Proton PCC undisguised – driven by Tun Mahathir

Proton_PCC_Iriz_undisguised_020

Surprise, surprise. Exactly 10 days before its launch, the Proton PCC/Iriz has been spotted completely undisguised right here in Kuala Lumpur. How could that be, we hear you ask? Well, you only need to look at the driver to find out. It’s Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Proton chairman himself behind the wheel of the Malaysian carmaker’s upcoming “game changer”. Let’s call it his own personal teaser/preview.

It’s quite a looker in the flesh, we’ll tell you that much. Even without referring to its external dimensions, the new Proton is visibly larger than the Perodua Myvi. It looks much longer and wider. The rear end can finally be seen in full, with its LED lamps and rear hatch neatly nestled within a separate layer from the side body panels – what Proton designers have dubbed the ‘chamfered’ look.

The car was covered soon after it was parked in Pavilion, so we couldn’t get any close-up or interior shots. Oh well, these new pictures already show the new Myvi-fighter in more detail than we’ve seen before – internal leaks aside, that is. In any case, Proton has released revealing interior photos of the PCC/Iriz for us to see last week, anyway.

As is to be expected, the car here is the range-topping 1.6 Premium variant, which we now know will carry a RM59,888 price tag in five-speed manual form, or RM62,888 with a CVT transmission (both metallic, OTR with insurance in Peninsular Malaysia). As revealed in an official tentative price list yesterday, the range will start at RM42,438 for the base 1.3 Standard MT, coming within hundreds of the Myvi’s prices.

Eight variants and seven colours will be offered, and we’ve already detailed the exterior and interior differences between the models last week – now backed up by the full official specifications and equipment list. Safe to say (pun intended), it will be an attractive package no matter what variant you choose, with standard electronic stability control and a five-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating across the whole range.

The official BetulBetulOnz teaser microsite also mentions that the order books for the Proton PCC/Iriz have opened, so you can now register your interest in Proton showrooms nationwide. We’ll have more – confirmed prices, full technical/equipment details and a comprehensive photo gallery – from the official launch this September 25.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Mi Kolok on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:30 am

Tun looks so badass in the last pic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 282 Thumb down 16
    • Matchy on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:56 am

Look at the shoes!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 4
      • Sami Vellu on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:56 am

I thought minimum requirement for 5 stars ancap is stability control and 6 airbags ? How come it is 5 stars across the range ahh? Correct me if I’m wrong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
        • pccgreat on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:28 pm

ANCAP n Asean Ancap r diffrent program.ANCAP is australia assesmnt prgram n need 6 airbg to get tht rating.n Asean ancap is diffren..if u want to knw more then just go n ask proton sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
          • ProtonGSC on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Will Tun himself drive this car for daily use??

Bet he will give you his Range Rover for Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 66
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 175
          • Savoc_Smyh on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:21 pm

ASEAN NCAP
            ———-

The Ratings Explained

Frontal offset crash test is conducted by having crash test dummies (Hybrid III 50thpercentile – male) at both the driver and front passenger seats and two child dummies (P3 and P1.5) inside the Child Restraint System (CRS) in the test car that moves at the closing speed of 64 km/h when it hit a barrier (crushable aluminum barrier) to a stop.

Frontal Occupant Protection – Driver & Front Passenger

The result from sensors installed in the dummies and at the body of the car will be analyzed and represented by human’s body region. To sum up, the worst results from each dummy (implies injury level; compared) by body region are considered (A). The assessment on the vehicle is also carried out to consider real-world situation known as “modifier” assessment. Any “penalty” (B) will reduce the previous score (A) to the final score (C = A – B). Out of 16 points, the star will be determined by the following scheme.

Please refer to :
            http://www.aseancap.org/our-test/the-ratings-explained/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • From the back on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:08 pm

All 5 safety stars test are done for head-on and T-bone impact. None for rear end. So 5 Star safety rating means nothing if small cars ( including your famous Perodua) are rear ended. What more when rear end collisions accounts for more than 30% of accidents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Blind Spots on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:37 pm

The rear windscreen actual visible area looks way too small. Worsen by the black opaque surrounding it. I highly suspect this car may suffer from poor rear visibility. And its thick C pillar will add to rear blind spots too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:53 am

Same Lorrr, can u plis for a sec at least proud with PROTON. This is our national car maker man. Vendors and designers were working so hard to built a global car for Malaysian. If Malaysian can be proud with Lee Chong Wei, Nicol David, Jimmy Choo, AirAsia & etc why not with PROTON. Throw your hatred down and support for 1Malaysia guys!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I am objective and fact based. If Proton managed to produce good build quality and cheap cars, I would be proud of it. Lee Chong Wei, Nicol David, AirAsia, Jimmy Choo they are all WORLD CLASS.

Look at Proton, can’t even sell more than 10 units in Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Cambodia, Vietnam, why so proud? Proud of what?????

To keep this company survive, generations of Malaysians suffer high tax, AP, still the company keep on begging money!!

Proud of what you tell me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 48
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:39 pm

There’s a lot of factor contributing to 5 star ANCAP not solely depends on no. of airbag. Starting Preve, PROTON uses the German technology of “Hot Press Forming (HPF)” which enhances structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times. This technology used by VW, Merce, Audi and not by Japanese, Korean and Chinese cars. Why PROTON need to invest in putting so many airbag in cars whilst the car itself capable to absorb crash force. Some of automakers, prefers to put so many no of airbag rather than investing in HPF body. Ah Beng still opt for PROTON. Currently, Iriz is the affordable safest car amongst it segment. Thumbs up for PROTON!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 12
          • Great Hocus on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:19 pm

The rear bumper is only 2 inch thick from the rear wheel … WTF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 90
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:05 pm

In another words, no need 6 airbags no need VSC also can get 5 stars. NCAP in Malaysia, everything is possible, bolehland mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 103
          • come on, this is asean ncap, not ancap, and airbag is just one of the mandatory preconditions to get better stars, which means without it, 5 stars cant be achieved at least for ANCAP and Euro NCAP..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Yep.ANCAP,ASEAN NCAP,EURO NCAP,alll has different assessment.EURO NCAP being the most stringent of all three.Waja was tested with EURO NCAP.got 3 stars or something.A and B segment Picanto is amongst with EURO NCAP 4/5 stars depends on the Spec.I was sceptical about the rear but looks ok laa..:)

• Ah Beng you are wrong on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:42 am

Who told you Korean cars not using Hot Press Forming?They are now using Ultra High Tensile Steel for critical area of their car body structure to score 5 Stars in global crash tests, not just ANCAP. If Hot Press Forming process is not used, how else can they form the Ultra High Tensile Steel?Pls check your facts.Mazda is also using the same forming process. Just in case you don’t know, Mazda is Japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
          • I support Proton and I think this car is awesome. However, please note that Korean manufacturers have already been using hot stamping. Korean cars like Kia and Hyundai are designed in Europe by Europeans..mostly Germans. Kia’s head of design is a German. It is only natural that they would adopt European technique of manufacturing. Pls see link:

http://kia-buzz.com/high-stiffness-car-body-part-employing-hot-stamping-method/

• ciakap on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:20 am

Ultra High Tensile Steel is cold stamp

while hot press forming is hot stamp..

in term of tensile strength, Hot Press Forming is around 1200 to 1300 MPa, while is around 700-790 Mpa.
            So, is Hot press forming same with Ultra High Tensile Steel?

Study metallurgy, then you know why material strength increase in hot forming compared to cold forming

• ciakap on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:22 am

Ultra High Tensile Steel is cold stamp

while hot press forming is hot stamp..

in term of tensile strength, Hot Press Forming is around 1200 to 1300 MPa, while Ultra High Tensile Steel is around 700-790 Mpa.
            So, is Hot press forming same with Ultra High Tensile Steel?

Study metallurgy, then you know why material strength increase in hot forming compared to cold forming

• The Koreans have been using Hot stamping on ultra high tensile steel…resulting in 5 star Euro Ncap score for nearly all newer models from Kia and Hyundai. Please check your facts first. The Koreans will always be ahead.

• Colin Wong on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:38 pm

This car DOES have:

– 6 airbags
          – ABS
          – ESC.

Good effort by Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
          • Bunga Raya on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:14 pm

I designed the rims, I didnt get invited to the event to explain the design was based on the national flower hibiscus. 5 petals found on the hibiscus. While “others” in DRB get the credit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Colin Wong on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:38 pm

This car DOES have:

– 6 airbags
          – ABS
          – ESC.

Good effort by Proton.

• Pakar Angkat Bodek on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:40 am

Hear This Hear This… This is how you launch a car that is suppose to save the company after you spent $500m and 5 years of planning …at the sidewalk. NOW that the cat is out …. Proton showroom will immediately see a drastic drop in visitors on the actual launch date… Way to go to those Angkat Bodek guys at DRB !! Keep it up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 49
        • $500m into longkang on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:25 am

Hear This Hear This… This is how you launch a car that is suppose to save the company after you spent $500m and 5 years of planning …at the sidewalk. NOW that the cat is out …. Proton showroom will immediately see a drastic drop in visitors on the actual launch date… Way to go to those Angkat Bodek guys at DRB !! Keep it up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 45
          • Remembering Yesterday on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:22 am

Lol, that same sidewalk of Pavillion parked Lambo’s Ferrari’s and supercars during their respective gatherings.

• U can have a million airbags but if it doesnt popup it is still pointless. Quality is what matters and it is something proton is yet to prove.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • diam diam on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 411
        • Tun M was our ex-PM , have some respect …
          He contributed alot for Malaysia,
          go migrate to other country if u dont have that kind of patriotism in Malaysia ,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 314 Thumb down 83
          • riztahi on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:30 am

ex-PM, u said ex and you know what he had done during his time? BTW, I never vote for current G and I will never migrate to another country. If you can kick me out of Malayisa… moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 126
          • Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

You either a racist moron or have no idea how he has single handedly destroyed our country.

I am not anti-Proton, but i won’t support that evil mamak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 83
          • riztahi

Tun give me his Range Rover if I help him to promote proton.
            I respect him because I got shares in Proton.
            Please buy more Proton so u can profit more hahaha.
            Go buy now buy now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • nissan sunny on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:31 pm

PM? You mean father of IC project which help lots of Filipino became Malaysian citizen? He should be charged for betraying Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
          • Ball Carrier on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Your hands must be tired… carrying people’s balls on a daily basis

• driver on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

so you think we better of being end users forever? like it or not, p1 is a proof that malaysian can also be an inventor (not a bumper innovator).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 8
          • doggie on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:14 pm

sell to where? Malaysia only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
          • riztahi on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:31 am

proton only can be sold in bolehland. Noone will buy porotn car oversea…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 65
        • unforgiven on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Knowledge and education. We need to equip all Malaysian to have the knowledge and education. We need educated Malaysian.

We need Malaysian to understand the cost of the car, price breakdown from end to end. What’s causing the car price to be so expensive. If needed, just take Mercedes Benz A200 for example, and understand the cost/price breakdown.

Thai/Indo is building the knowledge fast, more educated Thai/Indo now. So once majority of Asian/Asean are educated, all will be paying Global price. Again ask yourself what should be the global car price that you should be paying. You need the knowledge, what should be the price for Honda Civic? (With knowledge, you’ll be able to understand global car price).

One day, all of us in developing Countries should be paying a single price (global price), with all of us understand what we are paying for (cost breakdown). Always remember to have forward thinking, never give up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
        • orgkpg on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:46 am

salah seorang budak lom sunat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Burong on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:14 am

At his age, what he cares about is the future of his own built country and his own race.

He doesn’t care for the $ as he has dig deep enough for his great great grand child.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Captain Meow on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:27 am

BEfore you want to get racist.. go check first which race has the most tender for Proton… that;s why you would not become the PM.. u see two steps infront of you only… the idea of P1 or P2 is for the the ecosystem.. not just company..

• that is not poor old man…that is hardworking old man. not everyone can work like him at his age now. RESPECT…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
      • OMG…A special leader driving a special local compact car. Brilliant…

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:41 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 191
      • Baik beli emas(gold) for good resale value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Emas (gold) is same price as it was in 2010. Which in another way depreciate 26.24% due to annual 6% inflation rate.

Even Toyota beat gold in RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 99
          • viber on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Vios after 5 years ady loses half buy price, lol. Want to beat gold? Ptuih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
          • tin milo on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:32 pm

of course tin milo will value more

• Vader (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Well done shameless, your quote “toyo RV better than gold” entitle the cock of the year 2014!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • RV RV RV haiyo go buy houses/lands/properties lah if u wanna talk abt RV here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • myyi and savvy had sex and had a baby…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 13
      • Jenny on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 176
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:50 pm

daihatsu engine cant safe ur life..
          thats y indonesian ppl said ayla has nothing

only p2 macai japan wannabe but cant afford jdm praise it

ywt
          real daihatsu japan already use cvt… why not perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
        • Vader (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:27 pm

This car improved a lot compare to previous potong car. But I feel the price is still too high.
          In Langkawi where the cars have same tax structure, this car price is almost same as Honda jazz, so let wait and see the real car and do the comparison then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
        • i thought myvi uses toyota engine since it is a copycat from toyota passo??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:14 am

Bodoh sohai.

Kia Rio=sucks fuel faster than Campro
          Fiesta=Dry clutch Powershift gearbox sure die. Zero RV car with tons of problems.

Please go buy a Fiesta and drive for 3 years and see if you still love it or not, otherwise, fark off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • Gabriel Garcia on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:30 am

I totally agree.. i used to own KIa.. but never again…

• Annoynimouse on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:45 pm

You make it sound like Daihatsu makes the best engines in the world… isk isk. I have no idea where you got your facts from.

• Jenny on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:55 pm

But the most important is Myvi using Daihatsu engine :)
        Malaysian, would you risk your money to buy Proton car with Proton engine, local accessories, Tanjung Malim made?
        I’ve seen Suprima S & Preve with good design, but people refuse to buy it.
        Let’s see this Myvi copycat can survive or not.
        I’ll prefer Kia Rio & Ford Fiesta anytime…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 103
        • Allen on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:36 pm

If you willing to pay for the price difference, Fiesta Ecoboost is much better.

Kia Rio? I don’t know. It only comes with 4-speed gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • ferro on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Waiting period for spare parts is a big no no for everyday car.

• Ahmad on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 167
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm

old minded n old man with old story of pw n waja door handle

hahaja

gen y ppl is laughing at u

ppl smart n up to date orediii

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 14
        • Diss-illusions on Sep 14, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Move on Bro. Power windows and broken door handles are legacy issues. So was Toyota’s sticky pedals and/or GM’s ignition coil issues. The list goes on. Stay +ve! Peace out..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 8
        • seancorr on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Have to wait before passing judgement on this car.

Yes we all know Proton quality was never there, stuff just keep breaking here and there in their models and yes some of their models did not sell really well (Suprima is still a rare sight on the road today so much so I see more BMWs comparing to Suprimas) but this Iriz; they are really talking a lot about it so it has to be good? Only time will tell.

But as it is the spec is awesome – its a Myvi killer and if the quality is there and the after sales service is good then we have a new winner after all these years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
        • youcaveman on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:32 pm

LOL Proton made VDC , airbags?
          Joke of the day, LOLOLOL

Other brands also use the safety system, get out from cave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 53
        • Nieko on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:21 pm

FYI the Traction Control,EBD,ESP,ABS all the electronic system were from Continental AG but now Proton has contracted Bosch for all of proton future cars ,that’s why Proton does not recall its cars for electrical problems as proton has to seek permission from company’s like Continental and Bosch…..

Its totally different case for carmakers like Toyota, Nissan and Honda as this systems are made by their own tech team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Razif on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:07 pm

But Myvi’s engine comes with timing chain right?
        I guess that one is a winner for Myvi.
        I wonder why Proton did not consider timing chain for their cars?
        Or, they still using the same engine?
        If the engine still the same, It’s gonna be nightmare for fuel consumption.
        Someone please clear things up whether Proton comes with new engine or not?
        Axia comes with new engine by Daihatsu, what about Proton?
        I need to know about this because I’ll buy for my wife. I don’t care about you people to fight about Proton, Perodua, Ford or whatever… I only need low maintenance engine and low fuel consumption.
        I’ve seen the interior specs, Axia is not that small. So now, my option is between Iriz, Axia or Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 82
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:51 pm

see i told u rite
          timing chain > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 5:01 pm

if u love ur wife… u wudnt buy unsafe car… money u can find… ur lovely wife’s life???

in modern countries… safety is no one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
          • Gabriel Garcia on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:36 am

unsafe? it got six airbag for highline.. 2 for base line.. all active safety features.. you want unsafe car.. buy axia.. some people want to comment without thinking.. and no matter how full the safety features of the car.. if you dont use seatbelts.. no use oso..

• ellym on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Read it yourself, Iriz pawns Axia and Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:02 pm

The timing chain isn’t necessarily superior to the timing belt. Read up information here:

http://www.crxsi.com/articles/read/what-s-best-timing-belt-or-timing-chain-february-2009.htm

http://newsgroups.derkeiler.com/Archive/Alt/alt.autos.toyota/2008-02/msg02133.html

But my advice to you is similar to what peyno has said but I’ll go further with it. Consider the car as a whole package, rather than just see one component and change your mind. Spec-wise and safety-wise, don’t even CONSIDER the MyVi because if the pricing is as per the tentative list, it has killed the MyVi.

No question.

I cannot recommend the MyVi in good faith because of what it lacks at the same price range. I can’t even recommend the Saga in light of the PCC. The Axia…only get it if you really cannot afford the PCC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • Pacifictuna on Sep 16, 2014 at 4:05 pm

so you think changing timing belt every 100000 km is high maintenance? that is like every 4 – years! you probably only need to change once or twice driving the car….. i’m not a proton fan but just can’t stand people talking bout timing chain. just don’t get it.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Took photo on 2014 Hyundai i10 and start the project?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
        • Spot on! Yeah the backside is hyundai i10, the front side kinda fazelift savvy…..bored…not a really excitement, but at least the steering look way better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:50 am

now hyundai i10 plak…last time picanto..before that brio..earlier than that myvi..nex time said ferrari..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:42 pm

No need next time, Proton drivers already thinking they are driving Ferrari whenever they are in Proton, that’s why you hear so many noisy and reckless Proton on the roads.

You can’t take away their imagination, it is the only source to keep them happy with their Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
          • Goh Jeng on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Well, from the guy who thinks Toyo got better RV than gold, what do you expect?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Lambogini next time maybe or maserati..higher class little bit

• rider on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:04 pm

this is khalwat kes then…

• melew on Sep 16, 2014 at 12:08 am

its seem like Hyundai i10 and myvi..

• looks like Mr Bean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
    • driver on Sep 14, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Hafriz, do you have any video taken from this?

• mesinrumput on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:40 pm

good spec at affordable price..sure saga n pesona not laku after this.

• Remembering Yesterday on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:03 am

Goes in line with Dr.M’s plan of moving up to compete with ‘global car’ brands from the likes of Japanese & Koreans. I sincerely hope that this vision of his is attainable, given that his 2020 plan is unveiling to be a dismal ambition. 6 years to reach a gross national income of US$12,746 from our current standpoint seems highly unlikely, and the only way to attain that kind of income is with education, the kind of education that we 40~60’s aren’t capable of catching up to. Yes I do have a master degree, but am I willing to be a high school teacher? I’m afraid the compensation is inequitable, but that’s what a good education requires. As a parent, I’m much willing to reassign all subsidies into improving our education system with postgraduates high school teachers and free educations until a degree, but this is just a single parent’s wish. Just like Dr.M’s 2020 vision, will only just be an illusion. With all the mistakes he’s been through, I do sincerely hope he has learned and will now steer his baby Proton at the right direction. Looking forward to proudly own a Proton in the distant future with fingers crossed that is.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:54 pm

this is photogenic p1 car…previous p1 car look a bit ugly in picture.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Now waiting Theophilus Chin for Iriz sedan aka Saga render…

• OMG…Front – nice, interior – nice, but the rear – ugly. Still lacking some prefection.

• nanimomo on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:48 pm

He is…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:31 am

beautiful

rakyat sayang IRIZ

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 34
    • crazy_of_car on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:22 am

semestinya ! :D This should be a new beginning for proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 12
      • IRIZFTW on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:01 pm

WOW! Just WOW! great design. Great features. Priced almost like the Myvi but is better in every way. New myvi owners would be crying now. That includes me. Lets hope the quality matches the design and features. Really good job proton. This truly is a game changer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 20
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Rakyat always sayang Proton. Does Proton ever sayang rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 74
          • komen ko ni menunjukkan kebodohan lah Same Lorr..negative vibe banyak sangat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
          • Tercengang on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Same L0rr, are you a 14 year old kid who just got dropped out of school because you are too slow to learn in class? Stop bashing proton because last time i check, a 14 year old kid can’t even apply for a driving license yet. Better go talk about your tricycle that your grandma bought for you at home k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
          • same lorr ni baru belajar guna internet. Terasa macam bebas sangat bercakap. Lagi banyak kita komen dia, lagi banyak dia lawan. So biar kan je dia menyalak. nanti lama2 diam le tu..

• IRIZFTW on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:46 am

WOW! Just WOW! great design. Great features. Priced almost like the Myvi but is better in every way. New myvi owners would be crying now. That includes me. Lets hope the quality matches the design and features. Really good job proton. This truly is a game changer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
      • Ceplos on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:16 pm

P2 will give rebate for their current Myvi. So good for us. Healthy competition for both company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Allen on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Well rebates vs the inclusion of ABS (myvi xt), TCS, ESC….

I rather take the later.

• Ah Beng King on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:13 pm

ugly gear knob though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • go to Ah Beng shop, change the knob..
        problem solved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • v8cdi on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Looks like Accord gear knob, but why don’t you bash it? Because it’s Honda?
        Ptuih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Suprimau better

:p

• JB_KIA on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:28 pm

count me out – thank you

• yushu on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:31 am

WoW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • Another WoW from me.

Is that a commercial plate or Selangor also has use up all the 3 letters plate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Long live Tun Mahathir !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 60
    • Hjh Rogayah on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm

long live BN. Jelas bahawa Axia, Iriz dan lain-lain lambang keprihatinan pemimpin yang mahukan rakyat memiliki kereta sendiri tanpa perlu mengimport dari negara Zionis lain. Kami rakyat amat bersukur dan akan teruskan menyokong BN seperti biasa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 129
      • Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:22 am

I hope you are trolling…if you are not, then you are utterly stupid. Israel tech is in everything and everywhere…there is no escaping using Israel tech…they are a race of superior intelligence people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:40 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 310
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:51 am

You can too – just buy DRB stock.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
    • crazy_of_car on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:23 am

Don’t talk cock la bro. If hater already , no need to say la sure will talk cock like this one. sigh~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • bro fz on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:28 am

no need dislike. dis just sarcasm. rofl. dont take it too serious paultaneers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • kuimpikanbintang on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Come on brother, The TUN is 87 already. At that age, you really think he is trying to make more money?

Be sensible brother. If it was me at that age i’d like to retire at a beachfront property somewhere being lazy as hell. But he’s still sticking around trying to turn things around for proton personally.

And I think this iriz is a game changer for proton as soon as he gets on board. That’s definitely no coincidence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 18
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:47 pm

which is why u are u and u are not tun….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 80
        • kuimpikanbintang on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Haha that’s true!

That why this old man is incredible. I have the highest respect for him.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:12 pm

What so surprise to Tun’s happy face with Proton. He had been smiling these 30 years while Proton made shit.

Get Jeremy Clarkson happy face in this car, that would be much more convincing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 53
          • Who cares about that JC he is neither engineer, designer, F1 nor rally driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • Change your car lor, Iriz is 100x better than your junky W124

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:45 pm

See the typical Proton 6S lifestyle?

Car not yet launched already 100x better. I heard the Iriz can land on moon also… lol

Proton 6S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal
            6. Semua Subjective

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • TheDean on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Why judge without evidence? Would you like it if people judge you, saying your wealth is due to unhealthy this and that?

• Go roll and die Semi-value
      he’s smiling because this car is that safe
      and save alot of lives…
      #respectTunM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
      • kairul abdul on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:40 pm

I respect him, but not his greed and ego.

You’re worst just shut up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:11 pm

save a lot lives? ok =D how it save ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:47 pm

The Proton car which saves the most is Suprima S no doubt. No one buy, so no one die in Suprima S on the road.

So far no one die in the Suprimas S in the Proton showrooms. It is record breaking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • zeek (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:41 am

I’m more of a P2 guy than Proton and if you ask me about Proton last year, I would’ve said ‘Proton is hopeless & they’ll die in a few years time’. But after seeing this, I think they have proved me wrong. The pricing is also spot on. I can’t wait to see it in person and sit in the cabin. If the build quality is good then it’s definitely the final nail in MyVi’s coffin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 199 Thumb down 12
  • Biskut on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:42 am

Proton bashers in 3…2….1….
    basher 1 : the back side is kinda…fugly?
    basher 2 : larger dimension than myvi but smaller boot space? WTH?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 24
    • Biskut on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:46 am

oh, by boot space, i mean axia btw, not myvi..215 liter vs 260 liter on axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Joney on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Normally janpanese use the ideal boot volume. So if you fill water in boot you can get the volume. The volume of Iriz and Myvi look reasonable as Intenational Standard which measured by accumulating of standard blocks. But I am wondering if the Axia boot volume is measured by blocks or not. It seems the ideal volume considering exterior dimension. The axia is smaller than Myvi and Iriz. If axia has that kind huse boot volume it will effect passenger space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:51 am

proton basher= p2 macai

still using timing belt????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Aniq_Affandi on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:24 am

Biasa la tu. Orang Malaysia. Buat kena bash. Tak buat pun kena bash. Haiz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
    • Ceplos on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

Yes the rear looks ugly.
      Myvi is like katak.
      Iriz is like kodok.
      Overall much better than Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • I_drives_a_merc on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:43 am

Don’t really like the rear though, but nevertheless, a very well designed car. Good job, proton! I’m keen to get one myself…the premium with 6 airbags surely is tempting.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
    • hann07 on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:48 am

we have the same opinion… i like everything on this new proton.. apart the rear… perhaps a mid face lift could change that… or i hope so.. but i still really would consider this.. just want to know the fuel consumption and the feel behind the wheel of this Iriz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • iriz fan club on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:48 am

Wow, magnificent, glorious and wonderful design ever come out from proton. Wish I could buy, but sadly I’ve already bought a 2014 city 3 months back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Ceplos on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Why sad? City 2014 is so handsome. Wish i could buy City but i have big commitment for other things. So Iriz 1.3 Executive CVT definitely my choice for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 5:03 pm

good choice
        city n iruz both are drb product
        u wudnt regret

• anti-toyota on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:50 am

Nasty looking back. Bravo proton! Now that is a small car for men as compared to the feminine myvii design at present. I just hope the reliability is top notch. All the best to Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • -_________- on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:50 am

I was expected the rear would be ugly, but after I see the undisguised rear, I was like “Walao, lawa sial”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 9
  • frenzyaustin on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:51 am

The front looks good during the teaser. But I was skeptical about the rear. Now eith complete shot, I would say OMG! That is sexy! It definitely looks better than Myvi but IMO, still better than some Euros like Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • Nice …

• Rear design looks superb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • Impressive proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • money on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:54 am

big smile spotted. $$ gonna be in their pocket in no time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • Terbaiklah

• Looks good !

• mamat on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:56 am

just don’t like the rear part..
    and the front grille should be a honeycomb pattern, not that batang2 one.. to old design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • mamat 2 on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:55 am

I think the front grille is simple, looks awesome. Honeycomb design looks so complicated.

• ya bro, honeycomb design very hard to clean up while washing ur car…Im driving suprima, by look suprima grill better then preve…But i prefer preve grill bcos easier to clean….

• fauzi on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:58 am

Expensive.
    If cheaper than myvi, (maybe around 5k different) maybe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 68
    • drCOOPER on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:21 pm

It’s equiped with esp and 6airbag , which myvi dont have…how can priced lower than myvi…pls justify

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • well said drcooper..fauzi ni tak tau mende.komen pada yang nampak. simpan sikit bodoh tu bang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • But in term of safety,handling,accessories Proton nail it big time.
      I love Proton interface that using Android platform.
      lots a lots of functions.
      5k diff not that much when comes in safety.
      No offense ,
      So far as Im driving Myvi, the car not that stable and dont have firm ride.But it is fun to drive in town as it very light.

• kairul abdul on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Bull shitting so much.

Iris will smoke your Myvi, shitting riz. Balik kampung jer.

• really the real design is ugly….proton should consider give a backside lift in the future!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
  • I’m in dilemma now. Can’t decide to buy Prevé 1.6 or Iriz 1.6 Executive. Almost same price range…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Fizzzz on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Go for iriz bro….my recommendation…

• Ceplos on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Go for Iriz. If u want Preve get the Premium CFE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • mim (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:29 pm

If you really want space and handling, get Preve. If you could care less abt it, get the topspec PCC. Much better in every other way.

I think Preve/Suprima will have major facelift in a year.

• eee34 on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Hold your horse until PCC based new Saga out next yrar!

• tayar on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Preve 1.6 6 airbag
      iriz 1.6 executive, only 2 airbag

I recommend iriz 1.6 premium, 6 airbag.
      modern and improved spec

• EZProton on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:14 am

Wah !!! Cantik. !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • TheDean on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:17 am

The rear looks surprisingly unique. Pity about the dot-led though. Would’ve been nicer with a ‘cerato-like’ led. And the ‘thundercats’ badge is a bit out of place.

• Aniq_Affandi on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:17 am

This ia amazing! Hahahah. Damn. Why didn’t i wait!?!?!?!?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Fazura.N on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:19 am

Wow. tak sangka boleh striking kaler. Ni lagi murah dpd myvi la kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • drCOOPER on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm

It has 6 airbag and esp, neither of that myvi has…the selected price already a bargain!

• elson on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:19 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 129
    • MKT (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:31 am

Alza with two airbags? with a tin kosong door shut sound? boat like handling? Alza equipments and specs cant even come close to what is equipped in Iriz.. keyless entry? 6 airbags? for sure you are a blind P2 supporter..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
      • elson on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:19 pm

brother if ur times is up watever u get 100 airbag also cannot save you la, in malaysia value for money, alza cheap and big space valuable to buy it, and why u so care about the keyless? does it help when a thief wan to stole ur car? use ur brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 69
        • sweetcharity on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:36 pm

keyless entry is a safety design that protect you when u got into an accident. You dont want a sharp metal key sticking into your leg when you car crashed? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • elson on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:45 pm

is ok just a key not a knife, and i rather to get the price cheaper also dowan the keyless function, its not useful for a small entry level car, ur kancil wont look like Ferrari if u place a horse logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • powershot (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:32 pm

actually it helps. in malaysia, a perodua car is most likely to be stolen than a proton.

alza is a moving coffin. poor handling, poor brakes, “paper crumpling” chassis. not so valuable if you ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:38 am

p2 macai butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Nieko on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Hah,Willl then go ahead buy the fucking useless Alza, just remember not to desturb the P1 Iriz on the road because the Proton may have no quality but it will be safer not only to your car but rest of cars in the A, B and even C segment cars .ok hope you understand that your high quality PERODUA is not going to help you servive in case you are in a car colision cus it definitely won’t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • elson on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:51 pm

as u say the proton quality already a problem, so u can promise people this are the safer car? even safe then other B and C segment car? weird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Big Bro on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Yea.. Alza got Electronic stability control? 6 airbags? 5star crash protection? Ooooo Alza got quality and resale value… yea like that will help you during accident. Salesmen walking to you offering better RV when you trapped in a car crash.. pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Saw an accident between a taxi (Iswara) and Alza.

The light was red, the taxi stopped,and the Alza hit it’s back (possibly because the driver didn’t really pay attention – he just throw a trash out of his window).

My point is that it seem like a very minor accident. There was nothing on the taxi rear’s bumper.
      The impact was pretty significant on Alza…

• Fred.Lambo on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:20 am

We are looking towards a new future. Good job proton ! We always love you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Random on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:21 am

This look really nice…
    the rear bumper look so wide and stable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • crazy_of_car on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:21 am

I was there ! Tun kacak macam biasa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Ok with Tun but from your encounter ..waht’s your first impression of the car?

• shawal on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:24 am

The all-new all-malaysian proton iriz….

It looks good….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • matdin on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:25 am

nice work. only missing is downsized 1k cc cfe engine and perhaps new 6 speeds transmission. with this, proton possibly need to maintain only 2 variants high and basis specs. can have 1.3k cc for special edition.

• MKT (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:28 am

now….its make me cannot tahan anymore to wait for Proton’s D segment car.. if this is the new direction of Protons design, handling and safety, sure the D segment model is much more tempting! whats more it has Honda Accord root for its chassis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • no time to check all safety in 300 cars a day in the production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:34 am

Does it look good? A solid YES.

If they really ramp up the quality I can see this as a really good fighter in the real market.

What I am truly impressed is how it looks so much nicer than a Myvi. And the even better part, if you notice the car has 4 people at least in it. In a Myvi, we all know when there are 2 rear passengers, the whole car sinks at the back. Pretty good that this one doesn’t do that.

3 years or development,testing etc. With that pretty impressive pricing (and a manual on the 1.6 Premium!) I can see this as a really impressive alternative to the Myvi.

Now, I wonder when is Perodua going to have that emergency board meeting… Pretty sure when they developed (read reshaped) the Myvi, they never expected Proton to come up with THIS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:48 am

tmrrow p2 will have special meeting n to dicuss to come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Sam Lorr on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 140
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:14 pm

kampung ppl still buy myvi.. dony worry… kg ppl dont care of safety… and simply conned by so called japaneae dna

but not foe urban ppl… safety is thier main concern n japs DNA??? ppl smart oredi.. thu just hiding behind japanese JDM brand but quality
      same like proton, p2 n umw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • kusochon on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:11 pm

no. kampung people buy vios and act like it’s a bmw!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • tayar on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Yeahhh
        In heavy rain, new vios sound familiar with zink roof.

• dzulx on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:36 am

Gear knob must go!!!! Fugly!!!.. all hardwork and good work ruined by that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • sepul on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:44 pm

It can be replaced easily if you know how to remove it.

• sepul on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:48 pm

The rear can look better with black paint, much like the EMAS concept, or the VW Up!.

• german car lovver aka Jian on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:43 am

The Iriz is a really nice car…………….looking forward for it as a my daughters first car and oh yeah!!!!!!! Sam Lorr please stop bragging about your dated Toyotas ………Even i drive a Mercedes C250 coupe MY 2013 and i dont brag

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
    • Actually ‘German car lover’..you did brag…..you jsut think you are gettin away with it…:)fun fact…you are not..

• perodua spy on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:44 am

omg seriously, this could be the best look ever car by proton.. in my 2cent hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • mamat 2 on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

could agree with you.. the design not too flat metal like before.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Electronic stability control for all models? This is a very, very good move by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:54 am

rear look much better than expected

now p2 n umw macai really running out of idea to bash

opsss forgot…. timing chainnnnnnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Nissan on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:54 am

Shitty company producing crappy car and driven by a very sick ( mentally) man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 106
    • Nieko on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Well 2x I someone’s arss is squerting blood cus of the Iriz ..

oh what is the problem Mr Nissan ,finely relize that your Almera notgood enough to even come close to the new Proton ….

well this is only the first nail in the coffin for you car the next car from Proton ie the Next Generation Saga will be the biggest blow to your Almera sales….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:26 pm

as long u hate UMW …. i dont kacau u

• Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:59 pm

As long as it is Peyno, he is bias and subjective, with very little integrity.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:44 pm

It hard to believe if u say that coz u oso 2×5..Full of hatred, bias n no integrity..

• Ya!You say Proton is shitty,but Nissan is more shitty than Proton.Nissan Hybrid MPV design is like loaf of bread.Exora moreNicer.GO ahead with you Junk Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • But performance and practical base, Nissan Serena Hybrid wins Exora.

Only people like you don’t appreciate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • ecctr on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:58 pm

FC is better, in city driving around 1km/l more save than Exora Turbo, but performane wise, CFE wins hands down.

• Ceplos on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Speak about Nissan, where is their promise to launch A-segment Nissan Note by end of this year. Pricing will be below 50k from what i heard. Any update?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:11 pm

The Nissan Note should be at least B-segment. A-segment is Nissan March.

• Ceplos on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:55 pm

I thought Nissan Note was A segment. Thanks.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:05 pm

http://paultan.org/2012/07/18/nissan-note-second-gen-mini-mpv-debuts/

Says there “B-segment”. And it is a mini-MPV. Similar to an Alza.

Welcome. :)

• Nissan on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:54 am

Shitty company producing crappy car and driven by a very sick ( mentally) man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 93
  • mamat 2 on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:56 am

the DRL should be white or yellow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • akhmuadz on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

THE GREATEST THING IS…P1 STILL MANAGE TO NOT TO PUT THE IRIZ BADGE OVER THERE!!!

HAIL IRIZ!!!

• mmaker on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:58 am

as usual tun will go to pavilion and have a rest at The Loaf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Numbers! on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:59 am

No need comment so much. After 2year let’s look at the sales figure. Numbers never lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Lorr on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Iriz is for idiotic kampung people who are very lazy and idiotic…………….. they minum teh tarik and makan kuih lapis 7x a day their dont work ……..instead they look at their secetary and thik dirty things about her …………….work hard and own a Toyota like me ………..Iriz drivers are lazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 82
    • iiioo on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:51 pm

You dun have anything good to say better shut up lor. You insult your own future buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • work hard oso can buy toyota only? Dont work hard, work smart then you can buy german marque cars

• Yoshiki on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Nice design, can compete with Mitsubishi Colt

• bumperbumpereverywhere on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Not being all sangap for all new proton but,
    when will proton be releasing 4×4. even great wall berani to produce. dont mind if shitty at first (please not too shitty laa) but just start. sure many look forward for it.

anyhu, this proton is really a game changer. its just give proton some new vibe. when did the last time you hear people saying this about proton

1) im all up for this ^$#&*)^%#!!!!
    2) looks good, im buying.
    3) i’ll believe we’ll see more iriz than myvi
    4) looks preety decent inside out…

Good kick start. Nice job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Mr.bumperbumpereverywhere.The truth is Proton is working a 4times4 suv.You can search YoungManT5 Lotus.Thats is Proton design.But the Youngman Corp. use that design to sell in China.People from Proton say tht the Suv will launch around 2015 with 3.7 litres

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:17 pm

It isn’t fair to compare Proton with Great Wall. Great Wall actually specializes in 4×4’s while Proton has been focusing more on passenger cars and their subsidiary focuses on sports cars. To launch a foray into unfamiliar territory with their current financial status is very risky, imo.

• mamamia on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:01 pm

prove me wrong babay IRIZ…btw nice looking

• tfishp on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Something’s missing at the middle part of the “diffuser” but a good looking car nonetheless

• holofanboi on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Oh my gosh.

Its beautiful.

And yes, i find it far better looking than a Ford Fiesta.

Looking forward to the review of this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • sengkuang on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:08 pm

woooow! best! guys.. ok la nih. arga mahal tu padan la dgn spec yg dberi.. u got 1.6cc with cvt trnsmision..6 airbag kot? reverse cam.. keyless.. ahh… i must get this car.. bye2 myvi.. x jd la hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:21 pm

alahhh dulu masa preve launched pon korang kata lawa la puji puji laa…

norlia husin
    p2 salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • GO GO PROTON.YOU MAKE MALAYSIAN PROUD OF YOU!!. COMMITTED TO BE BETTER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:23 pm

exterior design… perfect
    size… better than rivals
    interior… looks promising
    engine… vvt .. proven reliable ( saga )

timing chain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • trololol on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:32 pm

proton basher = DAP supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 25
  • trololol on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:37 pm

proton supporter = BN supporter and RCST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:38 pm

no… i’m PR supporter… dont butthurt.. ur tactic making ppl angry m not buying iriz due
      to political factor is old fashion

rakyat
      smaet orediiii

• Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Proton supporter = Communist

You don’t like Proton, you national traitor.
        You don’t like Malaysia, you get out.
        You don’t like Iriz, back kampung.

Are they trained in North Korea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:55 pm

BN cronies
          drb proton honda
          UMW p2 UMw toyota

enough said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • V-tec fan on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Not everything should include politic lar

• proton supporter said:”You don’t like proton, go back to your ancestor country, Malays go back Indon, Cina go back China, Indian go back India, of coz, Mamak also go back India. If you don’t buy proton, you don’t love Malaysia.”

• human on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:42 pm

What happened to all of u? Keep bashing? Ni matter it proton or perodua we as malaysian should support both of conpany because they were our identity n achievement. Example kia n Hyundai they competing in the good way, n competing with the other brand, so we should support both not killing each other… My 20 cent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Did Korean paid you for saying that?
      If not then just shoosh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • wowowowww on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Proton claim that it is a Euro 5 engine with 5.5L/100km with constant speed of 90km/h. Lets wait and see 100% urban drive. Can achieve 7.5-9L means really nice.

• huaahh! given a big thumbs up & test driven by the bapa induatri otomobil THailand himself! …; )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • Microdude on Sep 14, 2014 at 12:50 pm

The rear part reminds me a bit of the older Ford Ka

• Berbaloi lah harga gitu dengan safety features yg proton offer. Good job.

• deaftek on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Game changer? But the opponent is only myvi. How low is the mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • changer? on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:08 pm

this is global small car. not only for malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Then launch in worldwide, not only Malaysia. I doubt if it can penetrate Bangsar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
      • ChangeMyAss on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:59 pm

This kind of shit can only be launched in those 3rd world countries or those poor countries. who the hell want to buy this if they got more than 100 better choices in their country.

• Bolehland people can top up a bit or reduce a bit too. It’s more than a myvi as competitor, haiz

• car looks good and better packaged than myvi

• joanna on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:13 pm

The rear like ughhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Fishermanship on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:20 pm

I think the rear design much better than Toyota Prius c

• Fishermanship on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:21 pm

I think the rear design much better than Toyota Prius c, well done proton !

• gapodios on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm

I think if proton put a clear tail lamp is more stylish

• diwan on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:32 pm

no doubt this car looks good, but healthy competition?? NO! why was Axia not officially launched until today even though it’s ready a few months ago? Proton is rushing to launch Iriz & Axia’s launch is put ON HOLD by Jib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Orion on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Do you have the prove that Jib hold the launch of Axia…? If no dont simply say anything…

• Ceplos on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Don’t trust what cars salesman told u. Just sayin’

• Good designed car, especially in every aspects. It unites Malaysians. Our pride and joy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • I feel sorry for Tengku Mahalil, who is the key people bringing in full blown R&D for PROTON while Datuk Syed Zainal did’t get a chance to drive this new baby. Feel pity for them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Gonna trade my myvi for this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • rockybalboa on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:40 pm

I intended to buy, but after seeing Tun driving it, i cancel my decision.

And yes, i’m not going to support this butthurt for making cars in Msia so expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
  • Tengokaje.. on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Good job & congrats P1. Looking forward to test drive this new baby.

• Wow, the front and side looks superb. For rear, mmmm… debateable, hehe
    One thing I noticed, the rear spring seems kinda soft, even with only 2 passengers at the rear bench, the wheel arch gap became so small, looks like Saga or Almera, dunno whether the handling will be good as usual proton or not.

• FishEgg on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Side & back are ugly. I see tons of Iriz ending up the yard unsold. Wait for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
  • Garfield on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:58 pm

When see from the front side of the car, I feel that I some how seeing something which looks a bit like Suprema, with the aura of Neo.

And when I see the back of the car, I feel that “hey! very Cybertronian feel!” Perhaps the next upgrades of this car, should be a hybrid engine?
    I had waited for the proton’s hybrid engine very long already lar…

• xiper (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:05 pm

The rear looks a bit weird, but overall the car design is nice and solid.

We shall see what is P2’s answer in Dec for the facelift Myvi!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:57 pm

redesign aerodynamic bumper??

• powershot (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:41 pm

myvi “facelift”:
        new bumper & spoiler design
        new coil mats
        new leather seat design

• xiper (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:57 pm

lol hopefully got something more lah…

• Joney on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm

My above comment has been disappeared.
    In terms of boot volume, there is the ideal volume and ISO volume. If you fill water in boot you can get the ideal volume.
    The boot volume of Iriz and myvi look reasonable as intenational standard which measured by accumulating of standard blocks. But I am wondering if axia boot volume is measured by blocks or not. It seems the ideal volume considering exterior dimension. Axia is smaller than Myvi and Iriz. If axia has that kind of bigger boot volume it will effect passenger space.

• pemerhati on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Boleh digunakan oleh para sukarelawan PPS ni..hanya tukar logo je…hahahaha

• Front is nice.
    Rear is just not used to the design.

Better than Korean car.

• Savoc_Smyh on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:31 pm

ASEAN NCAP RESULTS
    ——————
    PERODUA AXIA :
    Variant : 1000-E
    Year Built : 2014
    Vehicle Category : Hatchback
    Engine Capacity: 1.0 L Petrol
    Test Laboratory: MIROS PC3

Perodua Axia, which is produced specifically for Malaysia’s market, will be available in the market starting from September 2014. This hatchback scored 12.91 points in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP), which is in the 4-Star range. For Child Occupant Protection (COP), it also scored 4-Star with 71 % compliance. ISOFIX & top tether are available as standard for all variants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Sy Mzl on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Overall i can see so many + comment than – one in this page. Let us hope that we ( i mean true Malaysian ) can support our national car maker, and what we expect in return are a good and reliable and of course vehicle that save our $, and hope Proton can bring up the after sales service also focusing on more Drivers satisfactions. I myself a Myvi owner if I wanted to change my car IRIZ would be my next target. How bout you all guy????? Go PROTON …make Malaysian Proud LAH… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Aiya,I shud have went to Pavilion today to see it for real. Its where I go every Sunday =( I x boleh tahan ni

• Same Lorr ni hates sangat komen, racist pulak tu. kerja perodua ke asek nak down kan proton? keyboard warrior.. Belajar sgn RBA ke? kesian tengok ko lah

• ah weng on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:18 pm

I hope this car also has lotus tuned handling.
    No turbo charger is already drawn back a little bit, but must handle well.

• Majuperak on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Well all the so called die hard Proton fans, who is jumping with joy …….Game changer ? Have heard all this back then, Waja European benchmark, Gen2, Preve, Suprima S Lotus engineered handling etc etc …… that’s what we are told ! Yawn …… history repeats itself, let’s wait and see …….:

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Komplen Tak Abis2 on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:48 pm

for all haters,
    cakap banyak tak guna.
    test drive dulu baru komen.
    setakat jadi “keyboard warrior” semua orang boleh buat.
    Pergi test drive dulu baru komen.
    p/s:-Mau makan mee goreng mamak, belum siap goreng dah kutuk mamak masak tak sedap, malu sikit la kawan2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • There is no worth it even to spend 5 mins to test drive a proton car…..enough is enough…waste of time.
      p/s:-mamak punya mee goreng mana ada sedap. semua orang sudah tahu tapi memang ade orang yang order? tau kenapa? kalau u boring makan roti canai tiap-tiap hari terpaksalah u order mee goreng di kedai mamak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • Cakap berdegar2..ncap lah..cap tu..ni lah..airbeg lah..cam myvi lah..cam kia lah..power windows lah…

Yg ramai cakp2 tu x beli pon..ntah2 blacklist tak boleh buat loan..pakai pon kete yg airbeg dan abs pon tarak..nasib ada brek jer kete..

Kete blum kuar lg dah komen macam2..g test dulu lah weii…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Komplen Tak Abis2 on Sep 14, 2014 at 6:53 pm

cop
    even Lorry Truck look very similar.
    why nobody complain?
    haha
    p/s:- go test drive 1st la, complain later la.

• Marse09 on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Bashing, bashing & bashing again! Try to find, point out weaknesses that u dont even know about it. Questioning this and that like you’re an expert auto engineer. And relates it with political party, supporting, non supporting, racists bullshit. Please stop this people. If u don’t find this new car doesn’t interest u in any way, please shut the hell up and respect other people’s humble opinion. Give proton a chance, give Malaysia a chance to prove itself. Sorry for so much anger. I hate it when a group of people criticize things like they contributed so much while the other group has put so much effort to make it happens.

• Doesn’t is seems expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Cukuplah on Sep 14, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Owned 2 Proton before. National service done. Cukuplah. No more Proton for me or my family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
    • Agreed, but there are so many so called poton supporters here. I wonder true or not…..maybe runners hired by them…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • See how many protong’s runners here. The are spending our malaysian hard earned money to hire these morons to clicks “thumbs up” for potong suppoters and “thumbs down” for basher. Shame on you protong…..for those so called” potong supporters’ go died in hell and fxxk your self….engkau orang pasti pergi the neraka pada hari kiamat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Mrsavvybodoh on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Memang betol, bro…..korang macam bergaji rendah dan tak berpendidikan tinngi hanya akan beli protong. Macam saya sekarang bergaji tinggi mana ade mood nak tengok kereta low class ni. hanya orang bawahan yang tak ade otak masih support protng, biar dia korang mati ditipu beli sampah tak ade kualiti ini…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • german car lovver aka Jian on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Kenapa awak bercakap teruk pada Mr Savvy …………Saya boleh nampak awak orang miskin dengan cara awak bercakap awak mengunnakkan Bahasa Malaysia yang ringkas…………..Saya rasa macam Mr Savvy lebih kaya daripada awak kerana dia ada 5 buah kereta Proton iaitu =RM 250k duit yang digunnakkan oleh mr savvy untuk membeli keretanya…………Awak tidak berpendidikan…………Saya rasa gaji berpendapatan keluarga Mr Savvy sekurangnya RM20k 1 bulan manakala awak hanya boleh membeli sebuah kereta Toyota Vios dan juga bergaji 3000Rm …….jangan lah berlagak saya bergaji 50k 1 bulan,,memiliki 3 buah kereta iaitu Mercedes Benz C250 coupe 2013,Alfa romeo MITO 2012 dan Audi Q5 2013 . Saya tidak berlagak……Saya pun nak cuba beli kereta Iris untuk anak perempuan saya iaitu 16tahun.Kesianlah Mr Savvy.

• Korangatashisapgermancock on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Korang bawahan dia punya nenek moyang hamba tauke ladang spotted di atas.

• this crap doesn’t even deserve our time to test drive, you must be wrong to go with potong cheap car with such price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
    • legit on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:48 pm

keyboard worrior detected

• ups to you..who care what’s your opinion. oh i know..put ur idea in ur ass and keep it warm there!

• why so many naysayers.. LOR?! on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:29 am

I’ve noticed something interesting about the Malaysian mindset.. we like to judge things.before even seeing it first hand. People are already criticizing the car beforr driving or stepping inside it. To top it off, they hope proton fails. I don’t understand that mentality.they can’t even be a little proud about malaysia being the only asean country with our own car industry.. why lor? Why like dat one mah? Haiyoo no paham lah malaysians lor lor. I’d keep quiet before driving it, but i personally think it.looks nice. As a preve owner myself, the preve is a.pretty nice.car to drive.

• protongcarpshit on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Actually I am wasting my time also by looking at this article…….shit! we should avoid anything article in paultan related to protong. Pui!

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Interesting way of mounting the reverse camera. Never seen one mounted so low before.

• cikaro on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:20 pm

I’ve been there,surprisingly its really look good in real..superb design by proton..a bit bigger than myvi if u ask me..gud job proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • lexusboy on Sep 14, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Hopefully this goes into the UK market~i really hope to see the European car magazine test driving it~especially Top Gear

• Jaguh on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:13 pm

What happened. Not yet launch and already driving in public?… Anti climax. Well proton. With the price, I hope u are providing quality materials down to the paint job.

• This is to get people to whip their phone out and share in social media, like insta, FB, twitter and what not…

New age marketing strategy, youngsters believe more from their friends in social media than in formal ones…regardless whether they’re true or not.

• gogotdm on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:42 am

what strategy for youngsters by sending an half died old man…LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Camry Lover on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Looks good. Price reasonable for the specs. I would buy it if i am looking for B-segment compact. Good job Proton.

However i won’t buy the first batch. I would suggest that those interested hold on to your horses and wait for the 2nd or 3rd batch. 1st batch always have nagging issues.

• owned on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:31 pm

I would like to drive this, but i wont buy since i cant afford…maybe i’ll get a cheaper used one next time. Right now i’ll just stick with my 13 yrs old kancil, still running tho need little repair here n there…yeah Kancil 4ever!!!
    Hope to see perodua replace myvi with aygo in near time^^, the X thingy look fierce.

• gogotdm on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:40 am

You will never see aygo here since they just launch this gsc and they need to protect their sales.

• ryeon on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:31 pm

I came here just to read comments

• just stfu and test drive. all the haters engineering background? i know proton had produced some low quality cars over the years but give it a break.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Looks like we don’t get the front parking sensors and rear foglight… or maybe we will, can’t say for sure.

This car wouldn’t look out of place next to any new Kia or Hyundai, it looks positively modern and European. Normally, Proton cars never look too good from the back, but this car… is really something else. The lines from the EMAS have carried nicely over to the Iriz. The smooth, flowing panels are akin to a woman’s curves. The front though, while it looks great, I think the grille would look a little better if it were a little smaller… but I dare not criticise at this stage, not until I’ve seen it with my own eyes at least.

All in all, Proton has pulled it off again, better than ever in fact, and I sincerely hope that this time, Proton keeps their words and promises. Just 9 more days to go !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Aero bullshit on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:23 am

Pull it off again….protong !!!! Lol…what a statement, oh aye ..you that person who’s shit is dripping from the mouth….wipe it off quick…too much bullshit coming out from your mouth again !

• Aero (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 12:31 am

I have two words for keyboard warriors and cowards like you.

FUCK. OFF.

Come say that to my face…. you won’t even have the balls I’m sure.

• Jaguh on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:31 am

Erm… Please remind me the time proton did a great job?… As much as I would like to believe it…Pull it off again? Care for the details please?

• Mr.Savvy on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Tak sabar nya nak tukar ke Iriz…all my family being called The Proton Family (1st Saga BLM 1, BLM FLX 2, Savvy 2) …akan tetapi…hati masih terpaut kat Suprima S…i can read all the negative comments bout proton…tapi masih tak mampu menggugat keyakinan saya dengan proton…mungkin just a little luck…Savvy saya dah 9 tahun dah….masih berfungsi dengan baik…dari Sematan, Sarawak sampainke Sandakan, Sabah….so far so good….
    Well-loved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Mrsavvybodoh on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:39 am

Padan muka punya keluarga, tak ade belajar dan bergaji rendah. Hanya orang bawahan suka proton…padan muka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 52
      • amran on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:01 pm

i wonder if u are typing the serve u right comment while standing beside ur slowly rotten nissan sunny car

• Mrsavvybodoh on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Orang bawahan tak belajar bergaji rendah spotted. Go buy protong forever in your miserable life. Otak pun tak betol cakap barang tak guna. Kesian betol korang bawahan nie….padan muka korang miskin berpendidikan rendah. Tengok nama ‘amran’ sudah tahu ini korang bawahan dari keluarga miskin dalam hutan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Car_fan on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Why does the rear of the car sit so low? Is it weighed down by the overweight bodyguards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • teelim on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Please make an R3 version.

Would get.

• face21 on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:09 am

no need, 1.6 manual with lighter body weight will smoke all CURRENTLY selling proton own models except for preve CFE, suprima CFE and inspira.

• doggie on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:25 pm

who will buy Iriz? targeted group?
    College? Fresh grad? 1-3 years workers?
    I bet all working 5 years will try our ass out to skip the P1/2 curse..
    Thats why they come out come scrap car problem to make Potong long leaves, but 2nd hand car cronies seller will be DAMN and fight against that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • thefact on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:06 am

i think u r missing the point, many rich people try to be low profile by buying unassuming cars. they probably have porsches at home..but they tend to take myvi or similar cars to go shopping at tesco for instance….. easy to mantain.. n parts aplenty..n best part..no one knows u r really rich. n no one targets u.

• Vincent Ang on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:45 pm

This Proton Iriz is by far the most beautiful Prton since the Proton Saga with the Italian wedge shape. Hope Proton can sell the top end variant of this model for below RM60,000. At that price I and I believe many others will line up to buy it

• Jimmy on Sep 14, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Do you think there is a need to improve the design of the rear part, Proton’s designers?
    Some vehicles I am just too lazy to comment; we don’t scold the children of our friends when they make mistakes, do we?
    Remember ya, potential customers, this Iris is 1150kg, not 980kg, and it has 6 airbags + ESP.

• myq5 (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:02 pm

With a positive mind and not misleading the judgment with past happening, everyone is potential customer. Wait and see! Everyone deserve a chance for making improvement, proton is trying and give them a chance! Suruh kita buat tak bolih, bila orang buat, hemtam dia saja!

• Isaac on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:08 pm

The front looks ok, and the rear looks like sport cars. The overall design looks something tidak kena but ok.. the interior seems convincing.. standard suspension , macpherson front and torsion beam rear. just need to improve after sale services and assembly quality..

• Usavich on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:43 pm

better top up abit for the hyundai Jazz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • zamzama on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:29 am

i rather opt for hyundai civic than hyundai jazz

• aaron on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:14 am

owh. hyundai now come with jazz. must be a secret mission between hyundai n honda.

• ayamitik on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:55 am

me in other hand prefer hyundai city.. hyundai Jazz ftw…

• Fisya on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:35 pm

I would rather top-up a bit for Hyundai Accord or Honda Sonata. Hahaha…

• Looks good! can’t wait to test drive the 1.6 version.

• Sama-value on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:19 am

Junk, anything come out from poton is junk! 6 airbags? junk, even tesco plastic bag better quality. ABS, EBD? even the cheapest car has these functions. 5 star ncap? you sure the one they sent for tests is same quality as the one you buy? dream on. This is poton……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
  • hakim on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:23 am

the Iriz look photogenic and great in every angle! that shows the design of the car is really good. well done proton, this is the game changer!

• Thiva on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:49 am

It doesn’t looks like a typical Proton product. Fresh design, sporty and bold lines. Not sure how good it rides.. but the look is really stunning. Thumbs up to Proton. This could be the 3rd car i have ever liked from Proton. 1st is Perdana V6, then Satria GTi and now this hot hatch.

• hophop on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:51 am

give this car a sexy ass, and come out with a new saga :D

• Although I’m not a fan of proton cars, but based on the visuals so far, it looks good. Now, let’s hope the quality and reliability can match buyers’ expectations. It’s always a good thing when we have competition in the market. More choices & better products for buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • thebosssedangbercakap on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:23 am

driven by the guy whose daily ride is a porsche.

• areos on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:26 am

aiyaa…..tak payah bash sana bash sini…..sometimes bashers sound more idiot and low mentallity..i owned kancil n myvi as well as wira n saga n toyota n nissan…suma ada plus n minus…but i feel handling proton lebih mantap..cuma petrol ada lebehhh sikit.. For Iriz..it looks promising esp for 1.6 model

• Daniel Tak Kesah on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:08 am

Hi uolls. Daniel tak kesah, Daniel hv had a good experience with Proton. This new Proton looks promising. Well done!!! All the best to Proton. Mesti pegi test drive tau. -Sincerely, Daniel-

• cella on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:16 am

Can’t wait to test drive!

• ┐(´_`)┌ on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:21 am

the rear end is an evolution of the savvy I think…

• totti on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:23 am

Tun M was our ex-PM , have some respect …
    He contributed alot for Malaysia,
    go migrate to other country if u dont have that kind of patriotism in Malaysia
    ——————————–

What a naive guy that never use brain to praise this old man.

If not because of this old man. you dont have to pay high price for:-

1) japanese car (Honda/Toyota/Nissan) due to protection system.
    2) Car AP only benefit the cronies at the rakyat expense.
    3) TNB due to Cronies IPP.
    4) rice due to Bernas.
    5) Internet due to TM.
    6) Toll due to proxy.
    7) Sugar due to Syed cronies.
    8) G subsidies for Proton due to R & D.
    9) Lastly despite so many oppurtunity given for the past 22 years and MAMAK said he has failed and make the BUmi more lazy……etc.

So, why appreciate and respect a fail policy which had damaged by this Mamak and make malaysia go backward as compared to other ASEAN country?

Use your brain to rationalise your statement instead of praising a fail product which need subsidies after 30 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 17
    • Proton global on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

Don’t blame others for your own incompetency and failed life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Wow, this old man can break the law !!!! on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:41 am

So this old man can break the law when ever he wants !!

– no road tax on the car !!!

– number plate does not exist, where selangor plate got alphabet at the end…only wilayah plate has that !!

– I’m sure the car is not insured or else would have had a road tax !!

This Old man drove the car on public roads without the above & which means he is above the law….our public road laws does not apply to this old man & here is the daylight prove !!

What if he had meet in an accident or worst still, knocked someone walking on the road…what would happen!!! If he really wanted to test Drive the car…he could have done it on a close road & not on our public roads !!!

So, now everybody can see …… There are a lot of people in Malaysia where the law does not apply to them & that’s why our country will always be in imbalance no matter what happens coz of people like this old man !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • cakap saja pandai on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:51 am

that is Selangor trade plate. the car is not registered yet.

• u r dumb on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:21 am

– no road tax on the car !!!
      – I’m sure the car is not insured or else would have had a road tax !!

how he is able to drive?
      the same way how people drove unreg. cars from ship ports/yards to showrooms or anywhere they please.

• Ononimos on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:30 am

you deserve to be called as ‘bodoh sombong bangang’.

• oneandonly on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:23 pm

it’s school holidays, no wonder.

• Malaysian…kadang2 rs mluat dgn korang ni. Nk ngutuk je. Dh 5 star ancap kutuk jgk. Klu bg 10 star pn kutuk jgk. X test keta tu dh mcm2 komen. Cermin blakang kecik la, rim xlawa la., quality xde la. Ade je nk kutuk padahal xbwk lg. Xpuas hati reka keta sendri la. Mcm2 lak

• wake_up on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:58 am

Except squeezing money out fr malaysian whatelse potong has brought to malaysian. A total failure outside of malaysia, so are u feel proud of it? How many yrs potong in market oledi, when the late comer already picking up potong still on the same spot 10yrs ago. No such big head dun wear such big cap. We all knew u r just incapable of making car, better close shop and stop abusing malaysian for ur profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
  • superman on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:01 am

I was there and I saw the car in Pavilion. But I could see people did not pay attention it as it was just too much look like a MayVi. if Tun M was not there people just pass by the car and never notice it is a new car. this is not a good sign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • superboy on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Same thing happend to me yesterday. I wasn’t even notice there is a bunch of rubbish that was put aside the main road outside my house. What is the moral? Junk is junk and rubbish is still rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Pak Daud on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:23 am

Cinta pandang pertama!

• Honestly this car looks good! I hope it can win the people’s heart. The only way in doing so is to have a reliable engine and a safe car. Maybe this is the Proton we been waiting for. Most important it has to be priced right!

• Sam Loor (ciplak) on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Toyota car is the best. Look at this junk, super duber copycat. Those idiots in the protong are wasting our taxpayer’s money every seconds. This car for sure got no RV one. The only car in the world got RV is Toyata only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loor (ciplak) on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Buy korean car, next year sell half price. Buy potong car, next year nobody wants to buy. Keep potong car for the rest of its lifetime, at least you got lifetime warranty for your power window. Long live Toyota!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Absolute Rider on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Look at one of the picture. Try to compare PCC headlamp and Preve (as same as Suprima S) headlamp. PCC headlamp is so much better looker!

• truely malaysian on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Hopefully TM didn’t knock anybody in this shooting caused he is chauffeured all his life…

• Hardcorefanboy on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Proton needs to give its showroom salesman , service centre mechanic stern warning not to say something negative that irritates potential customers , like saying “Proton memang macam itu , cakap banyak pun tak guna” or ” Semua orang tahu inilah proton punya standard , tak guna bising-bising , u ada duit , beli toyota atau honda lah”

• rider on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:08 pm

I felt confidence with Proton this time.

• rider on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:47 pm

I felt more confident with my 10 year old bicycle than potong’s product now. Please ignore my previous statement.

• jimmmy on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:19 pm

look good…… but still expensive as it is small car, other model not good , this model …….er……..

• Taxi Promotion on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:46 pm

I’m suggesting all Taxi association to go for the the 1.3 spec for public Taxi and replace the first generation SAGA, this help in promoting local car and more Iriz Taxis on the road the car buyer will be convince to of this car capabilities.

• Taxi Promotion No.2 on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Agreed. If not they will hardly achieve their sale target to cover the taxpayers’ money spent. But wait, they can always depends on mamak to ask for more money.

• Elchino on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:54 pm

If it took $500 million to developer this car, then assuming Proton only sells the top specs model, it has to sell at least 8,000 PCC top specs model just to recover its total R & D cost. Can Proton sell this number fast enough bearing in mind there is a daily financial cost of borrowing the $500 million accumulating daily!

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:52 pm

In case some of you may have forgotten, what’s lurking behind PCC, is Lotus’ own EMAS CityCar concept. P2 lays its claim as a re-bumpered Daihatsu. P1 can lay its claim that Lotus shall rebadge it’s PCC platform for the city car!!!

• Long Live Bapa Industri Otomobil Thailand….

• sambalbabi on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Am dying to know th

• sambalbabi on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Am dying to know whether the 1.6 litre variant would hav

• sambalbabi on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Am dying to know whether the 1.6 litre variant would have rear brake disc or not. Can someone clarify? Having bigger cc engine in a compact car this size should be fun and fuel efficient too.

• sambalanjing on Sep 16, 2014 at 1:37 am

no disc brake throughout all variant. tqvm for supporting proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Bataman on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Why do you need disc brakes for such a lightweight car? Even Honda City only has rear disc brakes and PaulTan test has shown it’s no worse than a VIOS.

• Saiful on Sep 16, 2014 at 6:32 am

Orang yang kerja gaji tidak berkat je pakai kereta asyik rosak.

Kalau setakat masuk kerja lewat, balik kerja awal, pastu tengah kerja asyik fb..jgn hrp kerja akan berkat.

• lokeyew on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:17 am

good car..?!!

• It’s sad to know that Proton still survives until today so that average Malaysian can merely afford to buy a car that doesn’t even fit a baby stroller because it’s hatch back. Has Savvy been discontinued? Anyone? It’s not the car price that is going to save Proton. Because even Myvi as a hatchback won all thw ways against Proton Saga, whatever variant it has to offer even Myvi is much pricy than Proton Saga. Anyone here care to tell me why? Either all Myvi owners are dumb or rich or both to choose Myvi over Proton Saga, right? Why don’t we just get over with Proton, pay market priced fuel but buy any car without crazily high tax? How about that? Does anyone know that you are borrowing from bank, paying a lot of interest and serving higher monthly instalment than housing loan instalment, just to get a pity Vios? How sad is it for general Malaysian? Sigh.

• Alson P on Sep 20, 2014 at 3:44 am

PCC = proton Compact Car….

A compact car, or small family car in British acceptation, is a classification of cars that are larger than a subcompact(B-segment) car but smaller than a mid-size car(D-segment), equating roughly to the C-segment in Europe….

Current compact car size, as defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), for the US and for international models respectively, is approximately 4,100 mm (161 in) and 4,450 mm (175 in) long for hatchbacks, or 4,400 mm (173 in) and 4,750 mm (187 in) long for convertibles, sedans (saloon) or station wagons (estate car). Multi-purpose vehicles and sport utility vehicles based on small family cars (often called compact MPVs and compact SUVs) have similar sizes, ranging from 4,200 mm (165 in) to 4,500 mm (177 in) in the U.S., and from 4,400 mm (173 in) to 4,700 mm (185 in) in international-based models.

In Japan, any vehicle that is over 3.4 m (11.2 ft) long, 1.48 m (4.9 ft) wide, 2 m (6.6 ft) high and with an engine over 660 cc (40 cu in) but is under 4.7 m (15.4 ft) long, 1.7 m (5.6 ft) wide, 2 m (6.6 ft) high and with engines at or under 2,000 cc (120 cu in) is considered a compact vehicle. The dimension standards are absolute, meaning special consideration is not made for SUVs, CUVs, minivans, station wagons or hatchbacks.

http://paultan.org/2014/09/09/proton-compact-car-dimensions-compared/

p/s: Compact car = bigger than Kei car/A-segment and bigger than subcompact/B-segment

….PCC not a small car

• horrayooi on Sep 22, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Wake up Proton engineers, the trend now is towards engine using timing chain. Durable. Why Proton is still using timing belt for their engine?You need to change every 80k km. Forget to change, snap and big repair bill. Even Perodua Axia have timing chain engine.