Proton sold 7,011 cars in April 2019 – 75% YoY gain; retakes spot as second best-selling brand in Malaysia

Things appear to be going well for Proton, as the national carmaker managed to deliver 7,011 units in April 2019. This represents an increase of 14.1% from March (6,145 units), or 75% when compared to the same corresponding month in 2018 (3,999 units).

This sales performance comes despite a total industry volume (TIV) that contracted by 6.2% from the month prior. Proton’s overall sales has grown by 50.2% so far in 2019, and has allowed it to retake its position as the second best-selling brand in Malaysia for the first time after 37 months. The company adds that it aims to maintain this momentum for the full year, backed by new models like the refreshed Iriz and Persona, along with others on the way.

“Proton is proud to finish second in overall sales in April 2019, returning to the position for the first time in over three years. Our aim is to try and end the year in second place to create a solid base for our long-term goal of leading the Malaysian car market again. With the launch of the Iriz and Persona and improved versions of the Exora and Saga set to be introduced later this year, the Company is quietly confident it can achieve its goal,” said Li Chunrong, CEO of Proton.

Of the 7,011 units sold, the Saga accounted for more than 3,047 units, displacing the X70 as the best-selling Proton model in April. Additionally, this is the first time the Saga exceeded the 3,000-unit barrier since August last year during the final month of the GST-free period in 2018. Going back to the X70, 11,133 units of the C-segment SUV have been delivered up until now, making it the best-selling SUV in its segment with a 24% market share.

“Nearly five months since it was launched, the Proton X70 continues to show its staying power by heading its market segment despite the launch of new models by rival brands. Proton is now an established player in the SUV market and our experience with our first SUV will serve us well in the near future as we launch more models that are jointly developed by Proton and Geely,” said Li.

During the first quarter of this year, Proton sold 6,145 units in March, 5,283 units in February, and 7,007 units in January.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azrai on May 02, 2019 at 10:55 am

Waiting for SAGA revised price at circa RM26k-RM33k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 134
      • R n R on May 02, 2019 at 2:17 pm

Yes, you are right. Learn from P2, REBADGE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Lets See on May 02, 2019 at 2:24 pm

I am so happy to read this news. As always, it’s not surprising to see Proton sales continue to amaze each month. There must be reasons why Proton cars are becoming so Laku. The obvious reasons are Proton cars are built from well proven and tested platform, using award winning engine, 1st world design, comfort, high RV and top build quality. Now with Geely bringing in professional aftersales servicing methodology, more customers are assured of a good owning experience. Thank you P1 for making game changing cars for us. We Msian are proud of you as a successful national carmaker unlike the second one which is just a rebadger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Kunta Kentut on May 02, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Learn how to rebadge car from perodua mean? smh.

• typical malaysian on May 02, 2019 at 2:57 pm

“R j on May 02, 2019 at 1:25 pm
        Well, tbh I am very sad to read this game over news. Our Proton was supposed to be the best national carmaker in Msia but instead it’s the opposite today. After being bought by Geely, there is hope that Proton will come back from the graveyard. Unfortunately, what we see today is Proton rebadging Geely Boyue and expected to rebadge more. My advice for Proton is to learn from big carmakers like Toyota. No need Toyota, learning from Perodua is also the best example for Proton to learn how to make game changing cars.” – LOL. GAME CHANGING CARS? HA HA HA HA. ACCEPT THE FACT LA P2, YOU SELL WELL BECAUSE YOU GIVE SUB PAR FEATURES AT THE LOWEST PRICE. YOU BLAME P1 FOR THE TAX, BUT YOU ARE SCARED THAT IS THAT TAX IS ABOLISHED, YOUR SALES WILL DEFINITELY SUFFER TREMENDOUSLY. GAME CHANGING? HA HA HA HA HA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Kamek rasa Perodua mmg kereta yg hebat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • typical malaysian on May 06, 2019 at 9:08 am

mun agik bahasa sarawak ya mantak gilak, bagus diam jak aieh, berik malu kaum dirik jak.

• Penapis on May 02, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Well, what actually to learn from Produa ? They using most of parts from Toyota & Dihatsu…

Off course they design some of the parts… But other rhan that ?

• John Baoteng on May 02, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Perodua never blame rakyat if sales is low unlike the other one.

• The other one? But the other one is back to being our PM now.

• Safety First on May 05, 2019 at 11:22 am

No, but neither do the rakyat blame Perodua for giving them lousy safety specs and endangering their lives everytime they get into a Perodua car. So I guess it’s fair then.

• kzm (Member) on May 02, 2019 at 3:04 pm

P2 oso rebadge what the prob?

• Not Toyota Fan on May 02, 2019 at 3:58 pm

So you’re saying do rebadging like Perodua lah.

Ok lah, Perodua make changes to bumpers, bonet, boot, side skirting, rims, maybe lights but the entire chassis, engine, gearbox are unchanged Daihatsu/Toyota.

And how is that any different from Proton rebadging Geely Boyue????

• Not sure if sarcasm or just pure stupid.
        Proton learning from Perodua? like rebadging a lot of other brand car?
        IDK. It seems to me Proton do it better at first producing original design and good feature before Perodua rebadge another Passo and following Proton step to give their customer more feature and safety with cheaper price because Perodua just rebadge.

their original design car just 2-3 models.

• You are contradicting yourself at every sentence. Need to fill your monthly quota for Proton-bashing also do it with more thoughts instead of just pulling something out your behind.

• HirumaKecil on May 02, 2019 at 10:44 pm

I haven’t post any comments in paultan aince 2016…. But this comment…. fuh…. i really cannot resist my desired to comment…. F U…. The most unknowledgeable comment ever….

• Troll Hunter on May 02, 2019 at 10:49 pm

Well if moving from 4th place to 2nd place makes you sad, then I hope Proton’s stunning movement northwards continue to make you sadder and sadder. Nothing more is more satisfying than to see a sad troll.

• You sound desperately worried. Why?

• Ramalingham Murthy on May 02, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Proton can show all the sales figures. But most important, are they making money?

We the rakyat want to see the Profit and Loss Accounts. This is because we have the right to see those accounts as all the bailout money the past 20 years has come from our own LHDN and our pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Perodua can show all the sales and record breaking profits. But most important, are the money going back to Malaysians?

We the rakyat know Perodua been abusing its status as ‘national car’ by selling unsafe and overpriced models from its Japanese owner to Malaysians for years, effectively turning Malaysia into dumping ground for their outdated techs.

We demand to see Perodua’s account books to prove that all the profits didn’t sent back to Japan, as all of it are our hard earned money.

• luke skywalker on May 03, 2019 at 12:18 pm

Amazing, every word of what you just said… was wrong.

• Thanks to tong san models, Proton may soon compete with Perodua aka Toyota. Let the Japan vs China begin!!

• If new iriz n persona manage to boost 30% as planned, may is going to be more 9k…

• La Flora on May 02, 2019 at 11:27 am

Reason: Proton service is getting better than Honda service. As a result, it is unsafe to buy Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • anonymous on May 02, 2019 at 11:49 am

Saga? I rarely see new Saga on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Proton X69 on May 02, 2019 at 11:52 am

Rejoice! The power of Geely Tongsan. All the best to Proton on maintaining 2nd spot. Proton will raise again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on May 02, 2019 at 11:54 am

when u start putting those non-performing staffs under PIP, that’s how your company progress and retake their position after long time in the ditch.

• Tahniah!
    P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • RockstarJay on May 02, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Welcome back, our national pride. Thanks to genuine partnership from Geely, as well as all those Malaysians who worked hard and never give up on Proton. Credits goes to all.

I’ve always believed in you guys. Continue to scrap off the bad rust and never stop improving.

Hope one day to see Proton on the world stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Not Toyota Fan on May 02, 2019 at 12:21 pm

Still too early to celebrate and brag. One swallow does not a summer make. But, it does look like Proton is on the right track.

The road to recovery is long & mired with unforeseen challenges. There is still much to be rectified and improved. Still many more new models to be launched but planning is the key.

Planning & Preparation Prevents Poor Performance. Good luck Proton. Make Msian proud of Proton again.

• Henry on May 02, 2019 at 12:30 pm

Thanks mainly to the new model X70.

• Copy Paste on May 02, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Copy paste: “Of the 7,210 units sold, the Saga accounted for more than 3,000 units”

• 4G63T DSM on May 02, 2019 at 4:45 pm

That’s horrible. If Saga was >3000 units and the X70 probably just as much, meaning Proton hardly moved any Persona,Iriz, Ertiga, Perdana and Exora last month.

• Proton successfully sell 25500 durians to rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Lets See on May 02, 2019 at 2:24 pm

I am so happy to read this news. As always, it’s not surprising to see Proton sales continue to amaze each month. There must be reasons why Proton cars are becoming so Laku. The obvious reasons are Proton cars are built from well proven and tested platform, using award winning engine, 1st world design, comfort, high RV and top build quality. Now with Geely bringing in professional aftersales servicing methodology, more customers are assured of a good owning experience. Thank you P1 for making game changing cars for us. We Msian are proud of you as a successful national carmaker unlike the second one which is just a rebadger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Not Toyota Fan on May 02, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Bro, you gotta travel overseas more cos you’re living in a cocoon.

Proton legacy models (Saga, Iris, Persona, Preve, Suprima, Exora) indeed has good chassis & handling and somewhat tough build but that’s about the only good.

“Award winning engine”??? Village Hero awards lah, can’t even make nomination for ASEAN award.
      “Top build quality”??? Then why did Geely initial audit of Tg Malim plant Defects Per Unit (DPU) was atrociously high? Only after implementing Global Customer Product Audit (GCPA) was there a big improvement in reducing production line defects.
      “Comfort”??? You’re really stretching here, comfortable IF you’re not concern with what little creatures comforts there is. Heck, legacy models are definitely comfortable Vs a bullock cart.
      “First world design”??? Ok, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. But to say Azlan designs are “First world” is again really stretching it very far.
      “High RV”??? Hahahaha That made my day

• Mr. Maverik on May 02, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Keep it up proton! Will we see one day proton cars having qualities that can outmatch toyota or honda?

• Siam kap on May 02, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Nope. Coz Toyota & Honda quality ady dropped below Proton levels.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 02, 2019 at 5:31 pm

If Proton adhere to Geely QAQC, then Yes.

As it is, the material and build quality of the CBU X70 easily outmatched the CRV.

• I am going to order an Iriz, a truly Malaysian made car.

• tokmoh. on May 03, 2019 at 4:32 pm

To bashers : HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHA

Dread it, run from it, destiny still arrives.

Geely Empire’s supremacy. is. INEVITABLE!

• Somebody in last year shouting that Toyota will return to the second and Proton will be close shop.
    Now that person missing