2022 Proton Saga MC2 – why still no AEB, ADAS?

The refreshed 2022 Proton Saga was launched yesterday with several new features, but what was conspicuously missing was any kind of driver assistance. Yes, the national carmaker did expand the availability stability control to the Standard AT variant, but the entry-level sedan still lacked more advanced systems like autonomous emergency braking – something its rival, the Perodua Bezza has had since 2020.

Asked about this during the event, Proton’s deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah admitted that Perodua had an advantage in terms of safety – something Proton had and lost. The lack of AEB, he said, comes down to what “value-added” items the customer wants and is willing to pay.

“If you want to add [AEB], you have to delete some other features in order to balance the price,” Roslan said. “Our competitor might have this, so those customers who want to have this can [go buy their car]. But if the customer wants something else, like comfort, [handling], other things, they can come to us.”

The Saga continues to lack AEB, even on the new range-topping Premium S variant

In effect, Proton is happy to cede its reputation in safety to provide other features that it believes buyers will want. These presumably include the Saga’s latest additions, such as a bodykit, keyless entry, push-button start, auto-folding door mirrors and an external boot lid release – all of which are limited to the new range-topping Premium S variant.

The urge to appeal to customers is understandable. All these features are indeed popular with Malaysians, and adding them to a car they was not originally designed for (remember, the Saga can trace its roots to the 2008 model) costs far more money than if they were implemented early on in the development process. And it’s true that the Saga is markedly more comfortable than the Bezza, with better handling to boot.

But we also know Malaysian buyers will pay more for safety – enough for a rational, left-brained carmaker like Perodua to fit AEB on all but the base variant of the Myvi. And it’s not just the cheap-as-chips Saga that is affected by Proton’s current strategy – the larger, pricier Iriz and Persona aren’t available with AEB, either, even though they received their own significant facelifts last year.

Perodua is leading the way when it comes to active safety

Even on the X50 and X70 SUVs, which compete in segments that are less price-sensitive, the system is only fitted on the expensive range-topping variants, which cost over RM100,000. By contrast, the Perodua Ativa has AEB as standard, and that car starts at RM61,500.

The message that Proton is sending out is simple – vote with your wallet. Buy enough cars with AEB and other advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS), and the company will have no choice to give in.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium S

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ksatria on May 13, 2022 at 7:38 pm

No AEB , no Buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 44
    • Raja Celup on May 13, 2022 at 9:07 pm

If delete the kipas KDK sport rims and lipstick lines maybe can get AEB. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • Spin Too Much on May 13, 2022 at 10:43 pm

Buyers wants kipas KDK sport rims and lipstick lines rather than AEB. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Lets See on May 13, 2022 at 10:22 pm

You can say what you think but Malaysian car buyers act differently. Case in point, the encouraging sales from no AEB, no ADAS, only 2 airbags Xpander.

https://paultan.org/2021/05/07/mitsubishi-sold-monthly-record-1872-units-in-april-2021-third-non-national-brand-52-from-xpander/

In this price sensitive segment, what matters is affordability and if that meant deleting AEB & ADAS, then that is what the market wants and nobody can blame Proton for giving exactly what the market wants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Sick&Tired on May 16, 2022 at 11:16 am

The xpander doesn’t provide options for extra airbags and aeb so how can you deduce that buyers don’t care about safety features!! I would agree with you if they did provide that option and majority choose not to have it. Buyers looking for a small mpv dont have much choices.

• Lets See on May 17, 2022 at 12:52 pm

Buyers can go somewhere else if they really wanted MPV with more airbags. The fact that they didn’t meant they didn’t care.

• Can keep brakes cool. Ok what?

• Yeah..the same goes with those so called ‘enthusiast’; No manual, no buy. Then everyone not even buying the manual.

• ROTI CANAI on May 13, 2022 at 8:42 pm

no good base donor car

• comfort comes to Proton Saga, really dare to tell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • (Dude) on May 13, 2022 at 9:39 pm

Almost 10 years ago, Proton has invested millions to develop ADAS system with LG, but now all gone into someone’s pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Casual reader on May 15, 2022 at 9:07 am

Goes to show that safety doesnt sell in malaysia. Sad but logical for proton to ditch it and give what the market prefers, sports rims & red highlights.

• Interesting comments from them, but the Bezza 1.3X has most of this and is cheaper without the tacky red too (comparatively to the premium S)

If they want us to ahead and but from the competition they will not be able to ever evolve (or add on more features( their cars due to loss of revenue.

Adding these basic features should’ve been done with the last update, its very hard to look forward to these their development if they keep on making excuses and bad ones at that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • farghmee on May 14, 2022 at 10:02 am

bezza 1.0g rm35k no VSC
      bezaa 1.3X rm43k no AEB
      bezza 1.3av rm48k yes AEB

saga mc2 std at rm38k yes VSC
      saga mc2 premium s rm44k no AEB

pilih lah ikut poket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Lets See on May 14, 2022 at 3:58 pm

Bezza 1.3X but how many does it sell to justify having such feature? Majority of Bezza buyers I know go for the 1.0L variants and they said the 1.3L versions are way too expensive for what it is, once again proven that Malaysian car buyers just aren’t into extra safety if it cost more money. Proton had push the safety element for donkey years but though there were a lot of praises from writers like PaulTan, it never caught on with the buying customers, so can we really blame Proton for trying to get ahead by giving what buying customers wants?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • NxtOrder on May 21, 2022 at 8:44 pm

As Lets See mention, most buyers will buy 1.0 variants bezza because of the cheap price. For Bezza 1.3L segment, majority buyers go for the ‘X’ rather than ‘AV’. It is not like Malaysian don’t want AEB, it is not completely a game changer for safety. You drive fast, when AEB kicks in due to something Infront, you still gonna have incident. It still gonna depends on how you drive.

For manual transmission cars, there still a market in Malaysia. Even though it is not many sell as Automatic transmission, there still a buyer. For example, someone want a basic car and live at ‘Kampung’ area. It is a bargain for them. They have a less traffic jams than a city like us, so manual is good.

Proton already make a good judgement for this MC2 update. The people who complain here are just trollers. They not event gonna buy the car. How many of you already bought Bezza 1.3L AX?

Btw I like the Saga Premium S, the looks and features they provided are good for that price range.

• Huck Phin on May 13, 2022 at 10:06 pm

Somebody should start a movement to boycott Proton models for lack of AEB…

wonder how it’ll be executed though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Lets See on May 14, 2022 at 3:59 pm

If there was such a movement, Perodua would be extinct long ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • chip shortage, bos

• Any takers? on May 13, 2022 at 11:22 pm

Easy. Add aeb, adas, tandas and all almighty safety features (to avoid angel of death) will push the price to 48k w/o insurance. Oops, I mean commission…

So how B40 gonna buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • FudgeMeSideways on May 13, 2022 at 11:26 pm

Kill the model already la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • It is because Malaysia doesn’t even bother to use turn signal and seatbelt. They even spend to buy those buckle thing at DIY just to make the buzzer stay silent.
    So what the heck all ADAS is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • kenny tan on May 14, 2022 at 9:22 am

With this kind of statement coming out from one of the top management, we knows why Proton image always on the drain with spare parts problems although selling hundred of thousand popular models like X70/X50 and yet facing issue of parts availability. This type of mentality should have discarded long time ago when Geely moves in and improves the image and products quality of Proton cars, the working culture, the quality and the responsibilities of the workers in producing the best for Malaysian consumers and yet this kind of people sitting on Board are always the hindrance of growth and maturity for the national brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Best is remove the Bake pedal on May 14, 2022 at 9:48 am

Braking is not drivers responsibility
    Let the silicon do the braking

Does PROTON have 100% proven electronic brake system ?

There are instances of total brake failure despite stepping on bake

Most proton buyers are sleepy species

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Ollie on May 14, 2022 at 2:15 pm

I’m amazed that Malaysians consider auto folding door mirrors and an external trunk release as “features”. Not just from this article but from real people out there. We have a really really weird car market when things like Geeliys are gelinya.. best selling.

• Casual reader on May 14, 2022 at 9:15 pm

We have a market problem when sadety doesnt sell but blings like Led headlights does

• How come this roslan can sit this position? His answer like he has only kindergarten level!

Without Geely, what is Proton? Desinger sleeping, engineers not competent, marketing not functioning, top mamagement all dreaming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Top Gun,Tom Cruise on May 14, 2022 at 9:03 pm

P1 is already bankrupt and insolvent,minus Geely.
      Without massive multiple bailouts,P1 is extinct long time ago.
      The DRB dudes are “tumpang someone’s success ” quality.
      Can u imagine,Dr.Li has to step in to conduct war room spare parts shortage meetings?
      If your boss has to conduct meetings ,when you should be the one, arent you redundant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
      • Copy Paste on May 15, 2022 at 11:06 pm

Copy paste: “Excellent example of simply typing a comment by plucking info from thin air.”

• WooGoo on May 14, 2022 at 3:44 pm

OK lah..
    Even the premium German brands don’t come with full safety suite like the cheaper Japanese brands but ppl still buy what….

• Hakim on May 14, 2022 at 6:02 pm

I find buyers at this range complaint the most. With 44k they want everything. You want AEB, ADAS plus all the modern features in the car, pay more la. Simple. If you can only afford 44k, this is your only best option. Haha.

• Think again... on May 16, 2022 at 12:29 am

Do you think 44k is cheap? What?

Work hard more?
      Study hard more?

Can you tell us how’s our parents in their time. Do they work hard? Study hard? And how they can afford it? Landed house, C-Segment car (Yes, because P1 not born yet) with mere SRP (now PT3) and SPM.

I recall my late grandpa once ask me, ‘Untung org muda skrg, hidup senang’. I answer my grandpa what ‘senang’ if compare to you? Because at your time you can afford vespa, beetle and landed house. Tell me, can you guys with mere SPM can afford that? Heck no, even fresh grad also rent at ‘rumah burung’.

May I know what kind of senang is that with study debts ‘keliling pinggang’? You can check how stress we are with our current environment and decreasing purchasing power… And it all start 1985, with P1 born. Then in 90’s, privatisation of everything including basic necessities, such as logistics, no more jba, house developer etc2. You just name it.

Think again if you said 44,300 (w/o rdtx & insurance) we cannot get all abovementioned features.

• Copy Paste on May 16, 2022 at 10:38 am

Copy paste:
        cheapskate: why no aeb?
        proton: why you no money?

• Right? on May 17, 2022 at 4:04 pm

Why you born (P1)?

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 18, 2022 at 8:36 am

National car project was born to give rakyat cheap affordable cars, it is not meant to give rakyat expensip Volvos.

• Why so many variant. Enough with 2 variants standard and premium. Dont waste money to produce multiple variant for same car.

• Casual reader on May 15, 2022 at 10:05 am

They might be poor but why deprived them of choices? Even B40 are humans and deserves to have choices on what they buy.

• Cash is King. King is rakyat.

• cheapskate: why no aeb?
    proton: why you no money?

• Old School Juggernaut on May 15, 2022 at 11:31 am

I love this car, as long as it can move

• The statement by the Deputy CEO is appalling. There is no vision apart from giving in to what the “people want”.

This is where we need the authorities to step in. Make basic safety features such as AEB compulsory and the manufacturer has no choice but to install it.

People’s preferences such as skirting and fancy bumpers do not save lives. We just need to change our mindset and stop the endless excuses.

It will take the relevant authorities and the manufacturers to push for the change. It is sad to see that we are still in the 1990s mindset in 2022.

• Usurping PROTON Management on May 15, 2022 at 3:05 pm

PT predict Proton will never become Malaysia Namba 1

Which current city or vios model DO NOT have AEB, ADAS?

• Sick&Tired on May 16, 2022 at 11:12 am

Great leadership by this Roslan Abdullah guy! Telling customers to buy Bezza if they want aeb!! So arrogant! Last I checked, Perodua has sold more bezza’s compared to Saga, so maybe instead of just dismissing customer feedback, he should start listening!! Malaysian consumers are getting more informed and safety is not a second consideration anymore! Bodykit and touchscreen headunits can be retrofitted later but not AEB!

• Copy Paste on May 17, 2022 at 12:55 pm

Copy paste: “If we need safety that much, we all only be buying volvo.

I own both perodua bezza with ADAS and proton persona. Personally the ADAS system is just a software. Me as a driver is a lot better in active safety compared to a robot. The software does not help me with my comfort on a long journey, or the poor NVH i was suffering, or lackluster of enjoyment of driving. Driving bezza on long journey really drained energy to a point my family came down with fever after we arrived (JB to ALOR SETAR), while in proton i can sit in there for the whole day enjoying the comfort and relaxing driving, easy handling and enjoyable, and still have energy to run a marathon. Eventually i sold my 1 year old bezza and keep the 4 year old persona. Safety means nothing if my family have to suffer discomfort and muscle strain after the ride.”

• Jerung on May 16, 2022 at 8:07 pm

AEB is for noob. Haha…

• Dr virtue on May 17, 2022 at 5:15 am

If we need safety that much, we all only be buying volvo.

I own both perodua bezza with ADAS and proton persona. Personally the ADAS system is just a software. Me as a driver is a lot better in active safety compared to a robot. The software does not help me with my comfort on a long journey, or the poor NVH i was suffering, or lackluster of enjoyment of driving. Driving bezza on long journey really drained energy to a point my family came down with fever after we arrived (JB to ALOR SETAR), while in proton i can sit in there for the whole day enjoying the comfort and relaxing driving, easy handling and enjoyable, and still have energy to run a marathon. Eventually i sold my 1 year old bezza and keep the 4 year old persona. Safety means nothing if my family have to suffer discomfort and muscle strain after the ride.

• We think this is a great buy. But your money, you decide lah.

• Fong Yee Tong on May 17, 2022 at 11:12 am

Perodua car most good

• Not Toyota Fan on May 18, 2022 at 10:56 am

Not the first time Deputy CEO Roslan put his foot in mouth. First time was during the update on spare part availability issue.

Proton should either send him for Public Relations / public speaking course or get someone else who is less brash & direct to do these press conferences. Am sure En Roslan is a brilliant management top executive but nobody is perfect. If public speaking isn’t his forte, then let someone else handle it.

• nasi lemak on Feb 22, 2024 at 3:58 pm

poor answer from Deputy CEO.

Malaysian original design 3 brother cars, Saga, Iriz, Persona (not included Exora because retired), if said comfortable I’m doubt on Saga, other two pass.

Indeed the safety features is just the first stage on road, can’t rely too much because brainless driving in Malaysia nowadays (yes this mentioned also motorcycle). However, like Bezza is just balanced car, balance on comfort, petrol consumption, safety features, price. Not expect much on Bezza but affordable and can get all the features at least first stage.

Depends what view on Malaysian road driving and needs. It would be better if focus upgrade safety features however still depend on driver’s behaviour. For my view safety features still useful.