New Proton X70 vs B- and C-segment SUV rivals in Malaysia – where does it stand in size, power, kit?

The Proton X70 has finally been launched, after what seemed like a lifetime of teasers and previews. Proton’s first SUV, which is based on the facelifted Geely Boyue, is priced from RM99,800 to RM123,800, putting it in the middle of a crowded field of SUVs on sale in Malaysia.

The list is diverse, perhaps even more so than in Western markets. Besides the mainstream B- and C-segment SUVs sitting on car platforms, we have the Honda BR-V and Toyota Rush – the former shares a platform with a compact hatchback while the latter has rear-wheel drive underpinnings; both are marketed in developing countries. Perodua’s version of the Rush will join the fray very soon, too.

At the other end of the scale, we have more sophisticated Continental offerings like the Volkswagen Tiguan and Peugeot 3008, but it’s in the midfield that the X70 must convince. Proton will be persuading Rush and BR-V buyers to shell out a bit more for the entry-level X70, while tempting the urban upper middle class folks out of their default choices with the kit-loaded Premium.

Click to enlarge table

The Proton X70 is a C-segment SUV, which means that it’s significantly larger than the Honda HR-V, Toyota C-HR and Mazda CX-3. At 4,519 mm long and 1,831 mm wide, it’s 225 mm longer and 59 mm wider than the HR-V, which we’ll take as the B-SUV benchmark.

The Proton is closer to the size of the Tiguan and Mazda CX-5 (it’s 31 mm shorter and 9 mm narrower than the Mazda), but smaller than the Honda CR-V (77 mm shorter, 24 mm narrower) and Nissan X-Trail (121 mm shorter), both of which were designed to accommodate optional third rows.

The X70’s 2,670 mm wheelbase is 10 mm longer than the CR-V’s, but is 30 mm less than the CX-5 and 35 mm shorter than the X-Trail’s.

Proton’s first SUV is powered by a 1.8 litre turbocharged engine with 182 hp (184 PS) and 285 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm. The only Japanese C-SUV to offer a blown engine is the CR-V; its 1.5L VTEC Turbo unit offering 190 hp (+8 hp) and 243 Nm (-42 Nm). Euro brands VW (1.4L, 148 hp, 250 Nm) and Peugeot (1.6L, 165 hp, 240 Nm) also went the turbo route.

The X70 uses a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission with manual mode, like the Peugeot 3008. The Tiguan’s TSI motor is paired to a twin-clutch auto gearbox. Elsewhere, the Mazda CX-5 and Nissan X-Trail both offer the choice of 2.0L and 2.5L naturally aspirated engines (Mazda also has a 2.2L turbodiesel option) – the former with a 6AT and the latter with a CVT. The Honda CR-V is also CVT-equipped.

Proton offers a single all-wheel drive option (Executive AWD), but the other three variants are front-wheel drive, including the top-spec Premium. The CR-V, CX-5 and X-Trail can be had in FWD or AWD as well, but the Tiguan and 3008 are FWD-only. Conversely, the Subaru XV is AWD-only. The B-segment players listed here are all FWD.

Aside from design, equipment is one of the X70’s strong points. The base model comes with halogen headlamps and fabric seats, but the Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI) Android-based infotainment system with navigation, music streaming and voice control with artificial intelligence is standard across the range.

Also across the board are keyless entry and push start, dual-zone auto air con with rear vents and air purification system, six airbags, ESC, Hill Descent Control and a reverse camera.

The mid-range Executive adds on LED headlights and daytime running lights, 18-inch rims, faux leather upholstery, a power-adjustable driver’s seat, auto wipers, auto-dimming rear view mirror, front parking sensors and a 360-degree camera. The Executive AWD has all of the above, plus a tyre pressure monitoring system.

The car you see here, and in the brochures, is the Premium 2WD, which sports 19-inch rims and a panoramic sunroof on the outside. Inside, the top X70 gets Nappa leather for the steering and seats, remote opening windows/sunroof, eight-way powered driver’s seat (with lumbar), four-way powered front passenger seat (with switches close to the driver, Camry-style), voice command, and nine speakers (with amp and subwoofer).

The range-topper’s Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) includes Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), Forward Collision Warning (FCW) Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Door Opening Warning System (DOW) and Intelligent High Beam Control (HBC).

The Premium’s glass roof is unique in the field, and the only other SUV here to have ACC is the top-spec CR-V with Honda Sensing. AEB is getting more common these days, but of the lot, it’s only found on the X70, CR-V, CX-5 and Toyota Rush. Yes, even the Conti choices here don’t come with AEB and ACC.

Five-star ASEAN NCAP-rated Proton aside, only the CR-V and CX-5 can be had with a “full suite” of driver assist systems – however, the Honda misses out on auto high beam, and the Mazda omits ACC. As for the 360-degree parking camera, the other SUVs to have it are the Nissan X-Trail and Toyota Rush.

There you have it – the Proton X70 is a C-segment sized SUV with pricing that closely mirrors the smaller Honda HR-V. Besides the turbo engine, what really sets it apart on paper is equipment, especially when it comes to safety and driver assist systems. Honda and Mazda do offer their own safety suites (at a higher price point – RM163,191 for the CR-V 1.5TC Premium 2WD, and from RM148,214 for GLS-spec CX-5s, respectively), but the X70’s is comprehensive and unmatched at this price point.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Standard 2WD

GALLERY: Proton X70 Executive 2WD
GALLERY: Proton X70 Executive AWD
GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Time to say goodbye john on Dec 12, 2018 at 10:11 pm

The Proton X70 has finally been launched, after what seemed like a lifetime of teasers and previews. Proton’s first SUV, which is based on the facelifted Geely Boyue, is priced from RM99,800 to RM123,800, putting it in the graveyard of a crowded field of SUVs on sale in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
  • P1, Geely, VolvoCar, Mesidis, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Dylan Chng on Dec 12, 2018 at 11:06 pm

XV vs HR-V vs X70

• azmi_autobahn on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:09 am

Segmentation-wise..
      It should be X70 vs CRV vs X-Trail vs CX5 vs Tiguan vs XV

The HR-V is B-segment SUV, which rivals are CX3, EcoSport, X-Gear (more to MPV I guess this one), 2008 etc etc

• Based on the tsble fuel consumption is bad as compare with others

• Phullo sardar on Dec 12, 2018 at 11:32 pm

Only concern is fuel economy plus when go for service is not cut throat charges. Ron 95 or 97 for turbo charge n its obviously 97 prefered or higher. Engine reliable?

• CBU or CKD? on Dec 13, 2018 at 8:42 am

Does this car pay CBU taxes or “special treatment” CKD status? Btw @paultan team, great job with the table. Effing brilliant..! I am however quite shocked by the weight of this car. From 1,660kg..! It shows in terms of performance (10.2sec for century sprint from a C-seg SUV with 185hp/285Nm is ridiculous!) and poor fuel economy.. the Tiguan is almost 200kg lighter, gets 9.2sec and almost 15km/L from a tiny 1.4 with 148hp..

• Siti Vios on Dec 13, 2018 at 8:49 am

People will still buy HRV or CRV. Ambitious price like this compared to mainland direct conversion price will go nowhere. Brand is still the main determinant. Spec and price is later. Vios J (jimat) and City S (simple) kosong pon orang beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Amin~ on Dec 13, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Several but most of peoples choose Vios J & City S specs due to :

1) As long as its H & T brand (asal ada gaya)
      2) want to escape from buying national car due to reliability issues but unable to fork out extra money to topup abit getting higher specs model when purchasing non national car
      3) you forgot to put Nissan ‘Almari’, cheaper but with abysmal 100hp engine

• Ethan on Dec 13, 2018 at 9:48 am

OVERLOOKED!!

Why not compare with the Subaru Forester, Haval H1 & H2 and Hyundai Tuscon Malaysia? Its because the car price, and current Forester price below Proton X70.
    RM119K to RM123K you can get it from whole Malaysia.

Haval H1 & H2, Hyundai Tucson and Subaru Forester need in your list.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 13, 2018 at 10:17 am

the spec list is good yadda yadda yadda and its slightly cheaper than its rivals

However, do note its just slightly. Not sure about the reliability of parts and how well all those things function

Efficiency?

People who said that this is a China car so it should be good and not jaguh kampung malaysian made proton….do rmb most of protons were rebadged mitsu….which was supposed to be reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • 123k compared to 163k is not slightly cheaper unless ur loaded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Anonymous on Dec 13, 2018 at 2:23 pm

What finance guru taught you that 20% lower price is “slightly” cheaper?

• Yes, its not slight cheaper like what Semi-Value said. Its much much much mooore cheaper than equivalent specced CRV.

• topkek on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:44 pm

That’s normal thing when comparing price they take barebone basic jepunis car and full spec x70. Of course not slight

But when comparing spec they take basic x70 and full spec jepunis pulak

Topkek

• Malaysianz on Dec 13, 2018 at 10:34 am

Can’t deny anything. X70 way too cool.

Bravo. Proton going right track for starter with Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Richard on Dec 13, 2018 at 11:19 am

Honda crv has auto high beam la! Wrong info written here. Pls edit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Ben Yap on Dec 13, 2018 at 11:38 am

underpowered yet high fuel consumption. is it really worth it? get a CRV and pay a little bit more but enjoy better power and resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • redpilled on Dec 13, 2018 at 1:32 pm

underpowered? be advised said headline figures are close to peak RPMs, where most CRV drivers dont venture out to. you should be concerned with the torque and torque/tonne ratio- in this case its 210Lbs vs 180Lbs, 126.5Lbs/tonne(X70) vs 118.4lbs/tonne (CRV).

• Anonymous on Dec 13, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Underpowered? You have to read the whole table again mate.
      The only thing I personally would criticize is its weight. Literally the only thing that’s bogging down that engine. It’s one of the most powerful and has the highest torque, but also lugging the heaviest weight.
      Given its pricing and equipment level however, I’m not surprised. If you want refinement in engineering go for the others. But, if you honestly don’t care about the weight and could do with a RM30k savings, there is no solid reason to back away from the Proton (unless brand prejudice/bias is your thing).

• Pomen geely on Dec 13, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Paultan… Where mitsu outlander and subaru forester i,p, xt in comparison? Dont left them out to compare

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 13, 2018 at 3:44 pm

It is incredibly heavy vs rivals, and why so many models no 0-100kmh times?? Too embarassed to publish??

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:29 am

x70 0-100 time is disappointing…

• Not too good but not bad, can say it is average but with full load, it won’t have any problem in city or on highway

• captain slow on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:01 am

Rivals are too slow

• azmi_autobahn on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:35 pm

Fellas, 0 to 60 is a good indication yet a misleading measurement of performance, it does not fully reflect to the subjective experience of driving. And a car is quick to 60 doesn’t mean it’s a good car to drive either.. it does good for the marketing purpose.. although in regular road driving, we know how often an average driver does the 0-60 thing. An SUV, for me more importantly is the pulling power and the driveability (cruising..launching..hill climb..overtaking..), can’t say much but have to test drive this X70 first.. :)

• donovan on Dec 13, 2018 at 6:36 pm

in China gleey boyue start from rm68500.. try google gleey boyue, it’s first auto complete search suggestion is fleet boyue problem.

• azmi_autobahn on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:06 am

Tak jumpa, first autosearch “Geely Boyue” resulted Wikipedia.
      The start price in China does not necessarily reflect to start price in Malaysia. General OTR calculation (including all the taxes etc etc etc) is by multiplying with ~1.4 to ~1.6.

• azmi_autobahn on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:15 am

Surprisingly, auto search “CRV china” in google today turned out the unexpected outcomes..

• Anonymous on Dec 15, 2018 at 6:32 pm

Because of a thing called “economics of scale”. Plus cheaper labour.
      Up to a limit, the greater the number you can sell the lower you can price it. Annual sales figure for the Boyue alone in China is higher than Perodua’s TOTAL sales by almost 100,000 units.

• Andrew on Dec 13, 2018 at 7:45 pm

The price absolutely disappointed! Better buy Japan car .

• Optimus on Dec 14, 2018 at 11:16 am

It’s your loss then. You only get a B segment crossover compared to full specced C segment larger & proper SUV.

• I just want to ask paultan a question. I still remember I watched a paultan SUV comparison video between peugeot3008, Mazda Cx5 and honda CRV. Paultan did mention the brand reliability for 3008 where I am totally disagreed to mention something that you can not get the answer from a test drive review. But in this case where the reliability is my main concern, paultan, do you want to give your comment?

• I went to the autoshow last time and had felt the nappa leather on the premium variant, man i was surprised. Even my f30 328i doesn’t come with nappa leather seat. The leather almost on par with f10 seat.

And at that price point and equipments, i think x70 is really a good buy. I just hope the aftersales service do it justice.

• Haa

• Too lazy to register, but my name is wan on Dec 30, 2018 at 4:15 pm

Went to the autoshow last time and was surprised with the use of nappa leather on the seats. Even my f30 328i doesnt come with nappa seats and believe me, it felt almost as good as f10 seats.

And the list of equipments it offered at that price point, i think x70 is a good buy. I just hope the aftersales guy do it justice.