Q number plate series – biddings open until March 21

Another day, another new number plate series, and this one will likely get Audi owners all excited. The Q series has been introduced by the Football Association of Sarawak (FAS), and all numbers from Q 1 to Q 9999 are open for bidding from today until March 21.

Minimum bidding starts at RM2,000 for running plates, rising up to RM5,000 for popular repetitive four-digit numbers such as Q 1001, RM20,000 for double-digit numbers and other popular numbers such as Q 100 and Q 1000 and RM50,000 for attractive “gold” numbers such as Q 77. The most expensive single-digit numbers (Q 1 to Q 9) have a starting price of RM100,000.

Results of the bidding will be announced in April, after which any numbers which have not been snapped up will be available for direct purchase. The Q series joins the likes of GG, SAM, K1M, T1M, A1M, US, SMS, NBOS, NAAM, VIP, G, GT, U, Y, PERFECT and PATRIOT to hit our roads, among other fancy plates.

Fancy Q2, Q3, Q5 or Q7 for your Audi SUV?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• pakcik on Mar 08, 2018 at 6:39 pm

ENOUGH WITH THE NEW NUMBER PLATE SERIES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Every now and then with new number plate series, is that so special?!!
      Only the idiot would be cheated by the greedy gomen.

• Azman Hashim on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:12 pm

No more logic. Every other day some new number plate is coming out. For a country that preaches moderation, spending huge amounts on a number plate is inappropriate.

We are all the time told about moderation. Every other day, we are preached about moderation. Infact, leaders have told the rakyat to lead a life of moderation.

Then on the other hand, the Government encourages excessive behaviors like buying number plates for RM1 million etc.

Flip flop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Gabriel on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:54 pm

High rate of number plate bidding in Malaysia shows that its people are prosperous.

• That only shows that MY pipu isnt poor and the copy pasta spiel that MY is going bankrap is nothing but bollocks.
      And here is the proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Heakey on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:11 am

Dont buy if you dont have the money. Simple

• Sawff Qafi on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Again..

• Audi & Infiniti SUV owners lining up.

• Jimmy on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:37 pm

The most precious one is Q7, yes you are right.

• bahar taufik on Mar 09, 2018 at 2:11 am

how to tender q plate no..who to cntact.

• Bahar Taufik on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:54 am

how to tender the plate..who to contact

• lamki on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:43 am

QT 3.142

• Ahmad on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:43 am

Q is for sarawak.. wth!

• expensive_plate on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:59 am

I miss the moment when I can figure out which state the car registered by looking at their plate number. Now, its a mess!!

• John X on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

This seems legit if it is by the football assoc of sarawak, and that the money received is used for their club instead of individuals. The rest of the NGOs are never heard of, and no one is even sure what they do. So a lot of the cash is ending up in the hands of individuals rather than a cause or purpose. Perhaps. Maybe the NGOs receiving the money should be transparent with the new influx of money.

• Azman Abdullah on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Our country going to be like ferries tale story.. So many new no plate make us confused.. from Bambee .1M4U..rimau.. U..F..patriot..G1M..SS.. V.. just name it.. don’t the smart people in this industry can foreseen the consequences.. what happens if accident happen. . how normal people can memorised the plate.. we are used to have normal plate according to the states.. pls think other way to pocket people money.. but is old school said.. once you have more money, you can’t think wisely..

• KimSoo on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:54 pm

How can we bid for the numbers?

• Q…nothing special about this Q plate

• phatcat on Mar 10, 2018 at 8:00 am

close down JPJ

• Tom chan on Mar 10, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Where to bid the Q plate number