RENDERED: 2018 Perodua Myvi becomes a crossover

We’ve already seen how the all-new 2018 Perodua Myvi might look like if ever a sedan version comes into existence, but how about a crossover? Well, these renders by Bear Design sure make for an enticing proposition, don’t you think?

The transformation is reminiscent of the Proton Iriz Active MkII concept from two years ago, whereby a few add-ons transformed a regular Iriz into a crossover of sorts.

For the Myvi, there’s new body cladding (painted black) along the vehicle’s sides, coupled with some larger wheels. There’s also a black-painted roof for contrast with the main body colour, and a new front bumper that better reflects the Myvi Active’s (that’s what we’d call it) persona.

To all owners of the new Myvi, what do you think of these renders? A good source of inspiration for your next car modification project, perhaps? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

To recap, the new third-generation Myvi has been designed completely in house featuring greater sophistication, equipment levels and safety. Power comes from new 1.3 and 1.5 litre engines from the Toyota NR family with DOHC and Dual VVT-i, along with five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmissions.

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Tokyo boy on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Wow Myvi cross sport! Mesti lagi Best!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Abdul Kadir Latiff on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:45 pm

This will be a hotseller if it comes to birth. People rather buy Myvi from Perodua. Good after sales, good RV and Good name.

I rather take my money and buy the new Myvi. It is using a Toyota Vios engine. Time tested.

I pay RM50k but indirectly, it is as if I am buying a RM80k Toyota Vios.

What for I pay money for a problematic Campro engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Pakcik John on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Perodua sibuk jual Myvi,
      Proton pula jual pantun,
      Siapa untung, siapa rugi,
      Rakyat memang tahu pun!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • I don’t get how raising ride height by a few millimetres makes it a crossover. Please enlighten me.

• dimitriy on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:42 pm

Just like Renault Captur la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Perodua is probably working at some form of crossover right now, maybe even replacing the Alza. The crossover market is too lucrative to ignore by any sane manufacturer and if what can be done to the Myvi is replicated on a Kembara revival, it’ll be aother winner on Perodua’s hand. Nothing fancy, jack up the Myvi and priced it below RM75k, the recipe is there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Nah this wont replaze the Alza. Do this up on a 200mm stretched Myvi platform with the same 5 + 2 on the current Alza and Perodua will have another winner. Especially if they also put on the same safety gear.

• john is otak batu on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:13 pm

Volvo calls the XC70 as CrossCountry.
    Audi calls its crossover as Allroad.

Perodua can call this – Over To You

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Nicholas lum on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Rendered images look great. Add on a roof rack. It looks really excellence.

• Kalau yang ni 4wd aku terus jual myvi lama ni

• Mundur on Nov 21, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Lampu belakang macam sangyong actron. Depan flx. Ini hari nampak dua bijik on the road. Tak ada wow factor. Kereta zaman silam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Just another guy on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Sometimes, looks can be deceiving. Get inside and drive. After test sure you’ll ‘renew’ your mind on how it performs.

• Halim on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:36 am

Iriz 2017 aircond pusing2 mcm mesin basuh lama.. myvi 2017 dah pakai climate control.. iriz kereta di zaman silam kot?

• Peace on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Kick ass… Perodua makes good cars and excellent after sales.. To the Power’s that be..do it!!

• Just another guy on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:48 pm

The only thing that bother me is the black tone on roof area. If it kelisa, its good but for this Toyota iM look alike body curve not good. Stick to body colour scheme, no 2 tone. My opinion only

• Susukotak on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:25 pm

I can imagine something like Suzuki SX4

• I’m in if Perodua launch this SUV

• Halim on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:51 am

Close shop proton, long live perodua.. yeah..

• Henry on Nov 22, 2017 at 8:33 am

If Perodua do make a Crossover and it look anything like this, it will sell. The more choices the better for consumers. I hope it happens.

• AtokzRock on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:00 am

Just wait n see on Proton-Geely product later on… Who knows, there will produce a gud SUV variant soon. Since there have already a proven SUV platform from Volvo Tech. Its a gud competition later on. Tried search some intelligence info for their new product to launch soon.