2024 European Car of The Year nominees – 4 BYD, 3 Honda, 2 Toyota, 2 BMW, 2 Mercedes, 2 Hyundai

The candidates for the 2024 European Car of The Year have been announced, with a total of 28 cars named and which will be contesting for the coveted title. To be eligible, candidates are to be new cars that are on sale now or before the end of the year in five or more European markets.

As with years past, there will be two stages of voting, where the first will see the pool will be whittled down to a shortlist of seven nominees which will be announced on November 27. The second stage of voting will find the winner of the Car of The Year trophy, and this will be revealed February 26 at the Geneva Motorshow.

The active CoTY jury of 2024 consists of 59 jury members from 22 countries, with two Russian members still suspended, according to the organisation.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 2024 European Car of The Year:

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 24, 2023 at 1:08 pm

Toyota Prius

• Awang Alza on Nov 24, 2023 at 10:06 pm

Hyundai & proton started almost the same era. but the koreans are now so far ahead ..leaving madey & his PN kroni biting the dust

• Peppa on Nov 24, 2023 at 3:14 pm

Cool and but it would be better if those byds are not in the list. Hurt my eyes :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • If you can just fxxxk off from Paultan would be a great news for me as you are an eyesore here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Peppa The Loser Breed on Nov 24, 2023 at 6:01 pm

Dah lah Priya. On FB scared to be too racist. Here manyak gungho hor. I will come find you soon. Show me your racist remarks to my face. I will expose you to all your chinese colleagues and friends very soon. Just accepth the fact that your breed lost and nothing will stop Chinese tech. Its too advance for anything to slow it down. See you soon Priya

• Haha we love to see BYD on it. If you are hurt, expect more hurt.

• Sohai on Nov 24, 2023 at 6:24 pm

Proton never submit entry kah?
    I tot SUV top sale with legendary Proton handling engineering and bumper tech?

• Sohai mohai on Nov 27, 2023 at 10:05 am

Can’t tell if youre too stupid to read the requirements for nomination or just here to hate

• 4GR-FSE on Nov 24, 2023 at 8:42 pm

I will give it to Prius..
    Greatest improvement in power train, ride and handling.. More practical way to go green without range anxiety and places without charging ports.