The Ford B-Max mini MPV doesn’t have B pillars on the production car… though there’s no way a Perodua would feature that… too expensive to produce probably (if the car is to be strong enough when it crashes/rolls… the B-Max (with suicide doors at the back) has the B pillars built into the doors).

• at least perodua door handle wont come out…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • pirlo on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:14 pm

are you sure at least door handle? even perodua model also got window problem.

• errrr on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:33 pm

If Perodua comes out Sedan…. GG Proton….

• Potong will cry running to papa gomen complain tis model will affect its Saga sel…u can bet on this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Say Who? on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:08 am

well its turn out to be fugly…er buddyz…
      now you will cry and running to somebuddyz armpit

• Denaihati on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:37 pm

look nice and i believe many perodua fan waiting for this.

• takNakP1 on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:42 pm

M’sia car is 2nd most expensive in the world.
    Looks like many 2nd most rich ppl in the world here.

• bikers kental on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:13 pm

i am eagerly waiting for next sedan model from P2. now lots of daihatsu japanese coming into P2, i wonder whether they can allow this new sedan concept be in the production line considering they are too emphasizing on cost-down (if let say the features concept same like previous Bezza e.g. rear disc brake, glass roof, gear-dial knob etc).

• sorry but what i know is P2 never made it own car, so far all the car here only rebadge from other manufacture. so what the point having concept car. maybe better than never

• Unforgiven on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:23 am

Hope to see P1 or PROTON is there, launching the Perdana replacement or latest model. Tun M should be there as well, if not his sons or grandchildren also can. Probably with some eggs selling nearby, LoL!

• udasalleh on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:24 am

I suspect that it would not be dissimilar in form from Mitsu’s Atrage albeit a shorter rear end. Perhaps.

• nzain on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:58 am

how it gonna be look like??..they just made it for autoshow not to produced it…if they make it sure would be overprice…hoh

• motto on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:32 am

its just a drawing… n everyone is complaining this n that…. trully KEYBOARD WARRIOR…

• takNakP1 on Nov 13, 2013 at 12:48 pm

trully many m’sian here are 2nd richest in the world…
    they are so rich that they couldn’t see the real issue of cars in m’sia is not spec or size or brand.

I believe the REAL ISSUE here is the COMMITMENT to the 2nd most expensive car in the world that sentence you to 9 years imprisonment with the bank.
    With 9 years loan, many cars may just barely settle the bank loan after selling.

• benzs on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Just a prototype version. It takes years to produce as Perodua under Daihatsu n under Toyota. If any production by P2 sure will need approval from D n T. Anyway, like the way it looks.

• Anyone noticed that background shot of the car? Along with the Twin Towers you find the Statue of Liberty and the Eiffel Tower just to name a few ._. Will this car be global-ish?

• norman on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Even if its production sedan the price wont be cheap as Japanese wont let the model kill their own brand sales.Remember Nautica with only steering wheel.and logo as rebadge?Ppl rather spend on Rush or Terios rather than 10% local made 90% Toyota right?Thats the power of brand unless youre Perodua hardcore enthusiast

• pirlo on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:15 pm

actually, rush was made in Indonesia, while Nautica was produced in Japan, bring it to P2, then only change bumper and logo.

• perodualover on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:13 am

the background snap with Statue of Liberty and the Eiffel Tower is maybe because P2 tagline to bring to KLIMS2013 is GLOCAL, to meet global standard.
    cannot wait for this car. c u guys in KLIMS !