2016 Proton Persona – watch the launch live tomorrow from 11:45am onwards, exclusively on paultan.org

After a slow start to the year, Proton’s three-sedan launch plan is getting well underway. In June, the national carmaker unveiled the new Perdana after years of hype, speculation, spyshots and teasers. In less than 24 hours it will be the turn of the 2016 Proton Persona to take the spotlight when it is finally launched.

Although Proton’s flagship D-segment sedan was an impressive opening salvo, it’s this B-segment model that will slug it out in the heartland of the Malaysian market, so it’s a very important model for the company. We’ve seen spyshots, watched official teaser videos and even driven the car ourselves, but very soon you too will be able to see the Persona in full.

Our usual comprehensive launch report – complete with all the details and a full live gallery – will be present and accounted for just after the car is launched, but if you like, you can watch it being unveiled before your eyes, before anyone else, right from this website!

Yes, as with the launch of the Perdana, Iriz and Suprima S, paultan.org is proud to bring you exclusive live streaming coverage of the 2016 Proton Persona launch event, happening tomorrow from 11:45am onwards.

Be the first to see the new car inside and out and learn of all the details, specifications and equipment count for all variants – as long as your device’s browser supports YouTube streaming, you’ll be able to watch it anywhere. So see you tomorrow morning!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The new B-segment leader is here soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 34
    • Osim chair on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:48 pm

I know for a fact that Iriz has very comfortable and supportive seats. And I see this DNA is carried into the Persona. Good for those long drives !

• Same L00 on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:00 am

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok again soon. With the Bezza, people will be so stupid pay more for junk? Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• Jonn Dol on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:11 am

Proton’s success starts now!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Pengguna Bijak on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:37 am

No thanks, Proton.

Rather buy Honda City, Toyota Vios for a peace of mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
    • Leader? When was the last time Proton became a leader?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
      • kurakura on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:52 pm

soon…paham tak soon ?

• azrai on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:50 pm

90’s?? 70% command market, 6 months waiting period, no colour to choose, and they became very arrogant. Now only being humble.

• We love local brand on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Apparently with all the critics to the Proton brand….you are actually make them better and competitive in the industry.

• MeyLin Chia on Aug 22, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Incoming 50,000 sales for Persona 1.6mt standard RM47k.

What a price!!!

This what Protob we are waiting for good car cheap price. Sure can sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 31
    • Fatimah on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:29 am

You so sure? Don’t be surprised if sales volume is on par with iriz. Which is below 2000 units a month. On the contrary, Bezza or Axia sales volume hovers between 15000 to 20000 each every month, which is 10 times higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • kurakura on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:02 pm

of kos la tak terkejut…harga murah. mentaliti rakyat malaysia mau murah. tak selamat takpa.

• Chingu on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Did proton hired cyber army too?

• no Proton staff want to OT… lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
  • BOYRACER on Aug 22, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Didn’t this car received some updates on the transmission?because it certainly felt different when I drove it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • Mind to share what that different is like?

• New torque converter CVT, no more punch cvt

• abuya on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:06 am

retunning and optimization of CVT charecteristic… not an easy job.

• Sendiri yang kerja kat Proton, sendiri tanya, sendiri jawab. Ynag paling penting sekali, syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • En Ketam on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:56 am

If you read the inital test drive review, Proton engineer has tweak the CVT to be more linear so it feels better compared to the CVT on Iriz. Not the best in the market but at least the improvement is on par with the rivals.

• Who are Proton rivals?

In terms of sales Ferrari? Lambo?

In terms of quality …. is there any company worst that Proton in quality?

• contender on Aug 22, 2016 at 8:14 pm

The start of the revival of Proton …… soon can repay the MYR1.5 bil soft loan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 24
    • john is otak batu on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Pay 1st talk later ler! Hutang melambak, kadar melambung. Dah lebih 30 tahun menyusah negara dengan pelbagai alasan, insaf lah sikit dengan bayar balik duit berjuta-juta yang telah dibakar sia sia aje. Rakyat masih tunggu bila Potong akan buang polisi tongkat. Berkali kali tease & launch. Tunjuk lah “sales result” yang boleh kagumkan negara & bangsa!.. Harap Potong bangun!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Albert on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Non contender
      The 1.5 B is mainly to pay the dying suppliers ,all their accumulated(inflated) debts ..
      What about current capital needed for operations,FAT salaries,maintenance,r n D etc..?
      No one hope their staff will go hungry,but their workforce is hugely OVERSIZED….
      REVIVAL …..IS A MYTH…FOR P1.
      You JV with Suzuki….u think the Japs are bodoh,Kah? They have to be paid in Millions of USD.

R u fresh from college or flunk Form 3?

• Has Proton ever pay back loan?
      And please know the difference between repay loan and paying taxes because even the ex-chairman equating both as same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • JasonX on Aug 22, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 146
    • you can watch the event later,they record it during the live streaming

• You still using Nokia 3310 that cannot watch Youtube while on the go? People are glued to their devices anyway even while having lunch.

• boss1 on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:48 pm

12 noon still working hour, i won’t hire lazy pipu like you

• Anzain on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:12 am

Everybody except you.

• you can watch them back later,they record it during the live streaming

• azrai on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:39 am

Toyota salesmen in worry mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • We love local brand on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Toyota salesman….dont be to patriotic with toyota brand….start selling Proton. I’m afraid you dont have sales starting next month if you are to arrogant and patriotic with a single brand.

• Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Of course, since not many walk in customer already in toyotaik showroom already, if got also just walk and see (most toyotaik SA don’t like it), and feel pissed off since taik SA like to tell the buyers rudely, “Nak fikir apa, beli je, RV bagus, kereta lain memang tak guna macam sampah”.

• thomasNOTMYNAME on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:10 pm

azrai, are u serious?

Toyota salesmen in worry mode?

What?

• azrai on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:55 am

Yes.the 1st month sales of Hilux 4000 units is shortlived. Monthly sales for hilux monthly now around 1000 units only.sign to worry.

• frossonice on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:16 am

Apparently you care enough to complaint about it.

• Mystery on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:24 am

So need to do at night lah, baru orang datang?
      Bro if you are not invited, I’m sorry. Tapi yang datang pun ramai journalist and invited people, so this is part of their job. And do you think they will just invite people without preparing launch?
      Sorry again bro u need to try to go la coz u don’t even know how the occasion is carried out.

• You go lunch only at 12pm but Proton people lunch all day. Probably at 12pm later would be their busies day of their work day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Andas on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:52 am

U go eat ur lunch.. no one care what..

• This is why there is live streaming via PT blog.

• NinjaBoy on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:36 am

People like you la, abuden? You even bothered to come here to comment ‘smart and intelligent’ statemen =D

• Ever heard of catering?

• krueger on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:47 am

God gives us the same 24 hours per day. Some can manage their time efficiently.. some doesn’t.

• Of course the one who care. Stupid.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Awaiting the P1 macai give their very positive comments. Let see whether the number of appraises of new Persona on par with the sales figure after 3 months from it launched.

• inspira owner on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Why not 9am… waiting for najib again?

• Tmrw proton staff and sub-cons will be on their PCs to post good comments here. Just look at the earlier story today, LOL. Expect them to fade away by next week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Mivec on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Dekat mana pelancaran ini akan berlansung esok ?

• Same L0rr on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Same campro engine & cvt bising punch powertrain! Who care?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • wira96 on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:16 am

Feeling optimistic that this latest B-segment city sedan could repeat the success of the Wira in the 90’s thus slicing a big chunk of the market share that it has lost over the last decade only if Proton succeed to manage the current bad percepection problem that’s been plagued by the brand.

• In terms of looks it seems to be much better than the model it’s replacing. Hopefully it delivers in terms of driving dynamics, comfort and reliability too. Good luck Proton.

• AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:04 am

Just one thing I would like to say to PROTON: Bravo!

ESC is a standard across all PERSONA variants. I hope SAGA would be the same too, although I don’t think that’s going to happen due to cost reason.

But nonetheless, BRAVO PROTON! Let some people boast talk about how bad the resale value Proton car is, because OUR LIFE IS PRICELESS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Ahcoi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:34 am

Hahaha manyak sentap.. Lamai olang dlm ini blog kasi komen. TP tatak pakai pon ini proton. Kasi pakai dlu Baru komen maaa… Hati manyak dengki.. Manyak musuk ma

• BMWProtonBMW on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:00 am

the most awaited B segment car of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rr on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:03 am

Campro Engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain.. No RV! Who care?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • lilytan on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:20 am

The plastics look a bit cheap to be honest. Reminds me of the gen2 n savvy type interior. Not exactly wonderful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Saw the actual car,Persona. Well build. Plastic feels firm and quality.

• gl

• a reader on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:20 am

this page is all Proton staff, just read what they say, this is work of people who are paid to comment on the company. this is cheating. another big failure and embarrassment to be reveled soon. All proton staff here only. I was wondering what will they achieve as all Rakyat knows what is happening in proton under their DRB bosses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
    • kassorga on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Except me. I’m not a Proton staff. I even don’t own a Proton.

But sorry, I can’t bash Proton all the time and praise Perodua all the time, as you wish.

Simply because Proton now is able to produce better affordable cars. Credit given when credit due.

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Rakyat all beli Perodua Boxza base variant with no ESC baru a reader happy…

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:28 am

NOBODY CARES! LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • FIST (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:50 am

let’s see it after launch

• Firdaus on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:44 am

Front headlamps looks like forte
    Just an Iriz with a buntut…what else is new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • I’m going to buy these! Its value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • palon on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:01 pm

For me to flat at side body

• kassorga on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:29 pm

I think Bezza already knew it might be less superior than both all new Saga and Persona. And it launched itself hastily and rather “unprepared”. The game is officially on.

• pokwell on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:32 pm

I want buy this car..
    just give comment about the car..please.
    no need to compare with produa or toyota or honda..
    just about this car..

• passion on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:53 pm

only time will tell.

• kumar on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Proton needs seriously new RND people recruited from well known outside companies…

• Hentamajela on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:37 am

Habis tu perodua tu kereta nasional ker….semua rebadge dari jupun lagi kau org nak bangga ke….simpan siket bodoh tu…perodua rasuah ke sampai boleh buat kereta cc besar mcm sekarang….proton dari lakaran sampai jadi sebuah kereta ingat senang ke cakap senang la cuba buat baru tahu…