Mustapa defends Accord-based Proton Perdana: too low-volume to justify developing new model – report

Datuk_Mustapa 001

Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed has defended Proton’s decision to rebadge the eighth-gen Honda Accord for its Proton Perdana, saying that the low volume does not justify the huge costs needed to develop a whole new car, reports The Malay Mail.

“It costs no less than US$500 million (RM1.6 billion) in research and development to create a new car, and if you’re just talking about 4,000 to 5,000 units in production volume, that does not justify the cost. For business considerations, it is better to adopt existing (car) models,” he said during question time in Parliament.

He was responding to Kinabatangan MP Datuk Bung Moktar Radin’s supplementary question, who claimed it was the norm for Proton to simply adopt Japanese technology instead of developing their own cars.

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 003

“It is true that the (Perdana’s) engine is from Japan, but as it is, 32% of the car is made from local content and it is assembled at a plant in Melaka. It is not true to say there is no Malaysian car,” Mustapa was quoted as saying.

The MITI minister also told Parliament that Proton and Honda are currently in a series of talks to explore possible collaborations including technology, the introduction of a new line of products as well as platform sharing, Bernama reports. He said the collaborations are set to involve more Proton engineers and local automotive suppliers, working towards achieving higher customer satisfaction.

“(Translated) In line with Proton’s goal to produce new models with high quality and the latest technology, the series of talks will, amongst others, include a model-sharing programme. This is expected to help Proton save investment costs and shorten the development time for a new model,” he said in response to a question by Hulu Langat MP Dr Che Rosli Che Mat.

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 011

Che Rosli also asked if Proton could maintain affordable pricing of its products, to which Mustapa said the government does not interfere, seeing as Proton is privately owned by DRB-Hicom. The national carmaker has the right to set their own prices, but the ministry will keep monitoring prices, he said.

The first-gen Proton Perdana was produced from 1995 to 2010, based on the early-1990s’ Mitsubishi Eterna. Towards the end of its life cycle the model became significantly dated, necessitating a replacement, especially one that was fit for government use.

Following the signing of a collaboration agreement with Honda in 2012, Proton unveiled the new Perdana in December last year. The car, based on the previous-gen Honda Accord, is currently only for the use of civil servants and the government, and just 3,000 units will be built.

2014-Proton-Perdana-Accord-0011

According to the national news agency, 1,000 units of the 2.0E and 700 units of the 2.4P have been produced so far. The 2.4P is for the use of ministers, local governments and officers of Jusa A grade and up. The Prime Minister travels in a stretched version, with the government crest in the middle section and below it, a distinctive shoulder line dip.

The Perdana that the public can buy will be introduced in 2016, Mustapa said. DRB-Hicom Group MD Datuk Seri Khamil Jamil told us some time back that the public-use Perdana will have a completely new interior and exterior – we wonder if that’s still going to happen.

The lease pricing of the cars was also divulged in another report – the stretched Perdana versions for the prime minister and deputy prime minister cost RM295,000 each, and it was reported that the government would be leasing the Perdana 2.4 Executive and 2.0 Standard at RM3,284.84 and RM2,892.32 per month respectively. The report also mentioned that in March 2013, the Perak state government bought 12 Proton Perdanas, at a price of RM115,000 each.

Proton Perdana 2.4P

Unveiling and hand-over ceremony on December 11, 2013

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Rebadge is the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
    • ProtonGSC on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:09 pm

“It costs no less than US$500 million (RM1.6 billion) in research and development to create a new car” Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said.

Proton macai/supporter face the fact. And never ask me again “Did you built a car before” frigging shit Q’s by P1 supporter’s.
      Keep bullshit and support your P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 36
      • Macai on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:03 pm

If it cost so much, why P1 even bother to sell a D segment car? Minister of Trade has no logic, has same level of IQ with P1 supporters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 19
        • mirror on Nov 05, 2014 at 9:22 am

i think the D segment for official vehicle.
          what if P1 dont built the Perdana car, which car do u think is suitable for our official? mercs or bmw? then ppl start arguing why mercs or bmw, never ending story.
          use ur brain not emotion, bro/sis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Macai on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:53 pm

It’s available later for public consumption later if you bother to read till the end. P1 is not building, it’s rebadging! If you use your brain to think, you will know

• The Real Truth About Leasing and Servicing on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:32 pm

What a pack of lies. It was reported in parliament that each Accordana is leased out. Government pays RM250,000 for each Accordana for 5 years.

Huh? Rm250,000? That is more than the price of the car. Sure some money masuk pocket.

This is like few years ago, each normal Proton Perdana, the service bill for each Perdana was RM100,000 for 3 years. Yes, you read it right. For 3 years, the service bill was more than RM100,000.
          Whilst most people in the first 3 years (as it is under warranty) hardly pay more than RM10,000 for servicing, our Perdana cost RM100,000 each. More than the cost of the car!

It was found out, the workshop involved was owned and run by an UMNO member. And he got the contract to service thousands of Perdana. Each one costing the government RM100,000 just to service for 3 years (without petrol).

Even our Accordana, the RM250,000 paid for 5 years rental, go and dig deeper and you will see, it probably leased by an UMNO member.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
          • hallo on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:44 pm

you go ask LGE his merc went to umno workshop or dap workshop. use your brain man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Question to Ponder? on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:16 pm

It was reported in parliament that each Accordana is leased to the government for RM250,000 for 5 years. That is a shocking figure. Who is the middle man leasing this car to the Government? Must be an UMNO member.

Many years back, it was reported that each Perdana had a service bill of RM100,000 for 3 years. That is without petrol. It cost more than the car!

How do you have a service bill for RM100,000 for 3 years when the first 3 years already got warranty?
          As far as I know, under warranty, I hardly even spend RM5000 for the first 3 years.

And the company doing the service for the Perdana was an UMNO member and he had the contract to service a few thousand Government Perdana.

Now the Accordana, we must see who has the contract to lease the Government the cars. Shockingly, it cannot be believed that each car can be leased out for RM250,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
          • mmmmm on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:07 am

of course it’s expensive. everage milage 60k per year or more…those figure are justified. leased pulak tu.

what under warranty? wear and tear pakai duit sendiri la bro. every 40k have to change fuel strainer la bro. gua lanyak accord sampai puas. maintainance pun puas jugak bayar. hahaha.
            lu x penah pakai accord ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Naim Hasbullah on Nov 23, 2014 at 8:14 pm

I don’t see why you ppl like to hate. Do that wrong. Do this wrong. What you want actually? zzz

• Same L0rrr on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:18 pm

14 months to put the Proton logo on the old Accord? Your logo is imported from the moon? Pui!!!

Don’t change anything, just change logo and sell to public. Then Proton may beg less from government next time.

Meaningless EGO like 100% local design local made but 101% crap build quality has ruined the whole nation for generations!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 41
      • policeman on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Please keep some of that stupidity for your children and grandchildren. What if you run out of it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 98
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 8:53 am

Puihh..Penipu Same L0rrr..where u get those figure? PROTON developed Accord-base, Perdana less than 1 YEAR, u idiot!! Your damn question asking why take so long to put the PROTON logo into Accord is because of the cosmetic changes, vendor selection, tooling development period for the remaining 32% local content..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
      • Jimmy on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Don’t modify/change this that for the sake of modification, especially the engine/drivetrain/transmission.
        Berpandai-pandai is not going to do you any good, except if you are truely better than Honda’s designers and engineers.
        Also, D-segment buyers are generally more mature, don’t go and re-design some ‘Alfa-romeo’-like monkey-look front and rear. Look at S-class and 7-series, they have as yet never had any fancy-funky looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • P. Kumar on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:22 am

It is not the matter of changing logo. When a car is re badge, it need go for an assesment by JPJ and it will be assessed as a whole new car. it need to meet the homologation requirement. It is not just main tampal only. The dimension of the new bumper design, the edge, the slope, all need engineering works. this is not a half cut shop. it is real OEM process… think first before u bash blindly…

• Ohwell on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Same LOrrr..buddy, you are as bright as alaska in December..keep it up

• Burong on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Proton kindly rebadge Much better car at low price to stimulate us.

But if Proton put the Proton logo on a BMW 3 series, I will still get the BMW logo model even with additional 30% price. Will only consider if >50% price difference.

Make bicycle again, Proton.

Cause bicycle don’t have power window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 53
      • when theres no mo modal to bash, keep going abt power window..wanna say proton backward but own brain still stuck somewhere 20 years ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 56
      • Bull shit laa…My previous Myvi also hv power window problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • so you thinks that buy BMW dont have problem..bullshit.. even worse honda airbag kills 4 people and dozen hurt..

• mmmmm on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:13 am

buy bmw 300k. and have problem. go to service centre cannot solve. pening bayar bulan2 but kereta dalam service center.

better buy honda or proton….can lanyak like crazy…sparepart boleh carik sendiri.

• I like this car! value for money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Rakyat on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:33 am

Malaysia – Proton crony paradise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Dr. Doom on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Hell yah! Accordana!!!!! Smoke those Golf GTi Ass.!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Rather than rebadging by changing cosmetic bits here & there, why not just buy the Honda Accord as is? Why the need to make it a Proton? Surely Proton had to pay a lot of money to Honda to use their car, then spend more money to make it look slightly different. Then, the Govt buys them from Proton. If they just cut the middle person (Proton) and buy direct from Honda Malaysian, would it not be cheaper?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 7
    • Sir Slave Tuan Hamba on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Reasons

1. Leaders need an executive model but want to set good example by using local car brand. No more excuse for higher ups to buy Camry or Benz for use as official cars.

2. Buying the rights to build the previous gen Accord locally is more cost effective than buying the required fleet of latest Accord. Honda also happy to get rid of old tooling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
      • Are you sure Honda get rid of old tooling? Honda still need it as for spare part supplier!

Throw away the ego … buy honda accord. The important is use money wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:15 pm

I have no objections to this rebadging exercise. Just that the price must be fair, both to government officials and also the public, for example, RM105K for 2.0L and 115k for 2.4L, both with fully loaded safety features. If a car design is fairly good, the same design/model can be used for 10 to 15 years; Honda won’t do this for obvious reasons, but Proton can, and I don’t see any reasons Proton should not.

• kadajawa on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:39 am

You want the real reason? Here it is:

Gomen bodoh, country bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 27
    • Najib on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Lagi satu:

Proton bodoh, supporter bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • RipOff on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:38 pm

You want me to buy a 2007 technology in 2016 and pay new car prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 12
    • You don’t know meh our Gov always one step forward two step back ..lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:18 pm

2007 technology with a 30% off, with only 30% local contents, why not? New CKD Hondas have 0% local contents?
      The important thing here is quality control. Is Proton’s QC better than Honda’s CKDs’ ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Macai on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:27 am

Only in Malaysia people will buy this rubbish selling at such a high price. If you don’t believe, try to CKD this and export to Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • b*llSh1t on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:41 pm

What a load of crap…… why limited run? Should just continue to produce for everyone….. truth is that the cabinet was caught with their pants down when they committed to use Honda Accord for their official car and Dr M questioned why not a Malaysian car.. so they crapped and just rebadge. Really tok alot of kok this dude….. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 23
    • Observer on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:40 pm

ur r the one with load of crap…. if u keep some of ur brain probably u’ll have the intelligence to read til the end where it says new perdana based on the accord which public can buy will be available by 2015/2016… duh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • SameLorr the Sorhai on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Finally something sensible from Mustapha’s mouth. Now when will it be available to public purchase ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
  • sudonano (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Hold on, so essentially the Perdana was built at the Honda plant and Proton just installed the badges, and the rims? I actually thought Proton assembled them….

The point is this, Honda initially got the contract to supply the Accord as the Accord to the G. And that u turned cause I don’t think Proton wanted to allow this to happen, they rather pay MORE money, buy the license off Honda, then install some badges before giving to the G.

What a waste…. The Perdana is a long overdue model from Proton. Their (technically) largest sedan now is the Preve and Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Yes, else Proton cannot songlap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Don Juan De Marco on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:44 pm

What’s the big problem with the current rebadge Accord? It’s just for G Officials use, not the public motorists. The public version will be completely re-design inside-out (except for the underbody platform) and fitted with the latest technology, and I can tell you its development is on track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • it’s not advisable to transfer all the assy jigs from Honda Melaka to Proton because all the jigs will need to be retuned and this will take a lot of time and consume a lot of money. To sum up, if assemble by proton, then they have to think about new bodyshop line, new painting, new assy line, new logistic setup, new manpower and etc….for new model might be easier but for old model, there might be wear and tear to the jigs, spot gun and so on….

• D.I.Y on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

You are very correct Minister! It’s not worth to invest 1.6billion ringgit. But just can simply sold it off MV Agusta company at 1Euro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • ciakap on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Proton Holdings has sold it’s 57.57 percent stake in MV Agusta Spa to an Italian company Gevi Spa. Gevi Spa will assume MV Agusta’s debts and working capital requirements totalling 139.44 million euros, as announced today to Bursa Malaysia by Proton Holdings as part of it’s non-core asset divesting exercise.

Interesting to note that Proton originally acquired MV Agusta Spa last year on July 7 2004 for 70 million Euro, and finally sold it for a token sum of 1 Euro (RM4.48).

Read more: http://paultan.org/2005/12/28/proton-disposes-of-mv-agusta-for-1-euro/#ixzz3IANy765I

• areos on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Yeah thats the way…Proton should consider rebadging other Honda models which are not in direct competition with Proton models – save cost, save time and generate make more cash. Who cares what other people say..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Anything Proton make is low volume by world standard.

So please rebadge Honda Grace already. And Civic Type-R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • smoke all the protons and myvis on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Awww Civic Type-R,especially the latest one oWo
      Do coop with Ford and rebadge Fiesta ST too gomenasai

• Old dog on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I am questioning the usage of the car where I see many women used it to fetch their sons….if it’s gov and servant car, isn’t it to be used for work related? Who pay the petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Josh Ling on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:46 pm

i saw one with QAA XXXX J plate no. which is a private car plate no. in sarawak, instead of QSG XXXX (sarawak government officers car plate no.). wondering why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Wondering which brand Service Center will this Perdana send for service? Honda or Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • dr.terror on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:48 pm

yes myb its cheap rebadge others car to be a proton car, but people already boring, 30years with nothing, even new proton iris seems like nothing to shout about. Yes all the safety features are good but its not new thing, foreign car already have that but they have to pull out all the safety features to sell their call in Bolehland. Even MP Bung Mokhtar feel ashamed to use the accordana as official car. First time Bung Mokhtar words can be accepted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • dr.terror on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:56 pm

u guys can watch the video at kinitv.com, MP Bung Mokhtar lambasted proton for 30years without own engine, own car chasis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Kinabatangan on Nov 05, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Bung Mokhtar is just like you, too lazy to read, too lazy to learn..That translate.. He is stupid. If you agree then you are stupid too. Trust me I am Sabahan, I know how this guy thinks..

• perodua on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Closing up proton more cost effective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:58 pm

“He said the collaborations are set to involve more Proton engineers and local automotive suppliers, towards achieving higher customer satisfaction”

Wow. And I had thought Honda has built its Accord to the best they can (to the price of course). I’m sure Proton thinks it can still “improve” it. More teh tariks hooks I suppose.

Sarcasm aside, I would care less if Proton rebadges cars. Someone probably made a faux pas in getting the Accord for government use and the about turn to rebadge it instead.

If it wasn’t the case why not make this Accornada available to the public? After all, Proton has been complaining about low volume??

• But..... on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Rebadging cars is not an issue, most people don’t mind it.
    The problem is when you rebadge well-known cars selling in Malaysia such as the Accord/Lancer. The value of these cars drop and the public will just condemn Proton further. They should have rebadged cars unknown on Malaysian roads like the Opel/Vauxhall/GM or models’ other brands don’t want to localise and bring into Malaysia.
    Look at Daihatsu, they pulled out when they started Perodua and is not selling their cars alongside Perodua. Same when Toyota bought Daihatsu, Toyota cars that share the same base as Perodua is not sold here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • ciakap on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Good for rakyat.. WIN-WIN.. price drop.. many people can buy

• Price where got drop? This Accordana still more expensive than Accord in Langkawi. Whoever buy this is an idiot

• Fool yourselves forever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • grandis on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:04 pm

wahliao, proton so slow la. please rebadge grandis as well, exora too small laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Tan Sri Rebadge on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:04 pm

so proud if being a parasite. muke tebal tak tau malu..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • NasiLemak on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:05 pm

this 1 i agree with Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.. better spend the money on cars for the masses.. on fuel eev engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Proton R&D Scientist (PhD) on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Can’t wait to see the new Perdana on the road, we have spent so many hours and millions working on this new revolutionary model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Working Lad on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:12 pm

After rebadge then let’s all sing~ “Let it go…..”

• dirtrun on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I wonder what they will price it at?? I mean if it really comes to pass.
    The Accords were going for circa 150K for the 2.0 ..

• akula on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:14 pm

when najib rode the beast with mr obama, and obama ask him what is your official car???… errr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Porsche guy on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:19 pm

So the truth is out. This perdana is actually manufactured in Melaka by HONDA together with current Honda lineup of CRV, CITY and LATEST ACCORD. No wonder my dad’s accordana quality is very good. It was never produced in Proton’s factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Aero (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Don’t blame Proton for the lack of quality in their cars, blame the GLC / crony vendors who often force and blackmail Proton into purchasing their contracts. Poor Proton is too indebted, they can’t afford to do business with all of the best vendors on the market, unlike cash rich Honda Malaysia and UMW Toyota. Proton can only have a handful of excellent vendors (APM, Proreka, Borg Warner, Bosch), and is held back by some less than capable ones (right now, I can only think of Punch). Some of these ‘good’ vendors like APM even supply Honda Malaysia and UMW Toyota.

If Proton had better vendors, there wouldn’t be much disparity in terms of quality in their products. Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant is as good or better than ANY car manufacturing plant in Southeast Asia. Proton cars are as safe or safer than any of their competitors on the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Siapa cakap APM good vendor? The shocks are hopeless. And what proton pressured by vendors? Proton offered the tenders. It is the deal between the person in-charge and the vendors. Whatever deal they had with Punch definitely have to do with the number of units agreed, transfer of knowledge etc. obviously Proton was thinking of getting a good deal but the R&D wasn’t up to standard. They’re good at camouflage though, macam suspense but the gearbox sucks. How many years they took to perfect the proton wira. It’ll be the exact same thing with preve and iriz mata kucing. 10 years maybe.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Actually, they didn’t perfect the Wira.

It got worst as it went on.

The best Wira/Satria/Putra all ended in 1997. Anything after 1999 was rubbish.

• ko malu saje... on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:43 am

Any Honda that comes out of the Malacca factory is known for their built quality issues. Body panel mismatch, oil leak within the first month?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Hahah…. yeah those cars are quite poorly put together.

We had to suffer the indignity of having our Accord break down twice in the first month for problems related to “not being well put together” (which essentially means, Honda’s technical crew had no idea what caused the problems)

• Jokovi on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Until Proton can come out with their own Perdana, see no point to re-badge the Accord when it could costs less to buy the Accord or Camry fleet with big rebates for official use. Less hassle and more prestige also. For those hardworking and deserving government servants, buying them Mercedes E Class can also be considered including PM who should be using S Class minus tax. Buy them during end year for big discounts just like what Penang CM did.

• Sparcov on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:44 pm

IS a business anyway.

This car assemble by DRB-Honda rebadged by DRB-proton and hoola Proton Perdana based on Honda Accord previous Generation.

Proton always have a low selling volume to justify the R&D. If so, why still R&D? why not just buy the licence from other manufacturer and rebadge it?

On the other hand said must do MALAYSIAN CAR totally designed by Proton. Now on the other hand, better for for rebadge because lower down the cost…..I really confused

• Henry on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:48 pm

“It is true that the (Perdana’s) engine is from Japan, but as it is, 32% of the car is made from local content and it is assembled at a plant in Melaka… it is not true to say there is no Malaysian car,” Mustapa was quoted as saying.
    ———————–

If this is the criteria then every locally assembled Toyota, Honda and Nissan also qualifies as a Malaysian car. Betul kah, Datuk?

This kind of off-the-cuff answer is meant only for morons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Henry on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:51 pm

I actually want to buy this Perdana but they don’t want my money. By 2016 this car is a dinosaur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • vosscammer on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Yeah buy license, at the end of day, either the end product is crappy or the knowledge transfered is very slow, limited to changing badge, car door handle or putting some ah beng bodykits and limited exports possibilities.

• Sohai Law on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:33 am

Dinosaurs very good what. Can use for last

• it does not make sense at all, if you already know its in the low demand, why you still need to produce this car in the first place.. and spending so much to maintain the spare parts of this car just to keep the customer happy? Why not build a efficient car with high demand..and much make sense to what “He Said”

• Henry on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:00 pm

This is due to the contract between Spanco (to supply national cars) and the Gomen. When Proton stopped production of the old Mitsubishi Perdana there is no car to supply. Spanco cannot supply them Proton Saga or Preve, can they? There will be a breach of contract.

So Proton have to hurriedly hammer out a deal and Honda agreed. This Accordana is put together in Honda Malaysia’s plant in Melaka.

• old dog on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:56 pm

cronism triumph in bolehland..

• This is similar to the Waja power windows crony supplier case. All smart people knows proton is connected to cronies. Ada proton, ada songlap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • latacc (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Proton’s assumption is that for a Perdana class sedan, they need a brand new platform. They know they can always evolve the Preve’s (like how Preve borrowed Exora’s) and make it wider and longer with a new top hat for Perdana.

Another thing is that DRB Hicom was also anxious to show the world that they have something new on the table for Proton product line up. They’ve done this with the Tiara. How the Tiara and Accordana are of the same breed? Both were assembled outside Proton’s process and production plants, with Perodua-like badge engineering.

• Preve borrowed Exora? r u sure? how come it get 5-star adn Exora got 4 star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • alldisc on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:41 pm

not enough volume? my a$$!!

how many perdana V6 were sold from 1999 to 2006?

the volume is there. there are many ways to reduce costs of develompent. first, forget the idea of making all fancy features.

second. parts sharing. Jaguar x type shares many parts from Ford parts bin, example power window switch.

third – no money, than do not develop a car from the scratch up. use existing models.. change the frontal. and rear end. side mirrors, wheels. dashboard. and redesigned door skins. you can start with waja. do that, while improving the safety level (easier, since the entire front portion is re-designed @ re-eingineered)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • sorry bro, ur comment macam senang aje cakap nak buat kereta. STUPID and dont reproduce ok.. Let me tell u clearly…

1. cost of development is too damn high! u cant simply use same platform for future model as it is NOT meet the safety requirement!
      2.HONDA & MITSUBISHI is so KEDEKUT and to have a collaboration with them need MONEY which the cost may increase the price of the car, and when the car is expensive will you buy it? i don’t think so.. but u will keep on bashing. nothing proton do is right!
      3. Rebadge the car? ok – this is interesting story, non of you guys give full credit when new model is coming. people keep on compare their model with others(like iriz compare with i10lah apa lah bla3) while perodua can survive coz they dont need to INVEST any cost because they dont build the car from scratch! understand it!!!! they give the paso and ayla and asked the engineer(any perodua engineer dare to challenge me on this? oh forgot alrady, most of perodua engineer already joining mitsubishi, tan choong, umw and not to forget proton as that what have been told by my frens who recently joining proton as he feel insecure with new japanese management)to change whatever they should. while proton did not do that. (i wonder if proton always rebadge)
      4. Please please study about automotive industries before bashing OR complaining!
      5. Keep a lil bit ur STUPIDITY and please, if reproduce send ur child to a very gud school ya!

note : i dont write this to get like or dislike.

Sincerely,
      Alex Tan Bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • rosdi on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Bung Mokhtar is one ignorant person. Why is this guy training his gun at proton when there is another so called ‘national car manufacturer’ who are 100% rebadging other manufacturer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Proton should just rebadge honda civic fd. (y)

• albag on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:08 pm

for the first time, BUNG asking some questions with sense!

• sundramanipandikutik a/l kutik on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:12 pm

why not rebadge all toyota, nissan, subaru, ford, bmw and all the car manufacturer in the world… and Proton can claim from goment to facilitate their future R&D for RM2020billion.

proton=goment

• ciakap on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:15 pm

ask perodua because they master in 100% rebadge.. proton only rebadge some and built a car from scracth

• So all these years we have pay premium for foreign cars, all in the name of preserving this stupid brand. If not for this brand, we wouldn’t pay so much for foreign cars.

If Proton at least try to develop quality cars totally designed by the company, I understand the need for their protection in the local car market. To allow them to grow and thrive. But at the end, they rebadge cars.. Stupid or not?? Why is this brand still around??

They keep saying many jobs will be lost… PUIIIIIII!!! What makes you think foreign manufacturers cannot hire locals?? They really think we’re stupid or what??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • shaharuddin on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Proton did well when they rebadged the Mitsu and from there onwards its was down hill all the way.
    Please face reality and facts and don’t hide behind the govt protection policies and what not.
    Proton is unable to produce an engine which is of world standard even
    after spending hundred of millions.
    Put pride and ego aside and just offer an equity stake to Mitsu or Honda.
    P1has a trump card in Lotus and I am sure this will
    be a winning combination moving forward !!!
    Of course this will cause an uproar from Tun
    but tough and radical changes has to be made for the
    future & survival of P1.

• when people throw the rubbish,u keep it.anther scrap project from proton. never improve. i dont understand,it is true all the genius is export out oversea ald. left bunch of scrap rubbish here

• AVH (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Theres a few things I dont get here, why is MITI, the Minister of International Trade and Industry and a Government sector, defending Proton? If its Proton’s product, throu Proton’s planning and Proton’s R&D. Isn’t Proton already a publicaly listed commpany and I was told, not tied to the government anymore? Its giving a slight vibe that the Government is still slightly biased toowards Proton and mind you, MITI are the people who imposed the high taxation that makes Malaysia the most expensive country to own a private vehicle when factor in our average salary. MITI should be fair to all companies operating in Malaysia, and should not defend Proton but merely respond that it is Proton’s decision and Kinabatangan MP comment should be directed at the company, not the government.

Secondly, bringing light to the Perdana replacement, is it even justifiable to begin with. Yes is good that Proton be going around braging that it has a shiny new D-segment sedan, but with 4,000 unit per annum, I remember the XV50 Camry was recorded somewhere between 7,000 units when it was on sale. Why can’t Proton just stick to improving the Preve or Iriz. This is somewhere where Perodua gets it really right, focussing its Sales and Production on only 3 models at a time, improving them instead of developing(Heey, Rebadging is a Tough Job!!) new models. The Perdana replacement could use an Exora replacement chassis to cut the R&D cost down. Parts sharingg also will work, look at VW and even Toyota and Honda… between the Iriz and the Preve I can’t spot one similar parts in the interior, be it aircond controls or Head unit. Even the engine is almost completely different.

Than of course is the Government official car… why force Proton to undergo unnessacery spending in rebadging(its still spending) and instead just shamelessly procure them from Honda? National Pride? LoL, Korean officials have been using BMW 7 series and Mercedes S-class until 2008 when it was finally it was replaced with a Hyundai Equus, after 40 odd years of Hyundai Automobile’s existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • darkermarker on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Everything Proton touches (be it direct or indirect involvement), sure lingkup, ended with with a fizz or lost big huge amount of money. Or all the above.

This must be karma…..for victimizing the rakyat for too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • proton please rebadge ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:47 pm

When Camry, Accord, Teana, Mazda 6 all can sell. Why can’t Proton with the Perdana?

• carlover00 on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:46 pm

since its so HUGE cost to develop a whole new car and proton have no interest to do so and just keep on rebadging, y not just close proton and leave it to the big boys… so that we rakyat can afford to own a better vehicle at a lower price!

• Sohai Law on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:28 am

U look so stupid, low IQ level. Even though Proton closed, the car price never drop

• Car price will only drop when the government is being changed!!!! PRU BN out …pls!!!

• mystvearn on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:46 pm

“The Perdana that the public can buy will be introduced in 2016, Mustapa said. DRB-Hicom Group MD Datuk Seri Khamil Jamil told us some time back that the public-use Perdana will have a completely new interior and exterior – we wonder if that’s still going to happen.”

Jonathan, does this still involve the current rebadge Honda Accord with changes in the exterior and interior, or is this a totally new car?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:42 pm

My guess would be it would be a more substantial rebadge.

The car’s general shape can’t really be changed as it is integral to its crash worthiness, things like, A-B-C pillars, seat and seat belt mounting points, engine mounting points all can’t be changed.

In most cases, they will likley be limited to body panels, bumpers and other exterior and aesthetic complements.

• Jaguar on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:49 pm

The rebadging should stop immediately. It is embarrassing for foreign dignitaries to see top government officials including PM and DPM to continue using old generation Accords for official use. Officers should be proud of using local designed models like the Preve and Iriz. The PM and DPM should be entitled to Mercedes or BMW and can get them with good rebates and free of tax.

• kenot on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Pity to menteri and high ranking officer. only use an old model Honda Accord.

but wait…may be they have Ferrari, Mercedes Benz, BMW, Audi, Bentley, range rover, Lexus park at home.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:25 pm

What Mustapa said is mostly true. Proton just can’t justify the Return On Investment (ROI) on an expensive, niche, luxury model like the Perdana. But let me make it clear; no, I’m not siding with Mustapa and no, I don’t approve of Proton rebadging the Accord either.

Let me ask you a very simple question; would you buy an ‘expensive’ Proton ? … or in other words, a Proton that costs between RM90k and RM120k ? Even if this ‘expensive’ Proton is world class and super reliable ? Would you really ?

Most people wouldn’t… simply because IT’S A PROTON. Which Malaysian would want to spend RM100k+ on a (luxury) PROTON, when there are ssoooooo many B-segment Japanese cars on the market like the City, Vios, Almera, Attrage etc. It’s no surprise that most Malaysians would much rather sacrifice a bit of luxury for a JAPANESE BADGE. That’s the biggest reason, but there is a lot more on why Malaysians won’t buy a Proton that costs more than RM100k.

But if you answered yes, then chances are, you’re not being honest… because the sales of Proton’s current ‘expensive’ models speak for themselves. Why hasn’t the Suprima S at RM70k to RM80k sold well ? Why hasn’t the Exora Prime at RM90k sold well ? Why hasn’t the Inspira at RM80k to 90k sold well ? The only Protons that have been selling very well are the now dated Saga FLX and grandpa Persona… not even the Prevé has been selling well enough for Proton. Why ? Because the Saga and Persona are CHEAP !

Clearly, Malaysians aren’t willing to buy an ‘expensive’ or ‘luxury’ Proton. We are just not ready for it. Proton needs to make their ‘cheap’ Protons (like the Iriz, Saga and Prevé) good first. People’s confidence in the brand will slowly build up, and it will come to a point where some are willing to spend more for a luxury Proton. So far, things are looking very promising, the Iriz is such a massive improvement and yet, is very much affordable, but change takes time, and even if Proton transforms itself overnight, people’s perceptions towards Proton will take decades to change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • I’ll tell you why: It’s all overpriced. Thanks to proton that we get this ridiculous cars price. If in US, proton early already kena sue kaw kaw until close shop due to Anti-Monopoly law

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Sohai Law on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:24 am

U wrong, the car overpriced is because u r not capable and not qualify

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rr on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:41 pm

You are sohai if you think car price is resonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Sohai Law on Nov 06, 2014 at 11:22 am

U dun know the Sohai Law = Same LOrr… i never said car price in Malaysia is reasonable, sohai

• Proton Engineer
    don’t forget to learn from Honda how to produce good power window

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:39 pm

I agree with him. In fact Malaysia market is too small to even think of coming up with a national car to begin with. Should had thought of that when you put the whole of malaysia subsidizing a corrupt, leaking, quality-less, rent-seeking vendors and useless management of a car company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • 30 years… after some 30 dxxm long years…

“low volume does not justify the huge costs needed to develop a whole new car”.. yea, Proton cant even produce 1 mil cars per year, should close shop

• Proton Good! on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Said spend million $ to learn German technology, but use thousand $ to learn rebadge technology from China. The balance where ?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:24 am

complain apa….turn two corners away from the reporters…enter into your bentley la

• techart on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:39 am

P2 invest just RM 790 million for new assembly plant and RM 600 million for new engine plant..thats RM 200 million less from P1 required RM 1.6 billion just for RnD..

• U idiot ar? P2 only assembly not doing research and develop la kawan

• Diesel Power!!! on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:13 am

There is not a problem to rebadge, but at least do properly, change the front and rear to look differently than accord. Not a simple change logo, change rim effort….really embarassing….

• otroman on Nov 05, 2014 at 8:51 am

Rebadge or not whatever Proton buat semua salah..camonla give them a break. Tak suka Proton tak payah beli loo. The choice is yours

• cendol (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:42 pm

If they do not use taxpayers money to survive, I would not give them 2 hoots.
      Its because they are wasting taxpayers money, that’s why we must give them a thrashing for things done wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Encountered a lot of ppls gila dgn Toyota, fortunately I banned the Toyota because I x nk jadi org gila.

• Protiga on Nov 05, 2014 at 11:00 am

Japanese VIPs visiting Malaysia will be wondering and laughing inside on what kind of car is this. Called Perdana but is actually an Accord. The Honda founder would have fired whoever gave such decision if he is alive. The Proton founder where to hide face.

• I feel really embrassed when i saw our beloved Prime Minister sat inside an Old Honda Accord . He is our Prime Minister , Yang Amat Berhormat .He is our real national pride . Is this the best car we can offer to our beloved Prime Minister as official car . How would you feel when Japanese Prime Minister come to visit Malaysia and see our beloved Prime Minister sitting inside an Old Honda Accord .

• Lagi Malu on Nov 05, 2014 at 11:44 am

My state head sits inside a Rolls Royce . Our Beloved Prime Minister should sit inside a Rolls Royce as well , to say the least . NOT an Old Honda Accord ,PLEASE ! I do not want to hear Japanese Prime Minister tells Honda Japan CEO , ” Hey , you know what , I saw Malaysian Prime Minister sat inside your Old Honda Accord .Ha Ha Ha “

• Mr Truthfact on Nov 06, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Fr. what i see..Our beloved PM did not get the old Perdana but he received the special and exclusive version of New Perdana. The car is totally different with the Old Perdana my fren.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:40 pm

WHat’s wrong with just buying Honda accord for official car?
    Let Honda Malaysia be the official service company.
    Oh wait, you guys cannot see past the supremacy factor, okay.

• thedarkside on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:15 pm

everytime there’s proton news….total comments will jump to 100-200 comments. some just copy and paste with the same arguments over and over again…some will support…some give balanced comments. anyway i see it…proton news is good for business. paul tan is making serious money out of proton.

• Obi One on Nov 05, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Yes, proton news is a bit like Rebellion(Rakyat) vs Empire(Proton) in Star Wars

• Jimmy on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:49 pm

So many Jimmys.
    I wonder how many of these Jimmys ride in Merc, staying in bangalow 5000 square feet > 30 points of land?

• Alson Pang on Nov 06, 2014 at 11:39 am

http://paultan.org/2012/08/24/renault-scala-launched-in-india-its-a-nissan-almera/

• Samurai G on Nov 06, 2014 at 12:35 pm

I’m not sure why this issue become a joke for the bashers. It is not only Proton doing car rebadging. Other car manufacturer also do it for cost cutting since the cost for developing a new car (fr. raw!!!) need a ‘big’ investment. But i know doesn’t matter how hard Proton do it, basher will always complains…..

P2 forever rebadge Daihatsu car..so what say U?

• someone can told me perdana accord will be open for public ?

• Urumanya on Jun 28, 2015 at 5:58 pm

not bad what