Toyota Corolla Cross compared to other B-, C-segment SUVs – Proton X50, X70; Honda HR-V; Mazda CX-30

After some teasing, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has now confirmed the Corolla Cross for Malaysia, with a virtual launch set to take place on March 25. We don’t have pricing information for now, but it should be competitive as UMWT has plans to assemble it here. At the very least it should be more affordable than the now-discontinued and fully-imported (CBU) C-HR it replaces.

First making its global debut in Thailand last July (with an Indonesian debut taking place later on), the Corolla Cross is built on the TNGA-C platform that is also used for the latest Corolla, C-HR as well as the Lexus UX.

The model occupies a grey area when it comes to sizing, as its more of an oversized B-segment or a small C-segment SUV, similar to the C-HR. In the realm of properly-sized, C-segment SUVs, UMWT offers the RAV4 that takes on the CR-V, so this Corolla Cross is targeted at the HR-V (and other B-segment SUVs), especially for ASEAN markets.

With that in mind, we roped in several B- and C-segment SUVs to compare the upcoming Toyota SUV to, so you can have some idea how it stacks up when it eventually goes on sale. The list includes both Proton’s B- and C-segment SUVs – the X50 and X70 – as well as the Honda HR-V, Kia Seltos and another SUV that occupies said grey area, the Mazda CX-30.

As UMWT has yet to confirm or even provide official specifications of the Corolla Cross for our market, we’re pulling details from the Thailand market, where the model is offered as a hybrid or with a standard petrol engine. We reckon the latter to be more likely in the interest of pricing, so we’ll be sticking to that in our comparison.

The Toyota SUV’s unique sizing is most evident when we look at its length (4,460 mm), which sits right in between the true B- and C-segment SUVs listed. Curiously, the CX-30 has a more substantial wheelbase (2,655 mm) compared to the rest, beaten only marginally by the X70 at 2,670 mm.

Compared to the C-HR, the Corolla Cross shares the same 2,640 mm wheelbase, but is 100 mm longer overall, allowing for more boot space (440 litres compared to the C-HR’s 388 litres). The figure also bests the other SUVs in the table, save for the larger X70 that has 515 litres.

In Thailand, the Corolla Cross is powered by a 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 138 hp and 177 Nm of torque. Compared to other SUVs in the table, the Toyota model beats the Seltos and is a close match to the NA version of the HR-V, but otherwise loses out to the Proton duo and the CX-30 with a 2.0 litre NA mill.

A CVT is standard for the Corolla Cross and NA version of the HR-V (the hybrid model gets a seven-speed dual-clutch), while others sport either a six-speed auto or 7DCT. Furthermore, front-wheel drive is the norm for most of the models, with the CX-30 being the only one with that gets an all-wheel drive variant.

In terms of suspension, the Corolla Cross adopts the usual MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear, the latter being less sophisticated compared to its other TNGA-C siblings with double wishbones, although this could make it cheaper to build. Torsion beam is a commonality across all the models we listed, with the exception of the X70 the gets a multi-link setup.

Given that UMWT offers things like autonomous emergency braking on its entry-level models, the Corolla Cross will likely get the system, along with many others. Referring to Thailand’s specifications, the available systems are more than a match for SUVs mentioned here, even exceeding certain models.

We’ll have to wait for the launch on March 25 to find out exactly what equipment UMWT specifies for the Corolla Cross, so stay tuned. As far as early impressions go, would you be interested?

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muscle Compact SUV on Mar 16, 2021 at 4:55 pm

Pretty decent package for a JDM TNGA Corolla Sport UV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Early X50 Buyer on Mar 16, 2021 at 5:13 pm

That Honda HR-V width is erroneous.

• Pipu dun know jdm , tnga , uv, those names are not special btw. They only know the price must be below 100k for jepunis brands

• Om tenonet om on Mar 16, 2021 at 6:45 pm

Is time for gahmen to reintroduce GST to increased the country’s fiscal revenues.. Instead of SST exemption for carbuyers with losing tax leakages …. and going around RM10K saman those poors noisy exhaust & langgar SOP. Summore total gahmen debts and liabilities now eye watering RM1.257 TRILLION..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 17, 2021 at 7:41 am

Size between them

vs X70, 5cm shorter and 5cm lower
            wheelbase 3cm shorter

vs X50, 13cm longer and 1cm taller
            wheelbase 4cm longer

• Casual reader on Mar 16, 2021 at 11:31 pm

Aaaandddd…. suddenly, quietly, ativa is no longer touted as a B segment SUV or else surely it would be in this list.

So what was all that dog and pony show earlier? What was the whhhhoollle purpose of comparo with a B segment proton x50? Just to make it look good with its cheaper pricetag?

Why not put that into this comparo and declare it the winner by default its the cheapest among them and be done with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
      • Lol, how can Ativa compare with these competitors here when Ativa is not even b-segment which is A segment.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 17, 2021 at 11:16 am

We compared the Ativa with the X50 because their prices are close enough to each other, and naturally there are people who will be cross-shopping between the two. The Ativa would look out of place here because it will likely end up being half the price of the Corolla Cross. No car buyer would consider them as alternatives to each other.

And I don’t know where you’re getting the idea that we did the previous comparison to make the Ativa look good. My video comparison clearly showed the X50 as the superior vehicle, and that you do get what you pay for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Lolwhut? on Mar 17, 2021 at 12:02 pm

Rm71k vs Rm103k is close? Ye lah tu, may be for some but certainly not for most of the buyers from their respective segments unless they consider topping up the equivalent of an axia is no biggie.

Even this comparison macam bukan since 1 CX-30 2.0G can buy you 2units X70 Standard with change to spare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 17, 2021 at 12:10 pm

There’s no pleasing everyone, I guess. Still, this simple spec comparison is relevant to the Cross Corolla’s potential buyers, though perhaps not brand fanboys.

• IGP mom on Mar 24, 2021 at 11:12 am

Butthurt for what? Buyers will not compare $71k vs $100k, but the cheapest X50 is ~$80k. Surely, anyone who is considering Ativa highest spec would be checking out what can X50 offer with just $10k more. Be a little neutral and open la …

• Casual reader on Mar 17, 2021 at 1:07 pm

There are fanboys at both camps but you dont have to needlessly encourage them you know? You want to compare apples to apples not apples to oranges to potatos.

Is it relevant that your included B segments while omitting other C segments, i saw one mention subaru xv (and forester) not in it. What about korean offerings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • WhySalty on Mar 17, 2021 at 4:19 pm

Bro, got Kia Seltos in the table what. For Malaysia that is Apple to Apple already la, we buy cars based on prices what. Why you so angry?

• Lolwhut? on Mar 17, 2021 at 6:07 pm

Buy car based on price ke, meanwhile price range from Rm 79,200 to 167,674…. a gap of Rm 88,474. Is that realistic comparison? Pikir pikir kan.

• PEJUANG on Mar 17, 2021 at 11:55 am

You need to chill out mr Casual reader. Calm down and have some nasi lemak :D

• Miew Tee on Mar 16, 2021 at 5:00 pm

Hi Gerard, active cruise control have further sub-categories: until stop (with stop & go) and not until stop. Dont you think the difference is significant?

• No, we will wait the comparo with Kembara.

• Ksatria on Mar 16, 2021 at 6:54 pm

Toyota Corolla Cross – big & spacious
      Honda HR-V – reliable & high RV
      Mazda CX-30 – stylo design
      Kia Seltos – oppa oden cikyana favoret.
      Proton X50 – high specs & powerful
      X70 – all of the above. Enough said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 45
  • M & B on Mar 16, 2021 at 5:06 pm

Nice

• X50 Flagship is the best power to weight ratio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Proton X70 is a proper C-Segment SUV la, just look at the dimension in the table, it’s the biggest of the lot.

Trying to make it look good by comparing it with their competitors B-Segment SUV eh?

The Corolla Cross is also not a B-Segment SUV, more like a C-Segment SUV, considering the platform it is based on and the name ‘Corolla’…for which the Toyota Corolla is a C-Segment.

We should see how the Corolla Cross it stacks up against the popular C-Segment SUVs like Honda CRV or Mazda CX-5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • That’s what Proton good at. They compared Savvy with Kelisa, Persona with Myvi and now X50 with Ativa,

• Celup King on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:58 am

You do realise this comparison is done by PaulTan right? Or are you just that dumb?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 17, 2021 at 11:11 am

As clearly explained in the article, the Corolla Cross sits in between the segments. The RAV4 is Toyota’s proper C-seg SUV that goes against the CR-V. This Corolla Cross is an ASEAN model targeted at the HR-V.

• Rubbish car all underpowered except the proton. Such a huge heavy big load car but stupid engine. And the price tag above 100k. Malaysia market is a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • Have you tried any japanese cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Ya, drove Harrier, is rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • But that’s old Harrier. How about new ones? Have you tried?

• jusknittin on Mar 18, 2021 at 1:54 pm

According to the Malaysian way, once a rubbish it’s really hard to un-rubbish it. Simply because they won’t bother about that particular model or even brand anymore. The Proton “power window” is one example. Even now you still have those who mentioned about it…

• I tried the 2018 Harrier.

• Casual reader on Mar 16, 2021 at 11:33 pm

Frankly this is rubbish comparo anyways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Underpower SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Not really. Corolla Cross is not even underpower car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Considered underpower, a proper SUV should have more than 180Nm of torque.

• If you say underpower SUV then you should go and experience yourself mah, then see whether any feel of underpower on any SUV? So the answer is no. SUV is not underpower

• MALAYSIA on Mar 16, 2021 at 6:54 pm

Where is Activa?

• Dude, Ativa is incompatible with this including X50 here. Ativa is basically A/B segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • jusknittin on Mar 17, 2021 at 9:23 am

Why is X50 incompatible? Because of it’s size? But it is almost the same size as HRV. So is HRV also incompatible? Because of it’s engine? Don’t they say 1.5 turbo is equivalent to 2.0 NA? Because it’s HP? Then HRV and Seltos is also incompatible? Because of it’s weight? I mean why single out X50 as “incompatible” when clearly most of the specs are almost similar to other models in the comparison?

• Casual reader on Mar 16, 2021 at 11:34 pm

Yesss where is ativa? It should have easily won this comparo by default of its cheapest pricetag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • As above in this comment section. Ativa can’t compare with this including X50

• Ativa is small potato and in syiok sendiri group, not qualify to enter this actual rival group.

• Foundation on Mar 16, 2021 at 6:56 pm

Just booked corolla cross. It looks awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Jia Ren on Mar 16, 2021 at 8:19 pm

Nice comparison. Bring it on

• Dinkin on Mar 16, 2021 at 8:51 pm

Cute cars

• Sky High on Mar 16, 2021 at 8:55 pm

Important is reliability that could run longer

• Don’t think it will be priced competitively against current HRV.

• Heard that it is cheaper than Corolla

• Corolla is RM124k – RM135k. A bit cheaper than that but still more expensive than HRV, which makes sense, considering the spec.

I expect around RM110k – RM135k for all spec. At least until the CKD program is fully rolled out.

• Update on Mar 16, 2021 at 10:30 pm

HR-V now comes standard with Apple Carplay and Android Auto. Your journalist Matthew had just reported it 20 minutes earlier than this article.

• Quantum SC on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:40 am

Tomyam Sushi car

• Mr. Sotong on Mar 18, 2021 at 10:07 am

If everyone had to place a bet on which will least likely to break down in the first 2 years, I guess we all know who the winner is.

• Kevin on Mar 18, 2021 at 10:30 am

Check cx30 hp output

• with all of the estimate price flying around for TCC, is it getting X70 better ? cheaper and bigger ?

• Kian Koh on Mar 28, 2021 at 1:20 pm

CX30 wins the battle with premium interior quality and aesthetic outlook appearance
    And ofcourse their welknown performance, eurocap safety, driving experience and safety features. NVH is dam great too!