2016 Proton Saga gets sketched with modern details

Proton Saga Pow Ying Hern sketch

Suffice to say, we haven’t had any shortage of spyshots of the new 2016 Proton Saga. However, we’ve yet to see a prototype that sheds a bit of its camo, be it the hypnotic or conventional kind. That hasn’t stopped Pow Ying Hern from attempting to visualise what the upcoming compact sedan will look, and we present to you his work.

As you can see, the sketch of the new Saga features a contemporary design, with the front fascia being reworked. Where the current Saga featured a grille with wing-like chrome element, Poh’s design opts for a two-bar design instead, with the Proton logo in the centre. Compared to the prototypes we’ve seen, these design cues might reflect accurately of the final product.

The grille is flanked by new headlamps that replace the current halogen reflectors. Within them, you’ll find squarish elements that exude a premium look. Moving downwards, the bumper now includes a wide lower mesh grille, highlighted by thin bars and fog lamps, as per the spyshots we’ve seen. Sporty alloy wheels with low profile tyres are also part of the design.

Potential engine options could include the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine, with a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also be featured in the future as these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017.

What do you think of Pow Ying Hern’s imagining of the 2016 Proton Saga? For a bit of background, Poh is currently the creative director at MD DesignWorks, and a winner in Category Two of Proton’s inaugural Design Competition in 2014.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga prototype

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nice sketch on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Pow Ying Hern is the next Theophilus Chin? =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • New level for the word “modern”

• Every1canTalk on Apr 30, 2016 at 7:09 am

Oh gosh.. Luckily this is blog but not a car magazine, else the whole magazine content 90% is the same.
        Page 1-10, saga spy shot from reader Ah Beng, this car possibility using 1.3 engine bla bla bla..
        Page 2-20, saga spy shot from reader Muthu, this car possibility using 1.3 engine bla bla bla..

Page 90-100, saga sketched by reader Ali, this car possibility using 1.3 engine pair with CVT bla bla bla…
        Wtf..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • WT Fuchhh on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Ini macam call modern details….kah. Phoooey !!!

• Same L00 on May 01, 2016 at 1:57 am

Look is never Saga problem. Built quality is. No matter how “modern” it looks, still have to break down at roadside waiting for tow truck.

• Nosushi on May 02, 2016 at 4:32 am

Lol same lorrrr with his imaginary world. Nowadays sushi no quality one. Even cant do airbags right want to badmouth others

• Pow sketches while Theo modifies.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Waiting for proton to launch this saga? Haha.. Wait for perdana 1st la.. This april oso dont launch.. So wait for perdana for next month, and next coming month, and next next next until perodua sedan launch..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Sam son on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:54 pm

You cant wait to change your current saga to this new one?

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 30, 2016 at 2:49 am

Yesterday Spyshot.
        Today Advertisement.
        Tomorrow Launch.
        THE ALL NEW VIOS(actually only slapped with heavy bodykits, but hey one bodykit add 5hp to the same old 1.5L paired 4-speed auto!)

• Old four speed but still better than proton cvt, much more smoother & quiet, judge based on perfomance not new or old

• 4 speeder sux, CVT much better

• brainwashed poop eater fan boy spotted..4 speed better than CVT!!!.. LOL

• OMG…super damn ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Vomit on Apr 30, 2016 at 4:56 pm

You must be fan of jepunis hideous cars, inspired by frog, hippo, tapir and catfish

• Burhan on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:50 pm

“Whenever you feel sad and ugly, just remember there is people will buy this car” – Abraham Lincoln

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • DieselKek on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:54 pm

pretty much looks like a volkswagen polo..but who cares..malaysian want cheap sushi car..dont care lah got airbag or not..abs or not..tin milo or not..as long has sushi DNA they dun mind..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • sohhai on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:58 pm

I saw 2 of the 2016 Saga in camouflage along Federal highway yesterday morning. Thank goodness no paultan.org reader sent in more unnecessary spy shots. Just launch the damn car.,,it’s already end of April

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Jetta + polo = saga ( front look )

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Front like lancer, side like beetle, back like waja.

• Boleh boleh then tak boleh on Apr 29, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Keep renders & spyshots! By August P2 will bring in rebadge myvi sedan.. Then this new saga become another fail tak laku saga.Launch your car fast! 1.5B use for what? Holiday trips?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on Apr 29, 2016 at 7:39 pm

Bradder Boleh,
      How to launch?Like Preve,Tun said,terlalu cepat launch without proper QC, fail teruk teruk.
      Anyway,it makes no difference.U launch today or 6 month later.
      The public’s PERCEPTION is that Protong is INFERIOR.People dont mind paying slightly more for peace of mind.
      The 1.5 Billion Rm is to pay salaries,entertainment,karaoke,massage,first class air travels etc.
      Next year,still massive losses…..so apply for another grant…this time 2.6….(u fill up the blanks).
      So,relax…bradder….no job cuts…amoi passing by….huyooh…Tun no more,now got Roti Jala, mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Roti Jala. Yum yum. Cant wait for pasar ramadan time again

• Albert on Apr 30, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Tokok John,
          Today’s Star Biznews…Plotong lost Rm Juta 643,last financial year ending 31/3/16 .
          No wonder new CEO said the Rm 1.5 B is to pay vendors.
          In other Anyway,,Proton is technically bankrupt.
          How can a private entity be BAILED OUT?uSING YOUR TAXES,john.
          Anyway,BBMB has twice been bailed out.
          So,next time going bankrupt…no problem..Bolehland will send Captain America….”WE FIGHT”…AND hence BAIL OUT.
          memalukan….pengemis….shit ..teruk….taada maruah langsung.
          Amazing,up till today….no jobcuts…staff still galaventing.
          Jom,heboh Carnival coming soon…Enjoy.
          The new captain America is here…

• Nosushi on Apr 30, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Everywhere in the world got bail out. So what?

• azrai on Apr 29, 2016 at 3:22 pm

It look like a VWIshed Proton.

• john is otak batu on Apr 29, 2016 at 3:55 pm

looks like john & donkey kong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Sack designer on Apr 29, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Whatever.

It’s time to sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Gingping on Apr 29, 2016 at 4:21 pm

why the new and old model looks almost the same???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • 1.5bil down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Johndoe on Apr 29, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Stop all the news for proton. I have been seeing all the news amd spyshot for proton for like a year or two yet none have officially annonunce. Getting fed up with all the news. Only report when it is out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Its very easy if u dun wanna see anymore P1 news. Just dun come to PT, and then post crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • John is otak batu on Apr 29, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Not futuristic enough to last until year 2020

• nabill (Member) on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Jetta inspired

• Brain drain on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:17 pm

So why Mr.Poh not working as new chief designer for Proton?

• gundamrx78 on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:01 pm

No more sketch lar. It is not exciting anymore.

Even if the car is launched now, nobody really cared about it anymore.

• Father talking to the son: if you dont study hard, next time you will only afford this car.
    Son was terrified, straight away go to study.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • More likely an axia rather than saga

• Later the son went to his father and said: i would rather buy this and live in bungalow rather than buy Vios and live in flat like you.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 30, 2016 at 8:56 am

It’s just a cheap overpriced SAGA. A little change just to justify a higher price tag that’s all.

• ikan bilis on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:13 am

sadly speaking, finally an article that is overdone by this website to hardcore market the upcoming saga in a negative way..

• In the hot seats to turn Proton around :

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/04/30/in-the-hot-seats-to-turn-proton-around/