Honda Malaysia says price increase “possible” in 2016

honda-city-red-0002

As echoed in an earlier report, Honda Malaysia has now hinted that it will be announcing a price increase in the near future, the New Straits Times reports. The reason for such a move has been attributed to the weakening ringgit which, in turn, has increased the operation costs of several local and foreign carmakers.

“If we were to raise the prices, it should be in early January. But at the moment, we are still analysing the total impact to the business and looking at the right percentage if there is an increase,” said Honda Malaysia marketing director, Akhbar Daniel. “(It’s) possible that prices will be raised as we have trouble coping with a lower ringgit against the US dollar, despite having 80 per cent local content,” he added.

Earlier this month, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) announced a range-wide price increase for both Toyota and Lexus models for 2016. While exact figures have yet to be disclosed, it is expected that more affordable models such as the Vios will receive a smaller hike as opposed to costlier CBU models (Alphard, for example) that should see a significant price jump.

“As a benchmark, completely-built-up (CBU) cars are impacted directly compared to locally manufactured cars (CKD) cars, so it is expected that CBU cars will be priced much higher than CKD cars,” Akhbar told the Business Times. Separately, Perodua also hinted at the same move should the ringgit continue to depreciate.

On a brighter note, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has announced that it will maintain its prices through into 2016 despite the ongoing situation. Additionally, it has also slashed the prices of its CKD W205 C-Class models – the range now begins at RM249k for the C 200 Avantgarde and tops out at RM288k for the C 250 AMG Line.

While it was stated that Perodua might raise the prices of its cars, Proton has stated that it will continue to market its products with the same price tag “despite incurring higher imported material costs.” BMW Group Malaysia has earlier confirmed that it will not raise prices “for the time being” while Berjaya Auto (Mazda) and Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) have yet to make an official announcement.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Mee soup on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:45 am

Increase lah. No one is stopping you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Go up I don’t mind. I understand cost has gone up and government needs the money for rebuilding Malaysia. Thank you BN kerana sayang rakyat.

I hope also the Government can give special pricing discounts of 8% for this car to Bumiputeras. I feel it is unfair that we only get discounts for houses, we should extend this to cars too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Told you already. Thanks to our weak currency, EVERYTHING’s price will be increased, now mark my words become reality.
        WHy bother asking 8% car discount while you can enjoy everything free? Just join the party and be on top of the food chain lar. Till that stage only you don’t have to worry about RV.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:48 am

so the rich keep getting richer while the lower/middle income class becoming poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:45 am

Ha Ha Ha. Nail lagi harga? Malaysians are already paying 3x global prices of cars. Like Honda Accord 2.4, in US it is US$21k. Honda Malaysia being official distributor will get this car for US$15k. Honda and DRB CKD the accord, the price goes down even further. Maybe US$12k (RM48k). But in Malaysia, Honda Malaysia sell for RM180k with nearly 20 safety features stripped off to cut cost further.

Sedarlah Orang Orang Kampung. Kerajaan anda kelentong anda puas puas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • ProtonGSC on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:50 am

AP system owners “jealous” of UMW hike price and start to be greedy so their ego can’t be stop… and focus Honda (DRB-HICOM) to hike price !!! Useless and good for nothing AP system owners !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Rakyat Malaysia Susah Kerajaan! on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:58 am

Honda is Government owned through various GLCs and DRB Hicom.

Why is the Government screwing their own people up? Already GST is a big burden to us. But untung gila gila for Government. Just GST alone, Government already collect RM50 billion in 3 months. This is excluding income tax and corporate tax which runs into hundreds of billions.

It is estimated that Malaysian Government will collect record tax this year. highest ever in the history of Malaysia’s 50 years.

But still want to hantam rakyat puas puas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:56 am

The MYR is now just under 4.2 to USD1 so who knows they might not even need to raise the price at all but I bet UMW will!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Aero (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:06 am

Yes, yes. After they raise, they won’t drop it down again. Mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Buy Proton lah, won’t raise the price. Also got discounts for Bumiputeras in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • koenisegg on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:03 pm

You suggest that to person who said proton is disease?
          He told everybody noone from his family will buy proton

• trader on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:27 am

opportunity during crisis! Grab Honda cars now

Honda year-end promo – up to 8 months’ free instalments

Resell at higher prices in 2016!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Henry on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:28 am

Malaysians are very pitiful having to pay a high price for watered down cars.

• SamLoo on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:35 am

this fella title changed from senior manager, to general manager, to VP and now director in 1 year.

honda malaysia inflating their people title or this guy is really so good?~~~

• nowadays any stupid wants to steal some money from the rakyat will just say “bcoz of weak rinngit”

• ben yap on Oct 12, 2015 at 1:05 pm

increase price of cars la… more uber drivers will be on the road to earn money to pay for their cars.

• alex S on Oct 12, 2015 at 1:33 pm

get con again.promise 30% decrease i dont see any is true of behalf lying

• chowhai on Oct 12, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Don’t worry la. Any price increase will see drastic drop in the sales numbers for these auto makers. Ultimately, they will offer even more discounts, rebates or promotions. Be smart, shop smart and exercise our rights as consumers

• WorldWatcher on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:21 am

Actually it is good for rich ppl. Poor ppl should just stay poor due to their brainless vote. Go play with your ex5 somewhere else.