SPIED: 2016 Proton Perdana shows off LED tail lights

2016-Proton-Perdana-LED-tail-lights-01

The 2016 Proton Perdana has been spotted countless times, but the latest spyshots by readers Parmeet Singh Sidhu and Alsaddam Suhaimi show the car’s LED tail lights turned on for the first time.

Illuminated, the C-shaped light guide graphics look slightly different from what was shown at the preview of the flagship D-segment sedan at the Alami Proton open day, with what appears to be a squarer shape – although it could be that the camouflage over the lights is masking the true shape of the graphics.

In any case, the solid LED strips – which appear to also act as brake lights – are a departure for Proton, as previous efforts either used individual diodes for both regular and brake lights (Persona facelift, Saga FL, Exora, Iriz) or a solid strip for regular lights and standard bulbs for braking (Suprima S).

It’s confirmed that the 2016 Perdana, based on the eighth-generation Honda Accord, will be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam, alongside the Exora (the current government-use version is assembled at Honda Malaysia’s plant in Melaka).

Engine wise, it’s set to retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines – for now, at least. Both engines will be mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. The Perdana will be offered to civilian buyers in the first quarter of 2016.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased
GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:23 pm

I can’t bear it anymore with the relentless teasing. Shut up and Take My Money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 14
    • Same L0rrr on Dec 28, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Proton with Honda engine maybe have RV! Just like Proton Waja & Inspira with mitsubishi engine both have good RV!
      But if campro engine ready for the bad depreciation.. bad RV! Buy Toyota better.. good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • kuikapit on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Toyota RV sudah depreciate macam Kia Hyundai lo. Power window rosak maa, lu tak tau meh.

http://paultan.org/2015/10/29/umw-toyota-issues-recall-for-vios-corolla-altis-camry-yaris-rav4-over-faulty-power-window-switch/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 28, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Go out ask Toyota driver how many of them have power window problem? Less than 1 in 100.

Ppl rather buy our vios than this Perdana. Sales figure will tell. Mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
          • So if more pipu buy Perdana than ur Lexus, means Lexus is worse than shit? Im just taking ur example of comparing B-segment to D-segment and then compare that D-segment to a D-segment luxury, and as you said, sales figure will tell. Right?

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 29, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Too bad your new Perdana won’t outsell our Vios, Altis, Camry, even our Lexus! Mark my words. Sales figure won’t lie.

The key question here: Why you pay money for junk? Junk should be foc still peopl don’t want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Sorry but the design is so half-baked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Any possibility it will use Nexlide?

• doc M on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Bro, jgn lupa test Power windows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • waxcer on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:41 pm

I like proton but one thing they has to do is improving the quality…maybe a test like turn the ac knob 1000x roughly ,open and shut the door, power window testing, extreme heat and cold testing..of course its need budget..but worth to do it…safety is not enough to compete with most other car brand (except toyolta).. It need longer curtain airbags, adas, blis etc.. But considering the price, proton is good enough in malaysia…time to improve slightly if sending proton overseas.. Keep it up Proton !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Dec 28, 2015 at 3:47 pm

All the tests you mentioned above is done by proton, from the days when waja was developed. That is more than 15 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Talisman on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Open and shut door over 100 times oleady have lah same with climate test.Tak pegi alami proton kahh??alot information I got there.Turn ac knob 1000X times not sure lah..if proton don’t turn their cars ac knob thousand times then i do for them kahkahkah

• DonkeyKong on Dec 28, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Why is it that people don’t bother going to Alami Proton to see for themselves what Proton’s been doing, and continue assuming that Proton doesn’t do anything, or continue repeating old grandmother stories that have already been clarified time and again, just like Tony Pua and DAP?

Seriously, I truly believe that if Proton hires a Chinaman as the CEO, all these bad perceptions will dissipate overnight because to the anti-Proton factions, only Chinamen are worthy to lead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Hippokrit on Dec 29, 2015 at 7:21 am

Gearbox is imported from China also lah. Anti komunis konon. Cakap tarak serupa bikin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • DonkeyKong on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:34 am

Dumbass, tell us what in the world today isn’t made in China?

• policeman on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:33 pm

My Inspira engine is made in Japan, not China. Pisang goreng aku beli tepi jalan minggu lepas is not made in China. TV Sharp aku beli made in Malaysia. You ain’t made in China either, sad but true.

• Highclass Rempit on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Cos most of the time, the management only know how to makan kuih and nasi lemak during meeting. And engineer pulak main telur with factory minahs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • sukaProton on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:32 pm

What a foolish statement?. Pointing bullets in the dark.

• Tease tease tease….want to break the guiness world record ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 4:36 pm

then if no test..then breakdown u complaint and then say why no test more.

• People said tease la, not test. Bila orang cakap you bodoh, tau marah pulak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Joker on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:41 pm

There wouldn’t have a spyshot tease if Proton didn’t make the testing… I guess complicated words makes dumb people like you to harass other people more.

• Test? If proton really do testing, their junk wont be that lousy. Dont know why proton hire so many dumb people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Btw.. hiring dumb people is not a problem. Hiring dumb people that think they are smart is.

• the new nsx teasing record is hard to break…not by proton

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Majlis rubbish dump truck on the Camo again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 40
  • kyosho on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:29 pm

i bet this is part of the proton new launch marketing strategy…

• Omaha on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:29 pm

As per expected . Thank you Honda for giving us the base. We are only good at ‘improving’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Jedediah on Dec 28, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Awesome car!!! D Segment+Honda Engine+ Lotus Continental Ride and Handling+ 5 Star Ancap.

Shut up And take my money !!!!

What I like about Proton is how solid their car feel on highway. Ride so solid like a conti car. Lotus world finest chasis tuning is brilliant!!!

Come on proton launch it fast

Take my 100k!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrr on Dec 28, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Troll or what?

• Pengguna Bijak on Dec 28, 2015 at 4:27 pm

100k price? Better buy original Accord.

• Jedidiah on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Original accord? Sorry. I choose this Perdana because of their Lotus Ride and Handling. Lotus is know as world finest car chasis tuning. They are expert in ride an handling.

Some people will ask. What so special about Lotus Ride and handling?
        I gv u example. U drive Honda Jazz and then drive Fiesta. What u feel? U will see how fun the fiesta is, how solid the car is. That’s called conti car driving experience. Which gv you solid feeling, awesome handling. And that what Lotus ride and handling gv you. No sampan feeling, No tin kosong feeling, no goyang2 or unstable feeling when ride in highway. Just solid and naise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Thank God, these LED bars look MUCH FATTER than the anorexic ones on the Suprima S. Seriously, the Suprima’s rear LED guide lights are too thin. At night, you will probably notice the number plate lights before the actual guide lights. Proton should add a few more LED bars in the facelifted Suprima.

I don’t know how true this is, but Utusan recently posted an article about the 2016 Perdana, and it said it will cost RM100,888. But this is Utusan… best to take it with a pinch of salt. Either way, I think RM101k is a very reasonable price (for the 2.0 ?), since the top-spec Inspira 2.0P costs RM92k. But I have a feeling that the 2.4 version will be more expensive, but no more than RM120k, I hope. I expect ALL Perdanas to come with ESC and six airbags as standard. She will be Proton’s flagship and she should owe up to Proton’s promise of high safety standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Talisman on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:08 pm

The 2.4l perdana for the government also sell for 140k+.I think for this perdana 2.4l will be little pricey.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:39 pm

OH MY GOD, U READ UTUSAN???? Y????? PLEASE NO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • syer1n on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:30 pm

honest from me, if it costs 100k, i will be kinda disappointed as technology comes with a price, and if price is not far off of inspira, i cant bring myself to think that the tech used will be as expected of a flagship. my expectation might be too high tho.

don’t get me wrong. who would decline such good price but just as a reminder not to expect much if it really is 100k as claimed but hey, if proton manage to squeeze every bit of goodness while keeping price in check, i’m sold. please, educated comments only if something needs refinement.

• syer1n on Dec 28, 2015 at 3:42 pm

the front one looks gorgeous i kid you not. perspective makes the rear overhang looks short with high mounting rear lights setup Ala Cerato. funny how this post only show the LED lights turned on but brings more excitement than the previous.

• I think let them do testing wisely..they are not to make guines world record or what… I hope please give a reliable parts and choose better vendor.. Before the sop and market release.. Biar betul2 puas hati baru bawak keluar.. Dont rush.. quality first.. Keep it up proton.. Im not die hard fan on proton but from proton i know what is cuberator what is gearbox..even a less education on automotive i proud all malaysian today know a little part of automotive compared other countries some of them does not know what is power window…

• Can’t wait for tis new perdana. Go proton go!

• RM100k buy PROTON.
    then, use PROTON for the next 9 years or 108 months.

I am thinking…

• Kamikaze on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Better think long and hard before paying rm100k for a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • I have high hopes for the Perdana, as high as most people who are looking forward to it.The launch date according to most rumors is in January 2016, and let’s just hope that the launch won’t be delayed like the Iriz that was launch in 2014.As for the rest of the car, well since the chassis, drivetrain and engine is from the 8th generation Honda Accord, it is tried and trusted, and there are rumors going around here and there saying that after 9-12 months, this Perdana will have the new Petronas E02 engines, and a new gearbox.Moreover, the styling of this new Perdana is subjective.Personally, I did not like it at first because of the prototype that was used in the Kapsul movie, but the full version that was showcased in Alami Proton was better looking than the prototype, eventhough only the corners of the car was showcased.As for the interior,the donor car’s (Honda Accord) interior is fine but albeit slightly dated, it would be nice if Proton revamped the interior of the 8th gen Accord to be used in the 2016 Perdana.

• karipap 1malysia on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:15 pm

sorry….lost hope oredi.

After so many years with support from govt (directly and indirectly), look where Proton is today????

• Hahahha… these proton… baru belajar sikit, repeat je kat sini….. “shut up and take my money”.
    Kononnya high class la tu cakap om puteh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • and the price? >100k? Fsrofl

• policeman on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Proton should have the decency to at least have a 2.0 manual. 2.4m would be ideal.

I will upgrade my Proton MIVEC to Proton VTEC.

• NIEKO on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:37 pm

hum looks promising

• NIEKO on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:40 pm

hope the P.Perdana be priced less than the Kia Optima

• NIEKO on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:13 am

Ah little of topic ….did you guys know the reason why Proton stopped selling the Preve in Australia ???? huhu there seems to be a lot of things that Proton wants to achieve in the 2016-2018 Period here are some titbits that I found :

1)Proton is currently developing the new Preve with a Brand New Platform ,don’t know what’s it called yet but expect the car to come out in 2017/2018 with ten times the Safety features and ten time the size .. according to Proton the reason the Preve does not sell in decent numbers is because the damn car is the second smallest C-Segment car after the 2014 Civic …..this I totally agree

2)The bran new 1.5GDI/1.5TurboPetrol/1.5TGDI well be launched together with the Next Generation Preve / Suprima ……there is also talk there will be a NA1.8L just for Australia and South America….

3)The NextGen Saga might use a 1.0L Turbo and Lower specked 1.3L NA ……..Yes guys the !1Liter Turbo Engine actually exists

4)The Saga that proton is going to sell in South America is actually the P3-13A(Next Gen Saga) and also The New P3-31A(Next Gen Persona)….The Saga will face the 2016 Chevrolet Sail /2016 Dacia Logan, 2016 Ford Figo Sedan and 2016 Chery Fulwin 2 …..
    The Persona will face the VW Polo/Vento Sedan , Chevrolet Sonic Sedan , Peugeot 301 Sedan ,Nissan Sunny and Toyota Yaris Sedan(Mazda 2 Sedan)

5)The Next Gen Exora is still very James Bond like top secret ie very few detail but some rumors suggest that it will loose its MPV looks in Favour of a more SUV like design ie like the The sexy looking Renault Espace People mover because MPV are starting to look dated …..engine specs depends on what the Next Gen Preve would be paired with ….

So guys there you have it Proton is working on not one ,not two but 5 bloody Next Generation of its car ….so to think of it the Perdana is actually the Cover story ie Proton is actually making paultan.org focus only on the Perdana and nothing more

This is what Proton Saying in its mind : Ha Ha Eat That Bitches

• Hentamajela on Jan 02, 2016 at 12:35 pm

U are right neiko….